Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Frigidaire's 12,000-BTU 115V portable air conditioner with 4,100-BTU supplemental heat pump is perfect for rooms up to 640 square feet. In addition to cooling, this versatile unit also offers supplemental heat capability, providing you with an additional heat source to your main heat source when outdoor temperatures are above 45 degrees Fahrenheit. It quickly cools the room on hot days and quiet operation keeps you comfortable without keeping you awake. Features include electronic controls, full function remote control, swing air direction control and multiple speeds. An antibacterial mesh filter reduces bacteria, room odors, and other airborne particles for a comfortable environment. The SpaceWise portable design includes integrated side handles and caster wheels making it easy to move your unit from room to room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%21 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

outlet hose too short

08/12/2011
By ,
western pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only issue so far was that the outlet house would not even reach to the window. It was about 2 feet too short. Had to go to Home Depot and obtain a hose, bend, and two clamps to make it work. Added $50 to cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Keeps my appartment cool

06/07/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, pumps out lots of cold air, uses relatively low energy. It's now cheaper to cool my house in a St. Louis summer than it is to warm it in the winter! Only drawback is that the manual says nothing about needing the water spout on the back for the air conditioner. Fact is, you do. And this unit can fill a 5 gallon bucket with water in a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great unit for our needs.

06/11/2011
By ,
Alvin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our old house is not a candidate for central air, and we have used window units mostly. We needed a unit that would cool a large room, and that could be used elsewhere if needed. This unit does the job admirably.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

cool time

08/12/2010
By ,
panama city Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
run great , like mobile and heating part. no problem setting up, but I would advise to check the 2 drains in the back before startup otherwise you get a wet floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Good AC unit

06/23/2011
By ,
Berkeley Springs, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used the cooling function so far. I think a window unit is better if you can install a window unit. This is a good option, it does pretty well. This one is also mobile from room to room. It creates a lot of condensate when the weather is muggy. You need a large container to catch the water unless it is near a low drain. Overall, it does what I bought it to do, so I have no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

good stuff

10/18/2012
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product.
It's a little big, and somewhat noisy when the compressor kicks in, but it seems to put out nice cold air. The window kit seems of good quality, but it is made more for a up/down slider and not side to side (which i have), but about 10 minutes with a dremel and i got it to fit. I took off a star due to this.
As I said, nice cold air and powerful; I have it in a second story moderate sized bedroom (approx 12ft x 22ft) and it keeps it nice and cool. But there is no free lunch, this thing is large and expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Make sure you're ready for water drainage issues

08/06/2012
By ,
Chelsea, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The AC/Heater cools very well, but we were not prepared for the water drainage from the Dehumidifier and Air Conditioner. The system did not come with a drainage hose or water collecting container. The drain attachment point also didn't take a garden or washing machine machine hose though the size of it looked as if it may. We're still trying to find a hose that will fit. The AC also produces water, and we're still trying to figure out the best positioning/leveling to manage that problem. We had to get a large pan to put under the unit in order to prevent water damage to the floor.
The unit cools very well just be ready for the water drainage issues
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Wonderful Product

04/30/2011
By ,
Pikeville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this item because we had to move into another families attic until our house sold. They finished an area for us to live in, but their present HVAC unit just was not big enough to heat and cool the upstairs as well. This product was a godsend!! It was a lot cheaper than buying a whole new HVAC unit, and it works wonderful to keep our space heated and cooled. I love it!! It doesn't take up much space, and can be vented out the window or a duct, and has even helped save a little money on the electric bills.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Can it be used without venting out window?
Posted 05/31/2011
Hello,
If need be, can I used this without the tube out the window? If so, is the drip pan easy access to empty?
Thanks so much. Glad you're enjoying it!
Josie
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

a useful product

07/04/2010
By ,
Grenada, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have enjoyed this product in our sunroom. It has been what we have needed for this area!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Cools Great!

04/17/2013
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to get something since my heat pump went out last summer and didn't want to spend all that money right now. So far it cools really good for my mobile home. I blocked off some of the house that is not used and it really helped. Has a problem sometimes getting to the back bedroom and may have to get a small a/c for the bedroom but other than that, it cools great. No louder than a hotel a/c, and you get use to it after awhile. No problem setting up but really not "portable" since you have to vent the air out the window. Got a 5 gallon bucket for the drainage and a small hose(which should be included)and cut it in half and works great. Will see what it does in the middle of summer and still hasn't the heating part...overall very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
09/28/2012
By ,
Canton, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant machine; have it in over-garage room that gets extra hot in spr/summer. Easy to work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Great unit

08/14/2011
By ,
Cabot, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second of these unites they are a strong AC unit. The heat is a little weak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
07/30/2012
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit works very well for us, it cools the room quickly and keeps it very comfortable. Some reviewers talked about needing a drainage bucket but we have not needed a bucket at all when using it on cool setting. We strictly use the cool setting, not auto, so that may be the difference. The one negative is that it is pretty noisy, but considering how comfortable the room stays, it is well worth some noise. We also have another brand portable, but find this to be a much better unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Ok product

04/23/2011
By ,
Owensboro, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not really satisfied with the heater part of this product. Does not put out the amount of heat expected and the fan for the heat only works on low, but so far the airconditioner seems to work very well, but we are not that far in to the summer yet to know for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

Met expectation

06/22/2011
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far, other than noise level, this unit has met my expectations based on size, capacity and price. Solid and well built.....but time and weather will tell. Unsure of utility impact as of this date.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

it is just OK

09/15/2010
By ,
Reading, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too noisy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
06/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i used this unit in a 8 by 12 foot room it didnt get as cool as it should ihave to small bed rooms rite across from eachother shouldnt this unit do both rooms because its no where near640 ft between these two rooms and i also would like to ask what voltage do it take to run this unit because i saw on here where another customer said he had to run a new 220 volt electricial line because it dont tell you that these units run off 220 volts please help me with this and had the unit sense 2-11 just plug it in for the hot weather its brand new
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
-21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

VERY LITTLE COOLING

09/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device produced aire that was barely cooler than a warm room. Not adequate to reduce temp by more than a degree or two after an hour or so. Returned it for refund. (We know to wait for the compressor to start and then give it thirty minutes or so to reach max cooling.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump

It definitely serves the purpose!

08/11/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase! The unit works quite well in cooling and drying a 610 sf space!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Frigidaire FRA12EPT1 12,000-BTU 115V Room Portable Air Conditioner with 4,100-BTU Supplemental Heat Pump
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5