Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Roast, bake, cook and serve in style with the Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Choose different temperatures for roasting and cooking and make every dish tastier. Letting you double your oven space, this roaster oven features a removable pan and easy lift-out rack for convenient handling. The large capacity of this oven makes it ideal for use during parties, get-togethers, and other gatherings. Offering easy portability, this oven can be taken outdoors to treat your guests with lip smacking delicacies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.572 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(636 Reviews) 532
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
473
4 stars
116
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation95%605 out of 636reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
130 Questions | 611 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
473
4 stars
116
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Love

12/07/2013
By ,
Tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All that I expected and more. Bought this so I would have oven space for thanksgiving. Tested it with a sirloin roast that came out perfect. Cooked the turkey as directed in the booklet and it came out perfect. I did cook longer than required and it was not dry. Juicy and falling off the bone the way we like it. If you get this you will not be disappointed. Easy to clean, not bad looking all in all a great investment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Saved Thanksgiving! :)

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With one of two double wll ovens on the fritz and out of town family coming for the Thanksgiving feast I was delighted to learn from a friend that this product existed and was so reasonably priced. I googled and saw great reviews and decided to voyage the virgin seas of roasting my 22 lb bird in a roaster instead of the oven. I am thrilled to report that the turkey was perfectly roasted but I had to push the lid down with bricks and that meant the skin did not brown up. We put it under the broiler for five min and that did the trick! Delicious and Beautiful!
I would recommend this to anyone who desires more oven space for a holiday! Can't wait to try it for other occasions!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Temperture Control off by 25 degrees

07/28/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchase this roaster oven to roast brisket due to the large size. Set the temp at 200 degrees and the next morning took out the brisket and it wasn't tender, after 12 hours. Had to cook it another 3 hours. Checked the temp with a Thermometer and found that to get to 200 degrees, had to set the control to 225. Several chips on the porcelain insert pan and inside the heating part which indicated several shoddy repairs. The chips appeared to be painted over with fingernail polish or similar to cover the chips. Extremely noticeable chips tell me the company doesn't have a quality assurance program.
Nothing like the 18 quart roaster oven Sunbeam, that I still have from 1972!
Recommendations: Check your temperature with an accurate temp gauge to ensure you have the right temp. Returned to Walmart, took 45 minutes until someone knew what they were doing!
Tried to contact the folks at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and neither the phone or web address would work!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Money Well Spent

12/03/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this specifically to cook our 21-pound Thanksgiving turkey. Unstuffed bird was ready in less than three hours and fit with room to spare. The skin was not crisp, but I had planned to remove it away anyway, so that was not an issue. The meat was juicy and fell off the bone. I mention this because the turkey had been in my chest freezer for three years. The metal rack works beautifully and was certainly necessary. Don't know if I would have been able to get the bird out of the roaster in one piece without it. My only concern was that the four legs supporting the roaster are VERY short, maybe half an inch, more like bumps than legs actually. I was concerned that the bottom would get so hot it might burn or discolor my countertop, so I elevated the roaster on several 4x4-inch ceramic tiles just to be on the safe side. My only problem now is where to store this thing - it is a MONSTER! Definitely recommend one to anyone looking to do a turkey while freeing up space in your regular oven for sides, rolls, pies, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+170points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

huge capacity

07/20/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have baked brownies in it. Took a longer then an oven but on a hot day don't want to heat up house and did it outside. Just make sure you preheat oven to bake. Steamed 13 pounds of snowcrab legs. Takes longer then stove top but did the whole batch at once. Made cabbage and potatoes. So far so good. The porceline pan is not heavy like a slow cooker because it is wrapped around metal not ceramic. So weight is not a problem. The only complaint so far is the porcelain has a white film ring around it that I can't remove. This would be perfect if it had a stainless steel pan but then it would cost a fortune. So for the price perfect. The best part is you can bring it outside during the summer and it won't heat up your house. The outside gets hot to touch so be careful. The under side doesn't get hot to touch. Finish is nice. I have only used it three times in the first week. So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Uses for 22 quart Roaster Oven

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 15 years, we have operated a home based catering business primarily using these
22 Quart Roaster Ovens. We have cooked meals for 4 to 200 people; and we always use
at least one Roaster Oven each time. We also use them for wedding rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, banquets and other events. You can cook anything in
these roaster ovens that you cook in a conventional or convection oven. I like using these roasters, because you don't have to worry that your foods are maintained at the Health Department required temperatures, because you just set your oven at the required temperatures and the roaster keeps the required temperature for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

It DOES brown/crisp turkey skin

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I followed instructions on an Amazon review that said I could get crisp brown skin on my turkey, and it worked.
The tip was to preheat at the highest temp. Rub the turkey with oil or butter then seasoning and place in preheated roaster (I prepped it and carried it using the rack, easily set into roaster.)
Roast on that highest setting for 30 minutes or so. Don't lift the lid! Reduce temp to 325 or 350 and cook according to directions. Mine was done early. I didn't add water and there was about half an inch of juice in bottom of pan.
Perfect!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

nice little oven.

