Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

This Black and Decker rice cooker lets you make up to six cups of delicious, fluffy cooked rice. Great for white, brown or flavored rice side dishes. The removable bowl is submersible and has a nonstick coating for easy cleaning. Removable nonstick-coated cooking bowl is easy to wash. The Black and Decker rice cooker switches automatically from Cook to Keep Warm. Heavy-duty tempered glass lid allows for easy viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.054 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation83%92 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great Compact Rice cooker

07/04/2014
By ,
Farmington Hills, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect choice, when it comes for cooking for 2 people. Very compact and rice gets cooked very fast. Definitely worth the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great little cooker!

11/28/2011
By ,
nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rice cooker is great. I make special foods for myself because of food allergies and this keeps my portion separate from my family's food. You can use it for very many jobs from cooking oatmeal, heating soups, making chicken dishes and small batches of stew. When I make chicken tiki masala I put the rice, water, and a couple of spoons of sauce in the cooker. When it is almost cooked, add the cooked chicken and dinner is served! You can also add veggies at the end. Same with stews. Brown meat, place potatoes, beef and sauce in cooker. When almost done add veggies and stew is done. I can't say enough about rice cookers. They are so versatile and NOT just for rice. This cooker yields 3 cups of food, and 6 measuring cups of cooked rice.....enough for 1-2 people. I also have the larger one for my family meals. The improvements I would make are to make an on/off switch and a timer so oatmeal can be ready upon rising.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Worth What I Paid for It

11/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife complained that our existing rice cooker (one with an elephant on the logo) had too many scratches in the cooking bowl and that she didn't want to find out what Teflon tasted like. Replacing the bowl was $46, so we decided to find something cheaper since money's a little tight. B&D is a good brand, so we bought this one. It works, but...
She said that if you don't stir the rice during the cooking cycle, when it switches to keep-warm you'll find a layer of "crunchy" rice at the bottom...not burned, but not cooked as well as the rest. She solved the problem by stirring the rice near the end of the cooking cycle. I asked her if she would return it based on this, and she said no...it was okay.
We agree that the item is well worth the price we paid for it...it's just not perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

I didn't like... Want to return

12/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth it buying this item...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Correction on product

11/12/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rice cooker yields 6 cups of cooked rice. When rice cooks, it expands. Cook 3 cups of uncooked rice to yield 6 cups of cooked rice. Just thought I'd help clear that up since two people were upset and felt misguided...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Handy Dandy

11/27/2010
By ,
Columbus Grove, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the (3 cup model #RC3303). I use it every morning. Before I go to bed at night I put all of my oatmeal makings in the cooker including the water and raisons. When I get my coffee I plug in my oatmeal. I also use it for rice. The only reason I won't give it 5 stars is it doesn't have an On/Off switch. You have to plug it in or unplug it to start it or stop it altogether. It appears the (6 cup model #RC3406) has the same set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Can only cook a minimal amount of rice

12/16/2013
By ,
St Paul, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this at Walmart. I bought this because of the price and without reading the reviews first. Works great if you are steaming veggies. As for steaming any rice it only can cook enough for 2 - 3 small servings. I tired steaming a larger amount and I had to turn it back on repeatedly to complete the cooking process and then keep checking to make sure it was done properly. BTW --> I use mostly brown rice, the cooking time is longer which is a given. However, using this product it was well over an hour (I kept turning it back on) before 2 servings finally cooked to completion. I finally got frustrated and just used the metal insert on my electric stove top at a medium temperature . . . The results then were great and plus I could finally fill up the thing with a large amount of rice. This work quite well for a few months just using the "ONLY" the metal insert, as I used it about 4 times a week. Then the coating of the insert started to peel away. . . due to the contact of a higher heat source from the stove top no doubt. If you want to steam only a very small amount of veggies get this, otherwise a different product would be more suitable for steaming rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/18/2013
Hi ImaPisces, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40828399 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Does the Job

12/05/2013
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this now since Dec 2011.
Still going strong. Good little item for one or 2 people (in terms of single cook quantity).
Easy to clean, cooks reasonably quickly, cooks well.
(Mild) Con: Every time rice made , have to scrape to prevent sticky and hence burnt rice at bottom of cooking container. Coating coming off even with gentle care over the last 2 years.
Overall great product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Works Great!!

