Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for StarTech Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

StarTech Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

The StarTech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station provides full, instant access to any 2.5" (up to 500GB) or 3.5" SATA (SATA, SATA II, SATA/300) hard drive (up to 2 TB) - without having to mount the hard drive in a computer or install it in an enclosure. Simply connect the hard drive dock to a host computer through USB 2.0 and then insert a SATA hard drive into the dock whenever needed. To uninstall or swap the hard drive, just remove it from the external HDD dock. The USB to SATA External HDD Dock adapter supports plug and play hard drive installation on most operating systems, and offers data transfer speeds of up to 480Mbps - providing a convenient alternative to external hard drive enclosures and saving the time needed to prepare the drive for conventional installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%25 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

works great

12/23/2012
By ,
south ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plugged it up and it works, enough said!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Product is ok

03/06/2014
By ,
mchenry il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product is ok haven't used much, the only thing so far is the usb cable port is a little tight and hard to plug the cable into it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD
06/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product gets the job done. No problems with drivers loading. It's hot swappable, and my 2.5" hard drive fits snug on the connections.
Only one problem exists. The cover flaps with a spring load - it stays up to cover the extra space left when using a 2.5" drive. My drive (standard 2.5" out of a toshiba laptop) did not fit and the flap stayed down. I actually broke the flap when trying to pull it up. It is easy to break at the hinge ( just plastic). Now I just use the dock with no flap; so it's just open. Not a big deal, but I would like the cover, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

System Backup workes great.

05/15/2011
By ,
Morristown, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Startech USB to SATA for a extra hard drive I had so I could backup my windows 7 system and files. My computer has two hard drives, the main drive has windows 7, the other PClinuxOS, which I have set up as a dual boot system. I like the sys backup feature windows 7 has and used the second drive for that until installed Linux on the second drive. Now with the external drive I can backup all my windows files cheap, and this is just as good as one of those expensive external drives. With the Startech USB to SATA I can also use it for other drives I might need to format or use for files.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Startech USB to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station

04/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have purchased numerous other external enclosures and docking stations in the past, with none of them being of a decent quality, with all of them being made of cheap plastic or aluminum. This docking station is open to the air allowing the heat buildup to be dissipated to the atmosphere which is better than being enclosed with no ventilation openings.
So far it has worked flawlessly and if it lasts over six or seven months it will beat out all others I have used. These should last for years, so we will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

I love It

04/14/2011
By ,
Central Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a charm. I plugged it in and it works. I had to format a brand new 2.5 inch WD Scorpio Blue but it now reads as drive E:. Not a hitch, no drama at all. Construction quality seems as good as I hoped. I have a Toshiba A105 notebook with a 40 gig hard drive. Now I have another 160 gigs. I love it.
I also have Ubuntu 10.10 installed under Win 7. This device is supposed to work with that as well, I have not tried it yet. I reserved 60 gigs for Linux and will report back when I test that.
My opinion as of this moment is that I made a good decision and would be right to buy it again.
-20
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Central Montana
Still love it
Posted 05/31/2011
Just updating my last review. I have been using this thing every day for a while now and it has worked flawlessly. Ubuntu Linux 10.10 found the hard drive effortlessly. No problems with Windows 7 or Windows XP either.
I'd buy it again.
-20
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD
07/16/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Western Digital external hard drive got zapped by a lightning strike and I was not able to power it up. So I couldn't tell if the data on it was still o.k. or if it had been corrupted. I pried the case apart and removed the drive. This Startech docking station was the perfect solution to check the drive. The price was good and all you have to do is plug in the drive and connect it to a computer. I've had it for about a month and so far so good. And fortunately, the files on the drive turned out to be o.k.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Good buy

12/10/2013
By ,
mesa, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this little adapter to be very useful. I had misread the description and thought it did IDE, but I was mistaken. Great little tool for accessing hard drives/information when there is no operating system installed or if it's corrupted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Perfect solution for unused internal harddrives

12/03/2013
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use these docks at the office with internal harddrives of old computers. Great for salvaging data when the motherboard goes bad. I bought this dock to use for storing downloaded movies on some old unused harddrives. The price was terrific and the dock is easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Perfect for what I needed

08/06/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great for me so far - my wife's computer crashed totally (won't boot) last week and not everything was backed up. I bought this device to access the hard drive (a 250 Gb SATA) and it worked like a charm. When I fired it up it scanned the disk for errors and fixed one bad sector. Scanning it on her old computer under the alternative boot options led to a crash but this handled it fine. Buying it was a lot less expensive that getting a company to extract the data! It seems sufficiently good that once my wife's new computer arrives and I have data transferred to it, I will probably continue using it as an extra drive - either with the 250GB drive directly on my desktop, or with a 2 or 4 TB SATA drive connected to one of my network drives (that have USB plugs).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

More than I ever expected!

11/04/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This docking station is perfect for what I needed and at an overwhelmingly low price!
The stand is dock is sturdy and feels like it will last.
The trap-door feels a little less sturdy, but is holding out alright.
This works perfectly for 2.5" and 3.5" drives, although the 2.5" drives are slightly loose.
It should be noted that this dock has an LED status light that flashes pink when the harddrive is being accessed and idles at blue. The colors are not disturbingly bright and are actually rather soothing!
I would definitely recommend to anybody who needs to read and write data to harddrives quickly and hassle-free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

So affordable and easy to use

11/10/2013
By ,
dublin,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's just a plug and play device i recommend it anyone who wants revive their old hardrive
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Probably great if it fits your hard drive

10/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This didn't work on my HP laptop hard drives. The connector on the drives is a right angle connector and the drives wouldn't fit. I ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Worked perfectly

10/23/2013
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to plug in the hard drive from my old, dead computer and copy off all of the files I needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

More bang for your buck.

12/07/2012
By ,
Monmouth County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great. It's not as fast as USB 3 but it does what it has to do with no problem. No CD needed to install drivers, your computer system automatically recognizes it and installs drivers for you. Good deal and just what I needed when I needed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Startech USB to SATA

09/03/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Startech USB to SATA did what it had to do with no problems. Great price, fast shipping, no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

Computer could not identify docking station

05/25/2012
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Computer never could identify or read that the docking station was attached.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD
01/24/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Startech external hard drive docking station has worked flawlessly since I purchased it. A pat on the back to the good people at Startech. May you live long and prosper.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD

just ok

10/31/2011
By ,
Modesto, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it worked just fine for pc use but i bought it to use on the xbox and the xbox wouldnt read it i seen other products just like this that work on the xbox but cost twice as much so i though i would give this a shot but wouldnt work. It did however work just fine on my pc but the flap cover thing broke on the first use so i returned it since its useless to me since it dont work on my xbox
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Startech USB to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" or 3.5" HDD
04/21/2013
By ,
Mission Viejo, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great to read SATA HD....I am going to use it to copy important info from my laptop.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next