Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Good taste is no longer optional - It's required. Bring home the java shop with the Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker. This coffee maker features an OptimalBrew technology that will brew coffee faster and hotter than your average coffeemaker. So, you'll get the fullest, richest, flavor extraction every time you brew some java in this espresso coffee maker. The stainless steel vacuum insulated carafe will help keep coffee hot for hours on your counter top or at your table. Make use of the Pause 'n Serve function in this Mr. Coffee 10-cup coffee maker to have a cup of coffee when the brewing is not yet complete. Easy to clean and a breeze to maintain, the Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker is a smart addition to any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(376 Reviews) 364
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
235
4 stars
51
3 stars
13
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation78%292 out of 376reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
235
4 stars
51
3 stars
13
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Keep your receipt and hope for a good one!

09/15/2010
By ,
Southern Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought 5 of these for others and myself (Bought Another and Another, prev review) Now I know what others mean when they said it leaks on the counter and leaves water in the basket. 1 of 5 leaked and it's defective, but I can only say, return it if it does. They are a fabulous coffee maker when they work right. If you got a flawed one, you'll know it when you test it by running a pot of just water. You should immediately hear the water going into the pot. If not, get the paper towel handy. Otherwise, it's everything the 5 stars say it is; HOT coffee for hours, fast, neat, easy to clean, nice looking, small footprint. Probably not a good gift idea.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Mr Coffee 10 cup Thermal
Posted 04/26/2014
I have had a Thermal carafe and I have had coffee makers. After the first cup of coffee the coffee maker doesn't live up to any standard I have had before. So I called Mr. Coffee to find out if there was something I missed. They told me to put boiling water in the carafe if I wanted it to stay hotter longer. Hum really ... I think I'll take the $72.00 coffee maker back!
0points
Customer Avatar
Defuniak sprs Fl
Ron
Posted 11/09/2012
Been using mr coffee brewers for smoe time now never had a problem. just one thing they never make them large enough as for this model ours works perfectly just make sure the Karaf is empty as they mention in the info GREAT
0points
Customer Avatar
Longmont, CO
Agree!
Posted 11/10/2011
We have the same problem. It is great for fresh, hot coffee, but who wants to keep wiping up the counter after every cup you pour!?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Waste of Time/Money!

08/08/2010
By ,
Richmond, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've seldom been so disappointed with a product after looking forward to using it so much. Despite its pleasing looks and helpful features this coffee maker is just plain bad. I've gone through a roll of paper towels and read the instructions about 10 times thinking I was doing something wrong. But, no matter what, I always have to clean up the coffee that does not make it into the pot so much coffee spills outside it. Pictures attached!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Looks aren't everything

07/27/2013
By ,
SNJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this coffee maker as it was one of the few that was easily filled adn I like that it shuts off after brewing and the coffee stays hot in the thermal carafe.
Fist pot however leaked, it had a split in the plastic top in the spout area inside. Look for a hairline split that lets coffee leak out then when you go to pour it drips out onto the counter and makes a nice mess. Called and got a replacement sent out no charge. The replacement arrived in 6 days. So far so good but I've only made three pots so far, and one with the new pot.
We use a Keurig most days but on the weekends we like to brew a full pot so we bought this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker
09/17/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker and will never go back to glass coffee pots.
Brews coffee very quickly and my coffee never taste burnt. It's two of the reason's I went for this coffee maker. Also cool to the touch, turns off after two hours, easy to set up for coffee to brew in the morning and much simpler to make good tasting coffee. I'm in love with Mr. Coffee!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Love the coffee maker

09/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the coffee maker, and the coffee it makes, and the carafe works great, the thing I miss about my previous coffee maker, the clear pot, you could see how much left.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Bad

05/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an older Mr. Coffee 10 cup thermal coffee maker. After five years it finally quit working. I replaced it with this newer version. I do not like a heating element because it gives the coffee a burned taste, so that is why I purchased the thermal unit with an insulated carafe. It is called "Optimal Brew". The way it works is it super heats the water and pours it over the coffee grounds very rapidly. This machine does not extract the finer flavors of the coffee. I tried it for three weeks and I am returning it. I called Mr. Coffee and complained about the taste of my coffee and they explained the workings of this model. My older model had a "Strong Brew" selection that actually slows the brewing process. The Mr Coffee service rep told me to just add more coffee for a stronger brew. This does not give you more flavor from your coffee. If you are not picky about the taste of your coffee buy a Bunn coffee maker which is slightly faster and gives the same taste.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/12/2015
It certainly sounds as though your newest brewer was not the best match for your needs and tastes. This particular coffeemaker does have the OptimalBrew technology that will brew coffee faster and hotter than your average coffeemaker. We are always looking for the best ways to upgrade and improve upon our products, and will pass your comments and concerns on to help us do just that. We do have a newer model brewer that also has the thermal carafe, but is a 12 cup model, and has Blooming Technology that saturates grounds before brewing to extract the fullest flavor. We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in Mr. Coffee, and encourage you to contact our customer care team to explore what brewers are available that may better suit your pallet. Please feel free to call us at 1-800-672-6333 to work with one of our specialists to find the best fit for your taste. We can be reached Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern, and are always happy to help. mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Not the same as the one in website

