Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Roast, bake, cook and serve in style with the Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Choose different temperatures for roasting and cooking and make every dish tastier. Letting you double your oven space, this roaster oven features a removable pan and easy lift-out rack for convenient handling. The large capacity of this oven makes it ideal for use during parties, get-togethers, and other gatherings. Offering easy portability, this oven can be taken outdoors to treat your guests with lip smacking delicacies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(615 Reviews) 511
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
455
4 stars
114
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation95%584 out of 615reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
108 Questions | 596 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
455
4 stars
114
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Love

12/07/2013
By ,
Tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All that I expected and more. Bought this so I would have oven space for thanksgiving. Tested it with a sirloin roast that came out perfect. Cooked the turkey as directed in the booklet and it came out perfect. I did cook longer than required and it was not dry. Juicy and falling off the bone the way we like it. If you get this you will not be disappointed. Easy to clean, not bad looking all in all a great investment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Saved Thanksgiving! :)

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With one of two double wll ovens on the fritz and out of town family coming for the Thanksgiving feast I was delighted to learn from a friend that this product existed and was so reasonably priced. I googled and saw great reviews and decided to voyage the virgin seas of roasting my 22 lb bird in a roaster instead of the oven. I am thrilled to report that the turkey was perfectly roasted but I had to push the lid down with bricks and that meant the skin did not brown up. We put it under the broiler for five min and that did the trick! Delicious and Beautiful!
I would recommend this to anyone who desires more oven space for a holiday! Can't wait to try it for other occasions!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Temperture Control off by 25 degrees

07/28/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchase this roaster oven to roast brisket due to the large size. Set the temp at 200 degrees and the next morning took out the brisket and it wasn't tender, after 12 hours. Had to cook it another 3 hours. Checked the temp with a Thermometer and found that to get to 200 degrees, had to set the control to 225. Several chips on the porcelain insert pan and inside the heating part which indicated several shoddy repairs. The chips appeared to be painted over with fingernail polish or similar to cover the chips. Extremely noticeable chips tell me the company doesn't have a quality assurance program.
Nothing like the 18 quart roaster oven Sunbeam, that I still have from 1972!
Recommendations: Check your temperature with an accurate temp gauge to ensure you have the right temp. Returned to Walmart, took 45 minutes until someone knew what they were doing!
Tried to contact the folks at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and neither the phone or web address would work!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

huge capacity

07/20/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have baked brownies in it. Took a longer then an oven but on a hot day don't want to heat up house and did it outside. Just make sure you preheat oven to bake. Steamed 13 pounds of snowcrab legs. Takes longer then stove top but did the whole batch at once. Made cabbage and potatoes. So far so good. The porceline pan is not heavy like a slow cooker because it is wrapped around metal not ceramic. So weight is not a problem. The only complaint so far is the porcelain has a white film ring around it that I can't remove. This would be perfect if it had a stainless steel pan but then it would cost a fortune. So for the price perfect. The best part is you can bring it outside during the summer and it won't heat up your house. The outside gets hot to touch so be careful. The under side doesn't get hot to touch. Finish is nice. I have only used it three times in the first week. So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Money Well Spent

12/03/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this specifically to cook our 21-pound Thanksgiving turkey. Unstuffed bird was ready in less than three hours and fit with room to spare. The skin was not crisp, but I had planned to remove it away anyway, so that was not an issue. The meat was juicy and fell off the bone. I mention this because the turkey had been in my chest freezer for three years. The metal rack works beautifully and was certainly necessary. Don't know if I would have been able to get the bird out of the roaster in one piece without it. My only concern was that the four legs supporting the roaster are VERY short, maybe half an inch, more like bumps than legs actually. I was concerned that the bottom would get so hot it might burn or discolor my countertop, so I elevated the roaster on several 4x4-inch ceramic tiles just to be on the safe side. My only problem now is where to store this thing - it is a MONSTER! Definitely recommend one to anyone looking to do a turkey while freeing up space in your regular oven for sides, rolls, pies, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

nice little oven.

11/16/2012
By ,
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for a short time, I bought it for thanksgiving. My oven is very small and can cook very little. So I wanted to try it out before depending on it for my turkey. So I cooked a half chicken and 4 baked potatoes, I was dissappointed how flimsy the rack was, i'm not sure how it's going to hold the turkey, but i'm going to try. It claims it cooks a 14-18 lb turkey in 2 and half hours. Thats great. My chicken did brown and potatoes were all done in an hour, I did love the way the grease was not cooking my food. Chicken was very moist and not greasy at all. Clean up is so super easy, nothing more than a sponge and soapy water needed. I was worried about putting it on the counter and how hot it would get, I was very happy, no heat releases onto the countertop at all. The only part that gets hot is the stainless steel siding. Well inside too of course. I'm sure this is going to be used all year long in my kitchen. So far I just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Product!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always look at the reviews by other consumers before purchasing anything online or in the store. I found this product to be very good and a very excellent buy. It was my first tome using an electric roaster and will never use the conventional oven again for the purpose of cooking a turkey. It roasted the 15lb turkey in 3-1/2 hrs. and I probably could have shaved off 45 mins of that because it literally fell off the bone when sliced after letting it rest. Very moist and delicious. I was afraid that it would turn out anemic looking as some of the reviews said that a roaster does not brown. Well, my turkey was beautiful with crisp, browned skin. (it may have been due to first rubbing it with olive oil/herb butter blend. In any case, I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend it. (Wish I had a photo of the end result.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Returned without use due to defects in the pan

