Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kodak Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kodak Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

This black Kodak EasyShare Z981 14MP Digital Camera offers a large 3.0" Smart Display with two levels of adjustable brightness for customized viewing. It features 14 megapixels that give you a sharp, crystal clear picture. You can easily zoom in on your subjects with the 26x optical zoom. The Kodak's innovative Smart Capture automatically adjusts the camera settings according to the ambience allowing to capture splendid images every time. You can not only shoot excellent images, but also uploads the images in Facebook, Flickr, and more at a touch of a button. This optical zoom camera also features image stabilization that lets you take steady shots. Recording HD video in H.264 file formats is very easy and quick on this compact EasyShare black digital camera. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.16 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(914 Reviews) 838
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
495
4 stars
244
3 stars
64
2 stars
48
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation83%756 out of 914reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
495
4 stars
244
3 stars
64
2 stars
48
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Received Damaged

05/01/2011
By ,
nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item was only available for purchased online. The delivery was quick even though I paid for standard. But, when it came it would not turn on. I made sure the batteries were charged and used new lithium batteries I had to check and see what the problem could be but it just didn't work. I called my local Walmart and they said they would take the online order back. I then purchased the Nikon Coolpix and Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 2 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Great Camera

12/20/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The camera is a little heavy and wish it came with a wrist strap for it. I did order one but the strap was too wide. The pictures come out great. I do have to get use to this camera. I was so use to the
Z1012 IS. For those of you that are wanting an extended User guide you can get one and print it out. Just make sure you have plenty of paper and ink before you start as it is 79 pages. I print them out because I find it easier to look up things than it is on the computer in a pdf format.
All in all. I haven had it all that long. But I do like it. I think it takes best scenery and outdoors pictures so far. Walmart also delivered it very fast. Sooner than what I was expecting. The compartment that holds the batteries also holds the SD card. Not liking that too much. It is hard to close.
here is the link for the User Guide for the Z981. I got it from the Kodak.com:
http://resources.kodak.com/support/pdf/en/manuals/urg01118/Z981_xUG_GLB_en.pdf
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nancy, KY
What camera setting??
Posted 11/27/2011
Would just like to know what settting you used to get this picture of the moon. On Smart Scene, Auto mode or something else. I have tried and I can't get the moon to come out like this and I am using the Kodak Z981 also.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Not for the beginner or someone wanting basics

09/27/2010
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After MUCH research on cameras, I decided on this one and I couldn't be happier, however, for the person wanting a basic point and shoot, or for a begininer who does NOT want to learn photography basics, I would say this is not for them.
CONS
lousy instruction manual, there is one on kodac.com you can download
since camera is fairly new, not much on-line guides or resources available
no way to 'add' flash, what you have is what you get.
I knew all of this going in though, so I don't feel like I was cheated out of anything
PROS
great pictures, with great color, depth, etc
the ability to adjust the camera to do what you want it to do
SLR capabilities without the huge price tag
burst mode, 9 pictures in 1-2 seconds for those action shots
clear video
many more. Again, I highly suggest that anyone considering this camera read all the reviews and find all the sample pictures they can before buying, if a basic throw in your pocket camera is what you are looking for, you will be dissapointed, however if you want to start a new hobby, or even for a professional who wants a smaller camera to take with them, this is definately for you!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+192points
Review 4 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

love it 4 the money

04/15/2011
By ,
Atlantic City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had my older EZ share stolen out of my truck and bought this to replace it . This is a bit of a step up. 14 Mp vs 5 MP 26x zoom vs 5x zoom. and twice as expensive. So far works great. The only complaint I have is that it does not have a manual focus. Would just like to have that control. Close-ups are incredible and long distance zoom with the image stabilization is excellent. Check out the photos of the moon and flowers.(Both hand held) I think they're pretty good for an amature.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Review 5 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Not what I was hoping for

11/26/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, for starters, the picture quality is wonderful. The problems I'm having are: When using the zoom, it doesn't like to focus. Sometimes I have to try a few times before it will, and sometimes it just won't focus at all. Also, when holding the button halfway down for a long period of time to wait to catch the right moment, it keeps re-focusing. I tried changing the settings for one time focus, but still does it. It's not really user friendly either. Very difficult to learn all the ins and outs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 6 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

takes great pictures

07/27/2010
By ,
muncy, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far, it's a great camera...I've been getting some super pictures with this camera...the close-ups are amazing..and the action shots are super...I've only had it for 2 weeks and still have not mastered all the functions..It would be so much easier if I had a manual...the manual that comes with the camera only has basic info..so you have to keep referring to the on-line manual or you can print it...there must be 90 pages!!! there goes my entire ink cartridge :(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Excelent pictures

08/30/2010
By ,
Ft. Worth TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes very good pictures in all lighting with or without flash. Very nice camera. One sample picture was from about 60 ft. in a church, the other was taken from about 5 ft.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 8 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Great Camera

11/29/2010
By ,
Conway, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has exceeded my expectations. I am a newbie to digital photography but with this I take incredible pictures. My whole family has gotten use out of this camera. I would recommend reading the manual for the setting explinations as they make a big difference in the look of your photos. I am a very satisfied customer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Best Camera Available Today

12/20/2010
By ,
Great Falls, Mt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Camera is the best camera on the market. I own numerous others, but I am never happy with something. This does the work of a Professional Camera, but it can be as simple as point and shoot or as complex as you want setting your speed and aperture etc. except you don't have to change any lenses. They are all built in. It takes the best pictures ever and I have recommended it to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Amazing Z981

