Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Shark Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

The SV780 Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum provides plenty of features and functionality for quick and easy cleanup. The detachable motorized brush effectively removes pet hair from upholstery and ground-in dirt from carpets. It is also perfect for car mats and seats. This compact Shark cordless vacuum comes with Twister Cyclonic technology that maintains a strong suction long enough for complete cleanup. Being lightweight, it does not weigh down your hand. This powerful hand-held vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool to reach the narrowest of nooks and corners. The easy-to-empty dust cap is an advantage over dust bags and a detachable and washable filter ensures easy maintenance. The ergonomically designed handle of this portable handheld cordless vacuum includes the power-on switch. The cyclonic vacuum cleaner runs on a powerful rechargeable 18V battery that can be charged via the charging station and the LED charging indicator shows the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.468 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(265 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation91%242 out of 265reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
48
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Must charge for 16 HOURS between uses!

01/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You read that right... those are the instructions inside the box. Not only that, but you must fully drain the battery before recharging it. Too bad they don't list that on its features online. I want a hand vac that can handle moving from upholstery, carpet and hard flooring -- that's why I picked this cordless vac. I figured I would give it a try but spring for the almost double-cost Hoover lithium battery hand vac if I wasn't impressed. I just can't imagine the inconvenience of being without a hand vac for an entire day b/c it needs to spend almost 3/4 of a day recharging. Glad I didn't finish unpacking it... Back it goes!
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I just had to replace the best hand sweeper

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost my hand held sweeper, the best one I have ever had in my 44 years of marriage. It was lost in a car accident, coming home from my daughters, over the Christmas holidays.
Yes it was the same model & exact same one. Thank you for not changing a thing about a product that was excellant the first time arround.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Terrible battery

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hand-vac was rated very high in Consumer Reports, so I thought it would be a safe bet. However, I found mine to be dead after just one week. It turns out that the battery is very difficult to properly charge. In fact, it turns out it needs to be removed from the charger as soon as it fully charged, and unfortunately, there is no way to tell when it is full. I've since read many other online reviews about the same problem. I was able to contact Shark customer service and they are sending me a new battery.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Didn't last 15 minutes

06/18/2010
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this with hesitation as I have not had good luck with rechargeable vacuums in the past. But with the good reputation of Shark products, I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions to the letter - charging for the full 12 hours prior to first use - excited to use it for the first time primarily around the litter boxes to pick up the stray litter from my kitties paws. Worked great in this aspect. Very strong suction until the filter gets clogged up and then stops picking up anything - this only took 15 minutes and my house is pretty clean. More disappointment when I started to use the rotating brush attachment. Worked for two flights of stairs before it just decided to stop rotating. I followed every troubleshooting tip in the book to include completely cleaning the brush to free it of any trapped hair/fur ~ all to no avail!
I do not recommend this product for the cost. You truly are better off with a broom and dust pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent cordless product

02/01/2014
By ,
Pocahontas Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a cordless was intimidating on line, reading reviews on products...not knowing if people were honest...etc. I tell you I am extremely happy with the product so far. One thing I like is the charge time. No more than 6 hours...so it is not constantly using electricity like so many items we leave plugged in all the time. I can give the car a good cleaning about 3 times before I need to charge it, and we have a large Chrysler van, AND a large dog!! The other thing I really like are the attachments. I am pleasantly surprised that we got such a good product for the price we paid. I would think another 20 bucks on the price would still be VERY worth it !! All in all...extremely pleased. ..and would definitely recommend this product to others!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

I agree with Consumer Reports

04/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched Consumer Reports and they said this is the best. I like it, use it every day. I ordered it site to store, took about 3 days. Has a lot of power and good capacity. Only two things to remember: charge it overnight before using for the first time and do NOT put it back on the charger unless the battery is dead. You must run it till the battery is dead before you put back on the charger. It only runs about 15 minutes before dying which is about 3 days of on and off to chase dust bunnies. I set it down next to the charger until it won't run then it goes into the charger.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy for the home

02/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm generally satisfied with this product. I use it daily to pick up the dog hair from the dogs bed and surrounding areas. The rotating brush does a great job on the throw rugs and carpeted stairs.
Also great for use in the car after the dogs have been in it.
The run time is around 20-30 minutes and then it's dead.
Recharges fairly quickly.
Emptying the debris could be easier but instead you have to remove the filter and clean it before reassembling it.
So far it has strong suction and picks up hair and dirt well. I would recommend this to other pet owners.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent!