12/23/2013
By ,
long island
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The one i got it has a different water reservoir the cover it not attach to the reservoir and 3 vinyl bumpers are missing those things that go on the bottom so it won't slide
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Satisfied!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker a month ago. I liked the thought of the removable water reservoir and filter holder so I didn't have to pull my coffee maker out from under the cabinet every time I made coffee. The coffee is VERY hot and the carafe keeps the coffee hot and fresh for a long time. I hadn't read the reviews until after purchasing and got a little scared but this coffee maker has been great. I have had no leaks (knock on wood). It takes a bit more coffee to get the desired taste because it brews so quickly but much rather give up an extra spoon or so to get my coffee so quickly :) The only thing I might say... dislike.... but not really, is having to remind my kids to clean the carafe and not forget that there is old coffee in there before they brew. Oh and... If you push a button after plugging in before you set the time, which it won't let you set the time after this for some reason, just unplug it to reset the system and then you will be able to set the time. Loving my Mr. Coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Best coffee pot that I've ever owned.

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Mr. Coffee 10-Cup Optimal Brew Thermal Coffee Maker that I have owned. The first one is still in service and working great. I purchased the new coffee maker for my recently built outside kitchen because the Optimal Brew Thermal Carafe keeps coffee HOT for a lot longer than other brands of coffee makers that I have owned. It cycles through a brewing in about 7 minutes and keeps my coffee hot in the thermal carafe for over 2 hours.....or would if my coffee lasted that long. Being a devout drinker of hot coffee, I go through several pots a day and this coffee maker system has held up through it all. If this second coffee maker holds up under my use as well as the first, I'll be even more thrilled with the system. I've encountered no leaks except one time when I didn't completely empty the carafe before brewing another cycle. All in all, I'd purchase an identical machine if the first one ever quits. Couldn't be more pleased with the product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Makes great tasting coffee and looks awesome

03/30/2014
By ,
Tyrone, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a hot and great tasting cup of coffee in a reasonable amount of time. The thermal carafe keeps the coffee hot and it don't get strong. What else I like about it is that I can take it, wherever I go, to the patio etc. and don't have to run back to get another cup. When making, to add water to the coffer maker, I leave the water container intact and use a pitcher to fill. I found this method more convenient for me than removing and re-installing it. You must slide the coffee maker out a little bit from under the cabinet to do this and then just push it back under after filling. It should be much better on the seal between the two also. One thing it could have come with is a gold filter. It would come in handy just in case that you would run out of filters or maybe just enjoy making you coffee with one. One other thing that is great about this coffer maker is you don't have to remember to turn it off, because there is no hot plate being used. Safety and more energy efficient. What more can I say. I know, just go ahead and buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Exceeded Expectations

07/24/2010
By ,
White Bear Lake, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product this is! We had a Cuisinart that was about three times the cost of this coffee maker. Our Cuisinart stopped working on us after only having it for 2 years. I ran to Walmart to pick up a new coffee maker, not expecting much, and not wanting to spend a lot of money. I got this one for $64 on sale and can not believe what GREAT coffee it makes! It works perfectly, I love the removable water resevoir and coffee basket, I love that it takes standard coffee filters, and it looks great!
Do not be discouraged by the negative feedback on this product; I would rather have a cup of coffee from this machine than one from Caribou or Starbucks any day of the week!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

If it doesn't leak one way it will leak another

08/20/2011
By ,
Shelbyville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the coffee this machine makes. It's hot to start with. Good if you drink it within about 2-3 hours. Then it cools down.
But I have some major problems with it. First of all, if you make your coffee in the morning, drink some and then leave the house, there's a good chance you will leave some coffee in the carafe for the next morning. That's because you can't see in the carafe without taking the top off. Then, if you make your coffee the next morning and didn't remember to empty the carafe first, you will have a huge mess all over the countertop. I realize that's a little hairbrained, but it has happened at least 10 times in about 6 months.
The second problem is where the plastic meets the stainless steel on the carafe doesn't have a good seal. It keeps leaking. Not every time, but most times. I don't know what's causing it and it doesn't seem fixable. It's time to take it back. That's why I came on this website today (to look at the other coffee makers).
But it does make tasty coffee if you can put up with the spills. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

