Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Black & Decker Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

The Black & Decker Coffee Maker Dcm18S is a perfect addition to your kitchen. This 15 Oz coffee maker comes handy whenever you feel like to having a cup of coffee instantly. Made from stainless steel, this coffee maker comes with a mug that features an ergonomic handle for ease of use. The stainless steel mug is designed to fit all Black & Decker Brew 'N Go coffee makers. The best part of this stainless steel coffee maker is that you can enjoy having coffee even while you are traveling. This coffee maker uses a permanent filter that eliminates the need for having paper disposals. The coffee maker includes a lid, filter basket, and permanent filter that are dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(783 Reviews) 649
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
539
4 stars
165
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation91%710 out of 780reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 749 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
539
4 stars
165
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

best single brew coffee maker EVER.

12/16/2012
By ,
Clermont, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There guys were ahead of the curve with the personal coffee maker. I have used and gifted many of these for about 10 years. One of these coffee makers I replaced because I had just worn it out but it was still working after years of daily morning brew. It is easy to use and of course the cost is minimal, especially compared to other single cup brewers. I can have a cup of decaf while my guest gets regular and all in about 90 seconds per cup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Great little coffeemaker.

01/16/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Christmas. I had been wanting a 1-cup coffeemaker for a long time but I want to buy a brand I wasn't familiar with. So, my brother got me this Black & Decker one and it works great. It is very simple to operate. The filter is easy to clean. The stainless steel mug that comes with it is great quality. You can also use other mugs with it -- in the picture I used a skull-shaped mug and it fit with no problem. My only complaint would be that the cord is too short. Other than that, this is the best coffeemaker I've owned.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

goodbye kuerig

04/01/2012
By ,
Erie, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, I had bought a kuerig a few months ago and returned it in just a few days. If more people knew what a superb cup of coffee this little B & D makes, people could save alot of money!!!
One thing one should do when they buy this coffee maker, is to use #1 coffee filters by Melitta, these are the size that fits this machine. I do not recommend using the permanent filter that comes with it. And when you use a # 1 coffee filter, make sure you put the seem laying against the back of the filter baskest, the front of the basket has the opening where the coffee runs into the coffee mug. I had almost returned this coffee maker, at first, because the permanent filter just was not giving a good flavorful cup of coffee. What a difference the # 1 size Melitta coffee filters make instead. I am very pleased with this coffee maker. It's so easy and quick and H-O-T coffee is made simply--- and your own strenght of brew. And the coolest coffee mug comes with it. What a deal!!!! Love , Love , Love it!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
Paper Filters
Posted 11/27/2013
If you can't find the #1 size, you can use the #2 cone filters. Trim off about 1/4 inch of the top, or just close the lid on the excess, it works fine. #2 filters cost a lot less and are easier to find.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Excellent little one-cup coffee maker

06/07/2014
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent little one-cup coffee maker. It is much cheaper than the k-cup coffee makers and allows you to adjust the amount of grounds you place into the filter and therefore adjust the strength of your cup of coffee. This coffee maker also makes a better tasting cup of coffee. You can use the permanent filter that comes with the machine, or you can use (as I do) the #2 Melita coffee filters. Use of the Melita paper coffee filters makes for easier clean up and a better cup of coffee. With this B&D coffee maker, one cup of coffee comes out very hot and tasty. The coffee cup that comes with the machine is very useful and great to drink coffee from. I highly recommend this product for those who don't want to use those wasteful k-cups and who want one better tasting cup of coffee at a time. It's a great and very inexpensive product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Good Coffee maker for a one mug person

11/20/2013
By ,
Lincoln
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker. I received my first one from a Freecycle post and had it 1.5 years before it died. It worked great for me. I usually only drink one mug of coffee, tea or hot chocolate and this is the perfect size for me.
Pros: The mug holds 2 cups and comes with a lid. The reusable/washable filter is great for coffee and is easy to clean. Easily does water only for instant cappuccino, hot chocolate or tea. Smaller machine and doesn't take up much space on my counter.
Cons: These are mostly preference if it matters to you. The mug type is shorter than a lot of others, so you won't find most other mugs to be interchangeable with this machine. The handle doesn't make it a great grab and go for taking in the car, depending upon your cup holder. If you want to be scalded by your drink this wouldn't be the appliance for you. It's nice and hot but not boiling. But I have a tendency to forget I've made a cup of whatever and go oh, yeah I made...before I go get my cup so that doesn't help the temperature either, lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Meets All Expectations

