Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Goodyear Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V

Goodyear Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V

$100 off a set of 4 or $25 off each of select Goodyear Authority Tires AVAILABLE ONLY @ Walmart.com FROM July 23 - Aug 13, 2014 (offer not available in-store) <a href=
Average Customer Rating:
3.122 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation53%26 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/55R17 94V.

Not For WINTER but a good tire

11/01/2013
By ,
Mountain Lake Park, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put these (205/55R/17) on my 2009 Hyundai Sonata to replace the oem Kumho tires. I live in western Maryland and travel through the mountains of West Virginia as well. Seems as if there are more curves than straight roads!! These tires have performed very well on dry and wet conditions. They take the curves better than the oem's and overall steering is better. I have got the 50k miles out of them, so no complaint there. My only issue is that when driving in winter on snow or slush the only thing you can do is go SLOW. When superstorm Sandy blew in last October I was returning from the pittsburgh airport and I-68 was a mess!!! semis jack-knifed, cars in the median, and shoulder. I did manage to get to my exit in Maryland, but I could not navigate the littlest of hills and was stuck in the middle of the road. Not sure any tire would of have a difference that night, but subsequent driving on snow and ice was not pretty. I got great gas mileage, upwards of 33-34 mpg on long trips. They held air decent enough, checking once a month to find maybe 4-5lbs of air loss. It is time to replace these tires and not sure if I will buy another set as they are rather pricey and winter will be here soon. This seems to be an odd size tire and there are not alot choices for an all season tire including winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R16 87V.

Nice Tires

04/05/2010
By ,
Cedar Park, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw the Goodyear Eagle Authority at my local store and discovered this model is a Walmart exclusive tire rated exactly the same as the Goodyear Eagle GT. The tread pattern is slightly different from the Eagle GT but I believe the overall performance is very similar at a much lower price. These tires handle nicely and have very little road noise. They are great in all weather conditions including rain and light snow. After 5K miles of fairly spirited driving they hardly show any signs of wear. I would recommend this tire to anyone looking for a high speed rated tire at a discount price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50R16 92V.

surprising tire

11/29/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tire to replace a flat Goodyear Eagle RS-A. I was skeptical because of the low price. This tire has lasted longer than the other RS-A while performing just as well for a much lower price. It does well in wet conditions and only winter tires have done a better job climbing Pittsburgh hills when it snows. I will buy this tire again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/50R17 91V.

Honest Review From Auto Enthusiast

10/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed on 2004 Acura TSX
I spent a while researching tires and ended up getting these. They actually have awesome grip, look really good mounted, They stick out a little further than the rim on purpose and help prevent curb rash.
Mine aren't wearing fast, or uneven, and aren't noisy to me. Although in my friends 2008 Accord EX they do seem to be louder than her Michelins that were on prior. I think it's just a matter of sound insulation/what you're used to. A lot of reviews about these tires are blaming the tires for alignment issues, and a lackadaisical approach to maintenance.
I couldn't be happier for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.

Loud on highway

10/10/2010
By ,
Bay St Louis
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Any speed over 60 look around for the truck.. wait.. it's you!!! These tires are very loud, and wear fast. They sounded great for about 2000 miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.

Decent.

09/08/2011
By ,
Columbia, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
They are a decent tire for the price. Tires this size get expensive very quickly but these are reasonably priced. The manufacturer estimates it as a 50,000 mile tire. I got about 35-38,000 miles out of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.

good price, bad tire

01/10/2012
By ,
Portsmouth, Va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good looking tire, aggressive tread pattern wears out very fast. pretty good price but my next set will not be Goodyear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/60R16 92V.

Miles driven and miles of warranty way off.

12/24/2013
By ,
Yucca Valley, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my second set of these tires on my SX-4. They wear out too fast, and at 30,000 need to be replaced. I have had them rotated as per guidelines, and had the alignment checked. I am going to try another tire from Walmart and see how it compares. I liked the look and feel of these tires, and they were quiet riding with good handling properties, but wear out too fast.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50R16 92V.

Same tire that was originally on this car.