No Problems

03/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this coffeemaker almost 30 days and have nothing but good things to say about it (replaces a Keurig) . I don't understand why so many other reviewers had so much trouble. Unless they just happened to buy a bad maker. I also don't know why others have problems with it leaking everywhere when using it. If you get into the habit of rinsing the carafe, you won't have any trouble with it leaking all over the counter. If you also ensure that it's fitted into the machine properly, that will also eliminate much of the leaking as well. I love the fact that it has the thermal carafe, which keeps the coffee hot for much longer than the timer gives you. The coffee is very hot and has an unremarkable taste. I actually think that my coffee taste better. I like the timer and the alert tone that sounds when it's finished brewing and after the 2hr holding time. It's fast and quiet. I like the removable reservoir, makes filling easy and simple. The removable water filter is also a plus to me. I can keep going on about how much I really like this coffeemaker. I think it was a fine purchase to me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

doesnt work out of the box

05/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received for mothers day & the coffee maker doesn't even work. It's been unlpugged & reset 3 times. It drips 4 drips & then the brew light flashes 15 minutes & it drops 4 more drops . I thought maybe it was heating but nope. 45 minutes later you could not have even poured one brewed cup. This happened 3 times & I gave up & repacked it which was no easy feat! Thank you for ruining my mother's day Mr Coffee. I wasted an 1 1/2 of my day. The coffee maker is complete junk!!! Steer clear cheap junk.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/11/2015
We definitely don't like to hear that our brewer was a Mother's Day dud, and we would be happy to help. We have much higher expectations from our brewers, and would like to try and restore your faith in Mr. Coffee. Please call us at 1-800-672-6333 so we can get you back to brewing delicious coffee with a working Mr. Coffee brewer. We are here for you Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern, and are always happy to help. mrcoffee-jcs
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/11/2015
We definitely don't like to hear that our brewer was a Mother's Day dud, and we would be happy to help. We have much higher expectations from our brewers, and would like to try and restore your faith in Mr. Coffee. Please call us at 1-800-672-6333 so we can get you back to brewing delicious coffee with a working Mr. Coffee brewer. We are here for you Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm Eastern, and are always happy to help. mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent coffee maker! We had one before our house fire, and after the fire we bought a couple coffee makers that did not work well at all, so I searched for the very same one on your web site and found it! My husband is very happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Like It

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well. I did have water on the counter twice when I didn't put the refillable water canister back right. I have solved that by filling it with a pitcher instead.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Great Coffee Maker

05/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to clean. I preset the coffee maker to go off every morning. Other coffee makers the reservoir is so hard to clean and get the film off. This is reservoir is removable and cleans easy with a brush. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team05/13/2015
Thank you so much for the love and feedback! We strive to make quality makers that provide great tasting coffee, and are very easy to clean. Our star rating system is based on a 1-5 star rating with 5 stars being "Very Satisfactory". We invite you to take part in our star rating system so that your rating matches your review. Happy brewing! mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Love my hot Coffee!!!!

07/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that the other reviewer of this coffee pot must have purchased a defective product. My husband finally got tired of replacing my $20 coffee makers and we bought this. He wakes up 4-5 a.m. and I normally wake up 8-9 a.m. Which means I NEVER got hot coffee with my old coffee makers. With the new Mr. Coffee I always get a nice, hot cup of coffee. The coffee stays steaming hot in the carafe for about 7 hours! And when I empty the pot to set up the coffee for the morning, the coffee inside the carafe is still warm--after about 16 hours! This product is awsome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Did not work from the beginning

01/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We followed the instructions for washing and brewing a plain carafe of water through the machine before the first use. Afterwards, when we brewed our first pot of coffee it tasted terrible with some sort of bitter metallic flavor. We washed everything down again and gave it another go. The coffee was fine, but the light that tells you that you need to run a clean cycle came on. This was after just brewing one pot. So we thought okay, we will clean it. We followed the instructions for using vinegar in the cleaning cycle. The next day we brewed one pot and the light for running a cleaning cycle came on again. You are only supposed to have to run a cleaning cycle every 90 pots. if you could ignore the clean light I guess it would be fine, but it will not let you brew coffee unless you run a cleaning cycle first. Not having time to do this before every pot of coffee, we returned the coffee maker to Walmart 48 hours after receiving it.
Recommends this product? No
From Mr. Coffee Brand Team02/19/2015
We regret to hear of your unsatisfactory experience with your coffee maker. We would've loved to help you with any trouble shooting that we could. If you ever want to give us another chance and would like assistance, please contact us at 1888-672-6333. Our Specialist will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you for your feedback! mrcoffee-jcs
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 10-Cup OptimalBrew Thermal Coffee Maker

Time to trade up!

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After years of the cheapo but long lasting coffee makers, I decided to buy up and try this one as it was well reviewed. I do like it. My in-laws years ago had a Mr Coffee under the counter thermos style maker...I loved their thermos carafe as I like to have midday coffee but don't want to throw out morning leftover coffee..want to keep that warm. 7am coffee stays warm to maybe 11am so it is not as insulated as the old thermos style..but much better than scorching your coffee on a hot pas all day. This does not have a hot plate it sits on. It brews and stays warm in the metal carafe. Hot enough for me and my husband who likes really hot coffee. Have not had any issues with overflow, follow directions and no issues. A little more complicated to make in the morning as you measure water in the removable resevoir, have to lift off a small optional charcoal taste filter to refill coffee filter and coffee but all well worth it for a really good tasting cup of coffee. Happy with it and stylish...like the easy clean stainless look..much nicer. Happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 358 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next