08/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently bought two of these personal coffee makers and so far I'm completely satisfied. Some have said in their reviews that the travel mug supplied gets liquid in the coffee mug when washed,even when it's not submerged in water. However, I haven't found that to be true. In fact I see no way that could happen so unless mine is a newer model that has no kind of opening for water to get in between parts of the mug, I am puzzled. Possibly those that reported that could have defects in their mugs. I use the #2 cone coffee filters as some other reviewer had suggested, as I would rather just throw away the old coffee grounds in the paper filter. The coffee came out hot and I like the idea of putting the cold milk or creamer in the mug before brewing as it gets mixed up good and the coffeee is very hot. I sometimes use the dry creamer in the mug. I use 2 heaping tbsps. of coffee, but you could use less if you want a smaller mug or cup of coffee. i noticed no difference in the taste of the coffee if made in the mug with plastic inside or a ceramic cup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

The Pros and Cons from 1 coffee junkie to another.

09/15/2013
By ,
North-Central Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PRO List: Cheap, Functional, Fast, Dependable (So far), Easy to use, Easy to clean, has a nice 15oz mug w/ lid.
CON List: If you want more than 2-3 cups of coffee in the morning, then this machine can get a little tedious.
The 15oz mug while pretty and handy, shouldn't be referred to as "Insulated" because coffee can and will cool fast if you use a refrigerated creamer.
The permanent filter is handy, But, when you empty it, "Rinse it!" If you don't, you will get ground sediment (sometimes even a few grounds) in the bottom of your next mug.
The only other drawback I have noticed is that if you want an extra mug for your coffee maker, You have to go to Black and Decker to get it. It's about $10, a replacement permanent filter, another $5. You're better off just buying a new unit.
The short version is this, It's a $16 coffee maker than gives you a 15oz mug of coffee in about 1.5 minutes. If you're expecting a lot more, then pay more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

LOVE this Coffeemaker

12/09/2013
By ,
Gurnee, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wish my relatives would stop buying me Keurigs and Tassimos.
I was given a Keurig and a Tassimo 2 different times for presents and tried them both. Since they were presents, of course I used them. Yes, convenient but I had a little Black & Decker (B&D) one cup brewer (I think around $10.00 - including the excellent mug that retains heat!).Here are the factual results of my findings: 1. B&D is seven times cheaper to make coffee (of my choice!) than the cups, 2. no extra garbage for the landfills (recycle coffee grounds in gardens, 3. When making tea, hot chocolate etc., the water is better (hotter) from the B&D, 4. The B&D makes whatever cup size I select -any size in approx the same time as a Keurig or Tassimo, 5. The B&D takes up 2/3 less counter space, 6.Use a $10.00 battery operated Aerolatte to make perfect lattes, etc (with fresh milk - not canned milk or whatever they use - so much better!). 7. The filter is a much better design for better filtration than a Keurig filter. I am not affiliated with B&D in any aspect but I will never give up my fast, quality and economical B&D. Both times I went back to the B&D.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Broke after one use

11/15/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed that my coffee maker stopped working after one use. I went through the instructions and used the cold water to run through the machine once before making coffee. It worked fine. The water sputtered a little, not a solid stream, BUT it was pouring hot water. I then measured out the 2 1/2 tablespoons, poured in the water, and then ... nothing. It would not work. I thought maybe it was my outlet (it was worth a try, the machine wasn't working), so I picked up the machine with the water and coffee grounds and tried another outlet. Still not working. I was really excited to try this machine. It has great reviews for a small and cheap coffee maker. I really did not want to spend the money on a Keurig, and this seemed to be a great find. I'm going to let the machine cool down, and hopefully it will work. Otherwise, back to Walmart it goes. Hopefully this is just a poorly made random machine; I would like to think this is a good product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/18/2013
Hi DigIt09, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40808304 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Great for one fast cup the way you want it.

08/02/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like one very strong cup of coffee per day. This is the best machine for the task. I use un bleached filters and 3.5 heaping teaspoons of dark roast medium ground coffee to make what I consider to be a great cup of coffee. I actually maintain three of these machines, one for home, one for the office and one to travel with. My Wife uses this machine occasionally to make coffee and she uses 1.5 table spoons to get the coffee that she likes. This is a versatile machine that is priced appropriately and if used reasonable well, it will last a long time. One caution, if you are rough on the start button, the spring will dislodge and it will not work, the fix is easy for most men to complete, it is simply constructed and easy to repair. It is also easy to avoid this repair by simply pressing the start button and releasing it taking in consideration that it is constructed of plastic. Yes, I will continue to purchase more of these machines as long as B&D continues to manufacture them. These machines have been around a long time and I hope that B&D continues to produce them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Awesome coffeemaker

