Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Introducing Leapster Explorer, an extraordinary new learning experience that encourages children to discover something new every day with endless ways to play and learn, from games, e-Books, videos, and online play to customizable learning skills and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(324 Reviews) 284
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
234
4 stars
44
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation88%284 out of 324reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
234
4 stars
44
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

We love the Leapster Explorer!

07/27/2010
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my son was just shy of 3 years old, I bought him the original Leapster and I cannot tell you how much he has played, laughed and learned with this device! Last month, we received a top secret gaming system that my 5 year old is madly in love with; the new LeapFrog Leapster Explorer that is due to release in September.
* Right handed or Left handed? This might sound weird from anyone that doesn’t have a left handed child, but the first thing that I noticed about the new Leapster Explorer is that it has the ability to be used by a right handed child or a left handed child – right away. On the Leapster 2, the string was on the right side, for a right handed child. With the Leapster Explorer, the pen is able to be looped around either side, for either (left or right) handed child. Score! Great change, LeapFrog!
* Size & weight - I also noticed that the size was a bit smaller, not as bulky and the weight seemed lighter than the Leapster2. This is a plus, especially when I am toting this along in my purse for the kids when we travel.
* Performance - The Leapster Explorer is fast! The screen resolution is crisp, memory is larger and the processor is larger, hence the faster performance.
* Touchscreen – From my use with the Leapster Explorer, compared to the Leapster2, I think the touchscreen is easier to use. It’s more sensitive, which is a good thing.
* Games – My Son’s favorite game, so far, is Penguins of Madagascar. There are over 40 games available, and even more fun to download from the parents’ computer such as e-books and learning.
* Upgrades - There are so many things that you can buy extra to add on to the Leapster Explorer like a camera and many more additions!
Overall: we LOVE everything new about the LeapFrog Leapster Explorer! The price will be at just under $70.00 and the games are right around $25.00 each. With as much as my 5 year old has played his Leapster2 in the last 2 1/2 years, I can totally see the upcoming years of fun that he will have with the Explorer! The Leapster2 has a new owner, my 2 ½ year old… and she is one happy girl!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 2 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Great Learning Experience

06/02/2010
By ,
New Orleans, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son recently received the Leapster Explorer from LeapFrog to see what he thought. We have owned many Leapster devices in the past that we were pleased with so I could not wait to see how this one would compare. It was no surprise that the Explorer did not disappoint, as a matter of fact it exceeded my expectations!!!
Kids can keep busy playing and learning by playing cartridge games and by downloading "apps" into it. Right now my sons favorite cartridge game is Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg, this games allows kids to practice drawing lines shapes, printing letters, creating art and animations. He also really likes the “app” Harmonies which allows him to conduct four singers while learning about harmonies and musical parts. For even more fun you can also download e-books from the Tag library.
I really like the size of this gaming system, besides being great for home play it is also convenient to take on the go. It would be great to kept kids entertained on long car rides this summer!
The graphics are very good on the Leapster Explorer. It uses Flash for great visual performance and a Linux-based operating system. The screen is large , bright , full-color and touch sensitive . It has internal memory of 512 MB and a download capacity of 250 - 300 MB. It has plenty of storage for gaming FUN!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Personalized Learning Experience

