Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Roast, bake, cook and serve in style with the Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Choose different temperatures for roasting and cooking and make every dish tastier. Letting you double your oven space, this roaster oven features a removable pan and easy lift-out rack for convenient handling. The large capacity of this oven makes it ideal for use during parties, get-togethers, and other gatherings. Offering easy portability, this oven can be taken outdoors to treat your guests with lip smacking delicacies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.546 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(782 Reviews) 678
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
577
4 stars
141
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation95%742 out of 782reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
141 Questions | 620 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
577
4 stars
141
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Love

12/07/2013
By ,
Tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All that I expected and more. Bought this so I would have oven space for thanksgiving. Tested it with a sirloin roast that came out perfect. Cooked the turkey as directed in the booklet and it came out perfect. I did cook longer than required and it was not dry. Juicy and falling off the bone the way we like it. If you get this you will not be disappointed. Easy to clean, not bad looking all in all a great investment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Saved Thanksgiving! :)

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With one of two double wll ovens on the fritz and out of town family coming for the Thanksgiving feast I was delighted to learn from a friend that this product existed and was so reasonably priced. I googled and saw great reviews and decided to voyage the virgin seas of roasting my 22 lb bird in a roaster instead of the oven. I am thrilled to report that the turkey was perfectly roasted but I had to push the lid down with bricks and that meant the skin did not brown up. We put it under the broiler for five min and that did the trick! Delicious and Beautiful!
I would recommend this to anyone who desires more oven space for a holiday! Can't wait to try it for other occasions!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Temperture Control off by 25 degrees

07/28/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchase this roaster oven to roast brisket due to the large size. Set the temp at 200 degrees and the next morning took out the brisket and it wasn't tender, after 12 hours. Had to cook it another 3 hours. Checked the temp with a Thermometer and found that to get to 200 degrees, had to set the control to 225. Several chips on the porcelain insert pan and inside the heating part which indicated several shoddy repairs. The chips appeared to be painted over with fingernail polish or similar to cover the chips. Extremely noticeable chips tell me the company doesn't have a quality assurance program.
Nothing like the 18 quart roaster oven Sunbeam, that I still have from 1972!
Recommendations: Check your temperature with an accurate temp gauge to ensure you have the right temp. Returned to Walmart, took 45 minutes until someone knew what they were doing!
Tried to contact the folks at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and neither the phone or web address would work!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Not a Turkey

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered 2 (!) Nesco's which never arrived, FedEx problems, not Walmart's. And then the offer for this one came into my email box from WM. It arrived early, and I experimented with potatoes first. Even though it doesn't recommend it, I strongly DO suggest you try to find an outlet in your garage or outside to do the initial heating period. It is pungent and would totally stink up the house. Taters cooked well and so I bravely cooked a small test turkey. Used a recipe from online that suggests an olive oil rub with poultry seasoning, S&P on outside. I stuffed it, and used the online article's timeline. No peeking, it came out just right, with browning on most of the bird. It is an appliance that because of its size and my small kitchen, won't live on the counter, but will use as much as possible at this house. The gas oven here doesn't work well, and love having this option to do roasting of all sorts. There are recipes for much more than turkey roasting out there. Happy purchase. Hope yours is also!!
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Money Well Spent

12/03/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this specifically to cook our 21-pound Thanksgiving turkey. Unstuffed bird was ready in less than three hours and fit with room to spare. The skin was not crisp, but I had planned to remove it away anyway, so that was not an issue. The meat was juicy and fell off the bone. I mention this because the turkey had been in my chest freezer for three years. The metal rack works beautifully and was certainly necessary. Don't know if I would have been able to get the bird out of the roaster in one piece without it. My only concern was that the four legs supporting the roaster are VERY short, maybe half an inch, more like bumps than legs actually. I was concerned that the bottom would get so hot it might burn or discolor my countertop, so I elevated the roaster on several 4x4-inch ceramic tiles just to be on the safe side. My only problem now is where to store this thing - it is a MONSTER! Definitely recommend one to anyone looking to do a turkey while freeing up space in your regular oven for sides, rolls, pies, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

It DOES brown/crisp turkey skin

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I followed instructions on an Amazon review that said I could get crisp brown skin on my turkey, and it worked.
The tip was to preheat at the highest temp. Rub the turkey with oil or butter then seasoning and place in preheated roaster (I prepped it and carried it using the rack, easily set into roaster.)
Roast on that highest setting for 30 minutes or so. Don't lift the lid! Reduce temp to 325 or 350 and cook according to directions. Mine was done early. I didn't add water and there was about half an inch of juice in bottom of pan.
Perfect!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

huge capacity

07/20/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have baked brownies in it. Took a longer then an oven but on a hot day don't want to heat up house and did it outside. Just make sure you preheat oven to bake. Steamed 13 pounds of snowcrab legs. Takes longer then stove top but did the whole batch at once. Made cabbage and potatoes. So far so good. The porceline pan is not heavy like a slow cooker because it is wrapped around metal not ceramic. So weight is not a problem. The only complaint so far is the porcelain has a white film ring around it that I can't remove. This would be perfect if it had a stainless steel pan but then it would cost a fortune. So for the price perfect. The best part is you can bring it outside during the summer and it won't heat up your house. The outside gets hot to touch so be careful. The under side doesn't get hot to touch. Finish is nice. I have only used it three times in the first week. So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Uses for 22 quart Roaster Oven