02/09/2014
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a caffeine fiend. I own a 12 cup, 10 cup, 4 cup automatic drip pots, 12 cup, 8 cup and 4 cup electric percolators and 2 stove top pots. I got this coffee maker for times when i just want 1 quick cup without wasting any. This little inexpensive pot is now my favorite. I use this one all the time now. I even put my others back in the closet. It is really fast, coffee comes out nice and hot. The permanent filter is really easy to rinse out. The taste is nice and the cup that comes with it is cool. Every cup I drink now is freshly brewed. I highly recommend this pot to anyone looking for a more inexpensive alternative to expensive single serving brewers ( those cup ones )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

One Cup a Day

08/05/2014
By ,
Northeast of Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Black and Decker personal coffee maker. I have had a couple of these coffee makers over the years. Since I first started buying them the mug has been added. This feature keeps your coffee hot as the maker has no burner. Since I drink only one cup a day or maybe two, it's perfect. I don't waste coffee making a full pot. Yes, I've purchased a few to keep at home and other locations. They eventually wear out with use--start leaking or leave water in the reservoir. Because it's a small inexpensively made coffee maker, I don't expect it to last a long time. However, my last purchase was about five years ago so it's not like they fall apart in a short time frame. I've had larger, more expensive coffee makers fall apart sooner than this little one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

What a Great Cup of coffee

04/05/2011
By ,
Morris County,New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my soul searching I took a chance and purchased this coffee pot. WOW oh WOW was I glad!!!! I live ona retirement check and really could not afford one of the single serve coffee pots. OMG is this fantastic for the price.! Simple to use, makes a tremendous cup of coffee and you can make tea. hot chocolate etc. I have issues in my hands and the handle on the cup tops all !!!!!!! So happy with this purcahse oh and the filter is just grand also !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Perfect for our need!

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little machine is perfect for what we want. We took out the coffee filter and only use it for quick hot water! Perfect for a cup of hot chocolate, tea, instant oatmeal for one person. My 87 year old mother uses it for her instant coffee and we love that she's not turning on the stove and forgetting it! The automatic turn off on this machine is exactly what she needs too! We have 3 of these machines - 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs and all of them are used daily! The whole family highly recommends this machine!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

great bargain on personal 1 cup coffeemaker

08/14/2013
By ,
Walhalla, North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am on disability and frequently get up at 2:00 or 3:00 am, take my meds and like to have one cup of coffee, watch some TV and go back to sleep for a couple more hours. I am an avid coffee drinker and am very picky about my coffee. I hated to make a whole pot and let the rest go to waste. After reading reviews and seeing the great bargain on this pot, I had to buy one. I love this pot. It has a permanent filter, is easy to clean, makes it fast and brews at the proper temperature to release the flavor without the bitterness. It also shuts off when done. The insulated cup is also a great idea. The only improvement I would suggest is to have a insulated cup that holds the coffee hot longer. I preheat and pour the coffee into my 12 hour thermos cup to hold the heat. This is still a great bargain and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Do not buy - period.

08/21/2014
By ,
West Windsor NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This coffee maker every time gave out burnt smell at the end of the cycle resulting in poor taste of the coffee. I tried three different type of coffees - with same result.
Not to mention the coffee maker came with scratches to the inner part - the water tank - clearly indicating it is either refurbished or returned product.
I am returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/21/2014
Hi TruthPrevailsAlways, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40973107 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Great cup of coffee and cheap!

06/05/2011
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a less expensive alternative to a Keureg. I wanted something for my office that would make me one quick cup of coffee. I love it! The coffee is just the way I like it-hot and strong (I suppose that could be the Starbucks extra bold I'm putting in it). I really like the auto shut off feature. I don't want to burn down my office-I need my job. I also like that no paper filter is required. I can't comment first hand on the durability but I know someone that's had this product for 7 years and it's still going strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Great product - great value

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a Black & Decker Brew N Go for sooooo long that I forgot when I purchased it; however, I can tell you that it has brewed well over a 1,000 cups of coffee over the years. It finally gave out the other day and I immediately purchased another one. I can only hope that the new one will 'brew' as well as the old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

Great Coffee Maker

09/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this a couple of weeks ago and I have used it every day, somnetimes several times a day!
It seems to work fine, I can use any mug that fits, which is all of mine... i really like this coffee maker. It is compact enough to sit right by the toaster on my counter and not be in the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+147points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Personal Coffee Maker, DCM18S

sweet one cupper

01/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is a great little coffee maker. If you are looking for a inexpensive one cup maker this is it. YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED. It will even do hot water for tea,coco and instant soup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+175points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 650 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next