Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Element Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Element Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

With a 1920 x 1080 full HD resolution, the Element TV Class LCD 1080p HDTV delivers a high-quality picture at an excellent value. The Element ELCHW402 TV comes equipped with two HDMI inputs, making it easy to connect to multiple devices and to use as your computer monitor. The Element 40" LCD TV features a built-in ATSC digital tuner that receives great digital broadcasts and HDTV where available and a 30000:1 dynamic contrast ratio provides rich color. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of Element TV Class LCD 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%25 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Great performance for the price!

06/01/2010
By ,
Dade City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV not knowing what to expect out of it since there was no demo setup at the store. I must say I am quite pleased with the quality of the picture. While it is not as high end as the one provided by Sony, LG, or Samsung, this LCD TV is one several steps above the lower end LCD TVs. The standard image settings are pretty heavy in the saturation level causing faces to appear overly red, but it is not a big deal as a little tweaking of this particular setting fixed the problem.
The sound is decent but users would want to turn on the Surround mode. Obviously, if you are looking for high end surround sound emulation you will not find it in this TV. All in all the sound is decent for most types of TV watching.
Overall, I think this is a decent TV and Walmart stores should sample it so customers will be aware of the mid-quality between the high end TVs (Sony, Samsung, and LG) and the low end TVs (Sanyo).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 2 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Great Value!

06/21/2010
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this TV because we had EXACTLY $600 to spend and this TV plus the warranty plus tax was within our budget.
The picture is awesome and our cable company hasn't even provisioned our cable box for the HD channels yet. I can read the fine print on commercials! :p Audio seems fine as is, but that won't stop me from hooking up the home theater system to supplement :)
The TV did come out of the box with a bad HDMI1 port. We boxed it back up and swapped it out for another one that works perfectly.
Have already tried hooking up my laptop and watching movies that way, works perfect.
The description doesn't tell what kind of connections it has, so:
1 3.5 mm Headphone Jack
1 Digital Audio Jack
1 Coax (cable or antenna)
1 Set RCA A/V
1 Set RGB Component
1 VGA
1 PC Audio In
2 HDMI
1 USB Service Port
I'm very happy, this is a very good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+109points
Review 3 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

OK, but only for those on REAL tight budget

07/21/2010
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked this TV up because of the cost and advertised features. I am a tight budget, but in need of a TV so I thought I would give this one a try. However, I ended up returning it after only 3 days. I liked that with a push of a button you could switch between wide, standard, zoom, panorama, dot to dot, and auto modes. You could also easily switch between viewing modes (Cinema, standard, ect.). The price was great, and the picture quality was OK. The reason I returned it though is because at one point the picture would shift back and fourth. It did this twice, and being a bargain brand, I got scared for what may be down the road so I returned it. I ended up spending $60 more and got a 42" Vizio which is comparable in features to the Element. I am much happier with the Vizio. It has a MUCH better picture quality. My suggestion, is to spend the few extra dollars and go with the Vizio, unless your budget is so tight you must save that $60. In that case, maybe it would be better to drop down a size and settle with a 37" Vizio?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Perfect Cheap Bedroom HDTV

06/09/2010
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for our bedroom with cost as the primary consideration and very happy with the purchase, particularly at $400 closeout with 90 day return. HD picture is quite good (but obviously not Sony Bravia class) and sound from the built in speakers is acceptable, perhaps just a bit on the tinny side but not bad at all. Plenty of hookups including one for the output from a VGA video card so you can use it as a computer monitor. If you're looking for a cheap second HDTV, this is recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 5 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Took it back to the store after 4 days

08/13/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just like another reviewer on here (WisconsinBeerlover) I took this TV back to the store and got the 42" Vizio. I only had the Element 40" for 4 days. The TV liked to turn itself on in the middle of the night. The associate said that is a known issue with some of these Element TVs! I didn't like that one bit. I also didn't like how the speakers point down (unlike the Vizio) and everything about the TV was just plain "cheap" (unlike the Vizio). Even the owners manual was short and vague compared to any other piece of electronic equipment I've ever had. It also really put out a lot of heat. I realize electonics create heat, but this thing was really getting hot. So it was probably using a lot of electricity.
This is a total budget TV for someone who has never had an HDTV before. It's amazing how just an extra $60 for the Vizio can make such a HUGE difference in quality. The Vizio has 2 more inches, better picture, more features, it's Energy Star certified, has a detailed owners manual, better sound, and a sturdier base.
Get the Vizio. You'll be glad you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Great Value