02/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it! The docking base could be a little more sturdy. The product itself, however, it great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

More like a minnow!

02/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously owned a cordless vacuum from a different company and was very disappointed. I read a Consumer's Report of this unit and thought it sounded like an improvement but I was wrong and it was almost twice as expensive. Handheld cordless vacuums as a group are just not worthwhile purchases.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

This vacuum really sucks

02/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well. Battery life a little short, but OK.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Best Hand-Vac I have owned

04/12/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned many hand-vacuums over the years, for the purpose of quick pick-ups around the house and for the vehicles. The most important things to me are its battery power, air flow and suction capability, attachments, and the weight of the vacuum. The Shark SX780 meets all of my requirements for an exceptional hand-vac. You will have absolutely no problem having a very long running time with this vacuum as long as you follow the very simple directions given. This type battery, once fully charged, has to completely run down before allowing it to charge again. If you keep placing it back onto the charger while it is plugged into the wall, it will deplete the battery and ruin it. Just simply unplug the adapter, and let the vac run down. It is that simple. You will get many uses from one charge, and your battery will last a long time. Reviewers that are having trouble with the charge or battery life, are not following the simple directions. The only complaint I have about this vacuum is that Shark needs to improve the adapter stand. It is frustrating sitting the vacuum back into the stand after use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 Stars. The attachments are well made, very useful, and stay attached well to the vacuum. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and Walmart has the best price and this vacuum has been highly rated among all hand vacuums currently on the market. You won't be disappointed with the purchase of this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Love Shark Products

11/25/2013
By ,
Ferndale, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this and have for several years. I purchased this one as a gift for my daughter. She loves it so much and wanted one for her home to get up all the dog hair on her furniture. I give it 5 stars because it is a great product as are all Shark products. I have several Shark products (steam mop, Shark Professional, Shark carpet and hardwood cleaner). I am on my second Shark vacuum because I gave my daughter (the same one) my first because she needed a good vacuum. I am purchasing a Shark lift-away for the other daughter for Christmas. They are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Now we have 2 of these.

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a portable vac that does the job intended. We now have 2, one for each level of the house. Gave away the Black and Decker that looked futuristic but couldn't get the job done.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

It Sucks! :D

01/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And I mean that literally. It really does the job; vacuuming the car interior or small jobs in the home. I bought this for my other half for cleaning the garage and the cars, but I've also been using it.....for small spills and fast clean up. Awesome little vac.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Excellent hand vac, especially for pet owners!

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong and powerful. Much better than the DustBuster I have repeatedly had to replace over the years. Love the attachments. Great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

PERFECT SWEEPER FOR THE CAR

02/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum to clean the mats and floors of my car rather than taking the
car to the car wash all the time. It works perfectly. My car looks clean every day in
the winter time and all year long. It was a perfect choice for that purpose.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

great suction

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this for me several years ago. It just died a month ago. I had to search for the exact one. We use this vacuum all the time for quick clean ups. Love the rug attachment. You will not be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Handy Vacuum with no strings or cords attached

07/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum is quite a bit stronger than the last Shark vac I bought at Walmart. (9volt ???) it works great right now and it is such a handy vac to use on pet hair, dust and other waste carried into the house by our pets. Better stand too.
My fear is that the battery pack will suffer the same declining strength as the lesser-powered earlier Shark vacuum. Maybe I would be wise to buy a spare now ????
Overall, I really like it, but I think it was a bit pricey and I don't look for it to last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Still Early

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this vacuum works good. A little on the expensive side. I've only been using it for about three weeks and the previous brand I was using worked good for a month before it quit. The Shark seems to have a lot of suction but is a little difficult to take apart to empty. It's main use is around the litter box so it needs to be dumped often. I think I need to find litter that doesn't track so bad. As of now I'm pleased with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Cordless Hand-Held Vacuum, SV780

Certainly Does Suck

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been satisfified with the product so far. Been great at removing pet hair from furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 240 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next