Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zefal Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Zefal Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

The Zefal Light Set is a versatile device designed to keep cyclists safer on the roads. The front portion is constructed of anodized aluminum. The bike front light is easily visible to a distance of 900m with the help of the nine HP LEDs its comprised of. The run time of the front light and the rear light varies depending upon their modes of operation. The front light can be easily removed for use as a flashlight. The LED rear lights have built-in reflectors. The LED bicycle headlight required 5 AAA batteries and can be assembled with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.623 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation69%47 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

If you are any bit handy....

03/29/2012
By ,
St. Augustine, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my new bike, it was the best value for the money of all the bicycle light sets that my Walmart had in stock. The lights were brighter, bigger, and the batteries were included.
I love the front headlight, love that the little flashlight can easily be popped out if you need a little flashlight to find your keys, etc. Love the settings (constant on, flashing, flashing faster). I have had no problems with the flashlight staying in its holder.
I love the back light, love its settings, too...just like the front headlight. These lights really make me feel alot safer when I am riding home through my very dark neighborhood at night. The first time I used them, I kept thinking there was a car behind me because the stop signs HUNDREDS of feet away were illuminating, but it was only me! Cars have no problem seeing me coming. And going.
The ONLY downside is.....the clamps are really not that good, you need to rig them on to your bike. At least I did. The front headlight fit on to the handlebars just fine, but the screw that they give you comes right out! I ended up using a zip tie to hold it on, and now it holds tight.
I have a basket on the back of my bike and I needed to put the back light on the basket instead of the bike itself since my basket covers up the whole back frame of the bike. And the clamps it came with just did not work with my basket, so we ended up using a bigger screw of our own to hold it on.
If you are ready to make a little adjustment to the clamps of this light set, it will work great for you!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

DO NOT BUY

01/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The awesomeness must be seen to be believed. I've uploaded two customer images of the front light and mounting bracket that came with it when I bought this today at Wal Mart.
The front light case has a screw projecting from underneath, which cannot be removed. The case itself is a different shape than shown in their assembly instructions. The mounting plate for the front light is a similar piece of work- it's very different from the diagram and won't attach to the headlight in any way, shape or form.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Peru, IN
Reviewer did not remove the shipping material...
Posted 08/13/2012
The part with the screw that the reviewer is complaining about is packaging material that was supposed to be removed and discarded. It just unclips from the bottom...the screw was only to hold it to the cardboard and did not need to be removed from packaging.
Also, I agree that his mount is different from the instructions, but is pretty straight forward to mount. I have 2 sets of these lights, one of each style of mounting bracket and both work well.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

It's been through the limits and still working.

09/22/2010
By ,
Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The best things about this light set is easy change out of batteries. No screw driver needed. That is real good if you need to change out at night before you get back home. The only thing I had to do with this set. When installing the back light. I found the click in connection did not feel strong enough if going over dumps. So I used some crazy glue then clicked it back in. I had to ride 20 miles in high wind and rain one day. It was getting dark when getting home. The lights held up just fine. I felt real safe and the LEDS kept me noticed and was able to see the road in the dark with rain and wind. Worth the money. Always keep extra batteries with you when you ride. You never know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+100points
Review 4 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Great Product, Missing one thing

10/13/2010
By ,
Farmington Hills MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything about this product is pretty much as I expected. It is a quality product with a fair price. The flashlight is great, great bracket assembly ect. The tail light is what I was a bit disappointed in. I was expecting it to have screw holes to simply replace an existing reflector, but it didnt. It has an elaborate clip system, which makes sense, but it only clips to the provided new post clamp. I ended up getting some aluminum bar stock and built my own bracket assembly to attach to my back carrier rack. It turned out really nice, it just would have been even better if it had screw holes already for attaching. Outside of that, its a great deal, came with batteries and everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Review 5 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Love this lighting package

11/13/2011
By ,
Pueblo West, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use on a handicapped scooter. I live in a semi-rural area without sidewalks or good pedestrian paths, I have to ride along side of roadways.
I felt I needed something to help let others aware that I was present as they go speeding by. After searching the web , the availabilty of equipment and price. I settled on the Zephal light set.
It seems to help a lot. I get lots of friendly waves as people go by.
I had no trouble isnstalling the front light, it works well on the handle bar. The rear light I was a little bit more of a challenge, I adapted it to fit on the oxygen tank holder. I run them on the third setting which is a rapid strobe.
I have not needed to change the batteries yet and have made several trips to the store which is about a mile away and have made three trips to the library which is about 2.5 miles away. I was pleased to see on one of my trips to the library to see a bike in the bike rack with what appeared to be the same light package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Not too bad

