Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Good taste is no longer optional - It's required. Bring home the java shop with the Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker. This coffee maker features an OptimalBrew technology that will brew coffee faster and hotter than your average coffeemaker. So, you'll get the fullest, richest, flavor extraction every time you brew some java in this espresso coffee maker. The stainless steel vacuum insulated carafe will help keep coffee hot for hours on your counter top or at your table. Make use of the Pause 'n Serve function in this Mr. Coffee 10-cup coffee maker to have a cup of coffee when the brewing is not yet complete. Easy to clean and a breeze to maintain, the Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker is a smart addition to any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(412 Reviews) 400
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
55
3 stars
14
2 stars
20
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation79%325 out of 412reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 185 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
55
3 stars
14
2 stars
20
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!

09/15/2010
By ,
Southern Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Mr Coffee 10 cup Thermal
Posted 04/26/2014
I have had a Thermal carafe and I have had coffee makers. After the first cup of coffee the coffee maker doesn't live up to any standard I have had before. So I called Mr. Coffee to find out if there was something I missed. They told me to put boiling water in the carafe if I wanted it to stay hotter longer. Hum really ... I think I'll take the $72.00 coffee maker back!
0points
Customer Avatar
Defuniak sprs Fl
Ron
Posted 11/09/2012
Been using mr coffee brewers for smoe time now never had a problem. just one thing they never make them large enough as for this model ours works perfectly just make sure the Karaf is empty as they mention in the info GREAT
0points
Customer Avatar
Longmont, CO
Agree!
Posted 11/10/2011
We have the same problem. It is great for fresh, hot coffee, but who wants to keep wiping up the counter after every cup you pour!?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Waste of Time/Money!

08/08/2010
By ,
Richmond, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Looks aren't everything

07/27/2013
By ,
SNJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe.
Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot.
We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker
09/17/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots.
Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Love the coffee maker

09/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the coffee maker, and the coffee it makes, and the carafe works great, the thing I miss about my previous coffee maker, the clear pot, you could see how much left.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Not the same as the one in website

12/23/2013
By ,
long island
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Bad

05/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an older Mr. Coffee 10 cup thermal coffee maker. After five years it finally quit working. I replaced it with this newer version. I do not like a heating element because it gives the coffee a burned taste, so that is why I purchased the thermal unit with an insulated carafe. It is called "Optimal Brew". The way it works is it super heats the water and pours it over the coffee grounds very rapidly. This machine does not extract the finer flavors of the coffee. I tried it for three weeks and I am returning it. I called Mr. Coffee and complained about the taste of my coffee and they explained the workings of this model. My older model had a "Strong Brew" selection that actually slows the brewing process. The Mr Coffee service rep told me to just add more coffee for a stronger brew. This does not give you more flavor from your coffee. If you are not picky about the taste of your coffee buy a Bunn coffee maker which is slightly faster and gives the same taste.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/12/2015
It certainly sounds as though your newest brewer was not the best match for your needs and tastes. This particular coffeemaker does have the OptimalBrew technology that will brew coffee faster and hotter than your average coffeemaker. We are always looking for the best ways to upgrade and improve upon our products, and will pass your comments and concerns on to help us do just that. We do have a newer model brewer that also has the thermal carafe, but is a 12 cup model, and has Blooming Technology that saturates grounds before brewing to extract the fullest flavor. We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in Mr. Coffee, and encourage you to contact our customer care team to explore what brewers are available that may better suit your pallet. Please feel free to call us at 1-800-672-6333 to work with one of our specialists to find the best fit for your taste. We can be reached Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern, and are always happy to help. mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Satisfied!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker a month ago. I liked the thought of the removable water reservoir and filter holder so I didn't have to pull my coffee maker out from under the cabinet every time I made coffee. The coffee is VERY hot and the carafe keeps the coffee hot and fresh for a long time. I hadn't read the reviews until after purchasing and got a little scared but this coffee maker has been great. I have had no leaks (knock on wood). It takes a bit more coffee to get the desired taste because it brews so quickly but much rather give up an extra spoon or so to get my coffee so quickly :) The only thing I might say... dislike.... but not really, is having to remind my kids to clean the carafe and not forget that there is old coffee in there before they brew. Oh and... If you push a button after plugging in before you set the time, which it won't let you set the time after this for some reason, just unplug it to reset the system and then you will be able to set the time. Loving my Mr. Coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome

