Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

The Black & Decker CO95 SpaceMaker can opener is a product capable of doing many tasks. This multi-utility product is a can opener, a bag opener, a bottle opener and knife sharpener. The bag cutter lets you open plastic bags neatly without scissors. The space saver can opener frees up space in the kitchen and keeps your counter clutter-free, due to its under-cupboard mounting system. Therefore, this under cabinet can opener does not require any additional space on a countertop, or in a cupboard. Detailed mounting instructions are provided along with the product. The pre-sized mounting template makes installation easy and fast. The Black & Decker CO95 SpaceMaker can opener is black and its dimensions are 8.1"L x 5.4"W x 8.4"H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%50 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

I love the cover!

01/24/2012
By ,
Mpls, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great can opener. I love the cover that hides away the insides. I love that it mounts under the cupboard to free up valuable counter space. It opens cans quickly!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Beautiful Can Opener

02/21/2012
By ,
Montreal, Quebec CANADA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!! Bought it with the Spacemaker Toaster Oven.... they look beautiful together. Easy installation.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Flimsy; hard to install correctly

09/06/2011
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Can opener is not very substantial, but that's about what you expect these days, except that it wasn't exactly cheap to buy. Seems to work OK, but not sure about long-term durability.
Bought to replace another B&D under-the-counter can opener, which had worked reasonably well for 6-8 years. (Not many options for under-the-counter items available.)
Installation was a pain, because of the 3/4 inch thick overhanging cabinet face frame. Installation assumes nothing thicker than 1/2 inch overhang, which seems outlandishly unrealistic. In order to get proper clearance to operate the lever and remove it for cleaning, you have to suspend the opener below the bottom edge of the overhang. This is a bit unattractive and doesn't provide as steady an installation. (By the way, if you need longer screws for installation, forget about it. Nobody carries longer ones that match the unique threads. I know. I tried. You'd have to alter the body of the can opener, which isn't practical for most people.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

No problem here.

06/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seen a few reviews on the mounting of this can opener. In the box it has black spacers so if you don't have flush bottom cabinets the spacers allow you to drop to the correct level. There's several different sizes to give you the correct level if you need them. The can opener looks nice easy to clean and matches well with our other Stainless Steel appliances. Plus I love the fact that it's a space saver. My last can opener also was a Black & Decker space saver and gave me 12 years of satisfactory work. The only reason we changed was for the new style for our Kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
12/01/2010
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The can opener works well but is really loud. My last Black & Decker space saver wasn't as loud as the new one but hopefully will last as long. I had the other one for at least 10 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 6 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Long awaited and very much needed.

12/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can not find under cabinet mounts in the stores for some reason but we ordered this from Walmart online and recieved it very quickly. So far it seams to be what we expected and looks pretty sharp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 7 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Best Can Opener I've Owned...

08/31/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I take great care to read customer reviews and have found them to be extremely helpful in my decision to purchase an item or not. I almost didn't order this can opener because of some negative comments. Since Wal-Mart has such a great return policy, I decided to take a chance. If you don't drop the cover all the way down to the open position, I could see where someone might have trouble opening a larger can. But that's not a design flaw in my opinion, it's operator error. And I love that it has a cover to hide the actual opening mechanism. It's quiet, looks great next to my space saver toaster oven and also goes great with my stainless steel/black appliances. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

awesome w/stainless appliances!

03/26/2011
By ,
jacksonville, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! I am so IMPRESSED with Walmart online! I received my item in the mail the very next day! WOW! Keep up the great work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 9 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
10/20/2010
By ,
Grove City, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had to return the can opener. It could not be attached to our cabinets--it would only fit on cabinets with a level bottom--ours has an off-set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+33points
Review 10 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Overall - love it.