02/13/2011
By ,
SW FLA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not the light set I wanted, but couldn't afford the "nice" ones the LBS sells. Bought a pair of these from WM. 5 long night rides & very happy. Won't light your way down a dark country road, but WILL make sure cars can see you. I set them both to the strobe effect (3rd setting) & extremely visible. Until I can afford the $65 sets, this is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Review 7 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Worst lights I have ever owned!

10/14/2011
By ,
Lake Geneva, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a bike mechanic and avid cyclist and have 7 years of knowledge/experience. The local bike shop had nothing in terms of quality lights and my old CAT EYE lights had seen better days. I needed a new set of lights and chose these Zefal lights since the brand is sold in bike shops.
The headlight looked nice, the body was made of aluminum which seemed nice at first. The lights both worked well for about a week. Then the front light would rattle if I rode on anything but the smoothest pavement. It was the battery holder inside; a plastic piece that holds the batteries and it vibrates inside the metal body making this annoying noise. A week later the light beam began flickering on & off and the noise was louder.
I returned the lights to WALMART and was given an exchange. I didn't want the same set but just took them anyways as I ride each night and NEEDED lights no matter what. Within a week the headlight began flickering and making the same noise.
The threads on the housing are course and it does not open easily to replace batteries or to service as in my case.
The clamp which holds the light to the handlebar is one of the worst styles I have used. It has a weird knob on the side that is turned down to hold the light in place and then that piece snaps to the main clamp. It doesn't work very well, the light comes loose and the knob leaves marks on the light body. This piece "snaps" on the handlebar clamp, but the release lever is right at the back where the ON/OFF button is. When you go to turn on the light you constantly hit the realease lever and it goes flying off and hits the ground. Now the metal body is dented!
I was able to get a refund and I ended up purchasing 2 basic BELL brand LED lights. They were in seperate packages and were about $10 each. Much better, brighter and reliable!!!
I know my review is long, but in all my years working on and riding bikes I have never encountered such a poorly designed and performing product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 8 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Worked nicely 'til it got glitchy few months later

07/09/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This light worked nicely until it started getting glitchy a few months after I bought it. Now, the headlight turns off by itself after about a minute. It's not a battery problem as I have replaced the batteries with new ones; I believe it's because the connection inside is loose inside the housing and so when the connection is lost, the light goes off. If I turn it back on again, it comes back on usually. Sometimes not though and I would have to remove the batteries and reinsert them to get it turn on again. Not worth the hassle. I think I'm switching to a small one-piece light without as many moving parts (like those made by Knog).
But when it did work, I was satisfied. The light from the headlight is more to be seen than to see, but if it's totally dark, it does illuminate the ground in front of you.
Initially, the front mount securely fastened the light to my handlebar but after the winter passed when I took my bike out again, it is not as secure now and the headlight now makes a slight rattling noise as I ride. I'm not sure what happened, and I've tried to readjust it but cannot get it as secure as before.
I've had no problems with the rear light and that works fine.
Both front and rear lights have 3 settings: steady, blinking, and even quicker blinking. It uses 3 AAA batteries, which are included.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+3points
Review 9 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620
07/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent bike light. Make sure you buy it online because it's cheaper than the stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 10 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Great and good for safety

09/27/2011
By ,
CULLMAN , ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the 3 function headlight, the strobe light is great so you will be seen in daylight. tail light works great. I feel much safer rideing with these. Batteries last a long time too. Great product. Price is right too. under 20 dollars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 11 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

BUY IT, it's an exceptional quality/value=safe+:)

