Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Goodyear Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V

Goodyear Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V

The Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V provides drivers confidence on the roads in all seasons. This tire has a stylish tread and black side wall design that is a complement to the any vehicle. It has speed rating of V and W. The TredLock microgrooves help in providing biting edges for increased traction on wet roads and lock together for a confident grip in turns, ensuring your safety. The dual circumferential grooves of this Goodyear All Season Tire helps to evacuate water for enhanced wet traction. It features an asymmetric pattern and two integrated tread zones which provides confident handling and grip in dry conditions. The Goodyear Eagle Tire works well in rain and snow too by delivering enhanced traction. This black side wall tire with high performance comes with a tread wear warranty of 50,000 miles. Get the Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V for your car and enjoy smooth, comfortable rides everyday.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation54%26 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/50R17 91V.

Honest Review From Auto Enthusiast

10/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed on 2004 Acura TSX
I spent a while researching tires and ended up getting these. They actually have awesome grip, look really good mounted, They stick out a little further than the rim on purpose and help prevent curb rash.
Mine aren't wearing fast, or uneven, and aren't noisy to me. Although in my friends 2008 Accord EX they do seem to be louder than her Michelins that were on prior. I think it's just a matter of sound insulation/what you're used to. A lot of reviews about these tires are blaming the tires for alignment issues, and a lackadaisical approach to maintenance.
I couldn't be happier for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/55R17 94V.

Not For WINTER but a good tire

11/01/2013
By ,
Mountain Lake Park, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put these (205/55R/17) on my 2009 Hyundai Sonata to replace the oem Kumho tires. I live in western Maryland and travel through the mountains of West Virginia as well. Seems as if there are more curves than straight roads!! These tires have performed very well on dry and wet conditions. They take the curves better than the oem's and overall steering is better. I have got the 50k miles out of them, so no complaint there. My only issue is that when driving in winter on snow or slush the only thing you can do is go SLOW. When superstorm Sandy blew in last October I was returning from the pittsburgh airport and I-68 was a mess!!! semis jack-knifed, cars in the median, and shoulder. I did manage to get to my exit in Maryland, but I could not navigate the littlest of hills and was stuck in the middle of the road. Not sure any tire would of have a difference that night, but subsequent driving on snow and ice was not pretty. I got great gas mileage, upwards of 33-34 mpg on long trips. They held air decent enough, checking once a month to find maybe 4-5lbs of air loss. It is time to replace these tires and not sure if I will buy another set as they are rather pricey and winter will be here soon. This seems to be an odd size tire and there are not alot choices for an all season tire including winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R16 87V.

Nice Tires

04/05/2010
By ,
Cedar Park, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw the Goodyear Eagle Authority at my local store and discovered this model is a Walmart exclusive tire rated exactly the same as the Goodyear Eagle GT. The tread pattern is slightly different from the Eagle GT but I believe the overall performance is very similar at a much lower price. These tires handle nicely and have very little road noise. They are great in all weather conditions including rain and light snow. After 5K miles of fairly spirited driving they hardly show any signs of wear. I would recommend this tire to anyone looking for a high speed rated tire at a discount price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Satisfied With This Tire

09/01/2012
By ,
Palatine, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
225/50/17 size on a 2006 Pontiac G6 Coupe GT. Far superior to original Continental touring tires. Actually very good in snow! Got about 40,000 "good" miles. Have about 54,000 now and almost down to the wear bars. Have gotten very noisy and now have to be careful on wet highways but they still stop very well in the wet and no wheel spin when taking off from a stop. Have worn very evenly. Thinking about buying them again but am considering something with lesser "sport" performance but with a longer life and more quiet ride as I drive almost 20,000 miles per year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.

good price, bad tire

01/10/2012
By ,
Portsmouth, Va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good looking tire, aggressive tread pattern wears out very fast. pretty good price but my next set will not be Goodyear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/60R16 92V.

Miles driven and miles of warranty way off.

12/24/2013
By ,
Yucca Valley, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my second set of these tires on my SX-4. They wear out too fast, and at 30,000 need to be replaced. I have had them rotated as per guidelines, and had the alignment checked. I am going to try another tire from Walmart and see how it compares. I liked the look and feel of these tires, and they were quiet riding with good handling properties, but wear out too fast.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50R16 92V.

Same tire that was originally on this car.

01/04/2014
By ,
West Chester, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would not purchase these tires again....would buy Michelin Tires!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.

Decent.

09/08/2011
By ,
Columbia, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
They are a decent tire for the price. Tires this size get expensive very quickly but these are reasonably priced. The manufacturer estimates it as a 50,000 mile tire. I got about 35-38,000 miles out of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.

