Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Bissell Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Clean up around your house with the help of the 2402 Bissell Sturdy Sweep. This home cleaning tool is easy to maneuver around objects on the ground. This Bissell sweeper features four small brushes on the corners of its foot, in addition to a primary brush to clean thoroughly. It effectively captures minuscule dirt and dust particles caught around legs of furniture. The cordless sweeper also has a handle that lies flat so that it is easy to move beneath furniture. Its five-brush system has a non-powered sweep that picks up lint, crumbs and dirt meticulously and leaves nothing on the floor. It is simple to maintain this tool. Without a cord, plug or dustpan to empty out frequently, it is easy to clean and reuse it. It can be used on all floor surfaces thanks to its durable, ergonomic design and its comfortable rubber grip. This device is a must-have for hassle-free housekeeping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(397 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
91
3 stars
35
2 stars
26
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%321 out of 361reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 134 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
91
3 stars
35
2 stars
26
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Have been battling with this thing for years...

02/12/2014
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I was younger, I used a carpet sweeper that was much heavier than this one...but it did such a wonderful job on both carpet and floors that I decided to purchase this Bissell Sturdy Sweep, hoping it would be sort of like the older, heavier one. Not even close! After a very long time, and stroke after stroke after stroke, I would give up and pull out my broom and dust pan. And I would always kick myself for not just pulling out the broom in the first place. Anyway, I have been battling to get my floors clean with this sweeper for years, and have finally given up in favor of the newer Natural sweep from the same manufacturer. Maybe the fact that the Natural Sweep has TWO roller brushes, moving in opposite directions, instead of only one, sad little brush that can't do the job, will make all the difference. I hope so. As for sweeping carpets, it does a somewhat ok job...but nothing to get excited about. I could do a better job on the carpet with a plain broom...and with fewer strokes too.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Just What I Needed

02/24/2013
By ,
Twin Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little carpet sweeper for keeping the crumbs etc off my dark green area rug in my living room, two or three times each day and for a better sweep-up in my kitchen, works on bare floors too. For those of you who are reading about the loose end on the handle. WE SOLVED IT. It took a man's strength, but if you hold the handle firmly and press hard, you can SCREW ON the top end and it's solid and will never come off again. The first turn is the hardest, three more and it's on forever.
Oh, and don't push where it says push to empty until you are over the trash can because otherwise you'll have to use the handy sweeper to sweep those crumbs off the floor again. I totally disagree with the person who called this a "toy". It might not be suitable for a very big home's family room, only because it would be slow going, but crumbs around the table, scraps from kids projects, even fluff from my sewing project all came right up with ease and without dragging out the vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

A throwback gem

03/10/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I forgot about the carpet sweeper until my vacuum broke and I needed a cheap quick fix. I thought back to the days my parents always had this brown metal carpet sweeper and wondered if they still made them. Very hard to find in stores but online there were a fair share of choices. I bought this Bissel for the price and how closely it resemble the one I remembered. I had it for a few weeks and it's been everything I need. It picks up all the crumbs and dog hair without much dificulty. It's not a vacuum so it does take a bit more passes to get everything up and I'm always surprised at just how much gets picked up when I empty it over the garbage. I know a vacuum is better at cleaning the carpet but with my Bissel I only need the vacuum for my big cleaning day not every time the carpet gets something on it. I don't know how the other sweepers compare but this one is fine with me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

DYNAMITE LITTLE SWEEPER!

04/15/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well....after reading reviews pro & con, I decided to buy this sweeper. Was expecting a bit of problems since reading some of the cons. I put the handle sections together using a rubber gripper so they would be tight. Worked great! Since I only wanted the sweeper for light clean up between my vacuuming, I started using it & was I ever surprised. What a delight to see that it really worked. I didn't have to run it over & over bits of dirt, it picked it up immediately. Used it in dining room & living room & when dumping out the dirt was glad to see it picked up the pet hair along with the dirt. I use a small whisk broom to clean out dirt collectors. Immediately fell in love with this efficient little sweeper! It does just what I was hoping...quick clean ups. What a great price too!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

My grandmother's was awesome, mine is too.

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sweeper. I remember my grandmother having one and I remember how well it actually worked. I went to countless stores and nobody had any in stock. When I did find one store that had one, the price was more than double the price of this one. I got it for myself for Christmas and it is my favorite present in a long time.
I have 2 small children and a teenager. My floors can get messy with just about everything. This little sweeper picks anything up off of carpet. It just sort of scoots it around on the hard floor though. But on carpet, the reason I wanted it for, is amazing. It holds a lot before it needs to be emptied. My 2 year old can even use it, and he loves it. They were afraid of the loud sweepers so this way I can clean up at any time without them getting upset.
This is a product I would recommend any parent have. It is lightweight, quiet, efficient and your kids will use it!! Plus, it is affordable!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Convenient - You'll use it and so will your kids!

