Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lasko Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Lasko Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

The Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan is an energy-efficient pedestal fan with three different speeds to meet all your comfort needs. This compact pedestal fan keeps your room or office cool without occupying a lot of space. The wide-range oscillation of this pedestal fan covers a wide area of most rooms. This pedestal fan with remote control features an aerodynamic metal grill. The Lasko oscillating fan also comes with a multi-functional remote control that enables you to operate the fan from your bed or chair. This fan is easy to assemble and comes with a strong round pedestal base. It can be tilted and adjusted to a height between 41 and 53 inches.
Average Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%62 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Good Fan for the Money

05/03/2011
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a 16" Holmes fan that I used every night for the last 6 years. This fan was very simple to assemble and required no tools. It took about 3 minutes from the time I took it out of the box to the time I plugged it in.
Be prepared for a LOT of wind from this fan. I always used the medium setting on my old fan, but the lowest setting on this fan puts out more wind than the medium setting on the Holmes fan. There is the usual expected noise that comes with this fan. There's no such thing as a silent fan. This one does seem to be a little bit louder than the old fan, but not enough to bother me. The noise doesn't keep me awake. In fact, it's rather soothing.
I have only found a couple of things that I'm not crazy about with this fan. There is a green light that glows when the fan is on. I'm used to sleeping in a completely dark room and the light emitting from the fan was slightly annoying. I'm sure I'll get used to it, though. The other thing is the base. It is just very, very large. I suppose it has to be large to support the fan, but I feel like it could have been designed differently to make it look better.
Overall, this is a very good fan for a relatively cheap price. I hope this review will help people make a good decision when looking to buy a fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 2 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Surprisingly powerful fan

05/25/2011
By ,
MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this fan for my bedroom and found that it's a little too powerful for what I wanted, even on the low setting. I prefer a low setting that creates a lighter breeze. In addition, the oscillation can't be adjusted with the remote, which is a deal-breaker for me in a bedroom fan.
I have two Lasko tower style fans that are more suitable for what I want in the bedroom -- the remote control adjusts oscillation in addition to power and speed. My first Lasko tower fan lasted a few years before one of the fans inside the unit started occasionally rattling. I don't find that too disappointing, as I ran that fan every night and all night. The pedestal fan is going back for another tower.
If you want a fairly powerful fan that doesn't look industrial, this one may work out for you. I was moderately disappointed in the plastic base, but the price doesn't seem unreasonable for my brief experience with it.
The life-span of my previous Lasko products seems about par with the price.
Pros: whoosh
Cons: meh
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

cheap hi powered remote control fan

07/05/2010
By ,
myrtle beach,sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this fan lasko model 1888 on june 3oth as a present for someone, well was impressed in the store as it put out as much air as the metal fans did..seems that lasko redesigned the front grill to allow more air flow and its a metal grill..the blades are 5 plastic..on hi" it pumps out a hurricane" of air..(awesome dude,lol)..you get the idea..even low and medium is good..ohh and sitting here at the computer i felt a um suction or draft as it was just turned on..oh yeah i bought a second one,this time for me.smilz. one problem..the watts consumed isnt stamped or printed anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Very good value for the price

08/01/2010
By ,
Folsom, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It meets expectation for being a great utility as Pedestal fan. Nice features of having an adjustable height. Very nice feature of remote control....so while you are sleeping in the bed and feeling a bit chilly during the later half of night, you can slow it down and turn off completely without getting out of your bed!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 5 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

great fan

01/24/2011
By ,
o'fallon,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quiet fan that puts out alot of wind,remote is nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Need a hurricane of air? This one is for you

06/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband loves this fan. It spews out air like a hurricane. However for me it is a little too powerful. I would prefer light breeze compared to so much wind. We decided to keep it since my husband is crazy about it. Its a fan that is good for its value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

powerful and cheap!

08/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my apt. gets really hot in summer so i was looking for something that moves alot of air. MISSION COMPLETE! the metal front grill lets air pass easily and this fan is so powerful that i have never needed to use the highest setting. the remote is nice, especially at night (however it doesn't control the oscillation just the speed and on/off). it was easy to assemble (plastic rear grill and metal front grill, so be careful not to break any plastic or the metal wont hold properly) and shipping was quick. i was really worried because all the reviews said this fan was noisy, but it is a fan; fans make noise. it is a bit noisy, but not the motor, the noise is mostly a result of how much air is moved (however after about 2-3 weeks the fan starting making a quiet squeaking noise during oscillation). i cant comment on durability, i have only had it for about a month. overall im really happy with it, its not perfect but the flaws are small and the price is great.
PROS:
powerful
remote
easy assembly
CONS:
a little noisy
remote (does NOT control oscillation)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Great Value!

07/07/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much searching on different web sites I decided on this fan. Very little assembly time. Plug in and it's good. Fan is almost free of noise except for the wind. It generates a lot of breeze. I love this product!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Great Fan

06/03/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good fan, I am VERY happy with it. Grill and fan blade are a little cheap made, but it puts out more air on low then my old fan did on high. Would Buy This Fan Again !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888
06/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Fan. May even be too much for my 800 Sq. ft apartment. I could have gone with the 16 inch. Easy to put together even for this 58 year old woman.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Amazingly powerful!!!!!!!