06/01/2010
By ,
Tampa Bay, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently received the new Leapster Explorer to review from LeapFrog. They wanted to see what my boys, ages 4 and 2.5, thought.
This is the third type of Leaster we've owned. It's taken all the wonderful things from the previous versions and made it even better. It still has fun cartridge games and the ability to track your children's learning online, plus now it can actually modify the learning experience to make it a fun, challenging experience every time they play.
You see, if games are too difficult, it doesn't encourage learning. So Leapster Explorer starts with simpler concepts. If it gets too easy as your child picks up concepts, it asks more challenging questions. Plus, you can keep the Leapster Explorer fresh by playing cartridge games, the included Pet Pad game AND by downloading "apps" into it.
The apps are called Leaplets and there are a few different types - games, videos and e-books. The e-books come from the Tag library.
The graphics are amazing on the Leapster Explorer. It uses Flash for awesome visual performance and a Linux-based operating system. The screen is big (3.2" - 420 x 420 resolution), bright, full-color and touch sensitive. It has a peripheral slot for expandability, an onboard memory of 512 MB and a download capacity of 250 - 300 MB.
The cartridges that fit into the Explorer sit flush with the handheld. The games are fresh, new and age appropriate. If you are looking for games to purchase with the Leapster Explorer, I suggest:
1. Disney Pixar Toy Story 3.
2. The Penguins of Madagascar: Operation Plushie
3. Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg
4. Disney Princess: Pop-Up Story Adventure
The downloadable leaplets are awesome. Currently there are three videos, some fun game apps and you can even use the Leapster Explorer as an e-reader and upload some Tag Books.
The only problem I've come across so far is in the e-book Ozzie & Mack, a few words were covered up by a graphic. And it's been eating my AA batteries. I've changed batteries 3x in a week. That said, I always go through a lot of batteries when we get a new handheld since the boys never give it a break. Battery usage should slow down.
FINAL SAY:
Overall, we love the Leapster Explorer. It will grow with my son, challenging him at the appropriate level. Plus, more games and Leaplets will be coming out to keep it fresh and fun. The only bummer is the drain on batteries.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

LOVED it!

06/01/2010
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This really is a "touch and go" product all I needed to show my kids was the power button and then took it from there!
I was impressed with how they could personalize their own Leapster Explorer to match them; everything from the difficulty of the games by putting in their school grade to earning points to changing the backgrounds, music and other fun things.
My girls’ favorite game was the Pet Pad. They were able to create and personalize their own pet and then earn points to feed, bathe, dress it up, etc. I loved the game ‘Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg.’ It was a fun way to get the girls into learning how to print their letters. Then in October I am going to buy the Camera Accessory that goes along with the Leapster Exlporer which will let them take photos and videos and do tons of fun things with them!
ALSO (very important part), it holds quite a bit of charge. I was very impressed with the charge life, although I do have to say that the charger needs to be included instead of an extra. That always drives me nuts. The games are great because they have lots of different levels and are tailored to your child. At the same time, I wish they were a few dollars less in price. I really do think the Explorer itself is fairly priced and is a fabulous product. It’s the perfect size, the touch screen actually works with my girls’ tiny fingers and the color & 3-D aspect to it is top notch. It’s also extremely sturdy, perfect for ages 4 to 9 and just a whole lot of fun!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

FUN Learning Tool-Leapfrog ROCKS!

06/12/2010
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leapfrog sent me and my 3yr old the Leapster Explorer to review and it's a big hit in our home. We love Leapfrog products. Truett learned most of his letters because of the Text-n-Learn.
Anyways, Truett plays this for hours. I have to take it away from him and this is a kid who's outside most of the day riding horses or helping at the barn. The games are both educational and great at making you use your noodle. Love the touchscreen. 5 stars from the Falcon Bunch!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

We love Leapster Explorer!

07/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've owned the original Leapster, the Leapster 2, and now the Leapster Explorer, and I can honestly say that the Explorer is hands-down our favorite.
While we enjoy the traditional cartridge games for the Leapster Explorer, it's the downloadable content that makes the Explorer unique. These "Leaplets" come as a download card that unlocks games, e-books and videos. The e-books feature allows pages to be flipped by sliding your finger on the screen.
My daughter is four and a half and carries her Leapster Explorer everywhere we go. She's dropped it a couple of times on our hardwood floor with no damage whatsoever. I appreciate that it's so durable!
My only complaint is that the game cartridges for the Explorer are not backwards-compatible with original Leapster or Leapster 2, and you'll want to get rechargeable batteries because it really burns through regular AAs.
Despite that, I still recommend the Leapster Explorer as a good quality, educational handheld gaming and learning device for kids ages 4-9.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 7 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

My kids LOVE it!!!

