Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Roast, bake, cook and serve in style with the Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Choose different temperatures for roasting and cooking and make every dish tastier. Letting you double your oven space, this roaster oven features a removable pan and easy lift-out rack for convenient handling. The large capacity of this oven makes it ideal for use during parties, get-togethers, and other gatherings. Offering easy portability, this oven can be taken outdoors to treat your guests with lip smacking delicacies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(827 Reviews) 723
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
606
4 stars
154
3 stars
15
2 stars
15
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation95%783 out of 827reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
148 Questions | 641 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
606
4 stars
154
3 stars
15
2 stars
15
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Love

12/07/2013
By ,
Tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All that I expected and more. Bought this so I would have oven space for thanksgiving. Tested it with a sirloin roast that came out perfect. Cooked the turkey as directed in the booklet and it came out perfect. I did cook longer than required and it was not dry. Juicy and falling off the bone the way we like it. If you get this you will not be disappointed. Easy to clean, not bad looking all in all a great investment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Saved Thanksgiving! :)

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With one of two double wll ovens on the fritz and out of town family coming for the Thanksgiving feast I was delighted to learn from a friend that this product existed and was so reasonably priced. I googled and saw great reviews and decided to voyage the virgin seas of roasting my 22 lb bird in a roaster instead of the oven. I am thrilled to report that the turkey was perfectly roasted but I had to push the lid down with bricks and that meant the skin did not brown up. We put it under the broiler for five min and that did the trick! Delicious and Beautiful!
I would recommend this to anyone who desires more oven space for a holiday! Can't wait to try it for other occasions!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Temperture Control off by 25 degrees

07/28/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchase this roaster oven to roast brisket due to the large size. Set the temp at 200 degrees and the next morning took out the brisket and it wasn't tender, after 12 hours. Had to cook it another 3 hours. Checked the temp with a Thermometer and found that to get to 200 degrees, had to set the control to 225. Several chips on the porcelain insert pan and inside the heating part which indicated several shoddy repairs. The chips appeared to be painted over with fingernail polish or similar to cover the chips. Extremely noticeable chips tell me the company doesn't have a quality assurance program.
Nothing like the 18 quart roaster oven Sunbeam, that I still have from 1972!
Recommendations: Check your temperature with an accurate temp gauge to ensure you have the right temp. Returned to Walmart, took 45 minutes until someone knew what they were doing!
Tried to contact the folks at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and neither the phone or web address would work!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Money Well Spent

12/03/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this specifically to cook our 21-pound Thanksgiving turkey. Unstuffed bird was ready in less than three hours and fit with room to spare. The skin was not crisp, but I had planned to remove it away anyway, so that was not an issue. The meat was juicy and fell off the bone. I mention this because the turkey had been in my chest freezer for three years. The metal rack works beautifully and was certainly necessary. Don't know if I would have been able to get the bird out of the roaster in one piece without it. My only concern was that the four legs supporting the roaster are VERY short, maybe half an inch, more like bumps than legs actually. I was concerned that the bottom would get so hot it might burn or discolor my countertop, so I elevated the roaster on several 4x4-inch ceramic tiles just to be on the safe side. My only problem now is where to store this thing - it is a MONSTER! Definitely recommend one to anyone looking to do a turkey while freeing up space in your regular oven for sides, rolls, pies, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+205points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Not a Turkey

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered 2 (!) Nesco's which never arrived, FedEx problems, not Walmart's. And then the offer for this one came into my email box from WM. It arrived early, and I experimented with potatoes first. Even though it doesn't recommend it, I strongly DO suggest you try to find an outlet in your garage or outside to do the initial heating period. It is pungent and would totally stink up the house. Taters cooked well and so I bravely cooked a small test turkey. Used a recipe from online that suggests an olive oil rub with poultry seasoning, S&P on outside. I stuffed it, and used the online article's timeline. No peeking, it came out just right, with browning on most of the bird. It is an appliance that because of its size and my small kitchen, won't live on the counter, but will use as much as possible at this house. The gas oven here doesn't work well, and love having this option to do roasting of all sorts. There are recipes for much more than turkey roasting out there. Happy purchase. Hope yours is also!!
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

nice little oven.