09/21/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is great! I use this camera for wild life photo's, deer,rabbits, eagles, & more. If your looking for a good zoom to get sharp pictures this is the camera for you. Easy to use with alot of different settings for the perfect picture. My only suggestion is to keep some extra batteries ready so you never miss a perfect moment. Another plus is to be able to record those special little moments for a short movie :) 5 STAR
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Nice Camera :)

09/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far i am very satisfied with the z981. I dont know anything about photography so i was clueless on how to use the PASM settings which are Program, Aperture, shutter and Manual. I went online and researched it and now i am able to use them and the pictures are great. Overall i would recommend this camera and the price is on point.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Satisfied customer

09/28/2010
By ,
Wolfe City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fully met my satisfaction. Pictures are great in color & cleanness. Zoom is outstanding for a "point & shoot". And the videos are so clear. The only cons I have is that the charger does not shut off when the batteries are fully charged. The batteries get a little too warm. Other than that, this camera is great!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

This is a great camera!

07/07/2011
By ,
Aurora, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera takes really wonderful pictures. I would recommend this camera to anybody who is thinking about getting it. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Good camera for the price

06/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are a lot of reviews on here, so I will just touch on a few things: 1. Battery life. Yes, the battery charger is a pain because the lights don't go off once the batteries are fully charged. That said, I can only think the people who have the batteries dying on them after fifty pics or so just aren't charging the batteries properly or have unfortunately got a defective unit. I have easily taken hundreds of photos on a single charge. The battery guide that comes with the unit says to charge for 21-24 hours. 2. Photo quality. It can over emphasize reds, but on the whole the clarity of pictures can be quite outstanding. Go to Flickr and check out photos taken with this model of camera (or any camera you are considering) if you want to know how good a photo it can take. If you want amazing looking pics but want that from just a point and click though you might want to look elsewhere if most of your photos are going to be in low light. It can take great low light photos, but using the manual settings works best for this (at least that is what I have found). 3. Blurry photos. This unit has a 26x zoom, so don't expect to use this to the max and not get a blurry photo without using a tripod or having a grip of steel, especially in low light. 4. Battery door. The only real con that I have found with the camera, this does feel flimsy and I wish they had gone with a sturdier design for this. 5. Lightweight materials. As long as the unit performs then I am personally okay with it not weighing 3 or 4lbs. If I am going to carry this around as much as I plan to then I would rather it was a lightweight design. This is not a full-featured SLR, and the body is indeed made of plastic. 6. AA battery choice. Personally this was a selling point for me. I do not like proprietary battery packs, particularly chipped ones.
All in all I am pleased with the camera. Never have been super keen on the EasyShare software, but I don't use it much anyway. I have been able to get some excellent photos with this camera, and I am pleased to see that the battery life is more than acceptable and quite contrary to what a lot reviewers have stated.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Love it!

03/06/2011
By ,
Wilmington, NC.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this camera for about a month now and I absolutely love it. It takes great pictures outside and inside. It takes awesome videos too! The zoom is a little loud but not more than I expected.. It's not so loud that if you were trying to take a picture of an animal across a yard it would get scared and run off.. I love to take pictures and I have already taken about 300 with it and I only charged the batteries before I first used the camera and they're still about 1/3 charged. I would recommend this to someone who loves to take pictures and is wanting to change over from a simple digital camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Great camera!

08/16/2011
By ,
Erie, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I L-O-V-E this camera. My previous camera was also a kodak easyshare and I've had it the last 5 years.. I just got the Z981 a week ago and it's amazing! Easy to use and takes beautiful pictures! I got it as part of the bundle.. My camera card that came with it, works perfectly fine.. No issues at all and it will hold almost 800 pictures.. The tripod is awesome! It goes up to 58'' and can easily be balanced on the ground.. I got the weather resistant bag and love it. The camera fits snug but not too snug.. The extra pouch in the front is great for the batteries..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

An Awesome Camera!

01/10/2011
By ,
Franklin, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The camera does all that it says; however, sometimes the pictures come out blurry and not what you expect but if you give it a sec it will make that promised clear picture :) Personally, I love all of the features that it offers for the surrounding scenery and conditions! Also, the videos are very crystal clear because it offers HD. I bought this for my fiancé...SHE LOVES IT!!! So, all-in-all: I would recommend for you to try this camera out!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Kodak Z981

03/07/2011
By ,
CLOVERDALE, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Kodak Z1285 and love it but when I went to Wyoming and took lots of pictures, I found out that with the pictures taken in the sun you cannot see what you are taking on the lcd screen and what a person needs in that case is a Viewfinder to put your eye up to so you can see what you are taking. Camera Z981 is great for outdoors and indoors also. The Zoom is very good. I am very satisfied with this new Kodak.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

perfect for your kodak moment

12/20/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera to replace my Kodak Z650 from a few years ago. I am very happy about this purchase, it takes amazing pictures. I was told by a friend that one picture looked like it was in HD. The only thing I was really surprised about was the size of the camera, it's pretty big and takes 4 AA batteries. I'd rather have those than a Li battery. With that said it's still a great camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Kodak EasyShare Z981 Black 14MP Digital Camera w/ 26x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD Display

Great camera for beginner to learn with

06/01/2011
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this z981 for about 1yr and am very pleased with it. I'm not a pro by any means but I think I've gotten some cool shots and so do others who see them. I usually keep it in manual mode and just play round with the settings to kinda teach myself what works and what doesn't. I'm not ready for a SLR anytime soon but until then I'll stick with my Z981.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 296 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next