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been implementing a chore system for our kids. Part of the recommendation was to invest in tools for cleaning. Tools that are preferably fun and easy to use for kids. So, indeed we have and it is paying off. They don't mind using the sweeper since it is kind of fun and very easy. The sweeper itself does good in open areas on our vinyl and medium pile carpet. It doesn't get right up to the edge going forward but the side edges get most everything. It does pick up on forward and reverse sweeps making it a handy tool. The biggest issue I have had with it is the rubber bumper is "grippy" so when you're moving along the edges it will grip on the cabinets acting like a brake. I will probably try some silicone spray lubricant on that. My youngest son has managed to knock the rubber bumper off twice as well but it is easy to pop back on.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Mixed emotions

07/28/2014
By ,
LBI, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's kind of cheaply made; definitely not the product my mother and grandmother used. But then again, nothing at all is made to last anymore.
I bought a Swiffer Sweep and Trap. I didn't even assemble it because it looked like such junk. The Bissell costs less, has no extra cost at all and really does work well.
It is fantastic for quick pickups and in between vacumming. If you think this is made to clean your carpets replacing vacumming, it is not.
My biggest complaint is the handle. Real bad. I'll see how that goes.
Is it worth the $30? Yes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Big Sweeps

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sweeping mechanism does a very nice job. We use it at church to clean up after Coffee Hour. The one drawback is the handle. Many people use this and they must twist it as they are sweeping. Because the handle is in multiple pieces and the pieces are screwed together they keep coming apart. I think I may have to glue the sections together.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Handy Tool

03/11/2011
By ,
Kaysville, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it and think it is fun to use...so Mom really loves it. The handle is poor design but I glued it to keep it together. Works fine. Smaller than other models I have seen. Very easy to clean out. Interesting/almost scary to see all the stuff it picks up but that is a good thing! Do need to clean the hair off the brushes occasionally but then I have four daughters and a dog. Lots of hair. Much handier than hauling out the vacuum every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Carpet sweeper

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just as well as my vacuum cleaner but is much easier to handle just a smooth push around the floors/carpets and I'm finished. Would recommend. Thanks Wal-Mart for the option to place orders on line it's very convenient and quick.
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

QUIET CLEANING

01/28/2012
By ,
Milford DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use three of these in out large thrift store in Milford DE to keep up with what we don't do with major cleaning using our Orecks. These Bissells help us keep up without noise that distracts and repels customers from the area we are cleaning.We work behind several counters and have many small hard-to-access areas and this unit does them well. I recommend this low-priced high quality item for all cleaning jobs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Portable sweeper without electricity

12/19/2013
By ,
Dallas Ft Worth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I remember using this as a kid. It sweeps up lots of small things on floors, without dragging out a heavy vacuum cleaner. If it is a larger item, such as a big leaf it doesn't do as well. But it is a great way to pick up little pieces of dirt and dust in a hurry to clean up the floor.
My grandchildren can use it too without them having to use electric plugs. They enjoy being helpers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

GREAT

11/12/2010
By ,
largo, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sweeper is great. I don't always want to get the electric vacuum out and this does the same thing and is easy to hide when not using. it picks up dirt great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+132points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Still sweeping after over four months of use
Posted 07/19/2013
This little sweeper still works wonderfully on all floors after being used almost daily for over four months. The only issue is the rubber "bumper" comes off easily and will not stay on. I just leave it off because it has no function other than to prevent scratching furniture it may bump into, which is not a problem at our house. It is a good idea to empty the dirt after every use and clean the roller by pulling off hair and other debris that may hamper its effectiveness. I am still very happy with this item and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

good little sweeper

11/26/2010
By ,
Henderson NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice little sweeper, it does the job
The only con is the handle keeps coming off
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Works well

11/04/2013
By ,
frederick, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beats the heck out of having to get the vac out for every little thing. Does a nice job, particularly on pet hair.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Excellent cleaning product

11/20/2010
By ,
Northern IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My toddler is terrified of our vacuum, so I ordered the Bissell Sturdy Sweep to help me keep up with all of the crumbs and pet hair. It does a fantastic job for being non-electric. The Sturdy Sweep takes care of the crumbs on the kitchen floor and pet hair and other misc. fuzzies on both the kitchen floor and the carpet. It even leaves vacuum 'marks' on the carpet! Best of all, my toddler loves to play with it, which means there's a bit more cleaning going on each time he does!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

smaller than it used to be but still very good.

01/22/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for quick clean-ups. Especially for short nap carpet. Must keep brushes cleaned of hair but comes with a comb for that purpose
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Great carpet sweeper!

01/24/2014
By ,
Burlington NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This carpet sweeper works well on both my area rugs and my hardwoods. It picks up on the forward and backward motion. The only complaint I have is that it is SMALL. It looks like a child's toy. I originally purchased the Oreck carpet sweeper and I was very disappointed with it. This Bissell is less than half the cost of the Oreck and is exactly what I wanted...something to spot clean between dragging out my heavy Kirby for deep vacuumings. It picks up the little crumbs and dog and cat hair like a dream. If it were larger, I would give it five stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

no title given

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this unit works better than I hoped, cleans forward and back. I use it on short carpet and a wood floor. only problem is things like fishing line or string will cling to brushes. minor problem. made out of metal, strong. gets used every day. a winner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Fantastic

07/08/2012
By ,
Rochester, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight and easy to use....picks up all the dog hair in between vacuumings. have owned two of these in the past and always loved them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 321 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next