Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Hoover Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

The Hoover Max Extract Dual-V WidePath Carpet Washer can transform your house into a sparkling clean abode. It digs deep and extracts even the most stubborn dirt and grime from your carpets. The regular use of this extractor vacuum cleaner ensures that you will never have to spend money on hiring heavy duty cleaning equipment for an annual spring cleaning. The Hoover SteamVac Dual-V widepath carpet cleaner also saves on time. The rotating brushes will lift up dirt quickly even as the dual-V nozzle quickly mops up the dirty water from the carpet. The widepath nozzle features six brushes allowing you to cover more of the carpet in a shorter time. Even as you clean, the gadget blows hot air onto your carpet, drying it and making it ready for use. The vacuum cleaner features two tanks that keep the clean and dirty water separate. An automatic system will mix the detergent, making usage easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(994 Reviews) 877
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
568
4 stars
231
3 stars
39
2 stars
41
1 star
115
Customer Recommendation84%821 out of 983reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
133 Questions | 674 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
568
4 stars
231
3 stars
39
2 stars
41
1 star
115
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

A very sorry machine

05/02/2011
By ,
Rockingham, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a big fan of Hoover Steamvac machines based on the F5914-900. The reason I bought this new F7412900 was because the old machine was worn out. I thought the newer model would be better and the store no longer stocks the old model.
This new model is nowhere near the quality of the older machine. The tanks are very flimsy and this thing leaks like crazy. The water tank valve on the bottom sticks open when you fill the tank letting water pour out all over the floor. The tank is secured by pulling up on the carrying handle. It doesn't lock well and the tank will fall off the machine.
The dirty water tank has a flimsy handle that also is suppose to hold the top on. It is spring loaded but the springs are anchored to brittle plastic. It broke the first time I tried to empty the tank.
The hose with the furniture brush leaks badly spraying solution when you don't want it to. In addition they changed from the two rotating brushes used on the 5914 model to a single rotating brush that barely turns.
The new machine is pretty but that's about it. It is made of thin brittle plastic. It has a "removable hose caddy". What they don't tell you is the thing has to be removed because it falls off!
I returned the machine after one miserable day of trying to use it.
If you want a good machine get the model F5914. It is much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lumberton
Hoover F5914-900 is still available !!!!
Posted 08/05/2012
The Hoover Steamvac model F5914-900 is available at Walmart.com.. Hope this helps .. Have a great day !!!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 82 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

wonderful product

05/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we purchased our hoover steam vac since we have a new dog in the house and not house broken yet. we recently purchased another brand that was cheaper and lost in the long run. new hoover outcleans the other brand and love the feature to wash or rinse. only draw back it is quite heavy for me with my back problem but well worth the extra pain for the quality of cleaning
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Extremely Satisfied with Purchase

05/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always, Walmart delivered on time. All parts were included, free of defects, and assembly was a breeze. Operating the machine was also easy, and it did an excellent job cleaning my carpets, much better than the last professionals that did it. Like some other owners have stated, it is a little heavy to operate when the tanks are full, and drying time is minimal, only a couple of hours if you take the time to do a few extra dry passes. Cleaning the machine is also easy. I did get a Dyson DC33 at the same time and after I cleaned the carpets, I decided to vacuum with my brand new Dyson before replacing all the furniture. There was nothing in the canister, so I sprinkled powder on the carpet to make sure the vacuum worked--it did, perfectly, but that will be a separate review. I just had to add that to show how well this carpet cleaner worked. I definitely recommend this product without any reservations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Helpful Cleaning Tool

05/08/2011
By ,
Alliance,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this machine did a better job than any home carpet cleaning I have ever owned. The price was great. It did a deep clean and dried in just a few hours ! GreatJob
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Cleans well

05/08/2011
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really gets a lot of dirt out of the carpet. Easy to use. I've only used it three times so I can't guage the durability of the unit. I had some really dirty traffic areas and now they look great. Much better than renting. I ordered site to store and it arrived in three days. When ordered I was told 2 weeks. So far, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

mechanically solid

05/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product for the price. Only problem is that it loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Fantastico!!!

