Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

The SV780 Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum provides plenty of features and functionality for quick and easy cleanup. The detachable motorized brush effectively removes pet hair from upholstery and ground-in dirt from carpets. It is also perfect for car mats and seats. This compact Shark cordless vacuum comes with Twister Cyclonic technology that maintains a strong suction long enough for complete cleanup. Being lightweight, it does not weigh down your hand. This powerful hand-held vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool to reach the narrowest of nooks and corners. The easy-to-empty dust cap is an advantage over dust bags and a detachable and washable filter ensures easy maintenance. The ergonomically designed handle of this portable handheld cordless vacuum includes the power-on switch. The cyclonic vacuum cleaner runs on a powerful rechargeable 18V battery that can be charged via the charging station and the LED charging indicator shows the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
45
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%233 out of 254reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 156 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
45
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

MOTORIZED BRUSH DOES NOT LAST LONG

06/13/2012
By ,
PALM SPRINGS/IDYLLWILD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a 15.6 volt model which worked well in the beginning but both the battery life AND MOTORIZED BRUSH have limited lifespans. In my case one year before the tiny motor in the motorized brush died. So that was $50 for one year, although I can still use the basic vac it has a limited run time on a limited battery.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I just had to replace the best hand sweeper

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays.
Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Didn't last 15 minutes

06/18/2010
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail!
I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I agree with Consumer Reports

04/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent cordless product

02/01/2014
By ,
Pocahontas Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

It Sucks! :D

01/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And I mean that literally. It really does the job; vacuuming the car interior or small jobs in the home. I bought this for my other half for cleaning the garage and the cars, but I've also been using it.....for small spills and fast clean up. Awesome little vac.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Certainly Does Suck

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been satisfified with the product so far. Been great at removing pet hair from furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

This Shark eats up dirt

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most powerful hand held vacuum I have had. The charging base is easy to use and battery life between charges is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

This Shark Attacks!!! =)

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This handheld Vacuum is AMAZING!!! SOOOOOOO HAPPY I purchased it! Wish I had Sooner! The Suction is Super and the tools are Great that come with it! Charges up quickly and isn't heavy or awkward to use. It has Great Power for a handheld Vac! It was Well Worth the price (under $65)!
TY SHARK! =)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

does the job

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
our dog sheds and this tool really cleans it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Hand-Vac I have owned

04/12/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned many hand-vacuums over the years, for the purpose of quick pick-ups around the house and for the vehicles. The most important things to me are its battery power, air flow and suction capability, attachments, and the weight of the vacuum. The Shark SX780 meets all of my requirements for an exceptional hand-vac. You will have absolutely no problem having a very long running time with this vacuum as long as you follow the very simple directions given. This type battery, once fully charged, has to completely run down before allowing it to charge again. If you keep placing it back onto the charger while it is plugged into the wall, it will deplete the battery and ruin it. Just simply unplug the adapter, and let the vac run down. It is that simple. You will get many uses from one charge, and your battery will last a long time. Reviewers that are having trouble with the charge or battery life, are not following the simple directions. The only complaint I have about this vacuum is that Shark needs to improve the adapter stand. It is frustrating sitting the vacuum back into the stand after use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 Stars. The attachments are well made, very useful, and stay attached well to the vacuum. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and Walmart has the best price and this vacuum has been highly rated among all hand vacuums currently on the market. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love Shark Products

11/25/2013
By ,
Ferndale, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this and have for several years. I purchased this one as a gift for my daughter. She loves it so much and wanted one for her home to get up all the dog hair on her furniture. I give it 5 stars because it is a great product as are all Shark products. I have several Shark products (steam mop, Shark Professional, Shark carpet and hardwood cleaner). I am on my second Shark vacuum because I gave my daughter (the same one) my first because she needed a good vacuum. I am purchasing a Shark lift-away for the other daughter for Christmas. They are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Perfect Little Vacuum

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two cats and a dog, so I am constantly cleaning up pet hair...I originally bought the Shark pet perfect handheld vacuum, because it was cheaper. That was a mistake, its battery did not last at all, and it picked up little, if any, pet hair! So I wound up spending the extra money and buying this afterwards. It picked up everything the old handheld vacuum left behind. I haven't owned it long enough to know if the battery has better performance, but if you have pets this is definitely a wonderful vacuum for cleaning up after your furry little friends
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great for small jobs around house, shop, garage.

