Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toy Story Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toy Story Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

The Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody reacts when you take his hat off and even knows when you put it back on. This large action figure makes a perfect companion to Buzz Lightyear.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%55 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Best Woody Doll There Is!!!

01/17/2011
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 22 month old Daughter who has loved Toy Story since before she turned one, and she instantly fell in love with Woody. It was the first present I let her open on Christmas and that was a big mistake because after she did she didnt want to stop playing with him to open any more gifts! I had to beg her to open the rest, and even when she finally gave in she held Woody tight in one hand and opened all the other gifts with her one free hand. lol
To this Day Woody goes EVERYWHERE with her (eating, sleeping, watching tv, visiting Grandma etc). She even crys when I make her leave woody at home when she has to go Daycare. The love she has for him is amazing and I recommend ANY kid who loves Toy Story to have this toy. The detail is right on point to the movie and the pullstring makes him an official Woody Doll. It is absolutely the best Woody Doll you can buy. Trust Me. :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Remember to turn off Try Me mode!!

08/14/2010
By ,
Lugoff, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our son on his third birthday, and he fell in love. But it kept saying the same things over and over for about a week until we put it on "on" instead of "try me" lol. My friend got it for her daughter and she had it on the same thing until I tolder her. But after that it was awesome. Woody can "sense" when you take on and off his hat!!! My son loved it so much, that we had to buy him a cowboy hat to match woody!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 3 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Wonderful Woody!

10/15/2010
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A family member bought "Woody" for my 3 year old and he and my 18 month old love him! Once the "Try Me" option was switched to "On" and they started taking the hat on and off they were elated! One qualm--if Woody hasn't been used for a while, and his hat has been off, he won't recognize it as being back on unless you pull his string to activate him again...in which case, he starts to say one saying and then immediately says something about his hat being back--kinda funny to hear "There's a--Hey! I got my hat back!" :)
--The kids do not realize that the voice of "Woody" is not Tom Hanks--and without these other reviews, I might not have known either.
--After three days, there are scuff marks on his head from being dropped, but I accept that, like in the movie, he will lose some paint up there! (I just didn't expect it this soon...but oh well)
The kids love "Woody"! Definitely buy this toy! The price is worth it for the durability, the detail to character, and the fun!--in fact, we might get another one for the 18 month old for Christmas since the boys love to sleep with him in their beds!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Exactly like the Movie

07/17/2010
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With the exception of an exact Tom Hanks voice, this doll couldn't get more accurate. My 2 year will not let it out of his sight. It is for 4+ and I think that maybe because of the care of the doll. Not sure its going to hold us to his "treatment" - dropping it, throwing it, etc. The hat recognition stopped working this morning and we've only owned it 20 hrs. however I played with the buttons and turned it off and on a few times and now it is working again. Its definitely a must have for a Toy Story fan!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Entertaining product

07/24/2010
By ,
Newark De
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soft, durable and has many sayings. My son loves Woody
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Very disappointing.

12/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product seemed great...at first. It was slightly disappointing that the voice isn't all that similar to Tom Hanks, but my son really loved it. And I say "loved" as it is now very broken...beyond repair.
It's been less than a month since I gave this to my son, and Woody's head has fallen off. My son wasn't pulling at all...and it turns out that the neck has a VERY thin connection to the body, making it a very flawed design and impossible to repair. I have a very broken-hearted boy here! Even though it was his favorite toy, I don't think I'll be replacing it. From what I've read, I'll just lose $30 to another broken toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Woody

08/21/2010
By ,
Vincennes, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son isn't quite 2 yet, and this Woody doll is his favorite toy...He love to take his hat off and on, and talks to Woody...He loves Woody! We even put his name on his boot like Andy did in the movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Definition of Devastation

11/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son was playing with this toy and the head fell off. My son was beyond devastated. It took me 30 minutes to calm him down. I thought that spending $35 on a toy would ensure that it would last longer than a month. It's not fixable, very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Head broke off, but it is fixable

05/03/2012
By ,
OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Our son loves the toy (no surprise there...). But his head did fall off as many others have noted. There is not enough surface area to properly glue it back on. I used Gorilla glue inside of the head. There is a post that goes up to the top (for the hat sensor). By filling the head about 1/4 full with Gorilla glue and moving the toy from right side up to upside down for 15 minutes while the glue starts to set up (without letting it drip out of the neck), you will glue the head from the inside to that post. Just make sure you clamp it overnight so it doesn't get croked as the glue expands while it dries. I am pretty sure it is not going anywhere now.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+1point
Review 10 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Great fun... even for a 2 year old!

