Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

The Sony 32" 3D sound bar system features excellent performance with Dolby Digital sound and dts decoding. Get a clear, crisp picture with 1080/24p video. Its sleek design makes this Sony virtual 5.1 sound bar a welcome addition to any home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation79%38 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Great Sound System for the price

03/10/2011
By ,
Dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had this item for a few weeks now, i must say im impressed..i live in a townhome and i mean this thing is loud...i read reviews on cnet, did my research for a few weeks, its great, i have my apple tv, roku xds,xbox 360, lg blu ray, and the lg le8500 led tv, blu rays, video games, etc sounds great!! the rumble and bass i can feel it, no its not surround sound 7.1 or true 5.1 but you get ALOT for the value and the price, of course its wayyyyy better than the factory built tv speakers, and it has extra hdmi inputs in the back that allow you to hook up to your tv and the sub which gives you more option,
overall im satisfied with it, the sound bar is great, the sub and really good, its loud, and there's even a'night mode' at night if your up like me while my girlfriend is asleep upstairs, i love how video games sound true and in depth, "madden 2011' sound amazing i can here everything, i would recommned this to anyone who doesnt want the cords all over the house, or dont want to speak tons of money on a elite system good job sony this one gets the job done
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Fullfilled my need

10/14/2010
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not expect to be acquiring a true surround sound system when I bought this. I just wanted to upgrade the sound that the TV speakers provided. I am extremely satisfied with the result. I now have room filling sound, plenty of base, and the ability to tweak with the equalizer. Also, the sound field options allow me to optimize the sound for the type of programming - movie, sports, drama, etc. This purchase was well worth the investment and actually exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 3 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Pretty Good.

07/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this thinking it had a wireless subwoofer. It doesn't. Besides that, it's a great product and worth the buy. 3 hdmi inputs, nice strong sound. It's good for a small room that doesn't need much power. I would recommend it to anybody. One thing is that it doesn't come with hdmi cables, it comes seperate. I got mine on amazon for $2.30 each. Very strong cables. Anyway it's working great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 4 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150
09/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not bad at all...I have this in my bed room in my one room apt and it is more than sufficient. it does a real nice job of giving you some full, clean, crisp sound rather than the TV speakers. do not expect surround sound quality, if thats what you want then thats what you need to get. base is good enough to enhance but will not shake the windows. over all very pleased for what i was needing and expecting
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 5 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Almost five star

11/22/2011
By ,
SLC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just needed at least the option of purchasing a longer speaker cable to soundbar from Sony. The cable was long enough for my install. I tried the Polk SDA soundbar, also purchased on Walmart.com. The Polk's digital amp clipped too soon and would not play as loud as the Sony. Sony also designed its soundbar so that even at maximum volume the digital amp does not clip. It plays louder and therefore can be used in a larger room than the Polk. My Philips LCD only had a coax digital output, so I purchased a coax to optical converter on line for around $16 from Amazon so I could still take advantage of the CEC HDMI automatic control and switching capability. So, when I turn on the TV the Sony system powers up and automatically switches to what ever input you select on the TV. The The TV remote controls the volume and other features depending on the input you select on your TV. CEC HDMI goes by other names on on different brand name TVs (Bravia sync, Anynet, etc.) 3 HDMI, 3 optical and one coaxial digital inputs round this system off. If you can use the CEC HDMI function, you do not need line of sight to the subwoofer to control the system.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Great Soundbar

12/27/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything I expected it to do. The HDMI switcher is great the sound is better then I hoped and I love the way the whole set up looks...very sleek and minimal appearance (yet great sound). Much better looking then the samsung soundbar that two of my friends have and it sounds just as good or better and has a lot better remote and you can see the display from your seat (if you can believe it you can't see it on the samsung, you have to stand up and look at the top to see what settings are on). Very happy with my choice!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Good Sound, Not Surround

05/03/2011
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I buy all Sony equipment, and I would recommend that to everyone.
My room is not designed well for surround speakers and I thought this would be a good solution. Although the speakers are nice and way better than the TV, the surround aspect is non-existent.
Sony support gets an A+ for helping me set this up.
Sony gets an A+ for the way the Sony devices all just work with each other and everything just works with my TVs remote. No programming required!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Sony Sound Bar HCT150

12/31/2010
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas present for my husband and let me tell you he loves it when he watches sports, especially football. If you own a flat screen TV and you feel you have to keep turning up the sound, then this is the item you want. It's a great deal in price and very easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Nice product

10/22/2011
By ,
waterboro,ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking to down-size from a 5.1 surround sound to something like this, mainly to do away with all the wiring, speaker stands, and rear surround speakers. This product somewhat satisfies that need. It"s taking some time to adapt but it's not bad. It even still sounds pretty good for listening to music as well, which was a major concern for me. I still kept part of my orignal surround sound system (the front speakers and sub-woofer) connected for when I really want to crank it up. So...if your looking to up-grade your basic TV sound system, this certainly will do that and then some! Replacing a full surround system, well you'll have to try it for yourself to decide.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

awesome

11/02/2010
By ,
RENO, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know this isn't true surround but, mine sounds really awesome. The fact that I don't have anything but a total of 3 hdmi cables & the cable for the speaker (comes with it) is so nice. The first film we watched was Alice in Wonderland, incredible sound,
my friend almost flew off the sofa, we kept having to turn it down. Very pleased, I think the HDMI cables make a huge difference, I reccomend them highly. I know no one wants to pay a lot for cables, got mine @ Magnolia 100 each. check it out & enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Sound Bar

11/04/2011
By ,
Huntsville, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you don't want or need a big elaborate multi-speaker surround sound, this simple yet sophisticated unit is the way to go. Especially if you are integrating it with other SONY products.
Note, that the sub-woofer is not wireless, it is tethered to both the HDTV with a HDMI cable and the sound bar with a proprietary connectorized length of wire. So it will have to set along side your entertainment system. Other than that it a nice enhancement to the exiting TV speakers. And Walmart's go it for about the best price around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

meets our needs perfectly

11/20/2011
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we are using it on a 67" samsung, works perfectly with itno issues in hooking it up had it set up in minutes and it has a great sound, way better then our tv speakers. It projects the sound wonderfully. Not as great as surround sound but we find that there are times when we just dont need the surround sound. This doubled the sound of our TV and made it crisp and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

As Expected

08/10/2010
By ,
Southgate, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound quality is as expected. This not surround sound but for the price a good buy. As expected Sony's instructions are confusing but figured it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

Good Product

02/02/2012
By ,
Navasota, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what you would expect for a sound bar and woofer priced at this level. It produces excellent sound but crackles a bit if it is turned up too loud. For my little living room, it is more than adequate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150

alrite if is ur first

01/30/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
got it, it ok , hdmi not compatible with my sony bravia
will never work with hdmi and my tv, othet than that, everything k.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150
11/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box is way larger than pictured and takes up a lot of room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150
Based on the average of (32) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5