Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

This Black and Decker rice cooker lets you make up to six cups of delicious, fluffy cooked rice. Great for white, brown or flavored rice side dishes. The removable bowl is submersible and has a nonstick coating for easy cleaning. Removable nonstick-coated cooking bowl is easy to wash. The Black and Decker rice cooker switches automatically from Cook to Keep Warm. Heavy-duty tempered glass lid allows for easy viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation82%108 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great Compact Rice cooker

07/04/2014
By ,
Farmington Hills, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect choice, when it comes for cooking for 2 people. Very compact and rice gets cooked very fast. Definitely worth the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great little cooker!

11/28/2011
By ,
nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rice cooker is great. I make special foods for myself because of food allergies and this keeps my portion separate from my family's food. You can use it for very many jobs from cooking oatmeal, heating soups, making chicken dishes and small batches of stew. When I make chicken tiki masala I put the rice, water, and a couple of spoons of sauce in the cooker. When it is almost cooked, add the cooked chicken and dinner is served! You can also add veggies at the end. Same with stews. Brown meat, place potatoes, beef and sauce in cooker. When almost done add veggies and stew is done. I can't say enough about rice cookers. They are so versatile and NOT just for rice. This cooker yields 3 cups of food, and 6 measuring cups of cooked rice.....enough for 1-2 people. I also have the larger one for my family meals. The improvements I would make are to make an on/off switch and a timer so oatmeal can be ready upon rising.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Recently purchased.

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced an old similar cooker which stopped working after 5 years.
Did not think of going for any other make..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Handy Dandy

11/27/2010
By ,
Columbus Grove, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the (3 cup model #RC3303). I use it every morning. Before I go to bed at night I put all of my oatmeal makings in the cooker including the water and raisons. When I get my coffee I plug in my oatmeal. I also use it for rice. The only reason I won't give it 5 stars is it doesn't have an On/Off switch. You have to plug it in or unplug it to start it or stop it altogether. It appears the (6 cup model #RC3406) has the same set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Correction on product

11/12/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rice cooker yields 6 cups of cooked rice. When rice cooks, it expands. Cook 3 cups of uncooked rice to yield 6 cups of cooked rice. Just thought I'd help clear that up since two people were upset and felt misguided...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

blach& decker 6 cup rise cook with steamer

06/15/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the rice cooker does the amount of rice in the box indicating the outside, as interios bowl from the pot indicates that it is only for three cups of rice, very small for my family. is not what I expected as directed on box outside, this is 6 cups inside suggests 3 cups capacity. I'm not happy with what I got
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great for Singles

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live alone and this size is perfect. The rice cooker came with a rice scooper and measuring scoop, along with a steamer. I usually use 2 scoops of rice with the measuring scoop, and that is more than enough for me with enough for left overs. You just have to remember to leave it unplugged until you want to use it because it'll stay on "warm."
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Does the Job

12/05/2013
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this now since Dec 2011.
Still going strong. Good little item for one or 2 people (in terms of single cook quantity).
Easy to clean, cooks reasonably quickly, cooks well.
(Mild) Con: Every time rice made , have to scrape to prevent sticky and hence burnt rice at bottom of cooking container. Coating coming off even with gentle care over the last 2 years.
Overall great product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Quick Rice!

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an extremely convenient rice cooker. It cooks the rice in what seems like seconds! I purchased this for my boyfriend and I to use so it was good for 2 people any more than that then you might have to go a size up. Overall, I will purchase again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great buy for the money

01/09/2012
By ,
Lake Havasu city , AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have never made rice this easy before. this beats the old cook in a pot, by a country mile. 1cup rice 2 cups water and a bit of butter, turn on. thats it. it goes to warm when done. the no stick inner pot washs up better than the old pot ever did. I'm sure i will be eating more rice now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great product.

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Makes perfect rice with no effort

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Rice Cooker. Makes perfect rice with no effort.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Works great

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and easy to use - once set, jst leave and you'll have prefectly cooked rice.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Can only cook a minimal amount of rice

12/16/2013
By ,
St Paul, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this at Walmart. I bought this because of the price and without reading the reviews first. Works great if you are steaming veggies. As for steaming any rice it only can cook enough for 2 - 3 small servings. I tired steaming a larger amount and I had to turn it back on repeatedly to complete the cooking process and then keep checking to make sure it was done properly. BTW --> I use mostly brown rice, the cooking time is longer which is a given. However, using this product it was well over an hour (I kept turning it back on) before 2 servings finally cooked to completion. I finally got frustrated and just used the metal insert on my electric stove top at a medium temperature . . . The results then were great and plus I could finally fill up the thing with a large amount of rice. This work quite well for a few months just using the "ONLY" the metal insert, as I used it about 4 times a week. Then the coating of the insert started to peel away. . . due to the contact of a higher heat source from the stove top no doubt. If you want to steam only a very small amount of veggies get this, otherwise a different product would be more suitable for steaming rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/18/2013
Hi ImaPisces, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40828399 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Bad quality never buy this

05/31/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality, aluminum inner cook so thin that it could be damaged to dents by gently touching when it is washed
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Good product

06/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good rice cooker/steamer. I have no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Not good.

05/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke during second time used.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Functional and affordable

11/16/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the greatest thing I have ever bought for my household. It is simple enough for my kids and husband to use. No more ruined rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Wedding Gift

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was what they wanted and I am sure they will get many years of good use
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

6-Cup Cooker

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most important thing here is this WILL NOT cook 6 cups of rice, 3 is the MAX...
Other than that if this unit had a detachable cord I would order 100 of them...
I use it daily for rice and it does the job quicky and perfectly everytime!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next