07/28/2010
By ,
Franklin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandma bought this for our son on his 2nd birthday. One of the only words he says intelligibly is "WooDeeee"! I hope the reviewer who said "it's alright" and that it doesn't do what it's supposed to reads the instructions or this review! There is a switch on the back of Woody (under his shirt/pants) that changes him from demo/store mode to "ON" or "OFF". In demo mode he only says a few things and the interactive hat thing doesn't work. You have to switch it to ON for the full effect.
The interactive hat thing didn't really sound that exciting to me until my son started playing with it. Any time you take Woody's hat off, he says something like "a cowboy without his hat is like a yodeler without a hey hee oooo". When you put it back on his head he says something like, "shwew! that's a relief! I've got my hat back!". There are numerous different phrases so it doesn't become too painfully repetitive. So far my son finds this ENDLESSLY entertaining. It really keeps him engaged with the toy which is cool. I have no idea, however, how we're going to manage to keep track of the hat! That should be fun....
Overall - HIGHLY recommend - just remember to read the directions!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Great Toy

07/18/2010
By ,
Austin TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child loves it. The toy says may phrases including ones from the movies. Does not however say, "Someone poisioned the waterhole." Like the interactive part with the hat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Great Toy

03/17/2011
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This toy is not meant for toddlers, nor is it meant to be treated like Sid treats his toys: ) My boys love their Woody and Buzz dolls, but it seems obvious to me that they aren't meant to be treated rough, dropped or thrown around. The voice is great, all the sayings are great (make sure you change the switch on his back from "try me" to "play"), and he did notice when you removed and replaced his hat. However, 3 months later, he no longer notices and will randomly say things if you jostle him around. Overall, I think it is a great toy and exactly like the Woody in the movie. However, it is a NICE doll and will break if treated rough. I'm pretty sure it was the treatment from my 3-year-old that did him in, but they still love playing with him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

GREAT value!!! Priced right, excellent quality!

10/17/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this Woody for my son, and am LOVING it. The hat recognition technology is really fantastic, the price is great for the value, and the doll is very well made. A big difference over the last Woody we had (made by another manufacturer, not Thinkway).
I only have three complaints:
1) He is a little bit too tall, scale wise, in comparison to the Blast Off Buzz Lightyear. He is sized more for the Toy Story Collection Buzz by Thinkway.
2) I would have loved it to be Tom Hanks voice.
3) He is missing the 'Somebody's poisoned the water hole!'
Otherwise, PERFECT. For $10 more, Thinkway gives their other Woody (Toy Story Collection) the original voice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Just like Andy

12/13/2010
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My big boy (who is now 16 years old) has always loved Woody. He has always wanted a talking Woody and I got him one for Christmas. I found his Christmas list and Woody was at the top of that list. I ordered it right away. I cannot wait until he opens his gift. He reminds me of Andy and I know that Woody will go to college with him in a year and a half. Some kids just never forget that favorite thing that brought them happinss as a young child. My son's is his little buddy Woody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody
08/12/2010
By ,
Wetumpka, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased Woody for my 3yr old son after we had already bought Buzz the week before! I was worried that since it was packaged under Toy Story 3 that he would not have his "sayings" from 1 & 2 like "reach for the sky" or "there's a snake in my boot" but he does!! He sits and watches Toy Story 1 and 2 all day and has Woody and Buzz right beside him. The only let down is that Tom Hanks is not the voice for the doll, but we still love it! Now he is begging for Jesse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Great Cowboy Woody Doll

12/27/2010
By ,
Mars, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the Talking Playtime Woody Doll. Two boys in our house - 3 (almost 4 yrs) and 5 yrs -- who fight over Woody since Christmas Day (2 days), because he's one of their favorite toys! The hat recognition is a fun feature, and makes him more "real." We're heading to our local Walmart to buy another one. The price at Walmart is the lowest we found. This talking Woody helps them act out scenes and make-believe scenarios (along with their talking Buzz). Great toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

woody talks?

01/15/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
my grandson received this as a Christmas gift less then a month ago. He dropped it one time and now Woody's head rattles not just a little, a lot. Woody does not respond to his hat coming off. He also no longer says as many sayings he should. My grandson doesn't know that there is something wrong but to pay that much for a toy and for it break that fast makes me upset. I did not purchase it, but I am upset about it. My tip, DO NOT DROP WOODY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Broken Hearted Toddler

08/05/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son is 21 months old and LOVES Buzz and Woody...he never leaves the house without them...I really loved this toy and was happy with it until one morning on our way to daycare Woody's head somehow came off in the diaper bag...not fixable. My son walked around all day saying WOODY FIX...MOMMA FIX WOODY. I expected better quality for a $35 doll. No choice but to buy again. :S
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

Not what I expected

12/08/2010
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this online so I could not test it out first. There is a pull string on the back so you can test it in store...the voice is not the original from the movie, neither are the sayings. The size and look of the figure are wonderful and I am sure when my son sees his Christmas gift he will love it. I hope he doesn't notice the voice or any other differences.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Toy Story Talking Playtime Sheriff Woody

AWESOME TOY!!!

12/06/2010
By ,
Valparaiso, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my 3 year old grandson's birthday. He totally loves it and will not part with it!!!! So far the toy seems to be nicely made. Just make sure you switch it to "play" mode when you receive it as it does not function to it's full ability until you do that. I definately recommend this toy to anyone that has a Toy Story fan on their gift list!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next