Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Record your favorite movies and TV shows with the MAGNAVOX MDR513H/F7 HDD and DVD Recorder. This DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner records up to 387 hours onto a large 320GB hard drive so you can store all of your favorite television programs. Pause live television while you record the show on this 1080p DVD recorder. Its 1080p up-conversion gives you the best quality picture from DVDs. Play songs; view photos, and enjoy virtual surround sound, with Dolby Digital stream out on this DVR/DVD recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(737 Reviews) 660
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
398
4 stars
207
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 star
67
Customer Recommendation85%627 out of 737reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
398
4 stars
207
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 star
67
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Love My DVR!

09/26/2011
By ,
MIRA, LA 71044
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVR it is the best way to be able to record TV shows WITHOUT having to have a cable service. That is the exact reason why I bought it. I can record my shows and it saves me money. What more can a girl ask for. LOL! Thanks WAL-MART!!!!!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
VIZIO 32" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV, E321VL
4.4 out of 5(537)
 
 
 
HTC Droid Incredible 2 Verizon CDMA Android Cell Phone - Black
 
 
 
Dell Mercury Silver Inspiron One iO2305-1109MSL All-In-One Desktop PC with AMD II Athlon X2 240e Processor, 1TB Hard Drive, 23" Multi-touch Monitor and Windows 7 Home Premium
5 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

BYE BYE TIVO/CABLE DVR

03/12/2011
By ,
ORLANDO FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a device to record HD channels as well as SD. I have a Tivo series 2 that only does SD TV and a 160GB philips dvd recorder that also only does SD being they have no HD turner built in. I first thought of upgrading my tivo to their premier box for $479 with lifetime sub. since i have been a customer for years. Then I noticed i would have to get a cable card for a monthly fee and a wireless adapter for $59. The goal was to be rid of any subscription fee and not break the bank in doing it. I also thought of buying a pc tv tuner card for $130 but found this 320gb was selling for only $199 which is $70 less than what i paid for my 160gb years ago. The other reviews posted on this website and others failed to specify that this DVR will record in HD and also pause live HD TV which was the most important feature i wanted. Ordered my unit and recieved it the next day for $22 more and so far it does everything i want. The features are different from the philips unit so I am still getting the hang of it but all I can say is the picture quality is great on both SD/HD TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+190points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
UPS needed!
Posted 02/16/2012
Anyone who loses power often needs a Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS). My Mags are all on UPS's from Walmart, ~$45.00.
If the Mag 515 comes back or you can find it elsewhere, it has ~2-hour power backup or MORE... one 515 user got 40 HOURS!
Here's an index of info and help files:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Customer Avatar
east coast
Sounds odd if power outages loses settings
Posted 12/23/2011
It has a built in harddrive. Is doesn't back up itself to the Harddrive?
0points
Customer Avatar
Stigler, OK
Not as wonderful as most of the reviews state
Posted 06/11/2011
Here are the drawbacks that get lost in the reviews: It is a pain to program because there is no program guide. It's kind of like the old vcr's where you have to find the days and then the channel and the start time and the end time. Ok, so then you have the time to program it with all your shows. Then the power goes out, let's say for only a minute or there is a storm and you unplug it. Well, all the memory is gone. So, now you have to set the time and all of your programed recordings all over again. It gets old quick. Mine sits there with no recordings because I am sick of always redoing everything. And then, lets say you have perfect power and no bad storms(sure). Then you are playing back a show and the last minute of it is gone because the clock is not precise, or the program went over or whatever.
So, to sum it up, the unit is great only if you can't afford the Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR
Really think about it because you are saving $70 per month on cable so why not spend a few more dollars on the perfect unit with 2 tuners and a program guide. Yo can record 2 shows at the same time.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Switched from TiVo