10/24/2010
By ,
Long Lane, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my 2, 3, and 5 year olds to share. We'll be buying two more soon.
They absolutely LOVE playing with it. I would suggest you buy the recharging kit. Without it, we went through 4 AA batteries about every other day.
The game comes with a pet game pre-loaded. It has a letter writing game as well. The touch screen is helping them learn finer motor skills. You can download LeapFrog e-books, which function similar to the standard LeapFrog books (you can touch individual words for pronunciation and sounding out help).
It is true that it is not compatible with the older models, but that's probably due to the higher resolution display. We like using the download cards to download the LeapFrog videos as well, as they are cheaper on the Explorer than on DVD.
My 5 year old quickly came up to above 3rd grade level on many of the skill categories. My 2 year old has gotten up to 1st grade level, as well. Our 3 year old is autistic, and has learned how to write his alphabet in less than a week.
I cannot recommend this product enough. I didn't even mention the online games that this product gives you access to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+112points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sc
Posted 07/24/2011
where is the Letter Writing game? I can't find it in our Explorer :(
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Kid Loves It, Parent Does Not

01/03/2011
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have always favored leapfrog learning toys....until this new leapster explorer. My child loves this toy, but I constantly have to go online and "buy" more shampoo for her pet. I feel that the game should give you an endless supply of shampoo and food to feed your pet. It's not like I haven't already paid over two hundred dollars for the system and games to go along with it. The pet world is the only thing that she wants to play. When she runs out of shampoo, she cries the entire time I have to connect to the computer, download more shampoo, and so forth. This toy is far to advanced for any child because you constantly have to get on the computer and find what it needs. The toy would be great if you did not have to connect to the computer every day, but yet the parents could still keep track of their child's learning when they wanted. Sometimes simple is better! The toy is fun to the kid, but aggravating to the adult that has to keep it updated! I really think that parents would enjoy having the V-tech MobiGo better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

GREAT!

01/09/2011
By ,
Cartersville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is 4 yrs old, he has been wanting a DS for a while now but I have been hesitant because there are very few games for his age, the fragileness, and the price... I got to looking around for a better alternative and came across the Leapster Explorer. I looked at all the different varieties of children handheld gaming systems and this is by far the best. It doesn't take long to set up and ours come with a free leaplet code which was great, of course. We also purchased the charging dock, the camera, the messanger bag, and the games: Toy Story 3 and Mr. Pencil saves Doodleburg. He loves it all and I love that he feels like such a big boy and is learning responsiblity, not to mention I can connect the leapster to the computer and see what he has been playing and how well he is doing. All in all it is fun and very educational. What more could a parent ask for?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 10 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

My 5 year-old daughter LOVES it!

12/30/2010
By ,
Little Rock, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is definitely age appropriate. In fact, other than the initial set-up and any updates (which have to be done via computer using the included USB cable), my daughter has taught herself how to use it. BUT she is not bored at all. Plus, after she played a while, we hooked it up to the computer again so that she could buy "pet supplies" with "tokens" she won by playing. It is the best Christmas present she got. And it is educational without being too structured. We started out with the Dora, Tangled and Sponge Bob games. She has enjoyed all of them. I would recommend this to anyone. We are glad we started with this system rather than the DS. Less expensive but just as much fun at this age!!! One note - you need to have ready access to an internet equipped computer in order to initially use the system. It comes with a program that must be loaded onto a computer. After that - it is easy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Entertaining and Educational

06/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leapfrog sent us their new Leapster Explorer for my kids to check out. We already own a Leapster2, a Didj and a Tag, and despite their ages (ages 6, 6 and 9) my kids say this is the most fun Leapster yet. Here's why:
1) You can do so much more than just play games on the Explorer. You can also watch videos, read e_Books, and create characters that you can upload to Leapster's online world, LeapWorld. The kids can't wait for the camera accessory to come out so they can use the Explorer to take photos and play around with the photos they take.
2) The screen is bigger and brighter and the graphics are nicer.
3) The Explorer has games that are challenging even at their level. They especially like the "Jewel Train" and "Wheel Works" apps because these games appeal to my kids puzzle-solving skills, and they can progress to ever-more challenging levels. There are also character-themed games for older kids like Wolverine, the X-Men, Ben10 and the NFL.
Here are other reasons why I like the Explorer:
1) Like all Leapfrog products, there is an educational component to the Explorer, it's fun-based learning.
2) At $69.99, the price is right!
3) You can download apps from Leapfrog, so I don't have to buy them from a store or wait for an online order to be delivered.
Here are some things that, in my opinion, need some improvement:
1) I'm not sure whether the old Leapster2 game cartridges are compatible with this new Explorer device -- even though they look like they would be, there is no mention of it on the product box or in the documentation. Leapster2 can play the older Leapster game cartridges, so I'm hoping the Explorer can play the Leapster2 cartridges!
2) I'm also hoping they come up with more e-Books for older kids. I guess my older child, age 9, is out of the Explorer age range, but even my 6-year-old twins feel like the e-Books right now are a bit babyish.
3) I'm not a fan of the chunky design, I prefer something sleeker like the Leapfrog Didj.
4) I wish the charger came with the basic kit instead of being sold as a separate accessory. The battery life actually seems longer on the Explorer than on the other Leapfrog products, but we still burn through a LOT of AA batteries!!
Overall, the Explorer is a great product, both entertaining and educational.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+202points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 03/14/2013
How did they send you one to check out?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