11/16/2012
By ,
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for a short time, I bought it for thanksgiving. My oven is very small and can cook very little. So I wanted to try it out before depending on it for my turkey. So I cooked a half chicken and 4 baked potatoes, I was dissappointed how flimsy the rack was, i'm not sure how it's going to hold the turkey, but i'm going to try. It claims it cooks a 14-18 lb turkey in 2 and half hours. Thats great. My chicken did brown and potatoes were all done in an hour, I did love the way the grease was not cooking my food. Chicken was very moist and not greasy at all. Clean up is so super easy, nothing more than a sponge and soapy water needed. I was worried about putting it on the counter and how hot it would get, I was very happy, no heat releases onto the countertop at all. The only part that gets hot is the stainless steel siding. Well inside too of course. I'm sure this is going to be used all year long in my kitchen. So far I just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

You gotta have this!

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my roaster! Haven't cooked a turkey in the oven since I got it!! My roaster cooked faster. came out moister, and browned better then the oven!! It leaves your oven free for everything else allowing you to use all your racks. I also make big batches of soups to freeze for later! Great at canning season for making speggetti sauce and anything you would want to simmer for long periods. (I put mine on the night before on low and it is just about ready to jar up in the morning!) Chili comes out great and you don't have to stand around stirring every few minutes. Love the removable pan for easy washing! Wish I would have bought it years ago but didn't think I would use it that much.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Product!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always look at the reviews by other consumers before purchasing anything online or in the store. I found this product to be very good and a very excellent buy. It was my first tome using an electric roaster and will never use the conventional oven again for the purpose of cooking a turkey. It roasted the 15lb turkey in 3-1/2 hrs. and I probably could have shaved off 45 mins of that because it literally fell off the bone when sliced after letting it rest. Very moist and delicious. I was afraid that it would turn out anemic looking as some of the reviews said that a roaster does not brown. Well, my turkey was beautiful with crisp, browned skin. (it may have been due to first rubbing it with olive oil/herb butter blend. In any case, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend it. (Wish I had a photo of the end result.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Perfect Way to Cook and Keep Chili etc.

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this item for a chili cookoff. I was required to make at least 5 gallons of chili to participate. We were concerned about keeping the chili hot while participating in an all day event. This worked perfectly like an oversized crockpot. I prepared the chili on top of my stove because you cannot sautee in this product. Once everything was incorporated, I placed the chili in the roaster and kept it on all night at 200 degrees. No sticking, no burning and perfectly cooked chili. By the way, we won....both People's Choice and Judge's Choice. You cannot go wrong using this like an oversized crockpot!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Returned without use due to defects in the pan

05/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product as a replacement for a Hamilton Beach Roaster that was over 40 yrs and made in a USA production plant.
The product arrived within a week and upon opening I found the cosmetic level of quality that others had mentioned. A defective area in the main roasting pan was a protruding chunk of metal with poor paint coating coverage. This would indeed be a snag point during use and cleaning. This is my main reason for returning.
The other pan in the heating unit also had chipped paint which was repaired with a very thin coat of some type of coating which did not seem as durable as the OEM coating. I believe this too would be a defective point in the future.
I did not even attempt to use the product.
I returned the product and will order another 2 in hopes that at least one of them will be acceptable.
I guess this is typical Walmart quality at the price point that they drive but I was thinking that Hamilton Beach would have better control over their production processes, quality control, and final product inspections.
I will review on receipt of the next unit and hope my report is more positive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From HamiltonBeachTeam05/08/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced with your Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.HamiltonBeach
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Like having a second oven

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this thing. It's huge. You can cook 23 pound turkeys, whole chickens, stews, breads, cakes. It's faster than the oven and meat cooked in it is super juicy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Better than expected or hoped for!!

11/13/2013
By ,
San Tan Valley, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted a roaster for so many years, my husband bought me this for my birthday this year. I was so WOWED by it's size. I am able to put 2 chickens in it side by side, not that I need this. It is so much bigger than I thought it would be. I can hardly wait to do a turkey or ham in it. Trust the booklet the manufacture supplied, the cooking times are right on. I hate heating my house up in the summer time, so this is great, does not heat up the house at all. If you were thinking about getting one, stop thinking and go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

everything i hoped for

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recently purchased the hamilton beach 22-qt. roaster over in stainless steel. it met all my expectations and first thing i did was cook chicken cutlet parmissian. came out perfect just as if i made it in a standard oven. On top of that it was super easy to clean up after and just tuck it back in the corner and boom your done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Very Very Hot on the outside of the roaster

09/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned several roaster pans before, but none have been stainless steel. To my surprise, the stainless steel gets extremely hot on the outside. I burnt my hands try to push the unit back further on the counter. This unit seems very flimsy including the lid. The lid doesn't fit tightly. Next time I would spend a little more money and buy a better quality unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Holiday feast

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had our thanksgiving early this year and we threw it at our house and we decided to slow cook five roasts for everyone. This roaster allowed us to heat all of them up together and the vegetables. It was the best dish there.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

New to electric roasting.

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never used an electric roaster. Bought it to make thanksgiving turkey. Being it's not thanksgiving yet, we thought we would give it a try. Made two 7 lbs whole chickens. And they turned out great... I was impressed. Husband and son loved them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

GG GOOD & Grate

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to cook with, Put most of your meats in a biscutt pan season well and cook!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

NICE!!!

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting one of these for awhile now. Thanks to the online sale I was able to get one. Haven't used it yet waiting for Thanksgiving. I will write a review when I use it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 533 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next