06/14/2010
By ,
Jacksonville FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVR records great shows. We have it connected to Direct TV via RCA cables and a big screen TV using the HDMI cable. When you record a program you can view, fast forward and reverse like a VCR without the tapes. You can also pause and even rewind LIVE broadcasts. It will play standard DVDs.
This unit replaced a Series one TiVo which had was easy to use but required monthly fees. This recorder cost less than $300 without monthly fees, it is no bigger than a VHS video recorder and fits in the entertainment center with room to spare.
Cons:
Instructions are a bit challanging and require some time to learn the controls. The print on the remote control is hard to see in low light like you'd find in normal living room. The unit shuts down after a period of time not in use. When turning on , the boot up time is bit long (This is really a special type computer).
I would consider buying a second unit identicaly to this one!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 4 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

The BEST DVD Recorder with Hard Drive

06/10/2010
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 2010, this is simply the BEST DVD Recorder you can buy. It has a massive 320 gig Hard drive, that gives you almost 400 hours on the lowest setting (which looks like a VCR recording) the next setting up looks very good and has almost 300 hours.
You can record a tv show to the hard drive and keep it there, EASILY delete out commercials with the Edit feature, then save to a DVD or just keep it in the hard drive, I mean with 400 hours, its not like your gonna fill it up.
The manual that comes with it at first seems daunting, but the best way to fig this unit out is just plug it in and play with it. It didn't take me long to figure it out. It was a easy 1 button record (otr) and a quick 1 button Dubbing (Hard drive to DVD or DVD to hard drive). Works much like a old style VCR but just all Digital and much better picture quality.
It has a tuner that picks up Digital and old style Analog cable/satellite channels.
This magnavox system is a gem!
It's a almost like having a Tivo but without any monthly fees.
I would deff recommend this unit to a friend or anyone wanting to buy a DVD recorder or to replace a old VCR or just tired of Tivo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+319points
Review 5 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

An Excellent Product.

12/22/2011
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not subscribe to a TV service. I get my TV the old fashioned way; over the airwaves with an antenna. Thus, I do not have a TIVO style DVR to record channels while I watch another channel. This Magnavox DFR, with its built-in HDTV receiver allows me to do this. I just hook up the antenna, tune the DVR to the desired channel and Record. The DVR output is plugged into one of the HDMI inputs on my HDTV and I watch the recorded videos via that HDMI input.
On the down side, these saved videos must be watched before further recording is performed. There is no way (that I can find in the documentation) to begin recording at the end of previously recorded programs; they are recorded over with the new recordings. I can record them to a DVD (recorder included in the product) but I choose not to. Of course, it remains an option that I may use in the future.
I would definitely recommend this product to others, and in fact, I gave one to our son and his family for Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
New recordings do NOT replace old one.
Posted 12/23/2011
You do NOT have to delete titles already recorded to make room for new recordings. New ones are just "tacked on" the end of the previous recordings on the HDD. Only when the HDD becomes full would you HAVE TO delete or dub to DVD old recordings to make room for new ones. NOTHING is automatically deleted by the Mag, you're in charge of that.
An indexed list of info and help files is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

easy to use

02/26/2012
By ,
Miswaukee Wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews for this item and one of them wrote that it records and plays back on a HD
tv, 16 X 9 pictures, although the manual says it plays back in only 4 X 3, standard dif. The
manual must be wrong because this recorder plays back from HDD in 16 by 9 format. The
picture is in standard dif. meaning 480P, that look pretty good to me on my Samsung tv and
a 16 by 9 picture. I have my directv connected through the svhs connector and it looks like
high def. to me. The tuner works great and also records in 16 by 9 format. The dvd records
in 16 by 9 format also. And dubbing fron HDD to DVD is a breeze, plus you can edit the the
HDD recording before transfering it to DVD. I purchased a second recorder in case I want
to record two shows at the samd tine. Note, these recorders don't do double layer, but double
layer disks are too expensive anyhow, and the recorders are from 2010, and arn't produced
anymore, and try finding a recorder with a hard drive now besides a computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Easy for me to use