01/24/2011
By ,
Quincy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Box it came in was fairly flimsy and beat-up and torn, though the TV itself seems undamaged. Be prepared to keep the delivery driver on site until you have opened the box and inspected for damage. Otherwise you will be waiting for an exchange.
The set met all expectations, as I did my research before buying. The sound is adequate but I run all audio from components via optical to my 5.1 audio receiver. There is some image blurring during fast action on screen, but not much that I have detected from 3 weeks of what I tune into. This should be expected for the price. If you are wall mounting the set, you will need a right angle hdmi adapter in order to use the #2 HDMI input as the mounting holes in the set line up with the #HDMI input. When you attach the brackets to the set, it will make it almost impossible to insert the HDMI cable in HDMI #2 input. All other inputs are in the clear and relatively easy to insert cables. So far, this is a great TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Disapointing Christmas present

12/30/2010
By ,
Mt Juliet, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought this TV as a Christmas present for me. She gave it to me early and I set it up the Tuesday before Christmas. After a week of use the TV turned off and would not turn back on. The TV has less than 20 hrs actual use time. Tried everything to get it to turn back on and nothing is working. It could been just this TV but I will not buy another Element. We have tried to contact the manufacturer but we have gotten no answer and a voicemail that will not accept messages because the mail box is full.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Great Buy

11/09/2010
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have always loved our Samsung TV's but got such a good deal on this Element that we thought we'd try it. It was waiting for us at Walmart when we arrived in Arizona from Michigan. The picture is great, sound is great - and the only problem we thought we'd have after reading other reviews (that it might not be programmable in our cable remote) turned out to be a non-issue. The cable guy programmed it right in. We liked it so much, we just bought a smaller Element for the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Works well

10/30/2010
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for the bedroom. Works well - a real surprise for quality and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Great no-name TV that PERFORMS like the Big Names

11/30/2010
By ,
Payson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't a well known brand, but it will soon be if it continues to produce items like this. I am very pleased with my purchase, even though I was a little reluctant to go with an off brand TV. This element TV has put all my fears to rest. Great product, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

More Like 4.5

06/15/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this looking for something decent at the lower end of the scale. Very surprised with the quality offered for the price. This is not your high-end picture but the quality on my unit is quite good. Sometimes watching a movie the bass is a bit much but mostly the sound quality is very good, set on surround. As another reviewer stated, do not expect Sont Bravia or the like quality. But, for the money, it has been well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402
09/26/2012
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Elements TV lasted less than a year, when the power supply board went bad. This is a problem with the Elements and Dynex branded models. They use capacitors on the boards which are prone to failure due to design. There is much written about this on the web. I ended up buying a refurbished power supply board on-line and installing it myself. Cost $80.00. There is no support for these lower end TV's. I have a 46" LED Samsung which has been running for two years now, no problems at all. Spend a few extra dollars for the piece of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 13 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Electronics should work, no matter what!

01/09/2011
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this to upgrade the Element tv we already own. The picture quality is fantastic, the sound was great when we played with the settings, but when we connected it to our computer to watch Hulu movies, the VGA port only worked for 10 minutes, & then just stopped working altogether! That was the whole reason for the purchase in the first place, to watch stuff from the internet via our computer! We unhappily returned the tv, & will keep using the Element tv we were using before until it dies...
Ditch your Dish, use your internet to watch tv & free movies, but DON'T purchase this tv to do it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402
04/30/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv worked fine, until it didn't. No power, just a little red light. Nada. 500 bucks down the drain.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

All I Could Ask For

01/24/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was leery about getting a 'no-name' TV. It was very clear and easy to use from the beginning and has great picture quality and is very bright. It barely fit perfectly in the armoir it was purchased for. The big surprise was the timer which turns it on like an alarm clock in the morning! Haven't found a TV like that since the early 1990's!! Very satisfied with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Good deal

12/30/2010
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son's family and they are very happy with it. It was the best deal I could find this Christmas season. Never heard of the brand (Element), but it is as good, if not better quality, than mine that I paid over $250 more for 2 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Better than expected

01/23/2011
By ,
Montgomery, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered this TV I did so because the price was much better than I found anywhere else. I was looking for something a little smaller but for the price I had to give it a try. I am very pleased and will buy another for a gift for my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Nice TV for the price

12/28/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this TV for our basement as an inexpensive option just for casual viewing and I have been surprised by the quality of the picture. This is not a expensive TV with all the bells and whistles but is better than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Great Tv

01/03/2011
By ,
Fredericksburg, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little worried about some of the comments on this but received the item fast and in good condition. The picture is wonderful and I have no problem with sound. In fact, I'm always telling someone to turn it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Element 40" Class LCD 1080p HDTV, ELCHW402

Elemental Love

01/05/2011
By ,
Williamstown, Nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new Element TV.
The picture is big and clear.
The sound is fine.
We can use headphones with it.
It has High Definition.
It is what we have been looking for.
Bless Walmart and Element TV !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next