Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Black & Decker Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

TheBlack & Decker EHC650 2-Speed Food Chopper with 3-Cup Bowl makes light work of chopping tasks. It sports a simple yet elegant design that goes well with most countertops and kitchen interiors. The 3-cup chopper is simple and easy to use and works like a charm with a range of foodstuffs including vegetables, fruits, cheese, chocolate, and cooked meats among others. Ergonomically designed, the mini food chopper integrates a soft-grip hold that cushions your hands from vibration. You can combine pulse control with two speeds to chop or mince vegetables in seconds. Crafted for durability, the clear bowl will serve you for long and holds three cups of chopped items. Further, the dishwasher-safe stainless-steel blades are easy to clean and maintain. Overall, the Black & Decker food chopper makes a smart choice for your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%34 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Perfect

01/08/2011
By ,
Chicagoland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my wife and I cook and we eat most of our meals at home. Although I'm a pretty good cook, I'm not a chef so I don't have a lot of knife skills. For many years we have used a small food processor for chopping and it was (and is) great. However, we keep it under the cabinet and it is often overkill to pull it out and assemble it to chop a single onion or some celery. My wife tried a couple "slap chop" like devices and they did work but they all seemed to break after a short time (even a Kitchen Aid brand). I bought a $14 electric chopper locally, but that one didn't chop well and seemed to stall out with the smallest load.
I saw a bunch of reviews on Amazon for this chopper and they were pretty favorable so I thought I would give it a try. That was over a year ago. I would have to say that I love this gadget. It is small and I I don't think twice about using it, even to chop a single item. It does a very good job chopping and since it has a low speed you can even chop green peppers in it (the food processor would turn them into mush). Clean up is a breeze. I add some water and a drop of soap and run it for a couple of seconds and I'm done. Naturally, you can't immerse the top, but a quick wipe of the bottom of the motor unit with a paper towel is all that is needed.
The motor is reasonably powerful, but it is not a full sized machine so don't expect to dump everything in and have it work. With harder vegetables like old carrots I chop in several batches. The gadget is so fast that this doesn't take much time at all.
Today I'm making some "Senate Navy Bean Soup" and chopped onion and celery for it. If I had to dice by hand it would have taken me much longer.
Recommended for daily cooking chores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

2nd one I purchased

12/06/2010
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one I have bought. it works great. The cup of the other one was put into the dishwasher by one of my family members. Te plastic starred where the blade attached. It still worked for at least 2 years after that! I had it a total of 6 or so years. I consider it a good deal. It is nothing fancy, if you are looking for vaious blades, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Could not get along without this

07/21/2013
By ,
Dallas Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these on a road trip from Walmart in Ennis, Texas in 2005 or 2006. I still use it several times a week to chop onions, celery, nuts, some spices, and it is just perfect. You control just how chopped you want something by the speed (has 2 speeds), and length of time you "Pulse" the speed switch. I have learned to get exactly what I want from this machine.. About 4 years ago, I did have to glue the little pin back into the bottom fitting #where it holds the blade steady#, but no biggie, and it still works perfectly. I want to order another, just so I'll always have a back-up. I never put it away. Just wash the container and the blade in dishwasher top rack I never use the heat dry, and it is ready again. Damp wipe the bottom of the motor which fits on top. It is a great, great product for the cook. Best of 3 cup choppers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

A wonderful compact chopper!

08/03/2014
By ,
Corvallis, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these for about 15 years before I moved and forgot it. I was so pleased to find out it was still available on the market, and immediately bought another one. This little chopper does about anything you need to do for a family, though you may need a larger machine if you are planning to feed 25 people. The thing I like most is that it is compact, and takes up little space on the counter, and can be put in a drawer out of sight if you wish.
It chops up onions, celery, peppers, nuts, etc. in a few seconds compared to several minutes doing it by hand, and the container is easy to wash, and can also be used for storage with the lid included. Chopping size is determined by the length of time you pulse it. You have complete control.
I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

black & drcker mini chopper

12/10/2010
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this the best little machine i have ever had it does everything for me and my husband and even wheb i have guest. i even make my dog food in this machine. i ned another one because it crach under maybe\ i abused it but its is great im glad i found a place that sell them i will go get one tmo. m.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Favorite Kitchen Gadget

01/27/2012
By ,
Richmond, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this to chop all of my fruits and veggies. It saves so much time compared to hand chopping. The small light weight design allows me to store it in a cabinet and take it out whenever I need it. Much more convenient and easier to clean than a food processor for small jobs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Easy to use, nice sized container,

03/24/2014
By ,
ripley tenn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chops onion, garlic nicely. The only fault I can find with this chopper is that the top (motor unit) just sits on the base. If I had young children, I would not leave this chipper out on my counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

good product and gets the job done...it also chops

06/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it also chops chicken.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Good Buy for the price

05/02/2014
By ,
Gilbert AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the right size for most of my chopping chores. It seems to be of durable quality. Doesn't require an extended set-up time for use , as required with a full sized chopper. I like the feature of being able to use the canister body as a storage unit. Easy clean-up. Find myself doing more chopping chores since the purchase of this unit. Very good unit for small quantities.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Great

05/23/2014
By ,
Staten Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little chopper. I was very pleased with it and will recommend to family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

chopping

04/03/2011
By ,
Palmdale. Californaia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There were large lumps of food left to be cut after portion of the food was already mushy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper
06/08/2012
By ,
77339
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
my 1 cup chopper does a better job. Thought the 3 cup would chop more as well but no.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

geat item!

03/27/2012
By ,
tishomingo, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is perfect for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Great little chopper!!

04/14/2014
By ,
Midwest City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to chop cooked chicken breasts, as I make my own dog food. It works wonderfully!! I am very pleased so far! Have had about two weeks and use about every 3 days. So far so good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Great for a single person

02/22/2014
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product and I love it... it did the job faster than me chopping food with a knife. If you're single and cooking just for yourself, it's a decent size for yourself and save space on the counter. The cleaning is easy as well, just the top is a bit cumbersome because of the cord you have to be careful and also the motor is on top so you don't want to get water into the button. It's cute and great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Very good

04/04/2014
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product Simple to use good quality. Perfect for small jobs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Love it

01/08/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little tool!! Fast, quiet, and holds a good amount of food for chopping. The only drawback is that because the motor is in the lid, you can't immerse the lid to wash it....you can only wipe it clean. So far, that's not been a problem but I imagine that it could be a problem if you chop messy, wet food. Still, pretty cool device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Black & Decker Ergo 3 Cup Chopper

01/02/2014
By ,
Torrance, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 1 cup chopper that is cumbersome and difficult to work. I needed a little large chopper to chop up dry dog food and the Black & Decker 3 cup chopper works much better than the smaller chopper I have. It's easier to set up and clean than my 1 cup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Great Little Chopper

12/06/2013
By ,
Cameron, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ia a great chopper for small jobs when you don't need a big food processor. Used it for prepping food for thanksgiving. Chopped everything from celery, onions, nuts and chocolate. A great time saver. Easy to clean. Would highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper

Should last longer than 8 months!

11/21/2011
By ,
The Great North Woods
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
They just don't make things like they used to.
In March 2011 I purchased the 'Black & Decker Ergo 3-Cup Chopper' ECH650 to make salsa. I make salsa about twice per month.
It is now November of 2011.
The bowl 'stared' at the bottom where the blade bottom rides; and is now cracked all the way across and leaks.
The chopper has a one year warranty; and I'm writing to Black and Decker to see if they'll honor it.
IF NOT, I could have bought A LOT of salsa for the twenty five dollars this little gizmo cost me.
We'll see ....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next