Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Activision StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Activision StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty is the sequel to Blizzard Entertainment's 1998 hit StarCraft, which has been hailed by players and critics worldwide as one of the top real-time strategy games of all time. Sporting a vibrant 3D-graphics engine, StarCraft II once again centers on the clash between the protoss, terrans, and zerg, with each side deploying legions of veteran, upgraded, and new unit types. Unparalleled online play for StarCraft II is available through a new version of Battle.net, Blizzard Entertainment's world-renowned gaming service. Battle.net has been redesigned from the ground up to be the premier online gaming destination for Blizzard gamers, with several enhancements and new features, such as voice communication, cloud file storage, leagues and ladders, achievements, stat-tracking, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.426 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%48 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Worked on my computer.

08/07/2010
By ,
Pikeville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product 2 weeks ago and I was amazed with how beautiful the game looks on my computer. It runs with no issues. The person above that spent 1500 dollars on a pc should spend about 150 more for a new OS. Nothing works right on vista! I've had issues with all of my games on vista pcs. I didn't give the game a 5 because of LAN. I think they've done this so in the future if the game is popular they can charge for online play. Aside from that the game is beautiful and I don't even have the min req for a game card.
Laptop the game is installed on...
Windows 7
4 Gb Ram
2. ghz dual core amd athalon processor
Radeon 4600 video card. Horrible video card and it runs great on low settings.
I haven't tried it on medium or high settings. I always run games on lowest settings.
I have a 500 dollar Gateway purchased at Bestbuy back in Feb. Check out the specs of that laptop if you would like to compare it to you machine to see if it can run on yours. Cause its a very low model laptop. Purchased mainly for school work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Excellent!

08/02/2010
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was worried that it wouldn't be worth the wait since the first one was so long ago, but I'm having a blast. A lot of people have complained that they're having issues with it crashing, but I have had no issues at all on a 4 year old computer. I also have to laugh at the guy who was complaining that there's not LAN. Ridiculous. With the online option you can completely bypass the need for the LAN and play with your friends anyway. I recommend this product to anyone who enjoys strategy. I even like the fact that it links through battle.net so I can talk to people in WoW while I play. Thanks Blizzard! You rarely disappoint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

I am doing my happy dance now

08/05/2010
By ,
Earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me explain it this way. I don't like most video games. Last few years, games have been really bad. A game gets popular, and 20 others copy it.
So I never give perfect ratings. But now I have. My Wallymart orders always seem to arrive BEFORE the date they give. That's always great...especially since shipping was only 97 cents.
Also I checked around and Walmart's price for Starcraft 2 was a little less than everyone else. Only a dollar or two, but still that's good.
I have ZERO complaints about the game either. That's also a first for me.
It has a great one-player campaign with great voice actors, and excellent cinematics.
It has great multiplayer online action.
And for me personally, I love being able to play multiplayer against computer opponents, during those times that i'm not in the mood to play against real people.
This game has everything I want in an RTS game.
It could have been a disaster as with some other long awaited sequels, but they worked hard and did a great job with it.
It's rare to find a RTS game anymore, much less one that turned out this good.
I can't stop smiling.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Good until...

07/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
about halfway through the game it would run pefectly, then begin to bug and crash like a decade of production and beta testing didnt happen. I spent around $1.5k on my comp for work/school/games so there's no issues with meeting the pre-reqs. Now im stuck $70 in the whole for a game that cant finish. For those interested, these are my system specs-
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 7/29/2010, 07:47:24
Machine name: New-PC
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.100218-0019)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: alienware
System Model: Area-51 7500 R6
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 4094MB RAM
Page File: 1630MB used, 6769MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

this is basically a tutorial

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You're paying $20 for a campaign tutorial with this package. If you want the full game campaign you must pay another $20. Many good computer game developers offer this level of tutorial for free as a download, they you pay only after you decide to get the full game. Game may be good, but I'm not buying into the cheezy marketing tactic. This is probably the last $20 Blizzard gets from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

similar to the original

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PC games lag behind phones and game boxes in terms of usability and setup,
but they are able to add more depth in terms of keyboard use and
Suprisingly it ran fine on my new 2014 $249 dollar laptop,
and better after I easily configured the graphics and refresh rate to be less detailed.
It did require a 14G download and a dvd drive to setup, which bogged down my home internet for 1 day.
The game play doesn't seem to have changed much from the original star craft which I suppose could be a minus, and I'm not that focused on graphics etc, more into the game play.
The game play forces you to be aggressive and attack quickly to keep the games from going on forever, once you get that and get familiar with all the keyboard shortcuts the game is loads of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)
07/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My game arrived on time (tuesday July 27). If you don't need all the extras that the special edition has (for $100), this is perfect. You even get two trials for sc2 and wow.
Runs smoothly on my computer. And yeah, recommend it to anyone looking for a new game ^.^. Working on the campaign/playing multiplayer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
La Paz
Great review...
Posted 11/22/2011
Your review was great. If you wish you can join a Starcraft II community on http://www.facebook.com/StarcraftCheats
Blessings.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Starcraft II review