malfunctions!

04/26/2011
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this for our son about 3 weeks before Christmas. At 3 months after purchase (only 2 months of play) the sound completely stopped. I contacted Leapfrog and they were no help because we were just days over 90 days of purchase. Not only that, but 2 of his games freeze during play. I contacted Leapfrog about this before the 90 days and they said there isnt anything they can do about it. It eats right through batteries so if you purchase the handheld you should plan to purchase the charger. The leapfrog website is a whole 'nother issue in itself... it always takes multiple tries to download and upload information when connecting the game system. Figure on an hour at least every time you need to restock up on food for their "pets". If the product worked correctly it would be a great product, or if Leapfrog would stand behind their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 13 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Best Leapfrog product yet

06/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I want to start by disclosing that my family received a free Leapster Explorer to provide our own review.
Let's start by saying that my kids are pretty much Leapfrog kids. They have grown up with leapfrog baby toys, fridge magnets, leappad, leapster, anything and everything made by Leapfrog we have it because I have always believed in the brand
My oldest is five and this toy has been a HUGE hit. we have leapster and he was not as interested on it as he is on this. The leapster explorer has a great handheld game feel to it. The graphics are exceptional and the games are fun. The toy came with a couple of games preloaded and he has been begging me for more games but they are not available yet. However those few games available have kept him entertained for HOURS. My middle child who is 2.5 years old gets a chance to play with it and the life skill games like the sugar bugs game has been a hit and just perfect for his age.
I have found a couple of drawbacks to this toy. First it's a big battery drainer. Like I said my 5yo loves to play with it so we have gone through several rounds of batteries already. You can buy a recharger for an additional charge. the copy I received did not have that.
Perhaps the biggest drawback I found on this game was the stylus. Unfortunately the stylus is not one piece and in my case the pen has come off the top, which means lost pen VERY often. I have already contacted Leapfrog about this and they said to just contact them once the game is officially out for a replacement. In my experience Leapfrog customer service has always been responsive to any inquiries. If by any chance you experience the same don't hesitate to ask for a replacement.
In conclusion, we will be buying additional games and leaplets for this game for our sons to play with. I intend to follow up to have the stylus replaced as well. This is a great toy for kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Touch screen stopped working after 3 months!
Posted 10/17/2011
This was great until the touch screen stopped working! Now I have games that I bought that I can't use! Kids loved it, it was very educational and great for car trips. Thinking about buying another just because I have invested so much in the cost of games but leary of same problem happening.
-1point
Customer Avatar
southern US
poor warranty
Posted 09/23/2011
Poor warranty on all leapfrog/leapster products. ONLY 3 mONTHS compared to vsmile products which have a 1 YEAR warranty. I will not be buying any more leapster products!
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Bummed

12/28/2010
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This game constantly requires you connect to a computer. This is a total pain. The connection speed is painfully slow. You have to "earn" tokens and badges and other items to play some of the games. Since the synch function is complicated and doesn't work all the time, the tokens you take so much time to earn don't always transfer. In all, it's a total pain. I'm returning mine for a DS today. This game requires CONSTANT parental supervision due to it's complex nature.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 15 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

very disappointed

01/07/2011
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cannot believe all these good reviews for this game. I feel ripped off. You get one little game "for free" (or 70 bucks). Then each game is 25 bucks. My 3 and a half year old is smart, knew her alphabet at 18 months, but is not thrilled with this toy. She loves her brother's DSi and Ipod touch way better. Like another reviewer said, it's a pain always having to connect to a PC, then you get the website and it looks like a big ad, it's ridiculous. One section on the game to choose from is "trailers" for the other games they sell! How many places can you push your products??? Plus, you can't recharge it, it's batteries! Are you kidding me? I'll probably sell this on ebay and buy her a DS next bday. SO DISAPPOINTED!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 16 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Surprisingly very educational

