Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

The SV780 Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum provides plenty of features and functionality for quick and easy cleanup. The detachable motorized brush effectively removes pet hair from upholstery and ground-in dirt from carpets. It is also perfect for car mats and seats. This compact Shark cordless vacuum comes with Twister Cyclonic technology that maintains a strong suction long enough for complete cleanup. Being lightweight, it does not weigh down your hand. This powerful hand-held vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool to reach the narrowest of nooks and corners. The easy-to-empty dust cap is an advantage over dust bags and a detachable and washable filter ensures easy maintenance. The ergonomically designed handle of this portable handheld cordless vacuum includes the power-on switch. The cyclonic vacuum cleaner runs on a powerful rechargeable 18V battery that can be charged via the charging station and the LED charging indicator shows the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(275 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
52
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation91%249 out of 275reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
52
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

MOTORIZED BRUSH DOES NOT LAST LONG

06/13/2012
By ,
PALM SPRINGS/IDYLLWILD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a 15.6 volt model which worked well in the beginning but both the battery life AND MOTORIZED BRUSH have limited lifespans. In my case one year before the tiny motor in the motorized brush died. So that was $50 for one year, although I can still use the basic vac it has a limited run time on a limited battery.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I just had to replace the best hand sweeper

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays.
Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Didn't last 15 minutes

06/18/2010
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail!
I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent cordless product

02/01/2014
By ,
Pocahontas Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I agree with Consumer Reports

04/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Good choice

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very effective, easily picks up pet hair. The battery is long lasting. I would like the narrow nozzle to be longer to get deep into furniture cushions.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great Vacuum

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the hand vac to clean around a cat litter box. The Shark cleans perfectly, efficiently and completely. It holds its charge for a reasonable time. Recharging is efficient.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love Shark Products

11/25/2013
By ,
Ferndale, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this and have for several years. I purchased this one as a gift for my daughter. She loves it so much and wanted one for her home to get up all the dog hair on her furniture. I give it 5 stars because it is a great product as are all Shark products. I have several Shark products (steam mop, Shark Professional, Shark carpet and hardwood cleaner). I am on my second Shark vacuum because I gave my daughter (the same one) my first because she needed a good vacuum. I am purchasing a Shark lift-away for the other daughter for Christmas. They are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Terrible battery

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hand-vac was rated very high in Consumer Reports, so I thought it would be a safe bet. However, I found mine to be dead after just one week. It turns out that the battery is very difficult to properly charge. In fact, it turns out it needs to be removed from the charger as soon as it fully charged, and unfortunately, there is no way to tell when it is full. I've since read many other online reviews about the same problem. I was able to contact Shark customer service and they are sending me a new battery.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Hand-Vac I have owned

04/12/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned many hand-vacuums over the years, for the purpose of quick pick-ups around the house and for the vehicles. The most important things to me are its battery power, air flow and suction capability, attachments, and the weight of the vacuum. The Shark SX780 meets all of my requirements for an exceptional hand-vac. You will have absolutely no problem having a very long running time with this vacuum as long as you follow the very simple directions given. This type battery, once fully charged, has to completely run down before allowing it to charge again. If you keep placing it back onto the charger while it is plugged into the wall, it will deplete the battery and ruin it. Just simply unplug the adapter, and let the vac run down. It is that simple. You will get many uses from one charge, and your battery will last a long time. Reviewers that are having trouble with the charge or battery life, are not following the simple directions. The only complaint I have about this vacuum is that Shark needs to improve the adapter stand. It is frustrating sitting the vacuum back into the stand after use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 Stars. The attachments are well made, very useful, and stay attached well to the vacuum. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and Walmart has the best price and this vacuum has been highly rated among all hand vacuums currently on the market. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Surprised

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying several different cordless hand vans I was a bit skeptical to try another. However the Shark is all it claims and more, it does a great job and I am very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Littlel Sucker !

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the money. Lightweight, decent suction and holds the charge longer than expected. Only one drawback.....the vent is on the left side. So if you you're vacuuming right to left, the dirt will move around. Best to work left to right.
Just a suggestion to Shark.....your next model should have rear downward venting.
Otherwise, it's a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Good product.

05/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great when you have kids and you have to clean up after them all the time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Still Early

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this vacuum works good. A little on the expensive side. I've only been using it for about three weeks and the previous brand I was using worked good for a month before it quit. The Shark seems to have a lot of suction but is a little difficult to take apart to empty. It's main use is around the litter box so it needs to be dumped often. I think I need to find litter that doesn't track so bad. As of now I'm pleased with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy Vacuum with no strings or cords attached

07/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is quite a bit stronger than the last Shark vac I bought at Walmart. (9volt ???) it works great right now and it is such a handy vac to use on pet hair, dust and other waste carried into the house by our pets. Better stand too.
My fear is that the battery pack will suffer the same declining strength as the lesser-powered earlier Shark vacuum. Maybe I would be wise to buy a spare now ????
Overall, I really like it, but I think it was a bit pricey and I don't look for it to last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Cordless Vacume

04/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

great suction

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does what was advertised.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I wish I bought this sooner!

08/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I was looking for. If you have pets and want to keep your furniture hair free without using your huge vacuum cleaner, than you won't regret this purchase!
Pros: Ease of Use
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780
07/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is probably the 5th or 6th Shark hand vac I've owned over the last dozen years. Replacement batteries were priced at nearly the cost of a new unit so I merely replaced the units when they died. Luckily, I saved all my assessories.
All I wanted was a reasonably priced cordless hand vac with extension tubes so I could sweep in corners, clean up small accidents WITHOUT BENDING OVER and vacuum the occasional spider on the ceiling without dragging out the shop vacuum.
IMPORTANT - This particular model doesn't have the extension tubes but I was able to adapt two of the older ones from my past purchases.
With my specially adapted extensions, it works perfectly for me. The batteries last longer per charge and it seems to have a bit more power than the older units. This is the best one so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

terrible product.

04/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this a little over 3 months ago and the battery pack has just died and won't hold a charge at all. Only Runs for a minute after being charged for 12 hours. And Of course this happens just after the 90 day warranty.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next