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very hand vac. We use it mostly to clean up around the fireplace, but also on floors, carpet where there are small spills where we don't want to get the "big" machine out. Very handy, charges well and stores well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

4th Shark Handheld I've had

01/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the 4th of this model I have had over the last 10 years or so. Each one has a higher voltage rating. They last 3 or 4 years and the battery gets tired and doesn't hold a charge well. Number 3 is still doing well after 3 years. Other two are religated to basement and office for occasional use where the battery doesn't have to last long. On one of them the brush attachment has failed but otherwise both do OK for small cleanups.
I use the Shark for misc small cleanups and for the stairs. Does good job and much easier to use on stairs than the big vacuum.
I wish they had gone to a Lithium battery, but this last one has metal hydride battery. Though this is better than previous NiCad ones it still will probably have charge loss and life issues.
The charging instructions say to charge for about 6 hours and take off charger. Well, that's not reality. If the designers who so thoughtfully made a combination charger and wall storage bracket wanted it charged for only 6 hours they should have also put a timer in it. I assume most users will do as I do, put them on the charger and leave them there. Who's going to remember to go back and unplug that transformer plug-in. But as I said above they last pretty good being left on charger.
The instructions also say to deplete the battery then recharge. Yes, that's smart battery use and I do that. For the first two charges this new vac makes it through 2 flights of stairs before depleting. So that works fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy Vacuum with no strings or cords attached

07/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is quite a bit stronger than the last Shark vac I bought at Walmart. (9volt ???) it works great right now and it is such a handy vac to use on pet hair, dust and other waste carried into the house by our pets. Better stand too.
My fear is that the battery pack will suffer the same declining strength as the lesser-powered earlier Shark vacuum. Maybe I would be wise to buy a spare now ????
Overall, I really like it, but I think it was a bit pricey and I don't look for it to last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Still Early

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this vacuum works good. A little on the expensive side. I've only been using it for about three weeks and the previous brand I was using worked good for a month before it quit. The Shark seems to have a lot of suction but is a little difficult to take apart to empty. It's main use is around the litter box so it needs to be dumped often. I think I need to find litter that doesn't track so bad. As of now I'm pleased with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I can do it!

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can not do much as MS Lupus and DDD keep my from doing much....I Can sit on the floor and it picks every thing up great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Does its job

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this product, like many I looked around and read the reviews. Specifically this item in particular, I saw quite a few reviews saying that the suction was weak and the battery life was bad. Taking my chances, I bought this item anyways. When I finally had it in my possession, the instructions say to first charge it before you use it, which I did (I wonder if some people didn't and that is why they have bad battery life). When I first used it, it was great! Suction was powerful, though there are a few times I had to go over the same spot, and the battery is fine (instructions also say to leave it off the charger when not in use until it dies. This is because if you do not use it for a long period of time and it's on the charger, it starts to rely on it and battery life is only minutes when u start using it again). I don't use it very often, maybe once or twice a week for maybe 5 minutes at a time. Although it has vacuum in the name, I consider it a dust buster so I use it as such (maybe that's another reason people say the battery life is bad, they use it as they would a regular vacuum, 20+ minutes at a time).
To put it bluntly, I would definitely recommend this product for anyone that is looking for spot cleaning some dirt up. It comes with a few different tips, depending on the area you are vacuuming up, plus I love the color!=]
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

GREAT JOB SHARK!!!!

01/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing hand vac....very powerful....great run time!!!! I agree with other reviews & instructions....you need to charge vac for 6 hours, then unplug from wall & use vac until it runs down....but believe me....the charge lasts a long time!!!!! I'm VERY pleased!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 229 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next