10/30/2010
By ,
altamonte springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is great my 4yrs son Aaron can't put it down since I've purchased it. We bought it for something he can play with in the car rather our cell phone, but whether is in the car are out he can't put it down. I enjoy every aspect of it, its touch screen all of it. THE ONLY COMPLAINED WE NEED MORE GAMES FOR 4YRS KIDS.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 17 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Terrible

08/31/2011
By ,
Redding, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this game for over a month and have not been able to download games. Leapster customer service works 9-5 EST m-th and 9-3 on Friday. So far they have been no help, this was supposed to be a 3 easy steps and you are done. Countless hours later I have a game that doesn't work. I would not recommend this game to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Derby, KS
Posted 12/30/2011
This is exactly the same trouble I have! Worthless. I've only had it a few days, I'm going to demand my money back!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

Excellent product so far

09/20/2010
By ,
palm desert, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for the ill-fated handheld V-smile that broke down all the time. The price is a bit high ($70) but it is sturdy and the screen displays an excellent image. Buy rechargeable batteries as the charger cost $40. Batteries burn fast.I also advise to buy a pouch to protect it. Since they did not have one that fit the Explorer ( the leapster 2 pouch is too small for the leapster explorer), i actually bought the pouch designed for the "mobigo" and it fits perfectly!. Very good games that are easy enough and challenging enough for all ages. My little girl is 6 and has Down Syndrome, and the games are helping her educationally. Once you purchase the unit, you need to plug it in the computer to download and create an account, which allows you to follow your child progress with games, as well as additional free games that your child can play online. The product comes with a disk" leapfrog connect"that you will use to download the program. It took us several tries as it did not seem to install properly and we had to uninstall and reinstall the program twice but it works great now. They need to add more games on the leaplet store as they are a bit boring and uninteresting. You can either buy the games ( $25 ) or leaplets cards ($15 for two). The leaplets have a code on them that once you log onto the site, you use to download games, movies or e-books... Some downloads require 2 of these cards. However, since it is a new product, the choice is a bit limited, and sometimes it can be a bit challenging to always have to plug in the explorer to download things. Overall a very good buy and my daughter is having a great time with it. Can't wait for more games and leaplets games to come out. They are also coming out with a mini-camera that you can buy separately and that you can attach to the device. It lets them take real pictures and they can edit and decorate them online ( in October 2010). Overall much better quality than the v-smile products, which i used to buy often.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
My kids love this too!
Posted 02/06/2012
I bought this primarily for my 5-year old (Betty). My 7-year old (Alice) uses a laptop, and has several electronic games, but Betty does not use too many electronics. I bought the Leapfrom Explorer last week, letting Alice know that it belongs to Betty, but she can use it when Betty isn't using it. Alice and Betty both love it, and Alice tries to ply Betty with other toys so she can play with it. It has caused several arguments between my girls and when I step in and make sure Betty has a fair turn, Alice gets very upset (think hissy-fits# which is quite unlike her.
Now that I see that I can download the apps to two Explorers, I thnk I will purchase a second Explorer handheld in order to keep the peace. This is probably not the best parenting solution to solving problems, but if they are fighting to use an educational toy, then I'll just have to pick my battles for putting my foot down. By using their earphones, the car rides are much quieter when they are both being entertained/taught.
I purchased the Tangled game, and Mr. Doodle game and they both do well with those. As expected, Alice is progressing through the different levels much faster than Betty. I am surprised that this system holds this much interest for Alice, the 7-year old. We have the Camera/video cartridge, but I haven't introduced that to the girls yet. They are having so much fun playing with the pre-loaded apps and the 2 purchased games, so I will introduce the camera function later to make the toy seem new again.
I definitely recommend getting the charger to save on replacing batteries.
The graphics are great and the games are entertaining while teaching. As described above, the girls become fully engaged and try to beat their own best score. It was fairly easy to set up, but the instructions were very minimal. I had to download the full instructions from the Connect website in order to do it. In technical ability, I am about a 6 on a 10-point scale).
Great product and a much better price for it and the games than some of the other handheld systems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