10/09/2013
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I was looking for a reasonable quality setup after heading out at night a few times with minimum quality bug lights (bug lights are tiny led lights that are mounted to a tube on the bike with elastic nylon bands and kind of resemble a keychain) that were totally unacceptable. After i encountered my bug lights turing themselves off randomly i decided to upgrade. I spent a couple hours reading reviews and doing research to no avail. While at walmart I thought let me see what they have to offer and to my astonishment and suprise I found this set. Im going to buy one for each of my bikes and a back up so a total of 4.
Cool features: the headlight doubles as a handy compact flashlight when removed from the quick release mount, I take it on my overnight hikes and its so bright I refer to it as my laser.
The rear light also quickly dismounts with a tab retainer. I also take it hiking and turn it on when I get close to roads or populous areas where I could get hit.
Each light has 3 different modes, continusly on, flash strobe and burst strobe.
If you get this light and dont think its blindingly bright at night take it back and get another one because there's something wrong with it. I can't look at mine straight on during the day it's that bright.
Each light has o-ring or silicon gasket seals making them virtually water proof under normal conditions.
Thanks for reading to the end, you win!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Seems good value

08/18/2012
By ,
NorCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got it yesterday for son who needs to be visible early morning, ie. safety. I like the multi-modes for visibility and battery life. Seemed best value at WM for my purpose. Appears not to be brightest available product for front but rear is certainly highly visible.
Model # 5650 but same except clamp is "thumb screw", not band like above picture. Included was three piece rubber insert for front mount. This appeared to fix a previous complaint. I broke the rear closure tabs on one side but sealed lens to case with tape, needed to release both sides...not clamshell design. Screws would be my preference for durability but that would make changing batteries on the fly more difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Good Value So Far

08/30/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the $ this seems to be a good light set. Both lights have seals to keep water out. Mounting is straight forward. I did have to make a spacer for the front light mount - I have 7/8" bars and the mount wouldn't tighten - a piece of large rubber hose made an acceptable shim. This set has the 3 popular settings - on, flash, chaser - the chaser will get other's attention. The rear light is fine. The front light is very bright for oncoming traffic to see you, but just does a barely ok job of illuminating the path ahead. I'm sure it is as good as anything else in this price range. An advantage with this set - if you want more front light, you can use a better flashlight - may have to be shimmed, but the mount will work with any round flashlight. The run time is not high, but that is a function of the amount of light emitted. Keep that in mind when shopping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Tail light is ok

10/17/2011
By ,
Ms. Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this in August 2011. There seems to be a defect in the button for the headlight. When I hit a bump the light will flicker. Then sometimes it goes out completely. I have emailed the Zefal web site twice asking what I should do. I have had no respnse from them. I will not purchase this product again
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Bright light but unreliable

09/27/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The good part of these lights is how bright they are. The headlight is ok at making the road visible, although it doesn't go out very far as is the case with most LED lights. The taillight is pretty bulky and fell off my bike on 3 occasions with the last time being lost. I would advise against using the clip on the taillight to attach to a travel pack because it won't stay on with vibrations or moderate bumps.
The biggest problem with this system is the headlight stopped working after about 10 uses. As I confirmed with other reviews, it will flicker and turn off with vibrations so this is probably a design issue. The light works fine and stays on when not moving. My conclusions is these 2 lights were not designed for biking use since they don't hold up at all to vibrating conditions and should not be bought unless you plan on riding only on the smoothest of trails.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Unimpressed

03/13/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a very high powered front light. The rear light is adequate. On a positive note it was easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+7points
Review 17 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Problem after 2 uses!

10/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 sets, one for me and one for my wife. I really liked the way the ease of install and the way they worked but after only 2 uses the tailight I bought for my bike won't stay on. I thought it might just be the batteries but even after changing them, when I push the button it goes on, when I release the button it goes off! Wife's is still working fine! I really like the product and hope it's just I got a lemon!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 18 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620
07/24/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The front light is great and is working properly. The rear light stopped working properly after a few days: sometimes it won't turn off using the on/off button and I had to pull one of the batteries to turn it off; and then it would turn on but would only stay lit as long as I held the button in; now it is working fine again. (I'm crossing my fingers that it will work fine going forward.)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Commuters Light Set

01/10/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have just received a thick blanket of snow here in Denver and I had to commute to work pre-7AM. I used my new light set and it worked great. Snow accumulated on the housing and I was worried about this. However, I just read on the packaging that this is a waterproof item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Zefal LED+ Light Set, 5620

Good purchase

05/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great light set. Better quality than other similar products at other stores.
+2points
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next