10/10/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this item. I have had another rice cooker without the slip-free pot in it and it is a pain!! This one is great since all the rice comes out and doesn't stick. I recommend this cooker HIGHLY to anyone looking for a fast, GOOD, personal rice cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great buy for the money

01/09/2012
By ,
Lake Havasu city , AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have never made rice this easy before. this beats the old cook in a pot, by a country mile. 1cup rice 2 cups water and a bit of butter, turn on. thats it. it goes to warm when done. the no stick inner pot washs up better than the old pot ever did. I'm sure i will be eating more rice now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Return this item

11/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My mom has a same rice cooker from black n decker however this rice cooker's bowl is non-stick instead of aluminum ...so the rice tends to overlook and sticks to the sides and bottom of the cooker and therefore gives you less rice then intended...so I am sport to say I have to return this and hopefully find a rice cooker with an aluminum or steel bowl inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

6-Cup Cooker

03/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most important thing here is this WILL NOT cook 6 cups of rice, 3 is the MAX...
Other than that if this unit had a detachable cord I would order 100 of them...
I use it daily for rice and it does the job quicky and perfectly everytime!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket
12/29/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little product, its not big and bulky and extremely easy to use. The rice comes out perfect everytime and you can add spices if you want. It cooks a decent ammount of rice and fed 3 of us with a good helping on our plate. I followed the instructions for cooking on the rice bag and I have always used a better grain of rice too, jasamine (i think thats how u spell it) is a fragrant rice from India and the best flavor. Wal-Mart does sell it and it does cost a little more but its totally worth it. This rice cooker is easy to use and easy clean up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Fast delivery and easy to pickup at store

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is good and worth for valaue
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Cheap plastic

07/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The steamer basket is made out of cheap plastic and the part of lid handle that protrudes into the cooking bowl is also made out of cheap plastic. The steam vent is also made out of cheap plastic. And we all know what happens when high heat meets plastic.
I bought this cooker to replace the Aroma rice cooker and all the parts that I mention above are made out of metal for the Aroma cooker. Even the cooking bowl of the Aroma is heavier and sturdier than that of Black Decker. And the Aroma is cheaper than this one. The only reason why I'm replacing the Aroma is the scratches on the cooking bowl which negates the non stick feature.
I have to use the steamer basket and the lid from my Aroma on the cooking bowl of the BlackDecker because I dont like the combination of plastic and high heat on food
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Functional and affordable

11/16/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the greatest thing I have ever bought for my household. It is simple enough for my kids and husband to use. No more ruined rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

It's Really Small

11/13/2010
By ,
Houston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you live by yourself, it's probably OK for making small batches, but I was very disappointed by how small it is. I like the basic design, but the "6-cup" designation is confusing. Black & Decker needs to explain that it only accepts a max of 3 scoops of uncooked rice, and produces 6 cups of cooked rice, but if you actually fill this cooker to capacity, I suspect you will have a big starchy mess coming over the top. They need to inform the consumer that this unit is more like a "personal" rice cooker.
I returned this cooker, and bought the larger, 16-cup Black & Decker rice cooker, and I am very happy with that unit. With the larger cooker, you can feed more people if you need to, or have leftovers for the next meal. The larger cooker will still cook a small amount, like 2 cups of uncooked rice, and it's easier to control the spitting starch that comes out of the vent hole in the lid (with a wet paper towel or wash cloth), since you aren't pushing the limits of the cooker.
Based on my experience with the 16-cup Black & Decker rice cooker, which appears to be the same design, I would predict that this 6-cup B&D rice cooker probably does a great job of cooking a small batch of rice. But it's really small.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Looking for a small rice cooker, this is it!

12/12/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rice cooker over two years ago for my wife. It holds 3 cups uncooked rice for a total of 6 cups cooked. Just follow the directions and your rice will be perfect everytime. My wife is from the Philippines and we use it every day. If you need a small rice cooker for your small family, maybe 3-5 persons, this is the one to buy. Im buying one for my mother for Christmas this year. I highly recommend this product. We've had zero problems from this product. Very happy with it. If we ever need a bigger rice cooker, I will definitely buy the larger size black and decker. I think it is 16 cups cooked rice. It looks very similer to this one. I dont know if they are still in the stores, but I paid like 15.00 for ours. It really is the best money ive spent on a small kitchen appliance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

Great small rice cooker

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 1-2 people in a household, this is the perfect rice cooker. Its fast and easy to make rice, and the cooker takes up very little space. The Black and Decker line also gives it a lot of quality in my opinion. Overall, I'm satisfied with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 6-Cup Rice Cooker with Steamer Basket

6 cups is only 3 cup

02/17/2014
By ,
Hesperia, CA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The interior of the rice cooker says 3 cups when the box says 6 cups. One must purchase a 12-14 cup rice cooker to get 6 cups of rice. This is not Walmart's fault but it is not clear on the Black and Decker box. VERY FRUSTRATING. Now I have to drive 18 miles round trip to return it since I picked it up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/20/2014
Hi CKR, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40873573 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next