Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Good taste is no longer optional - It's required. Bring home the coffeehouse with the new Mr. Coffee BVMC PSTX91 Thermal Coffeemaker. This coffee maker features an OptimalBrew technology that will brew coffee faster and hotter than your average coffeemaker. So, you'll get the fullest, richest, flavor extraction every time you make coffee. The stainless steel vacuum insulated carafe will help keep coffee hot for hours on your counter top or at your table. Make use of the Pause 'n Serve function in this Mr. Coffee 10-cup coffee maker to have a cup of coffee when the brewing is not yet complete. Easy to clean and a breeze to maintain, this OptimalBrew thermal coffee maker from Mr. Coffee is a smart addition to any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
16
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation72%158 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 137 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
16
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!

09/15/2010
By ,
Southern Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Defuniak sprs Fl
Ron
Posted 11/09/2012
Been using mr coffee brewers for smoe time now never had a problem. just one thing they never make them large enough as for this model ours works perfectly just make sure the Karaf is empty as they mention in the info GREAT
0points
Customer Avatar
Longmont, CO
Agree!
Posted 11/10/2011
We have the same problem. It is great for fresh, hot coffee, but who wants to keep wiping up the counter after every cup you pour!?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Waste of Time/Money!

08/08/2010
By ,
Richmond, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Looks aren't everything

07/27/2013
By ,
SNJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe.
Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot.
We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker
09/17/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots.
Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Not the same as the one in website

12/23/2013
By ,
long island
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome

03/30/2014
By ,
Tyrone, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Faulty machanics.

02/04/2014
By ,
DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We've had the machine for about 2 weeks and when we first got it ,all seemed good; nice design, easy to use, easy to set up for delayed brewing. But now the water reservoir doesn't hold the water securely overnight for delayed brewing. It is overflowing when we come down to kitchen in the morning. Also the thermal carafe doesn't hold in the heat of the coffee like we thought it would. It does an ok job but as soon as the coffee brews you can feel the side of the carafe is warm whereas I would expect a thermal carafe to be cool to the touch holding in all the coffee heat. It does work well when you immediately brew a pot. I plan to call Mr. Coffee and see what they can do about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

A little pricey but- A Very Good Coffe Maker!

01/04/2014
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this coffee maker about a month now and have had zero problems.
I have never paid this much for a coffee maker but I figured maybe this one will last longer than the ones I usually buy for $25 and they last about 2 years. I shopped around other stores first looking at other coffee makers but I always found something wrong with the design. This one fit the bill. I make coffee every day and usually make 6-8 cups. It looks really nice on my counter and the coffee brews quite fast. I haven't had any problems with leakage. I followed the directions to get it brew-ready to-the-letter. I like the stainless steel carafe as it keeps the coffee warmer than the glass ones- so that is a plus. And if there is a problem with the coffee preparation, it will let you know by the power light flashing fast and a high pitch beep. It does have a timer ability, but I don't use it right now. When the brew cycle is complete it beeps a couple times. It looks well made so I am hopeful this will last me at least 5 yrs. I wish I could have gotten it cheaper by getting it online but I needed it right away and had to just go to my local Walmart and pay more for it. But that's okay, I am still happy with my purchase anyways!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another

08/20/2011
By ,
Shelbyville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down.
But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months.
The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers).
But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

nice product

08/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my wife after years of using a stove top peculator and she loves it, i have been trying for years to get her to get an electric one because of the time a peculator takes.
This is fast and makes great coffee, we havn`t had any problems with leaks like some people have stated in their reviews, they probably had the reservoir not set in place correctly or a defective product.
The reservoir is great, you don't have to move the unit to fill it if you have a cupboard above, the coffee side has a built in water filter.
All in all it is a great product, with a timer so u can wake up to fresh coffee and it also has a clean function. I would definitely buy this again or recommend it. just sad that i didn't get the sale price but it was still worth every penny because my wife is a bear before she gets her coffee in the morning.
Buy and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Love Stainless Steel Carafe

04/10/2014
By ,
David City, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this coffeemaker online a few weeks ago. Love the removable water reservoir and the stainless steel carafe. I use the set delay every night and coffee is fresh and hot for both my husband and I...even though we drink our first cup a few hours apart. Coffee is still warm at noon which is great for my husband during the cold winter months. We love it! And the price was considerably less than other places I have seen it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Great coffee pot!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great coffee pot. I generally start my coffee around 6 am and by 8 am the coffee is still piping hot. The thermal carafe does a great job keeping the coffee warm and the pot can be sat directly on the table because the outside is cool to the touch.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Love my hot Coffee!!!!

07/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that the other reviewer of this coffee pot must have purchased a defective product. My husband finally got tired of replacing my $20 coffee makers and we bought this. He wakes up 4-5 a.m. and I normally wake up 8-9 a.m. Which means I NEVER got hot coffee with my old coffee makers. With the new Mr. Coffee I always get a nice, hot cup of coffee. The coffee stays steaming hot in the carafe for about 7 hours! And when I empty the pot to set up the coffee for the morning, the coffee inside the carafe is still warm--after about 16 hours! This product is awsome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Hi quality coffeemaker and thermal pot

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes coffee quickly and hot. Everything is excellent. Easy to use. Looks alot more expensive than it cost, too!
A great value and easy to keep clean.
The coffee taste is very good. Much better than my previous $110 one did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Great coffee maker

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the look, taste, features of this coffee maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Exceeded Expectations

07/24/2010
By ,
White Bear Lake, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product this is! We had a Cuisinart that was about three times the cost of this coffee maker. Our Cuisinart stopped working on us after only having it for 2 years. I ran to Walmart to pick up a new coffee maker, not expecting much, and not wanting to spend a lot of money. I got this one for $64 on sale and can not believe what GREAT coffee it makes! It works perfectly, I love the removable water resevoir and coffee basket, I love that it takes standard coffee filters, and it looks great!
Do not be discouraged by the negative feedback on this product; I would rather have a cup of coffee from this machine than one from Caribou or Starbucks any day of the week!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Attractive Coffee Pot for counter

04/07/2014
By ,
Jersey Shore, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the look of this coffee maker. I had to exchange it because it was broken. Customer service was great. I just went to the aisle and picked up another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Does what I expected

02/18/2014
By ,
Saugerties ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after our Keurig crapped out when it was only 18 months old. Since my husband hated that we decided on a regular coffee maker. I love the thermal carafe, it keeps the coffee hot for about 45 minutes. We do not preheat the carafe so possibly if we did it would last longer. I also love the water reservoir that pulls out to be filled. The ease of use is exactly what I wanted. I can't speak of the brew time set either since we don't use that either. I can always wait 7 minutes for my first cup of coffee! Bottom line this machine works great for us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

keeps coffee hot

04/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is our second Mr. Coffee Thermal, we had the other for several years before needing to replace it. Coffee is easy to set up the night before with a timer for the morning, coffee stays hot for quite a while.
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Best coffee maker we've ever owned!

04/05/2014
By ,
Sevierville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good, brews good coffee in a very short time. Love the stainless carafe and stainless trim.
The extra water filter is a plus. The digital controls are good and we especially like the timer that tells how much time left before 2 hour shutoff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next