Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Bissell Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Clean up around your house with the help of the 2402 Bissell Sturdy Sweep. This home cleaning tool is easy to maneuver around objects on the ground. This Bissell sweeper features four small brushes on the corners of its foot, in addition to a primary brush to clean thoroughly. It effectively captures minuscule dirt and dust particles caught around legs of furniture. The cordless sweeper also has a handle that lies flat so that it is easy to move beneath furniture. Its five-brush system has a non-powered sweep that picks up lint, crumbs and dirt meticulously and leaves nothing on the floor. It is simple to maintain this tool. Without a cord, plug or dustpan to empty out frequently, it is easy to clean and reuse it. It can be used on all floor surfaces thanks to its durable, ergonomic design and its comfortable rubber grip. This device is a must-have for hassle-free housekeeping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(333 Reviews) 291
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
198
4 stars
77
3 stars
31
2 stars
21
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%268 out of 300reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
198
4 stars
77
3 stars
31
2 stars
21
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Have been battling with this thing for years...

02/12/2014
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I was younger, I used a carpet sweeper that was much heavier than this one...but it did such a wonderful job on both carpet and floors that I decided to purchase this Bissell Sturdy Sweep, hoping it would be sort of like the older, heavier one. Not even close! After a very long time, and stroke after stroke after stroke, I would give up and pull out my broom and dust pan. And I would always kick myself for not just pulling out the broom in the first place. Anyway, I have been battling to get my floors clean with this sweeper for years, and have finally given up in favor of the newer Natural sweep from the same manufacturer. Maybe the fact that the Natural Sweep has TWO roller brushes, moving in opposite directions, instead of only one, sad little brush that can't do the job, will make all the difference. I hope so. As for sweeping carpets, it does a somewhat ok job...but nothing to get excited about. I could do a better job on the carpet with a plain broom...and with fewer strokes too.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Just What I Needed

02/24/2013
By ,
Twin Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little carpet sweeper for keeping the crumbs etc off my dark green area rug in my living room, two or three times each day and for a better sweep-up in my kitchen, works on bare floors too. For those of you who are reading about the loose end on the handle. WE SOLVED IT. It took a man's strength, but if you hold the handle firmly and press hard, you can SCREW ON the top end and it's solid and will never come off again. The first turn is the hardest, three more and it's on forever.
Oh, and don't push where it says push to empty until you are over the trash can because otherwise you'll have to use the handy sweeper to sweep those crumbs off the floor again. I totally disagree with the person who called this a "toy". It might not be suitable for a very big home's family room, only because it would be slow going, but crumbs around the table, scraps from kids projects, even fluff from my sewing project all came right up with ease and without dragging out the vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Convenient - You'll use it and so will your kids!

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been implementing a chore system for our kids. Part of the recommendation was to invest in tools for cleaning. Tools that are preferably fun and easy to use for kids. So, indeed we have and it is paying off. They don't mind using the sweeper since it is kind of fun and very easy. The sweeper itself does good in open areas on our vinyl and medium pile carpet. It doesn't get right up to the edge going forward but the side edges get most everything. It does pick up on forward and reverse sweeps making it a handy tool. The biggest issue I have had with it is the rubber bumper is "grippy" so when you're moving along the edges it will grip on the cabinets acting like a brake. I will probably try some silicone spray lubricant on that. My youngest son has managed to knock the rubber bumper off twice as well but it is easy to pop back on.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

A throwback gem

03/10/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I forgot about the carpet sweeper until my vacuum broke and I needed a cheap quick fix. I thought back to the days my parents always had this brown metal carpet sweeper and wondered if they still made them. Very hard to find in stores but online there were a fair share of choices. I bought this Bissel for the price and how closely it resemble the one I remembered. I had it for a few weeks and it's been everything I need. It picks up all the crumbs and dog hair without much dificulty. It's not a vacuum so it does take a bit more passes to get everything up and I'm always surprised at just how much gets picked up when I empty it over the garbage. I know a vacuum is better at cleaning the carpet but with my Bissel I only need the vacuum for my big cleaning day not every time the carpet gets something on it. I don't know how the other sweepers compare but this one is fine with me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Carpet sweeper

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just as well as my vacuum cleaner but is much easier to handle just a smooth push around the floors/carpets and I'm finished. Would recommend. Thanks Wal-Mart for the option to place orders on line it's very convenient and quick.
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Mixed emotions

07/28/2014
By ,
LBI, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's kind of cheaply made; definitely not the product my mother and grandmother used. But then again, nothing at all is made to last anymore.
I bought a Swiffer Sweep and Trap. I didn't even assemble it because it looked like such junk. The Bissell costs less, has no extra cost at all and really does work well.
It is fantastic for quick pickups and in between vacumming. If you think this is made to clean your carpets replacing vacumming, it is not.
My biggest complaint is the handle. Real bad. I'll see how that goes.
Is it worth the $30? Yes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Better than expected !