10/07/2011
By ,
Manchester, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only problem we had with the can opener has been stated in several reviews. The template didn't work with the 3/4" overhang that we have on our cabinets. I am fortunate enough to have a husband who worked around that problem and drilled the mounting screws through the actual overhang so that he could mount the can opener flush with the cabinets. This makes it so that everything operates as it was intended to. He did have to create a guide to use to create the screw hole so that he didn't accidentally run the screw through the face of the overhang.
If the manufacturer would simply move their screw holes back on the can opener, there wouldn't be so many people having trouble mounting this can opener!! It appears that a 3/4" overhang is not that rare.
So, now that we have it mounted correctly, we love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Oh that flip down door

03/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you choose this one due to the stainless steel on the flip down door, don't bother. The flip down door won't be there for long unless you have a much higher level of patience with something annoying than I do. Once it's gone, you just have the regular black version of the can opener. Luckily the door is removable if you just tap the little hinge screws with a small nail to push them out. If you opt not to remove it, you'll either be break it off when trying to open a large can, it will stick like mine and bother you.
The can opener works fine. The problem really relates more to form than function. I would buy this again, since having an under-cabinet can opener is a life saver in a small kitchen. However, I would opt for the plain black version of the opener.
The little bag opener is a bit of a joke. It will take the corner off of a bag, that's about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
07/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this can opener. Had one for 10 yr always worked good. Moved and didn't take it with me so decided to get another black & decker because of past experiences with my old one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

A great product !

03/23/2012
By ,
Wichita Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was exactly as what we expected. Not particuly difficult to install. I'd suggest that prior to drilling the needed holes in the bottom of your cabinet, that you'd affix a stiff
piece of poster board to the "pattern" to re-inforce the the pattern. The "patttern paper" is so thin that it will allow the holes to "drift off" center when drilling the holes. I didn't. :(
Regarding other "reviews", I see nothing negative with the product, and have recommended it to other family members.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Looks nice but kind of cheap.

06/21/2011
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far I think this model looks nice under our counter, but I'm afraid it may not last. It seems kind of cheap and when you pull down the front cover it is hard to get certain cans under the cutter. The cans fit depth-wise because you pull down the cover all of the way, but it is quite tight in getting the cans under the blade itself--will not work on little cans like tomato paste--so I had to buy another hand held opener for them. Overall, I couldn't find any other under-the-counter stainlesss can opener and it looks nice with the under-the-counter toaster oven we purchased--they are designed to go together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
08/21/2012
By ,
Richardson, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This can opener is very attractive and a good price, but I wasn't able to use it under my cabinet. The bottom of my cabinet is recessed, but that wasn't the real issue. The width of the cabinet door and the cabinet facing was too wide - 3/4". I could not install the can opener and be able to operate it without hitting the cabinet door when I wanted to open a can. I thought about operating it with the cabinet door open, but decided that wasn't a great idea, as I have too many visitors who wouldn't know what to do. Sadly, I had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
01/15/2012
By ,
Stone Mountain, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product looks great in my kitchen; however, after 1 week of use, the cover door doesn't close easily on a consistent basis. We now have to make multiple attempts to get the cover to close. My original space saver can opener worked great and I replaced with this black with stainless steel to match my new kitchen appliances. Totally dissatisfied with this model... Also, if your cabinets have an overhang greater than 1/2 inch, you're on your own with figuring out an installation template.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
05/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good product that does what is expected and keeps the counter top less cluttered. The only issue I have is with the installation. The template provided only allows for a maximum 1/2 inch overhang on the kitchen cabinet. My overhang is 3/4 inches so I had to drill holes through the overhang and trim the plastic washers to mount the unit. A second set of mounting holes at the front of the unit to accommodate a 3/4 inch cabinet overhang is a needed improvement.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black
11/11/2011
By ,
midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hard to align can ,door takes several trys to get to stay shut
this item priced to high for such a poorly designed product
very bad for a black and decker i have trusted to build great items.
my other opener they built lasted 25 years this one more than likely may last a year
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

A replacement

12/01/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It fit under the cabinet just perfect but the quality is not as good as the black and decker one I replaced it with. It gets hung up at the blade sometimes and is annoying. Would buy something else if I had know this prior.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 20 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Can Opener, Stainless Steel and Black

Returned this item

08/14/2012
By ,
Zephyrhills, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Returned this item as size wouldn't fit in under-cabinet space in kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next