Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

The SV780 Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum provides plenty of features and functionality for quick and easy cleanup. The detachable motorized brush effectively removes pet hair from upholstery and ground-in dirt from carpets. It is also perfect for car mats and seats. This compact Shark cordless vacuum comes with Twister Cyclonic technology that maintains a strong suction long enough for complete cleanup. Being lightweight, it does not weigh down your hand. This powerful hand-held vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool to reach the narrowest of nooks and corners. The easy-to-empty dust cap is an advantage over dust bags and a detachable and washable filter ensures easy maintenance. The ergonomically designed handle of this portable handheld cordless vacuum includes the power-on switch. The cyclonic vacuum cleaner runs on a powerful rechargeable 18V battery that can be charged via the charging station and the LED charging indicator shows the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.498 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation91%198 out of 217reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Must charge for 16 HOURS between uses!

01/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You read that right... those are the instructions inside the box. Not only that, but you must fully drain the battery before recharging it. Too bad they don't list that on its features online. I want a hand vac that can handle moving from upholstery, carpet and hard flooring -- that's why I picked this cordless vac. I figured I would give it a try but spring for the almost double-cost Hoover lithium battery hand vac if I wasn't impressed. I just can't imagine the inconvenience of being without a hand vac for an entire day b/c it needs to spend almost 3/4 of a day recharging. Glad I didn't finish unpacking it... Back it goes!
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I just had to replace the best hand sweeper

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays.
Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I agree with Consumer Reports

04/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent cordless product

02/01/2014
By ,
Pocahontas Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Hand-Vac I have owned

04/12/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned many hand-vacuums over the years, for the purpose of quick pick-ups around the house and for the vehicles. The most important things to me are its battery power, air flow and suction capability, attachments, and the weight of the vacuum. The Shark SX780 meets all of my requirements for an exceptional hand-vac. You will have absolutely no problem having a very long running time with this vacuum as long as you follow the very simple directions given. This type battery, once fully charged, has to completely run down before allowing it to charge again. If you keep placing it back onto the charger while it is plugged into the wall, it will deplete the battery and ruin it. Just simply unplug the adapter, and let the vac run down. It is that simple. You will get many uses from one charge, and your battery will last a long time. Reviewers that are having trouble with the charge or battery life, are not following the simple directions. The only complaint I have about this vacuum is that Shark needs to improve the adapter stand. It is frustrating sitting the vacuum back into the stand after use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 Stars. The attachments are well made, very useful, and stay attached well to the vacuum. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and Walmart has the best price and this vacuum has been highly rated among all hand vacuums currently on the market. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Didn't last 15 minutes

06/18/2010
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail!
I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Sucker Ever

08/23/2014
By ,
Jeannette Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the Shark Cordless HandHeld Vacuum is the best I have ever used. I recently bought their cordless vacuum for bare floors and carpet and I love it. But the handheld is even better than that. I have a hard time pushing a full sized vacuum so I resorted to trying these products. I couldn't be happier. The handheld also comes with 3 attachments. I have a pet boxer and of course she sheds. I used the pet hair attachment and it was so easy. It erased any traces of dog hair. I love it and would recommend this product to anyone!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great hand held product for quick clean-ups!

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using it a lot to keep up with the hair from two dogs. The variety of attachments makes it quite versatile and I love the fact that the battery charge lasts for a long time during use! It has great suction power. I also like that the stand/charger sits independently with the option of wall mounting. My only issue is having to bend over to use it on the floor, but, such is life with dogs and hand vacs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love Shark Products

11/25/2013
By ,
Ferndale, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this and have for several years. I purchased this one as a gift for my daughter. She loves it so much and wanted one for her home to get up all the dog hair on her furniture. I give it 5 stars because it is a great product as are all Shark products. I have several Shark products (steam mop, Shark Professional, Shark carpet and hardwood cleaner). I am on my second Shark vacuum because I gave my daughter (the same one) my first because she needed a good vacuum. I am purchasing a Shark lift-away for the other daughter for Christmas. They are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Geat hand vacuum!!!

08/18/2014
By ,
Summerville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had old shark for about ten years and loved it and this model is twice as powerful.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Great on pet hair

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for dog blankets, it does better getting the hair off the blankets then the washing machine. Also works great getting the pet hair out of the carpet in the car.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy Vacuum with no strings or cords attached

07/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is quite a bit stronger than the last Shark vac I bought at Walmart. (9volt ???) it works great right now and it is such a handy vac to use on pet hair, dust and other waste carried into the house by our pets. Better stand too.
My fear is that the battery pack will suffer the same declining strength as the lesser-powered earlier Shark vacuum. Maybe I would be wise to buy a spare now ????
Overall, I really like it, but I think it was a bit pricey and I don't look for it to last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Still Early

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this vacuum works good. A little on the expensive side. I've only been using it for about three weeks and the previous brand I was using worked good for a month before it quit. The Shark seems to have a lot of suction but is a little difficult to take apart to empty. It's main use is around the litter box so it needs to be dumped often. I think I need to find litter that doesn't track so bad. As of now I'm pleased with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

THE BEST EVER !

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hand held vacuum is just fantastic ! It has superior suction to a dust buster, picks up better then any hand held I have had in the past. It comes with three attachments including one for upholstery which is a God send if you have any pets. I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking to make cleaning easier. Great price, great product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

not worth it!!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Spokane
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when I saw this item I thought it was going to be something worth while, I was going to use it for my stairs.
after purchasing and receiving the item I was happy with the design and the structure of it but when I went to use it the brush roll stopped when it touch the carpet in the section was pretty weak.
Plus its a mess to clean up. It claims to be easy to clean but it really is not, you have to shake the dust off the filter and wash it after every use which I found pretty tedious since their claim is "Easy to Clean" so... I say keep your money and buy something better this thing is only with 5$ not 50$ or 60$...! I ended up buying the new shark lift away vacuum and live it!!! I gybe that 10 stars out of five and it works amazing on my stairs;-)
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Sper handy

08/05/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would like to say...that this is the first hand vac that has power and useful tools encluded!
I don't think anyone would be disappointed! I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

died immediately

02/22/2014
By ,
melbourne fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
should have listened to the other negative reviews. I jumped through all the hoops that the product required for charging the unit which involves unplugging the unit as soon as it is charged. how inconvenient is that? WAY INCONVENIENT! but I did as others seemed to have problems. my unit died after the first normal cycle and would not charge. actually, it showed that it was charging, the light went out after the 6 hour charge time, but the unit was dead, dead, dead! worst purchase ever!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent for carpeted stairs

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought for cleaning stairs,using the included motorized brush. It cleaned well and was very convenient. The brush was an outstanding width to clean my stairs easily. Recharge took 6 hours, which I felt was reasonable given its power and length of use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love it!

09/08/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best little vacuum!!! I bought it to keep up with the hair from my 2 cats and it by far, does that. I think the previous customer got a bad unit because, for a cordless vacuum, this thing has amazing suction and handles pet hair with ease! It holds its charge for a good amount of time and I have even used it for light cleaning of my carpeted stairs with great results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I wish I bought this sooner!

08/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I was looking for. If you have pets and want to keep your furniture hair free without using your huge vacuum cleaner, than you won't regret this purchase!
Pros: Ease of Use
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next