Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

The SV780 Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum provides plenty of features and functionality for quick and easy cleanup. The detachable motorized brush effectively removes pet hair from upholstery and ground-in dirt from carpets. It is also perfect for car mats and seats. This compact Shark cordless vacuum comes with Twister Cyclonic technology that maintains a strong suction long enough for complete cleanup. Being lightweight, it does not weigh down your hand. This powerful hand-held vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool to reach the narrowest of nooks and corners. The easy-to-empty dust cap is an advantage over dust bags and a detachable and washable filter ensures easy maintenance. The ergonomically designed handle of this portable handheld cordless vacuum includes the power-on switch. The cyclonic vacuum cleaner runs on a powerful rechargeable 18V battery that can be charged via the charging station and the LED charging indicator shows the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(292 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
54
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation90%263 out of 292reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 165 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
54
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

MOTORIZED BRUSH DOES NOT LAST LONG

06/13/2012
By ,
PALM SPRINGS/IDYLLWILD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a 15.6 volt model which worked well in the beginning but both the battery life AND MOTORIZED BRUSH have limited lifespans. In my case one year before the tiny motor in the motorized brush died. So that was $50 for one year, although I can still use the basic vac it has a limited run time on a limited battery.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I just had to replace the best hand sweeper

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays.
Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

DO NOT BUY ANY SHARK PRODUCTS!

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After doing much research and finding positive reviews for the Shark Hand-Held Vacuum SV780, I purchased one. What a mistake! It has been used all of five times and the on/off switch continually turns off. I called Shark and received NOTHING but a run around about the problem. After telling the Customer Service person, Shamas, what the problem was he told me that I would have to pay shipping to and from Shark repair service once it was fixed. He did say if it couldn't be repaired they would replace it. So, I told him it would be returned to Walmart where it was purchased, even though on the vacuum's box, in BIG writing it says, "Do Not Return to the Store!" "Call us. We are here to help with our hassle-free return service." The number I called was the number printed on the box with the "Hassle-Free" instructions! I will recommend to my family and friends to NEVER purchase any SHARK products due to their very poor customer service.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Didn't last 15 minutes

06/18/2010
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail!
I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great Suction

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and light to handle. Use for my stairs, my minivan and my microfiber sofa. It has enough suction to pick up the cat hair and not damage the furniture
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent cordless product

02/01/2014
By ,
Pocahontas Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Very effective product.

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a great little vacuum. But take care and read the directions. After the vac is fully charged and the light has come on, unplug it from the wall. Only plug it in again when it needs to be recharged, otherwise you may ruin the battery. I bought it for cat hair but have used it in addition for many other situations. It's a powerful product at 18 volts, much better than other hand vacs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I agree with Consumer Reports

04/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

6 months & broke already

06/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item on Jan 1st 2015, It's July and the vaccum does not work anymore. When it did, it was great.
Very disappointing.
Have no clue how Consumer Reports can rank this product highly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Powerful Vacuum

06/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Pet Owner Delight

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister-in-law recommended this item to us for litter box surround clean-up. Think it is a wonderful item with the power more than anticipated. Hope Shark never discontinues this item. Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love Shark Products

11/25/2013
By ,
Ferndale, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this and have for several years. I purchased this one as a gift for my daughter. She loves it so much and wanted one for her home to get up all the dog hair on her furniture. I give it 5 stars because it is a great product as are all Shark products. I have several Shark products (steam mop, Shark Professional, Shark carpet and hardwood cleaner). I am on my second Shark vacuum because I gave my daughter (the same one) my first because she needed a good vacuum. I am purchasing a Shark lift-away for the other daughter for Christmas. They are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

GREAT VALUE

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definately has better suction than lower price models.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great dust buster

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Hand-Vac I have owned

04/12/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned many hand-vacuums over the years, for the purpose of quick pick-ups around the house and for the vehicles. The most important things to me are its battery power, air flow and suction capability, attachments, and the weight of the vacuum. The Shark SX780 meets all of my requirements for an exceptional hand-vac. You will have absolutely no problem having a very long running time with this vacuum as long as you follow the very simple directions given. This type battery, once fully charged, has to completely run down before allowing it to charge again. If you keep placing it back onto the charger while it is plugged into the wall, it will deplete the battery and ruin it. Just simply unplug the adapter, and let the vac run down. It is that simple. You will get many uses from one charge, and your battery will last a long time. Reviewers that are having trouble with the charge or battery life, are not following the simple directions. The only complaint I have about this vacuum is that Shark needs to improve the adapter stand. It is frustrating sitting the vacuum back into the stand after use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 Stars. The attachments are well made, very useful, and stay attached well to the vacuum. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and Walmart has the best price and this vacuum has been highly rated among all hand vacuums currently on the market. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark cordless vacuum

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works easily and conveniently!! Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Still Early

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this vacuum works good. A little on the expensive side. I've only been using it for about three weeks and the previous brand I was using worked good for a month before it quit. The Shark seems to have a lot of suction but is a little difficult to take apart to empty. It's main use is around the litter box so it needs to be dumped often. I think I need to find litter that doesn't track so bad. As of now I'm pleased with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Good product!

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this model two years and used a LOT. Maybe too much , it was broken. This one is handy when you want to clean a small area or rug. It is light, good cleaning and reasonable price. So I bought another one!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy Vacuum with no strings or cords attached

07/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is quite a bit stronger than the last Shark vac I bought at Walmart. (9volt ???) it works great right now and it is such a handy vac to use on pet hair, dust and other waste carried into the house by our pets. Better stand too.
My fear is that the battery pack will suffer the same declining strength as the lesser-powered earlier Shark vacuum. Maybe I would be wise to buy a spare now ????
Overall, I really like it, but I think it was a bit pricey and I don't look for it to last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I wish I bought this sooner!

08/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I was looking for. If you have pets and want to keep your furniture hair free without using your huge vacuum cleaner, than you won't regret this purchase!
Pros: Ease of Use
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next