Loud on highway

10/10/2010
By ,
Bay St Louis
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Any speed over 60 look around for the truck.. wait.. it's you!!! These tires are very loud, and wear fast. They sounded great for about 2000 miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R16 87V.
09/10/2012
By ,
O'Fallon Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I agree with the others as far as the tread not lasting 50,000 miles. I bought these tires about 1 year and 3 months ago, (which for me is about 25,000 miles later), and when I brought the car in to have Wal-mart rotate and balance the tires,...which I do every 5000 miles,...Wal-mart refused to rotate them, stating that the tread on the tires was too low. So, I took the car home and rotated the tires myself and kept driving on the same tires. I am determined to get at least two years use, out of those tires, but I will not buy them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/45ZR17 91W.
08/26/2012
By ,
Glen Burnie
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tire wears out quickly. I'm not sure if it's due to the "Z" rating nature of performance tires where the rubber is supposedly softer for performance. Looking back, I did not see a mileage estimate for this tire or any Z rated tires for that matter. These tires barely lasted 2 years. Moving forward, I'll be shopping for tires w/ 50,000 - 60,000 tread life rating.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/50R17 91V.

Noisy and wear fast

03/18/2013
By ,
aiken SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tires took 3 tries to get them balanced correctly, including replacing 2 of the 4. I was never happy with the road noise generated by these tires and the tread at 37K miles of use is virtually bare - and they're 50K miles treadware warrantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/55R17 94V.

Lasted only 20,000

11/25/2011
By ,
Kansas City
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These tires are supposed to go 50,000 miles. Within 15 months and 20,000 miles, I had to replace them because the tread was nearly gone. Don't waste your time or money.
They're also very spongy on turns, not a great performance tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Road Noise to the Extreme

02/22/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first they were quiet tires, but they got loud in a hurry! At the moment I cannot stand long highway trips as the tires drone on all surfaces. Decent handling tires in the wet and dry. Average traction in the snow. If I rated these tires during the first months of ownership I would have given them 5's. I will never buy this tire again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17.

Not a real value

03/07/2011
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I put these tires on my 2006 Lincoln Zephyr, and have kept them properly inflated, with rotation every 5000 miles. I now have 13,000 miles on the tires and they are nearly worn out (3/32" tread depth). The original equipment tires (Michelin Energy MXV4) lasted 28,000 miles. If the Goodyears cost one half of the price of the Michelins, I would be satisfied. Unfortunately, that is not the case. If you are just looking for inexpensive replacement tires before turning in a leased vehicle, these might be okay. Otherwise, forget it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/60R16 92V.

lasted only 22k miles

10/19/2010
By ,
Old bridge, nj
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was happy with my new tires' performance when i installed them last July at 95K miles. Now after 1 year and 3 month and 22K miles thread is almost flat(may be another 2-3k miles)... I have maintained 32psi pressure, done rotation around 7-8K miles and alignment and balancing was proper too... and I am not happy anymore...
Although They did hold good in snow and wet condition. 50000 miles warrenty is no way near...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R16 87V.
01/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tire did't make it to 2/5 of its 50,000 mile life.
16722 miles . Defective product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
How bad!?
Posted 06/07/2011
A 50,000 mile tire went 16,722 and wore below legal tread depth? Was the driving normal?
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 245/45ZR18 96W.

Poor quality tire

12/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a pair of tires to replace 2 bad ones. Size: 245/45ZR18
After a year and 16k miles, they were pretty much bald. Got them replaced under the 40k miles warranty, and bought another 2 to get a full set of 4 new tires. Now, a year later and another 16k miles, all 4 of the tires are pretty much bald. Got them replaced again under the 40k miles warranty. So now I am on my 2 1/2 set of tires.
Don't waste your time and money on these tires. You will get what you paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 245/45ZR18 96W.

Horrible

11/18/2011
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these tires (all 4) in Spring of 2010 with 121,000 miles on them. During the winter I switch to snow tires (4-6 months). Currently (Nov. 2011) I have 149,000 miles on them and already in need of new tires. The lifetime balance/rotation was purchased with the tires, so yes they were balanced/rotated regularly. So according to my mileage, I have put 27,000 miles on my car. Roughly a quarter to half could be said is with my snow tires (6,750-13,500 miles). So 20,000 miles minimum on the tires and I need new ones.
These are not 50,000 mile tires and they are not worth having any of my vehicles and they will not be recommended to any friends/family.
Also, after just getting these installed, the sidewalls turned a light, grayish color after their first cleaning and have stayed like it since!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 205/50R17 93V
This review is fromGoodyear Eagle Authority Tire 215/50R17 91V.

Poor Quality

09/25/2012
By ,
El Reno, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought all 4 of these and within 2 years I have had to replace 3 before they were a year old. The last one I have removed because of this is just over a year old. Less than 15,000 miles on it. To replace it will cost a fortune I don't want to spend anymore. Going elsewhere for a better quality tire at less money. Sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 48 total reviews