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 15 years, we have operated a home based catering business primarily using these
22 Quart Roaster Ovens. We have cooked meals for 4 to 200 people; and we always use
at least one Roaster Oven each time. We also use them for wedding rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, banquets and other events. You can cook anything in
these roaster ovens that you cook in a conventional or convection oven. I like using these roasters, because you don't have to worry that your foods are maintained at the Health Department required temperatures, because you just set your oven at the required temperatures and the roaster keeps the required temperature for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

nice little oven.

11/16/2012
By ,
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for a short time, I bought it for thanksgiving. My oven is very small and can cook very little. So I wanted to try it out before depending on it for my turkey. So I cooked a half chicken and 4 baked potatoes, I was dissappointed how flimsy the rack was, i'm not sure how it's going to hold the turkey, but i'm going to try. It claims it cooks a 14-18 lb turkey in 2 and half hours. Thats great. My chicken did brown and potatoes were all done in an hour, I did love the way the grease was not cooking my food. Chicken was very moist and not greasy at all. Clean up is so super easy, nothing more than a sponge and soapy water needed. I was worried about putting it on the counter and how hot it would get, I was very happy, no heat releases onto the countertop at all. The only part that gets hot is the stainless steel siding. Well inside too of course. I'm sure this is going to be used all year long in my kitchen. So far I just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Product!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always look at the reviews by other consumers before purchasing anything online or in the store. I found this product to be very good and a very excellent buy. It was my first tome using an electric roaster and will never use the conventional oven again for the purpose of cooking a turkey. It roasted the 15lb turkey in 3-1/2 hrs. and I probably could have shaved off 45 mins of that because it literally fell off the bone when sliced after letting it rest. Very moist and delicious. I was afraid that it would turn out anemic looking as some of the reviews said that a roaster does not brown. Well, my turkey was beautiful with crisp, browned skin. (it may have been due to first rubbing it with olive oil/herb butter blend. In any case, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend it. (Wish I had a photo of the end result.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

I'm spoiled for good!

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had thought about purchasing a roaster oven for two years. Several people had told me that they had used theirs for years and wouldn't think of making a turkey any other way. Well, after reading many, many, reviews, I decided to purchase this Hamilton Beach Roaster Oven and it was delivered just before Thanksgiving this year. Since I have only one main oven, not having to use it for the turkey was so helpful. We cooked a 19 pound turkey and it came out wonderfully. The legs, wings, and neck are browned beautifully but the breast did not brown as much as it would have in a regular oven. Since I don't do a " presentation", this didn't matter. The freedom of being able to season, butter, stuff the turkey and just leave it alone to cook without having to baste it every half hour has spoiled me for good. I agree with those who wouldn't cook a turkey any other way. One special hint that was passed on to me by a friend was to place it on the DRYER while cooking. This freed up counter space, kept it out of the way, and didn't add any extra heat to the kitchen. The whole experience was worth five stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Large Roaster

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This roaster has a lot of space to cook. This Thanksgiving I cooked two 16 pound turkeys, one in the oven and one in this. A 7lb bone in ham was brought in by a friend, which I'll touch on a little latter. My family de-bones turkey/ham and we do not perform the traditional, in the movie, carving of the turkey/ham. We thought we would put the meat in this to keep warm and family could buffet style the whole dinner. After de-boning 32lbs of turkey and 7lbs of ham, this roaster was slightly over half full. This thing is huge. We entertained 30 people and this was more than large enough. I bought this without a lot of thought and it worked well for this Thanksgiving. On the other hand, because this roaster holds so much, I don't see myself using it very often. I would probably get more use throughout the year from the 18 quart sized roaster.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Performs as described and meats are very tender

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although it's a bit larger than I expected, it works very well. I am in an apartment where size matters. I have to place the unit on my cold stove top before plugging it in...which brings to mind the only negative I have: the cord is too short. For me, it needs to be at least a foot longer in order to plug it directly into the wall outlet which I prefer rather than using an extension cord as recommended. Now, I will have to look for a very short extension cord. In spite of this, I have used it twice: once for a turkey and once for roasting two pork loins at the same time. Both were delicious and tender. I did put 1/2 can of chicken stock and a cup of white wine in with the turkey and for the pork loins, I added 2 cups of red wine. I used olive oil on both meats and rubbed with my favorite spices. Again, both were delicious and tender. I used your guide for the roasting time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Roaster!!!!

