Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

The Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet features a nonstick inside and out die-cast aluminum pan for excellent cooking performance, durable die-cast handles and brushed stainless steel base. This powerful electric skillet is equipped with 1,500 watts of power, and the temperature is adjustable from warm to 400 degrees F — the warm setting is ideal for serving. The lid latches onto the pan for easy pouring, and it also inverts inside the pan and latches securely for storage. The Hamilton Beach electric skillet also has a built-in spout makes it easy to collect drippings and broth, which reduces mess during cleanup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%55 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

I love this big skillet!

09/06/2013
By ,
West Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Hamilton Beach skillet for cooking on my camping trips. It works great! Quick heat up, no stick at all. It cooks five pounds of hash browns in no time. One and one half dozen scrambled eggs are a breeze. Very recommended...............Mike................
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Very Poor Heating!!

09/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It just doesn't get hot enough for frying. This skillet would heat up but would not retain the proper heat during the cooking process making for bad fried food. There's no way I could ever get close to burning anything. It took at least 15 minutes to cook french toast and just forget trying to cook pancakes. And I made floured pork chops that took forever and they didn't get a crispy outside at all. I tried to fry on the highest setting. The highest heat settings (375 - 400 degrees) are not really doing the job for frying, browning, or sizzling the way I'm used to cooking. This skillet is just plain unusable to me. I would return it to Walmart but I had already thrown away the original Packaging and according to the warranty they charge me to return it to them. Very costly mistakes!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Great for frying chicken!

08/11/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Hamilton Beach Electric Skillet. Lots of room for frying chicken, which is why I bought it. It looks nice, is sturdy, yet not too heavy to move, clean and store. The locking lid is a beautiful idea. A few concerns: the temperature control sits below the handle which gets hot when in use so care needs to be taken if the temperature needs to be adjusted during cooking; moisture seeps under the lid handle when washed which eventually dries but is annoying to see and makes me want to unscrew the lid to dry it out. Other than that, the skillet is perfect for my needs and cooked my chicken perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

BEST Small Appliance I Own!

04/24/2014
By ,
Monte Ne / Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister bought this for me and it's the Best small appliance that I have. I use it a lot for Church or Work gatherings. It holds the temperatue that I set it on really well. It heats up extremely quick. BUT....the best thing is this: I cook a lot of things ahead of time in the oven in one of the Extra Large Aluminum Foil Pans (the disposable kind.....same Oblong Shape as the Skillet. NOT the Oval ones)....and it fits PERFECTLY in the Electric Skillet. Therefore, I don't have to transfer the food into the skillet to keep it hot....I set the Aluminum pan in the skillet and turn it on WARM...and it keeps the entire thing heated till I turn it off. Then there's NO MESS to clean up....just throw away the Foil Pan!! Gotta love that!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Hamilton Beach Skillet

12/09/2010
By ,
waterboro,ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This skillet is great. We've had several over the years, and this one is definetly the best one yet. There are no negatives about this product. Buy one and you won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Cadillac of Electric Skillelts

09/04/2010
By ,
Senecaville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had many electric skillets and NONE compare to this one. It is very stable, cooks to temp, and stores everything within itself thanks to the lid locks being on both sides. I have stored the skillet on its side right on my cabinet top to have it ready for daily meals. Does everything a skillet or griddle can do and does it well.
The greatest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Hard to clean the clip area of lid.

10/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The clip area of the lid is hard to clean. It gets hot almost immediately though which is great. I just don't like not being able to see that something is really clean before I put my food in or near it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

LOVE LOVE THIS SKILLET

07/14/2014
By ,
Henderson, Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that this skillet locks on the top & drains grease!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

It's all good!

02/11/2011
By ,
rural Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having the last electric skillet for at least 30 years, we are very pleased with our new one. The other product reviews were extremely helpful when making our decision to purchase the Hamilton Beach. Our thanks to all who took the time to write a review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Cooks like a heavyweight, but handles very easily

10/10/2014
By ,
Parker, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spinal surgeries have limited my lifting abilities. This large skillet is easily handled, washed, stored and the reversible lid with latches, makes it more readily storable, even on it's side!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Hamilton Beach Electric Skillet.

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, heats evenly. Just have to watch the handles, they do get hot. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Cooking Easy

09/13/2010
By ,
Kingsport,Tenn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to save on electricity and also something to cook on in the case of power outages to use with my generator. I viewed many electric skillets and the Hamilton beach seemed to be my best choice. Entire meals can be prepared with this skillet at any time. Now I won't be left in a snow storm, no power no way to prepare a meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Extra Large - Easy to Clean - Nice Locking Top

02/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Already recommending to friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Exactly what I needed

02/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful. I'm not big on cooking. I've tried making roasts before and it never worked out for me. I've made 2 roasts since getting this and they were so moist and juice I couldn't believe I did it. I love how the lid locks on and how you can store the lid on the skillet. I love how you can use the built in pour spout to get rid of any excess water. So easy to use. The temp dial is also nice to have. You know exactly what temp your skillet is at. Totally user friendly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

What I needed

03/27/2011
By ,
Lake Jackson, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice large cooking area. I like the locking lid. Cleans easily. Heats evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Love it!

12/13/2011
By ,
Lebanon, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This skillet is very heavy and durable (meaning not CHEAP). Cooks evenly and cleans up great! Has rubber on bottom of legs so it does not slide on the counter top while cooking. Definitely recommend this skillet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Great for Variety of Uses!!

01/03/2012
By ,
Bentley, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love it, love it, love it! I use it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner; it is perfect for me to make a large quantity of fried rice. Clean up is so easy! The only adjustment I had to make was realizing that it works more like an oven where it cycles the temperature (frying foods with a lot of oil is a little more tricky, having to adjust the temp).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Excellent Electric Skillet

01/03/2011
By ,
Delta, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this skillet for the 1st time the other night and it far outdid the last electric skillet that I owned. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

Electric skillet

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 12" x 16" Electric Skillet

does not heat up

07/20/2011
By ,
corning ia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this skillet to fry chicken and the first thing I did was pancakes and eggs, this worked out then I tried to fry green tomatoes and had to finish them in a skillet on the stove then I tried to heat up my oil for chicken and it only got up to 320 not even close to 400 so I fried it in a skillet on the stove. Then I retuned it you just can't beat cast iron!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next