Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

This Black and Decker rice cooker lets you make up to six cups of delicious, fluffy cooked rice. Great for white, brown or flavored rice side dishes. The removable bowl is submersible and has a nonstick coating for easy cleaning. Removable nonstick-coated cooking bowl is easy to wash. The Black and Decker rice cooker switches automatically from Cook to Keep Warm. Heavy-duty tempered glass lid allows for easy viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%77 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great little cooker!

11/28/2011
By ,
nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rice cooker is great. I make special foods for myself because of food allergies and this keeps my portion separate from my family's food. You can use it for very many jobs from cooking oatmeal, heating soups, making chicken dishes and small batches of stew. When I make chicken tiki masala I put the rice, water, and a couple of spoons of sauce in the cooker. When it is almost cooked, add the cooked chicken and dinner is served! You can also add veggies at the end. Same with stews. Brown meat, place potatoes, beef and sauce in cooker. When almost done add veggies and stew is done. I can't say enough about rice cookers. They are so versatile and NOT just for rice. This cooker yields 3 cups of food, and 6 measuring cups of cooked rice.....enough for 1-2 people. I also have the larger one for my family meals. The improvements I would make are to make an on/off switch and a timer so oatmeal can be ready upon rising.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Can only cook a minimal amount of rice

12/16/2013
By ,
St Paul, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this at Walmart. I bought this because of the price and without reading the reviews first. Works great if you are steaming veggies. As for steaming any rice it only can cook enough for 2 - 3 small servings. I tired steaming a larger amount and I had to turn it back on repeatedly to complete the cooking process and then keep checking to make sure it was done properly. BTW --> I use mostly brown rice, the cooking time is longer which is a given. However, using this product it was well over an hour (I kept turning it back on) before 2 servings finally cooked to completion. I finally got frustrated and just used the metal insert on my electric stove top at a medium temperature . . . The results then were great and plus I could finally fill up the thing with a large amount of rice. This work quite well for a few months just using the "ONLY" the metal insert, as I used it about 4 times a week. Then the coating of the insert started to peel away. . . due to the contact of a higher heat source from the stove top no doubt. If you want to steam only a very small amount of veggies get this, otherwise a different product would be more suitable for steaming rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/18/2013
Hi ImaPisces, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40828399 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Does the Job

12/05/2013
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this now since Dec 2011.
Still going strong. Good little item for one or 2 people (in terms of single cook quantity).
Easy to clean, cooks reasonably quickly, cooks well.
(Mild) Con: Every time rice made , have to scrape to prevent sticky and hence burnt rice at bottom of cooking container. Coating coming off even with gentle care over the last 2 years.
Overall great product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

6 cups is only 3 cup

02/17/2014
By ,
Hesperia, CA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The interior of the rice cooker says 3 cups when the box says 6 cups. One must purchase a 12-14 cup rice cooker to get 6 cups of rice. This is not Walmart's fault but it is not clear on the Black and Decker box. VERY FRUSTRATING. Now I have to drive 18 miles round trip to return it since I picked it up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/20/2014
Hi CKR, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40873573 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Not a 6 cup Cooker

01/27/2014
By ,
Overland Park, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We could hardly cook 2 cup rice with this cooker. Though I was all satisfied with the quality of product and cooking , it didn't met our expectation of the claimed capacity.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Traditional method preferred

04/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better for reheating soups
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Practical Rice Cooker that works

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rice cooker is quite efficient and makes cooking a whole lot easier
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

great love it

04/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it easy to use yummy rice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Handy Dandy

11/27/2010
By ,
Columbus Grove, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the (3 cup model #RC3303). I use it every morning. Before I go to bed at night I put all of my oatmeal makings in the cooker including the water and raisons. When I get my coffee I plug in my oatmeal. I also use it for rice. The only reason I won't give it 5 stars is it doesn't have an On/Off switch. You have to plug it in or unplug it to start it or stop it altogether. It appears the (6 cup model #RC3406) has the same set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Correction on product

11/12/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rice cooker yields 6 cups of cooked rice. When rice cooks, it expands. Cook 3 cups of uncooked rice to yield 6 cups of cooked rice. Just thought I'd help clear that up since two people were upset and felt misguided...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Compact

04/03/2014
By ,
Weeki Wachee Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice product. Easy to use, easy to clean. Not too big, so if you're like me without a lot of counter top space this is perfect. We cooked brown rice and you do need to add more water than instructed to. Came out great... Minus the too little water. Not the products fault.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great rice cooker for the price!

03/31/2014
By ,
state college pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used my rice cooker once, but I already love it. My family loves sticky rice and I can finally make it at home. The cooker was smaller than I thought it would be but it still got the job done. I am looking forward to steaming broccoli tonight and some fish later this week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

(e.g. A very helpful product)

04/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Little rice cooker

02/18/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When putting in one measuring cup of rice and two measuring cups of water the steam bubbled out a little. I wouldn't add more than that or it might make a mess not just water vapor. Perfect size or one or two people, just want I wanted. It seemed to cook a little hot and has only cook and keep warm no complicated settings like brown rice. I got it for a guy who don't do complicated so it is perfect for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Small

02/20/2014
By ,
Dundee, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We replaced our B&D rice cooker after 6 years and this one is alot smaller them then our old one, we returnen it and got a larger B&D rice cooker and very pleased with it now.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

B&D Rice Cooker Burns Rice

03/28/2014
By ,
Highlands Ranch, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This B&D Rice Cooker always burns the rice at the bottom no matter how much water you use or how much rice you are cooking. Not Recommended.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/31/2014
Hi chony, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40898513 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Not 6 cups, it is 3 cups only

03/14/2014
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Product Title is very deceiving. It says 6 cups but it is actually 3 cups only. Next time, I will read the entire description and not only the product title before making purchase. It is okay for a single person but not for a family that eat rice everyday. It is very easy to clean and the cover has steaming hole. Last year I bought an identical rice cooker and the water was all over the rice cooker then I noticed that the cover doesn't have steaming hole. Overall, this item is okay, you get what you paid for, small money for small rice cooker....lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/17/2014
Hi sipagattyaga, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40889389 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Lasted two weeks...

03/23/2014
By ,
Detroit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mine worked fine--for a bit less than two weeks. Thereafter, it never worked again. It's junque.
My two dogs use its inner bowl as a water dish now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/24/2014
Hi SWDetroit, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40893859 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great buy for the money

01/09/2012
By ,
Lake Havasu city , AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have never made rice this easy before. this beats the old cook in a pot, by a country mile. 1cup rice 2 cups water and a bit of butter, turn on. thats it. it goes to warm when done. the no stick inner pot washs up better than the old pot ever did. I'm sure i will be eating more rice now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great for fast pase family

12/06/2013
By ,
Boynton beach FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first rice cooker, i like it do far. It cookes the rice fast with less water than you would usually use and after is all done it keeps the rice warm. The only down side is that i like to frie the garlic before adding the rice, and i cant do that because the rice cooker turns on only when you add the rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next