07/19/2011
By ,
Berrien Springs, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this fan and one of those skinny newer model space saving type fans. This one by far is better and producing nice cool air even in very hot and humid conditions. I returned the other one and bought a second one of this kind. The base is pretty big, but other than that, it is an awesome fan and very powerful especially considering that the blades are plastic and not medal. I recommend it and I will buy more if needed. The RC is a cool feature as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Lasko oscillating 18" fan

11/07/2010
By ,
Owings mills md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Way beyond a normal fan. Quiet, easy on the electric bill and is powerful too. Well worth every dime. My last fan(same one) lasted 5 years and was used every night for 12+ hrs and it had a plastic grill not the metal one that is currently on it. Also these newer models are more sleek in design and nicer. Oh and you get a remote too!!
FIVE stars.....!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

I'm a fan

12/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is exactly what I was looking for. Very strong fan. Good value. Easy assembly. Other reviews have said it is too noisy, and too powerful. These comments might be true- this is not a fan that creates a subtle breeze. It creates WIND, even at the lowest speed. This is a great fan for a larger setting, may be overwhelming in a smaller room or bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 14 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Huge base and Quite Loud

11/14/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you don't have a lot of floor space you might want to look for another fan. I've had a fair amount of floor fans over time and this has the hugest base I've ever seen (21 inches in diameter). It is easy to assemble with no tools needed. It circulates air quite well and the remote is a nice feature. However, even on low, it is very loud. On medium or high you'd have a hard time hearing a tv even at high volume.
While it goes together easily, the snap on front grille isn't easy to get off again for cleaning. The blade seems very flimsy compared to the rest of the construction. It does the job though.
I do love that it was made in the USA. Hard to find things made here these days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Key West, FL
Lasko 18" fan
Posted 12/25/2011
I have the same fan just a few feet from our TV. It sits in front of a open window. We have the fan faceing the out side so we can pull the air out of the room. Our tv room is on second floor. We have never had to adjust the volume on the tv when using the fan. We turn it on by remote control when grandpa lights his pipe. It takes all the smoke and oder out of the room in a matter of seconds. The fan is so quiet we some times forget to turn it off. Interesting, maybe you could exchange. Might be a motor problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Very powerful!! Great fan for a great price!

11/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these fans because the one that we had in our bedroom finally died. I wanted a fan that was high enough to be able to blow air over our high king size bed and be kinda loud. This fan was exactly what I wanted and even exceeded my expectations. We use our fan more for the white noise to sleep than to cool us off at night. And also when I say it's kinda loud, I only mean the sound of the air, not that it clinks or makes sounds like that. I was so impressed with the fan I bought both of my sons one for their bedrooms since both of their fans were kinda old anyway and they both love them too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Good for the price

09/28/2010
By ,
Denton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frankly this is one of the cheaper standing fans. It ranks high on functionality. it blows a LOT of air. It does make a medium amount of sound, so if you're looking forward to a noiseless fan, this isn't for you. But in terms of the air that it circulates, we've never even tried putting it on medium or high, because it blows SO much air on the low setting! The remote might be handy, but considering that we've never changed the setting, we've never had to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Love this fan!

08/02/2010
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the airflow this fan puts out. We have it in the bedroom and my husband loves the remote. BUT the pole cannot support the fan oscillating and it will drop down. It stays up in a fixed position with no problems. Easy to assemble, easy to take apart for cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Works as it should, one annoying thing

01/13/2012
By ,
Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this fan to use on a timer, so that it turns on and off at the appropriate times.
The problem is the on/off button is not a toggle, so if you unplug it, it's off for good until you hit the button. I've tried taping the power button so that it stays in, I tried using a hot glue gun but it always is just loose enough to lose contact and it doesn't come on when the timer goes on.
I'm very disappointed as this product is virtually useless to me now, I bought it for a specific purpose and there was no way for me to know it would work this way.
If you plan on using the remote control, it's worth buying, otherwise there's no advantage to this over the other Lasko fans other than the 18" fan over the 16" alternatives. This fan moves A LOT of air, I almost wish the "low" setting was lower than it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Great fan that really moves air.

11/05/2011
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The five-blade fan moves much more air than the three-blade fan, which is what we purchased just before this one (and subsequently returned for poor performance). The 18 in. is a great size. The remote is nice. We just have one gripe about the fan: it doesn't have a timer on it like other fans. But for the price, this fan is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Lasko 18'' Oscillating Pedestal Fan with Remote Control 1888

Good fan but too powerful

07/23/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No gentle breeze on this fan at all. This is a very, very powerful fan. If you want to use this fan in an average size bedroom mostly on low for sleeping or watching T.V., this fan is way too powerful and noisy. The lowest speed on this fan is almost as fast as the highest speed on ordinary fans. This fan will be good for large rooms like a family-room/kitchen area, or a very large master bedroom that an ordinary fan can’t rotate the air enough. This fan blows from tornado speed to full blown hurricane. I returned this fan the very next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Knoxville TN
Jeannie F.
Posted 09/22/2011
This sounds like the fan for me. I don't care about the noise. I just want a fan that puts out a lot of air. Many of them say they will do that but once you get them home they turn out to be a big disappointment. I am going to buy this one and I'll report back to whether all the comments are what they say they are.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next