11/16/2012
By ,
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for a short time, I bought it for thanksgiving. My oven is very small and can cook very little. So I wanted to try it out before depending on it for my turkey. So I cooked a half chicken and 4 baked potatoes, I was dissappointed how flimsy the rack was, i'm not sure how it's going to hold the turkey, but i'm going to try. It claims it cooks a 14-18 lb turkey in 2 and half hours. Thats great. My chicken did brown and potatoes were all done in an hour, I did love the way the grease was not cooking my food. Chicken was very moist and not greasy at all. Clean up is so super easy, nothing more than a sponge and soapy water needed. I was worried about putting it on the counter and how hot it would get, I was very happy, no heat releases onto the countertop at all. The only part that gets hot is the stainless steel siding. Well inside too of course. I'm sure this is going to be used all year long in my kitchen. So far I just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

huge capacity

07/20/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have baked brownies in it. Took a longer then an oven but on a hot day don't want to heat up house and did it outside. Just make sure you preheat oven to bake. Steamed 13 pounds of snowcrab legs. Takes longer then stove top but did the whole batch at once. Made cabbage and potatoes. So far so good. The porceline pan is not heavy like a slow cooker because it is wrapped around metal not ceramic. So weight is not a problem. The only complaint so far is the porcelain has a white film ring around it that I can't remove. This would be perfect if it had a stainless steel pan but then it would cost a fortune. So for the price perfect. The best part is you can bring it outside during the summer and it won't heat up your house. The outside gets hot to touch so be careful. The under side doesn't get hot to touch. Finish is nice. I have only used it three times in the first week. So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Product!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always look at the reviews by other consumers before purchasing anything online or in the store. I found this product to be very good and a very excellent buy. It was my first tome using an electric roaster and will never use the conventional oven again for the purpose of cooking a turkey. It roasted the 15lb turkey in 3-1/2 hrs. and I probably could have shaved off 45 mins of that because it literally fell off the bone when sliced after letting it rest. Very moist and delicious. I was afraid that it would turn out anemic looking as some of the reviews said that a roaster does not brown. Well, my turkey was beautiful with crisp, browned skin. (it may have been due to first rubbing it with olive oil/herb butter blend. In any case, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend it. (Wish I had a photo of the end result.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

It DOES brown/crisp turkey skin

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I followed instructions on an Amazon review that said I could get crisp brown skin on my turkey, and it worked.
The tip was to preheat at the highest temp. Rub the turkey with oil or butter then seasoning and place in preheated roaster (I prepped it and carried it using the rack, easily set into roaster.)
Roast on that highest setting for 30 minutes or so. Don't lift the lid! Reduce temp to 325 or 350 and cook according to directions. Mine was done early. I didn't add water and there was about half an inch of juice in bottom of pan.
Perfect!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Uses for 22 quart Roaster Oven

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 15 years, we have operated a home based catering business primarily using these
22 Quart Roaster Ovens. We have cooked meals for 4 to 200 people; and we always use
at least one Roaster Oven each time. We also use them for wedding rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, banquets and other events. You can cook anything in
these roaster ovens that you cook in a conventional or convection oven. I like using these roasters, because you don't have to worry that your foods are maintained at the Health Department required temperatures, because you just set your oven at the required temperatures and the roaster keeps the required temperature for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

tamales

01/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can rate this item in December when I will use it for the 1st time to make tamales. As far as using the Internet for Walmart purchases...that won't happen again. Too many mishaps that had to be checked up on at my end to get it all straightened out and I'm still not sure if they credited back the correct charge. Normally I'd just be happy to have it all balance but if next December comes and for some reason the oven malfunctions and I have to return it, it will appear that I've already done so. Do I think this will happy? No. But that would just be the icing on the cake of my walmart internet experience.
As far as the walmart employees...you were all awesome, friendly, helpful and need a raise. If they would promote you into positions of lets say internet sales it would be a smart business decision.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nice addition to kitchen

01/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in need of some additional oven space for a large holiday meal. My wife suggested that try this oven roaster before making the investment in an additional oven to be located in our basement. This turned out to be a great economical solution to our oven space problem. We have cooked sausage and turkey in this unit and both turned out great. We have not done any baking in it, so I cannot comment on its abilities regarding this process. I can say that the first time we used it, it did emit a strong "burnt" smell, but this disappeared in about 30 minutes and was gone by the second use. If you have the occasional need for some oven space or need to keep a large amount of food warm for some time, I would highly recommend this unit. It cooks great, is simple and easy to use and cleans up in a snap.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Returned without use due to defects in the pan

05/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product as a replacement for a Hamilton Beach Roaster that was over 40 yrs and made in a USA production plant.
The product arrived within a week and upon opening I found the cosmetic level of quality that others had mentioned. A defective area in the main roasting pan was a protruding chunk of metal with poor paint coating coverage. This would indeed be a snag point during use and cleaning. This is my main reason for returning.
The other pan in the heating unit also had chipped paint which was repaired with a very thin coat of some type of coating which did not seem as durable as the OEM coating. I believe this too would be a defective point in the future.
I did not even attempt to use the product.
I returned the product and will order another 2 in hopes that at least one of them will be acceptable.
I guess this is typical Walmart quality at the price point that they drive but I was thinking that Hamilton Beach would have better control over their production processes, quality control, and final product inspections.
I will review on receipt of the next unit and hope my report is more positive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From HamiltonBeachTeam05/08/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced with your Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.HamiltonBeach
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Oven Roaster!