12/23/2011
By ,
Las Vegas Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am no where near savy with this modern technology stuff. However, I upgraded from the vcr/dvd players. With the older vcr/dvd players recorders, I was spending a lot of money for vhs tapes and rewriteable discs. After using the tapes/discs the quality was terrible after a couple uses. A friend of mine bought the Magnavox DVD/DVR Recorder and recommended it. I was able to hook it up by myself and am able to use it very easily. I can record on a disc if I want or can use the hard drive. Have saved a lot of money that way. The other thing I really like about it is if I forget to load a dvd to record on it will record onto the hard drive and I don't miss my programs. The quality of the recordings is very clear and good. For the price I paid, I feel I received a very good product for a very good price. I am going to order another one for the other tv very soon. Overall, price, quality and service I am glad I bought it. I would recomend it for anyone to use - it is so easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Almost a great product

06/24/2010
By ,
Bloomfield, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi Guys,
I bought this Magnovax mainly to be able to record my favorite games, world cup soccer. Here are some great things about it:
1- very easy to set up, record, edit, delete
2- This magnovax is by far the best one out there for US consumers.
3- It has a digital tuner (very useful)
There's only one thing that I'm not happy about - HDMI supposes to give you a great picture quality (HD upconversion) although it's ok but not as good as I was hoping for. Overall, if you're looking for DVR for home use, this one is very good & affordable. Highly recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+77points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
This Mag is NTSC
Posted 04/01/2012
This Mag will not work with Brazil's PAL TV system.
0points
Customer Avatar
Brazil
DVD Recorder Magnavox
Posted 02/25/2012
Hi, i'm from Brazil and i liked to know more news about your system of color?
Here are used Pal-M. This recorder to serve in my country? Thanks and sorry by my bad english
0points
Customer Avatar
Tennesseee
Does what I want it to do
Posted 02/18/2012
I bought the recorder to transfer all my old VHS tapes to DVD. I have copied over 50 2 hour tapes without any problems. I enjoy the Hard Drive feature in that I can caputure bit a piecies of a person or location on the hard drive and later transfer them to one disc containing many short clips of one person or place. I am very pleased with the quality of the video and the volumn of the audio. If it wears out tomorrow, it has been worth the price I paid for it. I did not buy it to record cable programs so I have not used this feature yet.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

New Age VCR

03/22/2011
By ,
oswego, n.y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was just looking to replace my worn out vcr as my wife records her soap as she works. they dont really make them, only with dvd players included which I already own 2 of. I came across this, read the reviews and found that the hard drive records as well as being able to burn dvd's..I haven't done any dvds yet and probalby won't. it was real easy to hook up and program and the commercial skip she loves which after some reading of the owners manual which is pretty intense, its called V.SKIP.. I already have DVR with my cable but this saves room on that by being able to put the soaps on the hard drive and the way I have it hooked up I can record 2 channels with the DVR but I have to watch one and now a third with the MAGNAVOX right now I believe she has 3 weeks worth of soaps recorded on it. I love it and highly recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

I LOVE IT!!

01/26/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I've become financially challenged, I had to forego my cable service and DVR. I had reverted back to a VCR to record my shows. However, I discovered that a digital antenna would give me several more channels and in HD quality. Unfortunately, my VCR would not record the digital signal. I was elated to discover this product. It's a digital version of a VCR. I can pause and rewind live TV, program it to record with just a few clicks on the remote, and even 'dub' recordings that I would want to save indefinitely. I'm good with gadgets, so I had no problem setting it up and working the remote. I could see where it would be a tad overwhelming for the not-so gadget savvy. If you read the instructions and follow them step-by-step, you shouldn't have a problem (think of it as a VCR that you're already familiar with). I haven't been this excited about a product since I discovered low-fat, soft serve frozen yogurt!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder
12/11/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first Magnavox DVR that I purchased had a hard drive problem. But after Walmart replaced it with another unit, the new one worked great. I since purchased a second unit so I could have one in the kitchen to record all the shows on the Hard Drive (HD). It was good to get rid of the VCR tapes and replace it with a good hard drive. Plus I did not have consider the Cable or TIVO option, which cost money. Why pay TIVO $79 for their DVR and then another $19 per month for the same thing that Magnavox is offering you for a one time cost for the next 5 years.
The earlier model I purchased only had a 160GB HD so with this unit being a 320GB HD you get double the space. It is very easy to set up to record TV shows or cable shows and easy to play, stop, rewind to watch a specific screen or re watch a very special football play, etc.
The only down side is that the DVD tray is very slow to open up so get use to waiting for about 5 to 9 seconds before it decided to do anything. With this new unit I might even consider buying this larger capacity HD to record more shows and keep some movies or shows longer than 2 to 3 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Just what I always wanted. A Great buy!