It's a money pit

09/07/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
They have it setup so your kids will bug you all the time to plug it into the computer and buy pet food, pet shampoo, and other junk for it. No way to disable the built in pets that beg for money. It also tells the kids to go online and buy other games for it. You can't buy any replacement battery packs for it. You can only buy a new charger along with a new battery pack.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
panamacity
Posted 12/14/2011
The pet food and shampoo does not cost any real money (atleast it doesn't on mine) the child earns money buy playing the games and they get to spend it on different things even games.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green

We need TWO!

06/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(We received the Leapster Explorer from LeapFrog for review.)
Let me first say that we are longtime customers and fans of LeapFrog.
Though the Leapster Explorer is recommended for ages 4 to 9, my son who turned three this past month loves it. I am not sure if all three-year-olds would be able to manipulate the stylus and play some of the games, but he was indoctrinated into gaming using my iPhone at two. He definitely has the hand-eye coordination needed to play it. I have seen over the last few weeks that he’s getting better and better at some of the games. Of course some of it is above his cognitive level, but that doesn’t stop him from trying.
On the other hand, the system is great for my five- (almost six) year-old who just finished kindergarten. She does have the skill set to work on the math and reading games and is challenged as she progresses through the levels.
I always feel like kids will be interested in games featuring characters they are already familiar with. Available games include Disney Princess, Toy Story 3, Dora the Explorer, Penguins of Madagascar, Ben 10, Disney Fairies, Wolverine and the X-Men, NFL Rush, Spongebob SquarePants, and Star Wars: The Clone Wars. We have been playing the Penguins, Princess, and Toy Story games. They do like these games, but I will say they enjoy the games that are not branded just as well.
The Leaplet apps are downloadable apps including e-Books, videos, and more games. I personally think that downloadable apps are a great idea. First of all, that means that there are fewer cartridges to keep track of. Second, it means that less packaging and resources are being used. As an iPhone user I am used to buying apps and I think that downloadable apps for gaming systems like the Leapster Explorer should be the future.
The e-Books are selections from the Tag library. Just like the Tag reader, you can touch words, listen to the stories, and touch pictures to hear sound effects. Integrating the Tag books into the Explorer is a great idea because it just adds to the possibility for kids to enjoy reading no matter where they are. Though there will only be six books released at launch, more will be available soon.
Videos include Letter Factory, Talking Words Factory, and Math Circus. I was so impressed with the video quality! We put one of the DVD’s on the TV and played the same one on the Leapster and we couldn’t see the difference.
We have a few of the six game apps loaded onto our Explorer. My daughter likes the Harmonies game where the child gets to conduct four singers.
But what really got my son hooked is Jewel Train. In this game, the child must arrange the pieces of the railroad track so that the train can collect every jewel on its way to the station. It’s a logic game with 25 levels. I thought there was no way my little guy could figure this out, but it has really captivated him. I am not sure what level he has made it to, but my husband and I both had to play it until we got to level 25!
When they say it can withstand kids, LeapFrog isn’t kidding. Ours has been dropped…a lot. Not to mention that my son drags it around by the stylus. The stylus did come off, probably because my son is so rough with it, but I popped it back on.
A minor criticism is that the slot for the stylus is in the left hand side. If you put the stylus on the right hand side for right-handed users, then the stylus cord crosses the system to put it away. Since the majority of people are right-handed, I think it should also store on the right hand side. Our system came with the stylus on the left and I switched it over.
We went through the first set of batteries in a few days because when one child wasn’t playing it, the other was. I threw in rechargeable batteries the second time. They will offer a recharger as one of the accessories.
So I’ll tell you what my biggest problem is with the Explorer: We don’t have TWO. Seriously. Both kids love it and jockey for playtime. I plan to pre-order a second one so that both of my children can have one. This will be especially great to entertain them on car trips.
The best news? Mommy can finally have her iPhone back!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next