05/09/2011
By ,
Columbus, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boyfriend and I used an older model of this carpet cleaner (very old) to clean the carpets of our new house. It worked well but the scrub brushes were loose and it leaked. Our carpets weren't "like new" clean so I wanted a new cleaner and after reading tons of reviews I found that Hoover had top scores for carpet cleaners. This machine exceeded my expectations. I'm a teacher and during spring break I cleaned my carpets almost everyday to get some of the (what I thought permanent) stains out of the carpets. I used an allergen/everyday use cleaner in the machine and pre-treated with an oxy type cleaner. It was fantastic. Dried paint started coming out of the carpets and the more I used it, the more came out. My carpets dried almost instantly because of the heat from the machine. When using the attachment for stairs I prefer the regular scrub brush over the rotating bristle head - it didn't seem to do much. Once I switched to the regular scrub brush I was on a roll and my stairs looked great. There's no heat coming from the attachments so expect the stairs to stay wet longer - I used a fan to ensure they dried well. The only reason I gave 4 stars for durability is because the piece that attaches to the back to hold the hose is clunky and falls off easily. I just left it in the closet and I'll get the hose when I need it. Totally worth the money!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Does the work flawlessly

05/09/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great carpet cleaner. I liked the design of this cleaner. Separate tanks for clean water and dirt water is great (I hate bissell for this). I cleaned my carpet after 2 years and now my carpet looks great. It has great suction and leaves no water or dampness on carpet. Within 20 minutes my carpet is dry. Just follow the directions given in manual and you will be good.
I love Hoover products (I do own Hoover platinum bagless upright). I think both vacuum and carpet cleaner are best.
I wanted Hoover platinum carpet cleaner but decided to stay with this one for price. I still think this is best carpet cleaner for the price.
I gave 4 stars for appearance and durability. I can't vouch for durability now as it is hardly 2 month old and used it twice for my whole apartment. Appearance i gave 4 stars because i really liked platinum version and hence reduced one star on this one
Do not look elsewhere just buy from walmart.com for best price and no hassle return policy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Outstanding

05/10/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Steam Vac is well worth the money. I reviewed all Carpet cleaners and found this one to have the best reviews. I have used it on 4 rooms already and as long as you clean the filter out in the dirty reservior, suction power is about 100% of what I put into my clean water reservoir. Cleaning the machine after use is by far the easiest i have encountered, it comes apart for easy rinse in the kitchen sink. The only thing I might improve on is making a bigger capacity clean water reservior and dirty water reservior. Other than that, its well worth the money. You can use different cleaner in this, just be sure to research the consistency. Compared to the rentals, the drying time is only about 3-4hrs vs rentals being almost 8 hrs, huge difference!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer
05/11/2011
By ,
MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This machine cleans carpets VERY well! It works as well as a professional machine. However, during its first use, the handle to the dirty water tank began to malfunction and broke. This is an important piece, as it keeps the top down on the tank. Both plastic tanks on the machine are very thin plastic. I doubt they would hold up very long unless you are VERY careful with your machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Dissapointed Again

05/15/2011
By ,
Monroe Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I purchased this item the water reservoir handle broke and in rinse mode it continued to dispense soap. I returned it thinking I just got a lemon, wrong!!! I purchased another one, the trigger mechanism on the hose split half and detached within first 5 minutes of use. I had to finish the job I started so I continued on, once again in rinse mode, soap continued to dispense. So dissapointed, all the good reviews out there, this one is going back. I dont think people are noticing the soap continues to dispense in rinse mode, people your are paying for this soap you are waisting and leaving residue which can irritate you. This apparently is a desgin flaw that Hoover needs to correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Excellent Value

05/17/2011
By ,
Goode, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rented this identical machine from a local vacuum cleaner store several times. Three times rental paid for my own machine. I should have purchased it after the first rental. I could not be happier with the overall purchase. Ordered the machine on a Monday federal holiday, it was on my front porch on Tuesday when I got home from work. All for $0.97 shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Really works well.