02/24/2011
By ,
Northeast Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted a DVR, but was reluctant to purchase one due to the required monthly subscription fees. I came across this model when I was searching for a replacement for my failing VCR. I couldn't believe someone finally manufactured a stand alone DVR that required NO monthly program fees. A perfect fit to my time shifting T.V. viewing life style.
Pros: *Great picture. *Plenty of port options for hooking it up to a variety of entertainment systems. *The 1080p up conversion is great for my setup. I convert the 480i, 720i & 1080i reception & recordings from outdoor antenna to 1080p for an excellent picture on my LCD T.V.. *The option to record to either a DVD or the hard drive is another nice feature. *Really like the feature to pause live shows. If you can't sit down right at the hour to watch a program, just turn on the DVR to your station and let it run. When you finally get a chance to sit down, you can start watching from the beginning of the program and fast forward through commericials. With a VCR you can also record the show, but have to wait till the recording ends in order to watch. *On-screen programming of a T.V. show is quick and easy.
Cons: *Would be nice if it had the ability to record more than one show at a time. There are a couple of nights a week where several of our favorite shows are broadcast in the same time slot. Our extra VCR will be around for a while yet. :(
Other thoughts: *Personally I like a detailed owner's manual, but I can see where some folks might be overwhelmed by it. Magnavox should consider including a separate quick start guide for setup & using the basic functions so folks can start using it right away. Once they know the basics they can continue learning from there. *Magnavox should also consider doing a little advertising of this GREAT product. I wouldn't have even known it existed if hadn't stumbled across it on Walmart's website.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 13 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

great machine with a few limitations

07/07/2011
By ,
North San Francisco Bay Area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was on the phone with customer service for a while when setting this up, as I couldn't seem to get both the digital and the analog channels through any one connection (I can't use HDMI, don't know if that would work or not). Customer service was unable to help me, their recommendation was that it seemed like the product was broken and I should just return it. I decided to connect it with both the coaxial cable and the red/yellow/white plugs. I get the digital channels through one, and the analog channels through the other one. This also allows me to play a different channel than the one the DVR is recording, but it has to be an analog channel. I can't play a digital channel on the TV while it's recording another digital channel. Since I only have basic cable, this is not too much of a hindrance for me, but it might be for others. I've never had a DVR with a hard drive before, and I love not having to worry about running out of recording space on a DVD. Overall I really like this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Use the DTV/TV button
Posted 07/12/2011
NOTHING internal comes from the coax output to your TV. That's just an amplified passthru of the RAW incoming signal to your TV, and that's why you can watch TV channels while recording with the Mag recorder... you're using the TV's tuner and remote to tune channels that it can tune thru the coax passthru.
Your composite YWR connection to the TV is a "line connection" that's the ONLY way you can see internal stuff like menus, channels, and HDDD/DVD playback. If your TV has other input types, like Component RGB or HDMI, you could use those as well.
You can press the DTV/TV button on the remote to switch between the analog and digital tuners in the Mag (assuming you did the correct Auto Channel Preset): "Antenna" for OTA antenna, or "Cable (Analog/Digital)."
Here's a list of help files with much more detail on Connections, Tuning, and other setup and operating info:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

I have no regrets.