01/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great oven, easy to use and can't beat the great price! I had another counter-type more expensive oven that I gave away because there were too many parts and directions to deal with. And this roaster easily cooks even a very large turkey! The first time I used it, I cooked a 20 lb turkey and it was done to perfection. I don't have a meat thermometer so I relied on the pop up button but it did cook in exactly 1/2 the time of my regular stove oven! Next I cooked a turkey breast and 1/2 hour before it was scheduled to be done in the Oven Roaster, I took it out and put in my pre heated regular oven. This Turkey breast did not have the benefit of a meat thermometer, nor pop up button and I don't think it was quite done so had to put it back in the oven for a little longer. So if you want to brown the turkey in a regular oven, you have to do some math: If you are going to brown it in a regular stove oven for 1/2 hour, then you have to take the turkey out of the roaster oven 15 minutes before it is done so that you can roast it in the regular oven for 1/2 hour. Fifteen minutes in the Oven roaster equals 1/2 hour in regular oven. Also, another plus for this Roaster Oven is that on the counter or table, it is at a better level than in my stove oven for lifting. It would be nice if the cord was a little longer, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Better than expected or hoped for!!

11/13/2013
By ,
San Tan Valley, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted a roaster for so many years, my husband bought me this for my birthday this year. I was so WOWED by it's size. I am able to put 2 chickens in it side by side, not that I need this. It is so much bigger than I thought it would be. I can hardly wait to do a turkey or ham in it. Trust the booklet the manufacture supplied, the cooking times are right on. I hate heating my house up in the summer time, so this is great, does not heat up the house at all. If you were thinking about getting one, stop thinking and go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless St

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is great! Bought three to keep food warm for my daughter's wedding. I also purchased the buffet pans and buffet lid (which are accessories). Now, I simply add 2 gallons of water into the oven, put the buffet pans on top, and bingo! Now I have three pans to hold my appetizers and keep them warm, too! With the buffet lid, having only half the lid opening up, the food will stay warmer that much longer!!! YEAH!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

I'm spoiled for good!

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had thought about purchasing a roaster oven for two years. Several people had told me that they had used theirs for years and wouldn't think of making a turkey any other way. Well, after reading many, many, reviews, I decided to purchase this Hamilton Beach Roaster Oven and it was delivered just before Thanksgiving this year. Since I have only one main oven, not having to use it for the turkey was so helpful. We cooked a 19 pound turkey and it came out wonderfully. The legs, wings, and neck are browned beautifully but the breast did not brown as much as it would have in a regular oven. Since I don't do a " presentation", this didn't matter. The freedom of being able to season, butter, stuff the turkey and just leave it alone to cook without having to baste it every half hour has spoiled me for good. I agree with those who wouldn't cook a turkey any other way. One special hint that was passed on to me by a friend was to place it on the DRYER while cooking. This freed up counter space, kept it out of the way, and didn't add any extra heat to the kitchen. The whole experience was worth five stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Rusted lid and pan

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used it every other weekend for more than a year. I mainly make stock by simmering for 2 days for each batch. First rust developed on the edge of lid. I thought I might've roughed or scratched the paint. But now rust on the inside, bottom of the pan. Useless now.
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nice roaster

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice, big roaster. Very easy to use, I love the cover hooks on the side...it's so nice to have somewhere to put the cover if you're basting your food. The only downside is that the outside gets pretty hot....much hotter than my Nesco roaster, but as long as you're aware of that you should be fine. It cools down quickly, so it's only during the cooking that you should be careful.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless St

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought to hold food for wedding reception. Can't beat the price anywhere!!! Cheaper solution to chafer dish/pans/sterno. Purchased buffet pans and buffet lid as an accessory and they fit perfectly! For some reason, these accessories are specified for the 18-Quart Roaster, but, I took a chance and it paid off!!! Now, I put 2 quarts of water in the bottom, place the buffet pans on top, and YEAH, my roaster is now a food warmer for my appetizers! Lovin' it!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 724 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  37 Next