05/18/2011
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this product for a few weeks so hard to judge durability, but it is very easy to use and really cleans my dirty carpets. Haven't even used shampoo yet, just plain water. Must admit it has been 10 years since I had this carpet installed and we live on a farm where there is LOTS of dust, and no cleaning of the carpet until now. But this machine has done a great job! Worst part of using this carpet cleaner is moving furniture!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Very satisfied

05/20/2011
By ,
Pacific City Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a commerial carpet cleaner in our home but it is big and bulky and quite frankly hard for a 62 y/o to push and pull. It works great but such a hassle to use. I bought this Hoover steam vac to use more for spills and pet accidents around ny house. I cannot believe how well it works. My husband who is a professional carpel cleaner was also impressed. I am so glad my made this choice. Thank you Hoover
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Great Product

05/24/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the cleaner after great deliberations on which to buy. I went on the basis that my mother owned a hoover and it lasted forever. I was sceptical that it would clean all the ink and toner stains (press ink) or even bring up 1/2 the dirt it did. Worked like a dream, used the hand tool and stains came out almost totally. My only complaint is that it needs to be changed often but that is what keeps it light so good enough for me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer
05/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome. Cleans Great! Separate place for cleaning Fluid is such a money saver! I always use to throw out so much with the water I never copletely used. Wide path cleaner is a plus. Only used a few times but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer
06/01/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used the steam cleaner once since I bought it but I am very pleased. I was worried I may have to replace our carpets because they were looking pretty grimy but after one cleaning they look terrific! It was very easy to assemble and to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

This shampooer is awesome

06/05/2011
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't believe it could clean my Egyptian rugs that nicely, but it did.
The "rinse only" functions is really handy. I use it to loosen the dirt first, then use the regular "wash" setting. Gets me better results this way. The very first time was the hardest and the longest to take out all the stains. Now I use regularly and it takes out all dirt without much effort.
Liked:
- Rinse only option,
- Ability to take apart suction cover and brushes for thorough cleaning in the sink
- Powered spin scrub hand tool brush. It does clean the stairs when used correctly. Spray the stairs at a level 3" high from the step and you'll get it to work for you.
- Gets the rugs/carpets really dry if you use 3-4 dry strokes AFTER you're done cleaning the whole area. So rugged/carpeted areas are ready to be walked on almost instantly
- Control: You decide when you want to dispense the water/detergent solution or not. It's not fully automated based on stroke direction as is the case in other shampooers
- Automatic water/detergent mixing - no need for measuring cups.
- Value: It's very close to high-end shampooers in effectiveness without the price sting and the extra, usually not-needed, features.
Didn't like:
* Iffy clean water tank. If you're not VERY careful putting it in place, it will bounce off and fall on the floor. I almost broke it the very first time I was installing it. Sometime it will just jump out of place anyway if you're maneuvering the machine using the "carry pouch" err handle!! just above it
* Small size water tanks (1 gal each). But this is maybe because I have large areas covered with rugs and carpet
* No heating element. If you're not quick, the water will get cold before you're done
* Leaks water and detergent (minor) at the base of the clean water/detergent tank, where the release valves for these 2 fluids compartments are in contact with the rest of the machine's tubings.
* short electric cord
Parting thought
I've used many shampooers, and this is a very decent one. Thing is, cleaning-wise, your detergent is really what matters. Use good high quality ones appropriate for your carpet/rug needs. The shampooer really matters in regards to features (like spin scrub brushes and rinse only function in this model), durability/sturdiness, suction power (which is the most important), and suction path width (the wider the faster you're done).
Hope this helps someone make up their mind
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer

Wonderful Deep Cleaner

06/06/2011
By ,
Little Elm, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far its wonderful. I bought another Hoover right before this one and I got 2 rooms cleaned and it stopped sucking up the water...I hope this one doesn't do this. So far this cleaner is GREAT. It is amazing how dirty the water is. You never see the water when you have the floors cleaned by a company...I love it so far. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Hoover Max Extract Dual V WidePath Carpet Washer
06/12/2011
By ,
Rapid City, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had another cleaner for several years that gave us nothing but repair problems. This new Hoover outcleans the old one by far. It's easy to use, and our carpets look almost brand new after 10 years in our home. I would HIGHLY recommend this model!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 773 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  39 Next