03/30/2014
By ,
Tyrone, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Exceeded Expectations

07/24/2010
By ,
White Bear Lake, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product this is! We had a Cuisinart that was about three times the cost of this coffee maker. Our Cuisinart stopped working on us after only having it for 2 years. I ran to Walmart to pick up a new coffee maker, not expecting much, and not wanting to spend a lot of money. I got this one for $64 on sale and can not believe what GREAT coffee it makes! It works perfectly, I love the removable water resevoir and coffee basket, I love that it takes standard coffee filters, and it looks great!
Do not be discouraged by the negative feedback on this product; I would rather have a cup of coffee from this machine than one from Caribou or Starbucks any day of the week!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another

08/20/2011
By ,
Shelbyville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down.
But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months.
The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers).
But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

mr coffee 10 cup thermal

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the thermal jug. works great at the table
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

save your time and don't buy

05/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was looking to buy a coffee maker with a carafe, and this one seemed like a good price. Purchased, took it home, cleaned and ran a cycle of just water, everything seemed great. Then went to set the clock, and it didn't work. just kept blinking 12:00. None of the buttons on the panel worked. So packaged it back up, returned, and came home with another one. This time we tried the clock first. We were able to set the clock time no problem. Great. Ran a cycle of just water to test it and no problem. Went to set the delay time to brew a pot for the next morning, and low and behold none of the buttons on the panel worked at all again. Not the delay button, hour button, nothing. So took this one back too. Several hours of wasted time! Don't buy this product!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Great coffee maker.

06/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Coffee comes out great and stays hot for a long time without burning. The only thing I would like to see improve is that it pours a cup slowly. I would like it to pour faster. I like that you can take the water reservoir out and fill it. And also the coffee filters.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Thermal Carafe bad right out of the box.

06/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have one of these that's a few years old. I needed a new carafe because the old one finally broke. You can't buy the carafe only because Mr. Coffee is out of stock. I tried getting a new unit because I love the coffee maker and the thermal carafe feature.
Carafe was bad on the new one. So, I returned it and will get another brand.
They don't make stuff like they used to.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team06/22/2015
Well before you leave us, let us see what we can do for you first. I totally understand your frustrations, and having to switch coffee makers all because of a carafe is just absurd. Please contact Mr. Coffee direct at (800) 672-6333, and I am sure that our Coffee specialist will be more than happy to take care of you. Thanks! mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Brews Fast

04/23/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with my new Mr. Coffee Optimal Brew Thermal coffee maker. I have had the coffee maker for about 6 weeks and I have not had any leaks as others have posted. I have used the delay brew as well and no leaks. This brews a lot faster than my old coffee maker and will beep when finished brewing. This uses regular coffee filters and a water filter which is a nice added benefit but the water filters are hard to find. I will have to order off of the Mr. Coffee web site-looks like they are about $3.99 each and have to be replaced each month. This could be a bit too much for some to pay but I am willing to pay it for the great tasting coffee. The machine is a bit big so make sure you have a spot big enough on your counter to hold it. If you have a smaller space I would not recommend. The stainless steel color goes well with my stainless steel appliances. Pouring from the carafe is less of a mess than my old coffee pot (the old one always dribbled)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

My new Coffee Maker

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutely love it. Brews fast. All of the reviews I read before buying my coffee maker almost made me change my mind, but I am so glad I took the chance. I replaced a Kuerig which had a slow death, but finally stopped working. It was a big disappointment from day one. This new Mr Coffee hasn't been a disappointment. We LOVE it!
All the reviews about leaking really had me worried, but I haven't seen a drop of water, and the pour spout never leaves a droplet anywhere.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee thermal coffee maker

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything it's meant to do. Brews quickly and coffee tastes great and stays hot in the carafe for hours.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Love my hot Coffee!!!!

07/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that the other reviewer of this coffee pot must have purchased a defective product. My husband finally got tired of replacing my $20 coffee makers and we bought this. He wakes up 4-5 a.m. and I normally wake up 8-9 a.m. Which means I NEVER got hot coffee with my old coffee makers. With the new Mr. Coffee I always get a nice, hot cup of coffee. The coffee stays steaming hot in the carafe for about 7 hours! And when I empty the pot to set up the coffee for the morning, the coffee inside the carafe is still warm--after about 16 hours! This product is awsome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 394 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next