05/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product as a replacement for a Hamilton Beach Roaster that was over 40 yrs and made in a USA production plant.
The product arrived within a week and upon opening I found the cosmetic level of quality that others had mentioned. A defective area in the main roasting pan was a protruding chunk of metal with poor paint coating coverage. This would indeed be a snag point during use and cleaning. This is my main reason for returning.
The other pan in the heating unit also had chipped paint which was repaired with a very thin coat of some type of coating which did not seem as durable as the OEM coating. I believe this too would be a defective point in the future.
I did not even attempt to use the product.
I returned the product and will order another 2 in hopes that at least one of them will be acceptable.
I guess this is typical Walmart quality at the price point that they drive but I was thinking that Hamilton Beach would have better control over their production processes, quality control, and final product inspections.
I will review on receipt of the next unit and hope my report is more positive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From HamiltonBeachTeam05/08/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced with your Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at Canadian.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-267-2826 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.HamiltonBeach
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Better than expected or hoped for!!

11/13/2013
By ,
San Tan Valley, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted a roaster for so many years, my husband bought me this for my birthday this year. I was so WOWED by it's size. I am able to put 2 chickens in it side by side, not that I need this. It is so much bigger than I thought it would be. I can hardly wait to do a turkey or ham in it. Trust the booklet the manufacture supplied, the cooking times are right on. I hate heating my house up in the summer time, so this is great, does not heat up the house at all. If you were thinking about getting one, stop thinking and go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Don't Waste Your Money

10/27/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have double ovens but thought this would be great since we host a large Thanksgiving and cook a ham as well with all the sides. My mom said these were very handy in the 50's. I bought the large one because I cook a 20+ lb. Turkey. I tested it this weekend to make sure I liked it. It takes longer to cook than the instructions recommend. It takes longer to heat up. The heating element is not consistent. One side of my turkey was 20 degrees colder than the other side. I cranked the thermostat to 450 and it was still weak. I will NOT use this ever again. I won't even give it to charity, it's so worthless. It goes in this week's garbage. Don't waste your money!!!
Also, it's so large it won't fit in your kitchen sink to clean. It barely fits in our mud sink to clean. A turkey roasting pan will not fit inside either, even though the instruction booklet says it will.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Harrison, Ohio
Posted 11/25/2013
Seems like you may have gotten a lemon and should maybe have returned it. Once in a while this happens.
+3points
Customer Avatar
urbana, il
turkey size
Posted 11/22/2013
Will it hold a 21lb turkey?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Why wouldnt you retur it?
Posted 11/22/2013
Just take it back if it doesn't work. Why would you throw it out?
+6points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Like having an extra oven!

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used an 18-qt Electric Roaster for years to prepare and freeze meals (soups, sauces, etc) for sake of convenience. My "old" roaster had a no-stick coating that began flaking off. Wanted a roaster with enamel and this one fit the bill. Also, it's four quarts larger than the old one and has an attractive stainless steel outside surface. Simple to operate; works well; cleans up well. Overall very pleased. Happy with the price, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

everything i hoped for

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recently purchased the hamilton beach 22-qt. roaster over in stainless steel. it met all my expectations and first thing i did was cook chicken cutlet parmissian. came out perfect just as if i made it in a standard oven. On top of that it was super easy to clean up after and just tuck it back in the corner and boom your done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Too hot!

10/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no insulation in this roaster so the outside gets VERY hot when you use it! I sent it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel
10/14/2013
By ,
Caroga Lake, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The roaster was used for a large church dinner. We cooked the squash in the roaster. During the dinner the squash was kept warm for 4 hours. It was perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

good product

10/20/2014
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I assume it is good since it is a Christmas gift and I have not used it. I have a Hamilton Beach Electric Roaster Oven that is equal in size and appearance that has been good for 30 years. I was however disappointed when this one arrived since the inside enamel on the oven was chipped. I returned it and the new one seems to be ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

JUST WHAT I WANTED!!!! FABULOUS TURKEY ROASTER!!

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It smells funny with first use but other than that it cooks wonderfully and very nice stainless steel product to add to our kitchen. I have been wanting one for a long time and at a clearence price of $40 it was worth the wait!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

excellent

10/24/2014
By ,
kettering,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Very versatile.

05/07/2011
By ,
Plant City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used it to cook a 21 lb. turkey, bake potatoes, and cook a cake.
It was alittle hard to clean which was the only draw back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Oven Roaster

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very spacious and heats fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 22-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nice Roaster Oven, Great Size for Big Parties

10/07/2011
By ,
Greenwich, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used this for two things, so far- homemade soup and for an "unbaked" macaroni & cheese and it was excellent! Had a party of about 90 people and needed large cook & serveware. Being able to keep everything nice and hot was so helpful. (No sterno to worry about). I just want to point out to those who may not realize that one can ONLY use this for baking casserole type dishes IF you put another baking pan inside the vessel. I made my ususal mac and cheese recipe and added a little extra milk to make it more of an alfredo type consitency so that I could still use the roaster at it's full capacity. This worked out great, but I am a little disappointed that I can't use it for my regular baked fare withtout inserting another baking pan. Other than that, I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 512 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next