11/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this roaster about a week or so ago and used it for my turkey this year. The first time I was able to brown and roast a turkey with very little effort and a 12 lb was done in a little over two hours and the meat fell off the bone. To brown the turkey in an electric roaster cover it with olive oil or butter and than season as you would normally. Preheat the roaster at the highest setting and than put the turkey in an leave it at the highest setting for the first 1/2 hour of cooking than turn it back to 325. Don't lift the cover during cooking and you will have a perfectly browned and juicy turkey since it self bast with the cover left on.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

A Must Have

11/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being that I now have only one oven, I knew I needed something to roast my holiday turkey. I read many reviews for this oven, most were positive. It does cook as described, steaming the food is definitely a way to keep it moist. The turkey was NOT browned, I did not expect it to be. I contacted H.B. regarding using foil cooking bags, I hate clean up. They responded quickly stating they did not recommend using ANY cooking bags. In the instruction booklet it states you can use foil bags. (?) The counter DOES get very hot under the roaster. I think the legs should be taller, so we put some 3/4" wood planks underneath. The cooking time was right on as per the instruction guide. Clean up wasn't bad, but my hubby cleaned it in a deep tub sink in the basement. Overall, if you need another oven for holiday time, this is a great solution.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

This made Thanksgiving SO easy!

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this to cook our 15 pound turkey in. We've always used the oven with the turkey in a cooking bag. We just LOVE our new Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven! We took the advice in a previous review and rubbed the turkey all over with olive oil and seasoning and heated it on high for the first few minutes, then lowered it. It did brown some, not that we really needed it to....we don't eat turkey skin anyway. We had a little insert (with holes in it) from a baking pan we already had, that fit right inside, over the piece with the handles for lifing out...well that lifted the turkey up enough to keep it up out of any liquid that drained off.
We had no trouble lifting the turkey and that added insert, out and onto a platter. We could have left it like that but instead decided to slide the turkey over to another platter, off of those grill inserts. Well, that's when it broke in half, which we got a chuckle out of, but no harm done....got it to the other platter safely. Next time, we'll only cook a 15 pounder for 2 hours or less instead of 2 1/2. It really was juicy, tender and tasty though.
We didn't notice any smell or smoking when first using it. Looking forward to cooking other meals in it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Loved my turkey today

11/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked great. I loved being able to rotate things in and out of my oven with plenty of room because everything didn't have to fit around the turkey in the oven. It just cooked away without having to be watched. My 21 pound turkey got done exactly when it was suppose to. The turkey was very moist too! If you want to present your turkey whole on the table just put in the regular oven to brown the top. I always cut mine up before it hits the table, so didn't bother. I will use this EVERY time I bake a turkey for sure.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

You gotta have this!

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my roaster! Haven't cooked a turkey in the oven since I got it!! My roaster cooked faster. came out moister, and browned better then the oven!! It leaves your oven free for everything else allowing you to use all your racks. I also make big batches of soups to freeze for later! Great at canning season for making speggetti sauce and anything you would want to simmer for long periods. (I put mine on the night before on low and it is just about ready to jar up in the morning!) Chili comes out great and you don't have to stand around stirring every few minutes. Love the removable pan for easy washing! Wish I would have bought it years ago but didn't think I would use it that much.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great help!!

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having a group of 23 for Thanksgiving this year, and was not sure how to fit all the necessary items in my oven. I saw this and decided to try it, not for the turkey, although it would work really well for that, too. I used it to cook the stuffing!! It was great!! Just assembled the stuffing in the removable pan, and plugged it in out of the way. Stuffing was moist, fully cooked, and hot, ready to serve, and stayed hot during dinner as well!! This is a wonderful addition to my kitchen (although it is very large, and has to be stored in the garage!). I predict much use of it for large groups....soups, stews, spareribs, chickens, etc etc!!! Works just like an oven, and will be great in the summer. I won't need to heat up the house with the oven. Exterior does get hot so be careful.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Returned without use due to defects in the pan

05/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product as a replacement for a Hamilton Beach Roaster that was over 40 yrs and made in a USA production plant.
The product arrived within a week and upon opening I found the cosmetic level of quality that others had mentioned. A defective area in the main roasting pan was a protruding chunk of metal with poor paint coating coverage. This would indeed be a snag point during use and cleaning. This is my main reason for returning.
The other pan in the heating unit also had chipped paint which was repaired with a very thin coat of some type of coating which did not seem as durable as the OEM coating. I believe this too would be a defective point in the future.
I did not even attempt to use the product.
I returned the product and will order another 2 in hopes that at least one of them will be acceptable.
I guess this is typical Walmart quality at the price point that they drive but I was thinking that Hamilton Beach would have better control over their production processes, quality control, and final product inspections.
I will review on receipt of the next unit and hope my report is more positive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From HamiltonBeachTeam05/08/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced with your Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.HamiltonBeach
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 679 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  34 Next