01/04/2014
By ,
West Chester, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would not purchase these tires again....would buy Michelin Tires!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/60R16 92V.

lasted only 22k miles

10/19/2010
By ,
Old bridge, nj
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was happy with my new tires' performance when i installed them last July at 95K miles. Now after 1 year and 3 month and 22K miles thread is almost flat(may be another 2-3k miles)... I have maintained 32psi pressure, done rotation around 7-8K miles and alignment and balancing was proper too... and I am not happy anymore...
Although They did hold good in snow and wet condition. 50000 miles warrenty is no way near...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Road Noise to the Extreme

02/22/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first they were quiet tires, but they got loud in a hurry! At the moment I cannot stand long highway trips as the tires drone on all surfaces. Decent handling tires in the wet and dry. Average traction in the snow. If I rated these tires during the first months of ownership I would have given them 5's. I will never buy this tire again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Not a real value

03/07/2011
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I put these tires on my 2006 Lincoln Zephyr, and have kept them properly inflated, with rotation every 5000 miles. I now have 13,000 miles on the tires and they are nearly worn out (3/32" tread depth). The original equipment tires (Michelin Energy MXV4) lasted 28,000 miles. If the Goodyears cost one half of the price of the Michelins, I would be satisfied. Unfortunately, that is not the case. If you are just looking for inexpensive replacement tires before turning in a leased vehicle, these might be okay. Otherwise, forget it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/55R17 94V.

Lasted only 20,000

11/25/2011
By ,
Kansas City
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These tires are supposed to go 50,000 miles. Within 15 months and 20,000 miles, I had to replace them because the tread was nearly gone. Don't waste your time or money.
They're also very spongy on turns, not a great performance tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.
08/26/2012
By ,
Glen Burnie
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tire wears out quickly. I'm not sure if it's due to the "Z" rating nature of performance tires where the rubber is supposedly softer for performance. Looking back, I did not see a mileage estimate for this tire or any Z rated tires for that matter. These tires barely lasted 2 years. Moving forward, I'll be shopping for tires w/ 50,000 - 60,000 tread life rating.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R16 87V.
09/10/2012
By ,
O'Fallon Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I agree with the others as far as the tread not lasting 50,000 miles. I bought these tires about 1 year and 3 months ago, (which for me is about 25,000 miles later), and when I brought the car in to have Wal-mart rotate and balance the tires,...which I do every 5000 miles,...Wal-mart refused to rotate them, stating that the tread on the tires was too low. So, I took the car home and rotated the tires myself and kept driving on the same tires. I am determined to get at least two years use, out of those tires, but I will not buy them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/50R17 91V.

Noisy and wear fast

03/18/2013
By ,
aiken SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tires took 3 tries to get them balanced correctly, including replacing 2 of the 4. I was never happy with the road noise generated by these tires and the tread at 37K miles of use is virtually bare - and they're 50K miles treadware warrantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 245/45ZR18 96W.
11/21/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These tires went bald after 11k miles. Junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R16 87V.
01/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tire did't make it to 2/5 of its 50,000 mile life.
16722 miles . Defective product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
How bad!?
Posted 06/07/2011
A 50,000 mile tire went 16,722 and wore below legal tread depth? Was the driving normal?
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Poor Tread wear quality

03/12/2011
By ,
Muncie, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased these tire 01/03/2010 for my wifes 2006 ford fusion and she has drove on them for a total of 11 months and about 13k miles, the tread wear on the outside treadline is at 3/32nds and towards the middle to inside treadlines are 5/3nds, this vehicle DOES NOT have any alignment issues as my wife and I are very cautious not to hit obstructions/defaults in the road. All four tires are worn equally and I have rotated them once. For the $540 i spent on these goodyears I should have spent the extra $ and bought michelins
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/29/2012
The problem with Ford is that their alignment spec aren't at all optimal. I have the same issue with my 2009 Focus. I have to request that they get the alignment as close to perfect as they can.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17

03/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got these tires on 10/03/2010 and 8,000 miles later the tires are at 3/32nds when they start out at 10/32nds All 4 tires where about $680.00 after they where installed. The more they wore out the louder they got. If you want an all season tire do not get these In the snow when they where new no traction and all over the place. I do not blame Walmart for this Goodyear is to blame for a bad tire you would think they would make a better tire for the price I payed. My rating 1 out of 10 -1
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 49 total reviews