Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

The Euro-Pro Shark Hand-held Cordless Vacuum provides plenty of features and functionality for quick and easy cleanup. The detachable motorized brush effectively removes pet hair from upholstery and ground-in dirt from carpets. It is also perfect for car mats and seats. The compact Shark SV780 VX33 18.0 Volt Cordless Hand Vac comes with Twister Cyclonic technology that maintains a strong suction long enough for complete cleanup. Being lightweight, it does not weigh down your hand. This powerful vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool to reach the narrowest of nooks and corners. The easy-to-empty dust cap is an advantage over dust bags and a detachable and washable filter ensures easy maintenance. The ergonomically designed handle of this portable handheld cordless vacuum includes the power-on switch. The cyclonic vacuum cleaner runs on a powerful rechargeable 18 V battery that can be charged via the charging station and the LED charging indicator shows the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(197 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%181 out of 197reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 145 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

MOTORIZED BRUSH DOES NOT LAST LONG

06/13/2012
By ,
PALM SPRINGS/IDYLLWILD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a 15.6 volt model which worked well in the beginning but both the battery life AND MOTORIZED BRUSH have limited lifespans. In my case one year before the tiny motor in the motorized brush died. So that was $50 for one year, although I can still use the basic vac it has a limited run time on a limited battery.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I just had to replace the best hand sweeper

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays.
Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent cordless product

02/01/2014
By ,
Pocahontas Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

died immediately

02/22/2014
By ,
melbourne fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
should have listened to the other negative reviews. I jumped through all the hoops that the product required for charging the unit which involves unplugging the unit as soon as it is charged. how inconvenient is that? WAY INCONVENIENT! but I did as others seemed to have problems. my unit died after the first normal cycle and would not charge. actually, it showed that it was charging, the light went out after the 6 hour charge time, but the unit was dead, dead, dead! worst purchase ever!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Didn't last 15 minutes

06/18/2010
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail!
I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I agree with Consumer Reports

04/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

not worth it!!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Spokane
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when I saw this item I thought it was going to be something worth while, I was going to use it for my stairs.
after purchasing and receiving the item I was happy with the design and the structure of it but when I went to use it the brush roll stopped when it touch the carpet in the section was pretty weak.
Plus its a mess to clean up. It claims to be easy to clean but it really is not, you have to shake the dust off the filter and wash it after every use which I found pretty tedious since their claim is "Easy to Clean" so... I say keep your money and buy something better this thing is only with 5$ not 50$ or 60$...! I ended up buying the new shark lift away vacuum and live it!!! I gybe that 10 stars out of five and it works amazing on my stairs;-)
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love Shark Products

11/25/2013
By ,
Ferndale, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this and have for several years. I purchased this one as a gift for my daughter. She loves it so much and wanted one for her home to get up all the dog hair on her furniture. I give it 5 stars because it is a great product as are all Shark products. I have several Shark products (steam mop, Shark Professional, Shark carpet and hardwood cleaner). I am on my second Shark vacuum because I gave my daughter (the same one) my first because she needed a good vacuum. I am purchasing a Shark lift-away for the other daughter for Christmas. They are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Hand-Vac I have owned

04/12/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned many hand-vacuums over the years, for the purpose of quick pick-ups around the house and for the vehicles. The most important things to me are its battery power, air flow and suction capability, attachments, and the weight of the vacuum. The Shark SX780 meets all of my requirements for an exceptional hand-vac. You will have absolutely no problem having a very long running time with this vacuum as long as you follow the very simple directions given. This type battery, once fully charged, has to completely run down before allowing it to charge again. If you keep placing it back onto the charger while it is plugged into the wall, it will deplete the battery and ruin it. Just simply unplug the adapter, and let the vac run down. It is that simple. You will get many uses from one charge, and your battery will last a long time. Reviewers that are having trouble with the charge or battery life, are not following the simple directions. The only complaint I have about this vacuum is that Shark needs to improve the adapter stand. It is frustrating sitting the vacuum back into the stand after use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 Stars. The attachments are well made, very useful, and stay attached well to the vacuum. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and Walmart has the best price and this vacuum has been highly rated among all hand vacuums currently on the market. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

works

02/12/2014
By ,
Danville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
short battery life, (2 uses) says cant leave on charging base, use until needs charging then leave on base until light goes off
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great Little Hand Vac

03/30/2014
By ,
Sherwood, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Shark hand vac. I had the first one for a number of years and it still works except for the battery. I replaced the battery in it several years ago when it got to the point where it wouldn't hold a charge. Now the second battery is finally worn out. When I checked the price of a replacement battery this time, I discovered I could get a newer model for just a few dollars more so I ordered the SV780. So far it is working great and I am expecting years of service out of it as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Good little vac

10/19/2013
By ,
Quincy, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Shark does a great job on cat hair and is MUCH better at everything than my old dust buster. Picking up crumbs & powdery dry spills are easy. The nits that kept me from giving 5 stars:
- Could use longer lasting lithium battery.
- A smart-charger would mean you could store vac in base without damaging battery.
- A longer & thinner attchment tool would give better reach into narrow spaces. (between car seats)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

this is on point

04/07/2014
By ,
long beach California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum bcuz its cordless and very handy i use this for my vehicles when the kiddos drop crumbs all over the place...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

So far I love it

11/02/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have not had this product long enough to rate it. I have used it in my car and for small spills around the house. It was a nice surprise to see how powerful it is and the run time is very good before I had to charge it. I liked it well enough that I will order 2 more for gifts to friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great Working and Great Looking

04/04/2014
By ,
Meadowlakes, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to have a hand held vac. I did not realize that this one had so many attachments; guess I didn't read enough. . It is nice looking and it's a Shark. They make the BEST products and this one is no exception. You won't be sorry.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark cordless vacuum

02/24/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this vaccuum cleaner. It is very powerful and with its 3 different attachments it gets the job done. The battery last much longer than I thought it would after reading some of the reviews. Just follow the instructions on charging the battery before you use it. I would definitely recommend this vacuum cleaner
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy Vacuum with no strings or cords attached

07/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is quite a bit stronger than the last Shark vac I bought at Walmart. (9volt ???) it works great right now and it is such a handy vac to use on pet hair, dust and other waste carried into the house by our pets. Better stand too.
My fear is that the battery pack will suffer the same declining strength as the lesser-powered earlier Shark vacuum. Maybe I would be wise to buy a spare now ????
Overall, I really like it, but I think it was a bit pricey and I don't look for it to last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Still Early

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this vacuum works good. A little on the expensive side. I've only been using it for about three weeks and the previous brand I was using worked good for a month before it quit. The Shark seems to have a lot of suction but is a little difficult to take apart to empty. It's main use is around the litter box so it needs to be dumped often. I think I need to find litter that doesn't track so bad. As of now I'm pleased with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Awesome hand held vacuum

11/08/2013
By ,
Clayton NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome hand held vacuum. CR listed it as a recommended buy and I agree
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great little helper!

11/23/2013
By ,
Silver Spring, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have rotator cuff problems and lifting my big vacuum is often too much for me. This little guy steps in and does the job whether is crumbs on the counter or floor or cat hair on the sofa.
It is light weight and easy to use the accesories.
The only problem would be that it doesn't hold a lot of dirt! But then, it is small.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next