12/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This really is an enjoyable game. Yes, you do have to be connected to the internet to play it for multiplayer, but you don't have to be for the single player campaign. It has an offline mode that you will not receive achievement points for while playing in.
As always, read the product specs to make sure that your system can run it before purchasing. I have an older custom built pc that still runs it fine on low settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)
12/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son who is 15 and he plays it all the time. The first day I had to kick him off of it just for him to get up. It also comes with online parental controls. Awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Great game

08/13/2011
By ,
CINCINNATI OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great game but make sure you have 3-4 days to install even with high speed you have to download almost 7gig of content. Its confusing to get to the right page for the download to start and you will find yourself getting kicked off the main download site after a few hours. Make sure your activation code is in the box before leaving the store. Ours had the code stolen and we didnt find out until getting home 30 mins away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)
11/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot compare this game to its predecessor, and therefore I look at it not as a sequel but as an entirely new game alltogether, so I began playing this game with no expectations. I just picked this game up a few days ago for the first time, and was surprised to see that the design and structure of the game doesn't differ from the designs in Warcraft 3 too much. Of course the theme of the game is completely different, but I feel like the basic structure of how the game runs and how things work around the game are very similar, which for me is a good thing because I personally liked warcraft 3, and I still play it from time to time. I think anyone who enjoyed playing warcraft would enjoy this game, because it's very easy to get the hang of how things work and is just generally a lot of fun.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)
02/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son has waited a long time for this game...we even waited to get his gaming computer because of the demands this game imposes...he has a 2TB HD and the top of the line NVIDIA video card...the game crashes a lot, and we know it is not our computer...our computer tech installed the computer (he has been in business since 1987), and installed all the necessary drivers etc., and the computer runs top notch on everything else...we contacted him and he has experienced the same problem with this game crashing with a few other clients, and his own son. The game content is absolutely awesome, and the graphics are outstanding...now if Blizzard could get this problem fixed, life would be wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

great game,too high of requirements

08/09/2010
By ,
FLORIDA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this game the first day it came out and was surprised to find that my computer couldnt run it. I meet all of the required specifications and the game loads up however my graphics card is top quality so the game runs unbearably slow to the point I cant even play. YOUR COMPUTER NEED A GREAT GRAPHICS CARD TO RUN THIS GAME, OTHERWISE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. GEFORCE 9500 OR BETTER RECOMMENDED TO RUN ON LOW SETTINGS
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Hoe Things Change

03/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this game as a preorder [Full Version box set]. I went through the annoying system of creating a Battlenet account to play the Solo version of the game. For a long time I would play with no more hassles than the occasional server down time [makes a solo play part useless].
Well today Blizzard has REEVALUATED the product decieding it is a STARTER version ,and has removed Solo play alltogether. As well as haveing limits on Player vs Player play. All I need do is BUY another game to get access to what I PREORDED in the fist place.
Since they can make you pay AGAIN ,for what you bought when ever they deem I suggest you avoid ALL BLIZZARD games.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Great Game!

08/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most people I think I was a little worried that this game would not be worth the wait. I was wrong! I have had a lot of fun playing this game. They did a good job updating the graphics, and gmeplay. The missons have good varations in them you are not doing the same thing over and over again. I have had the game crash a few times, but I have problems with certian games crashing, I think its because I am running Windows 7 64bit, nothing related with the game. I have not played the multiplayer yet....honestly I am having a lot of fun playing through the campain. Overall I think its a great game well worth the wait.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Hours of nothing

10/06/2010
By ,
moody, al
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we loved starcraft 1 it was so much fun and were expecting so much fun with number two but if you dont like online use while downloading then dont get this game while trying to dl it we had to get online and because of the speed of our internet it took 12 hours to download all the patches we needed for the game and when you want to play the game you have to get online to log into the game what ever happened to games you downloaded to your pc and just playing them without internet?!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Might be a great game.

06/02/2011
By ,
Richmond, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm having trouble determining if StarCraft II is a great game. My son won't stop playing it long enough for me to ask. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Hum....

07/30/2010
By ,
Houston , Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No LAN? Really Blizzard? This is garbage. The End.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

another great game

08/04/2010
By ,
nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when and got it at midnight got it home and havent stop playing since the system is easy to navigate i run a low end computer in need of a new video card but it still plays great. yes you can play in offline mode dont need internet connection but for the achivments you do. there is a lan systems they just dont call it that the game will pick up other computers running the game on its own. the story mode is great tons of detail and options never befor given in a rts game cant wait for the next 2 parts to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (PC)

Great Game

03/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I played the original Starcraft and Brood Wars expansion many times when I was a kid, and spent hours watching my dad play. I love how they improved on the game.
I will warn that you only get to play through the Terran Campaign. Blizzard will be releasing expansions for the Zerg and Protoss campaigns. You can still play those races in multi-player mode. There are also numerous fun custom made maps with their own rules, my favorite is Nexus Wars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next