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too lazy to lug out the vacuum when a touch-up is all that is warranted. This sweeper does an exceptional job on all my area rugs, carpeted stairs and bare floors. Great for small particles and the occasional bits of litter, dust and crumbs. One of my best purchases...with easy clean-up while emptying, plus my kitty doesn't hide under the bed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

DYNAMITE LITTLE SWEEPER!

04/15/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well....after reading reviews pro & con, I decided to buy this sweeper. Was expecting a bit of problems since reading some of the cons. I put the handle sections together using a rubber gripper so they would be tight. Worked great! Since I only wanted the sweeper for light clean up between my vacuuming, I started using it & was I ever surprised. What a delight to see that it really worked. I didn't have to run it over & over bits of dirt, it picked it up immediately. Used it in dining room & living room & when dumping out the dirt was glad to see it picked up the pet hair along with the dirt. I use a small whisk broom to clean out dirt collectors. Immediately fell in love with this efficient little sweeper! It does just what I was hoping...quick clean ups. What a great price too!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Portable sweeper without electricity

12/19/2013
By ,
Dallas Ft Worth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I remember using this as a kid. It sweeps up lots of small things on floors, without dragging out a heavy vacuum cleaner. If it is a larger item, such as a big leaf it doesn't do as well. But it is a great way to pick up little pieces of dirt and dust in a hurry to clean up the floor.
My grandchildren can use it too without them having to use electric plugs. They enjoy being helpers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Handy Tool

03/11/2011
By ,
Kaysville, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it and think it is fun to use...so Mom really loves it. The handle is poor design but I glued it to keep it together. Works fine. Smaller than other models I have seen. Very easy to clean out. Interesting/almost scary to see all the stuff it picks up but that is a good thing! Do need to clean the hair off the brushes occasionally but then I have four daughters and a dog. Lots of hair. Much handier than hauling out the vacuum every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Good for quick sweep.

10/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small, yes. But it certainly is worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Does a decent job

10/09/2014
By ,
Nevada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Light weight unit, but does a decent job. Small unit so not great for really large area. But good for quick cleanup.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

GREAT

11/12/2010
By ,
largo, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sweeper is great. I don't always want to get the electric vacuum out and this does the same thing and is easy to hide when not using. it picks up dirt great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Still sweeping after over four months of use
Posted 07/19/2013
This little sweeper still works wonderfully on all floors after being used almost daily for over four months. The only issue is the rubber "bumper" comes off easily and will not stay on. I just leave it off because it has no function other than to prevent scratching furniture it may bump into, which is not a problem at our house. It is a good idea to empty the dirt after every use and clean the roller by pulling off hair and other debris that may hamper its effectiveness. I am still very happy with this item and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

great for quick pick ups.

10/09/2014
By ,
Youngstown, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needs to come with some kind of tool to clean bristles with.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

great sweeper

10/08/2014
By ,
Irving Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Bissell Sturdy Sweep 2402 it really gets the job done I have a dog and cat and it is wonderful.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Good daily carpet cleaner

10/05/2014
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great for in between vacuums. I also taught for years and used these after school daily and my room was always the cleanest. My Mom is in a power chair and she can use this to clean herself. She just holds it while she rolls. Great for small clean ups to.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Quick and effective

12/11/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for handling the challenge of getting late teens to clean up after themselves or a quick fix for tracked in leaves - the Bissell Sturdy Sweep is light, fast, hangs up right next to the broom, and handles all surfaces. Even the kids were surprised at how much filth the little sweeper collected in their rooms!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Excellent cleaning product

11/20/2010
By ,
Northern IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My toddler is terrified of our vacuum, so I ordered the Bissell Sturdy Sweep to help me keep up with all of the crumbs and pet hair. It does a fantastic job for being non-electric. The Sturdy Sweep takes care of the crumbs on the kitchen floor and pet hair and other misc. fuzzies on both the kitchen floor and the carpet. It even leaves vacuum 'marks' on the carpet! Best of all, my toddler loves to play with it, which means there's a bit more cleaning going on each time he does!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

That it works is no suprise. That it works so well

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a newly singled 90 year old in my own small apartment I share with my cat of 10 years, I need a sweeper that would not scare the cat (like a vacuum cleaner) but would pick up the unending amount of cat hair emanating from a long haired Persian. And this Bissell does the job, as did the one in our house 85 years ago.
They work!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Sturdy Sweep, 2402

Not your grandmother's sweeper

09/27/2014
By ,
Linden, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This has pretty much become a commodity product. It's smaller and less well made than the sweepers of years ago. Going over simple debris on a carpet several times still leaves stuff on the carpet, or if it's picked up, it is sometimes dropped back onto the rug. I would recommend a small hand vac instead.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 260 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next