09/25/2010
By ,
Denison, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is definately the best buy you can find, especially since I got it on sale. The 320GB HDD is quiet and holds as many hours of video as specified.
Mine has worked flawlessly. It records and plays everything I throw at it.
The HDMI 1080p upconversion is awsome, at least on my 1080P 42 in Vizio LCD TV.
The recordings are crisp, clear, and sharp on digital channels and not so bad on analog channels. Surround Sound is awsome on surround sound system.
The TV Tuner on this DVR is great.
Timer settings record accurately.
It has a lot of neat stuff, like recording a timer setting whether on or off. You can do about any type of editing you want, erase sections, hide chapters, etc.
Now, lets address some issues.
It doesn't record on DL dvds (dual layer - 8.7 gb vs std 4.7 gb discs). But it doesn't claim to and you are not paying for a High End DVR. Maybe you could replace the recorder with a dual layer recorder, but the software probably wouldn't support it. But you can split a 2 hour high quality movie between two STD dvds. One hour on each disc.
It doesn't have a usb port for copying or playing usb drives or usb hd drives, but it doesn't claim to have one.
Yes, the remote is hard to read in dim lighting, but it is not bad. So are a lot of other remotes. At least it is a good solid remote. Buttons are of various shapes, sizes and positions. Critical buttons are different colors, Red for recording, dubbing and power on/off. At least the layout is nice and buttons are not tiny, but medium sized for easy use.
Directions are a little complex, but setup on screen is pretty much menu driven and user friendly. Just go though each option. But I had a Magnavox DVD recorder before, which is basically this machine without a HDD. Even the remotes work with the other machine.
It can only record one channel at a time and only view that channel. But you can watch another recording or a DVD while it is recording.
It only records in a 4:3 format, not a 16:9 widescreen format. Which is okay for me. It records analog channels fine, digital channels fine, and it records Hi Def channels as digital channels. But they are pretty sharp and at least it pulls them in. It does a fine job of converting analog and digital. It can be a digital converter or you can watch analog channels clearer on a digital LCD screen.
Note: For best results watch DVDs through HDMI cable on HDMI Aux channel on LCD TV and watch analog and digital channels through component cables on Component Aux channel on LCD screen. The formatting is better and quality is better.
Also, buying this new is a lot better buy than buying something used and cheaper, or used and over the internet. Used electronics, older than 3 or 4 years , are usually a waste of money because they break down or most of the life span is gone.
Summary: All in all, even though this is not a state of the art, expensive machine, it is very good quality at a decent price. If taken care of properly (not abused) it should last a long time. But typically, electronics probably have roughly, a 3-5 year good life span if used a lot. I would recommend it to anybody in a heartbeat. I have no regrets buying mine.
I am a computer programmer, computer technician, and computer geek and I approve of this message.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+343points
Review 15 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Magnavox MDR-513H/F7

02/08/2012
By ,
Leesburg, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a DVR HHD recorder that had a QUAM Tuner, because of my cable provider. There are not that many to choose from and I wish that I could have found one with a DUAL TUNER, so I could watch a show and record a different channel at the same time, but I could not find one in this price range at all.
That being said I am very satisfied with this recorder. It tapes onto the hard drive and delivers a quality picture. It does pick up the digital channels and that is what I wanted, so I could tape a few shows that were only available on HD or Digital channels. Of course my older VCR's could not receive those types of channels to record. DON'T let the size of the manual scare you off! Read the basics and play around with it, BEFORE, you need it for taping that show you wanted so badly. :)
Buying On-Line from WalMart was as inexpensive to purchase a new one, than buying it as refurbished from Amazon. Worth the effort to learn how to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Throughly disappointed!

01/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item with high hopes, which unfortunately were very quickly dashed. My trusty VCR died, and I had tried a DVD player/ recorder once before, it was not very reliable. I wanted another VCR, but that was not to be as they don't make stand alone models anymore. So when I saw this machine on the Wal Mart site I decided to give it a try. The first one I received, the DVD drawer would not open, back it went. I replaced that one with another hoping the drawer problem was just a fluke. The drawer opened just fine, but the fan was rarely off, and the machine had not been used in at least 2-3 days. I called Magnavox and was told that that should not be happening, so back went the second one. I found out that there is a later model the Magnavox 515H, so I am going to give it one last try, here's hoping I won't be throughly disappointed with this one. To Wal Marts credit they have been very understanding of my frustration, and most helpful in my time of need, so thank you Wal Mart personal!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 17 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Great buy

11/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great machine! I bought this to replace a VCR. I wanted to copy my husband's favorite TV shows that he misses when he is at work. Comparing this product to a VCR is like comparing a car to a horse and buggy! Much better picture quality and no stack of video tapes to sort through. We only get the over-the-air channels using an interior antenna. I will admit that I at first I was disappointed because the playback had occasional lines runing through it and color seemed washed out. I discovered that the machine was set to the lowest quality recording speed; after I changed to a higher quality setting the quality was the same as watching the original broadcast. DVD playback is also great.
The set up was fairly easy using the included manual. I have only used this machine to copy TV show using the record option. I cannot comment on any other features including timed recordings, editing, or DVD recording.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Lots of help available if needed.
Posted 11/20/2011
Congrats on getting started with your new Mag recorder!
Here's an index of info and help files that you might need in the future as you get into the more "exotic" features of these little beauties:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

What I was looking for

09/13/2010
By ,
Derby Line, VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because my VHS recorder broke. I hate the idea of having to pay to record to a hard drive (like through your cable service or with TIVO) and didn't understand why you pay a subscription service. The Magnavox DVR was the answer I was looking for.
It works just like my old VHS/DVD combo player. I was used to setting a timer to record my shows and the timer on the DVR works similar to my old VHS unit. It has a large hard drive with more than enough space for my use.
I have digital cable and have a cable box. I set up the Magnavox so that I can tape a show on the DVR and watch something else through the cable box. To allow this, the configuration I have (cable splitter) is that the TV signal the DVR receives is analog and not digital. That's not an issue for me.
I've found it easy to use and love it so far. I've only had it a few weeks so I cannot say anything about longevity of the product.
I also cannot comment on the DVD recorder part of the device. I have no need for that and bought it to record shows to a hard drive and watch DVDs.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Records OTA TV; better than your old VCR

09/27/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had this product for about 2 weeks so I can't speak to the long term reliability of the product but, so far, it has performed perfectly. I had no trouble installing and programming it but, my wife needed quite some time to get used to it. I think we are now both on the same page and are very happy with it. She was not happy that we needed to buy an HDMI cable (not included) for an additional $30.
Reception with this unit is excellent. We get quite a few more channels than we used to. It has NOT affected the reception of our TV whether or not it is recording.
We matched it up with a Magnavox TV (purely a coincidence) and there is a small bonus in that the TV can turn on the DVR and the TV remote operates the DVR.
The only negative you should be aware of is that it does not have the ability to show the channel schedule beyond what you are currently watching. Our old digital to analog converter box was able to show the schedule for several hours in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox MDR-513H/F7 320GB DVR and DVD Recorder

Upgraded From A VCR

08/20/2010
By ,
Jupiter, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being my first DVR, I really can't compare it to another, but I like it. I was thinking about buying a Tivo, but then you need to pay a monthly service charge. Then the fun really begins with a charge for this, a charge for that, and that's not including regular taxes. It's just like my old VCR but with a bunch more perks. If I plan to keep a recording, I can record it on its highest quality setting and not worry about running out of tape.
I will agree with some of the other reviewers complaint about the manual. It's a total pain in the rump, but if you've set up plenty of stereos, satellite/cable boxes or any other audio/video equipment. It's easy to figure out.
I only have one warning, if you expect TV Guides or record a show while watching another. Then your best bet will be a Tivo or a DVR that your cable or satellite provider offer and just suck it up and pay all the extra charges.
Well, that's my 2 1/2 cent worth, hope it helped in any way..... Enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 661 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  34 Next