Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

This Frigidaire portable air conditioner is perfect for medium to large size rooms up to 640 square feet. This model features electronic controls and a full-function remote control. The antimicrobial filter reduces bacteria, room odors, and other airborne particles for a comfortable environment. It also includes swing air direction control and 3 speeds for cool and fan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%16 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Really does the job.

08/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put it in my dining room which is between my living room area and kitchen. I was afraid it wouldn't cover the area, but find that once it gets going it pretty much does the trick. For those weeks of extremely hot, HUMID days we had recently in Western NY it was a God send. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because of the noise, but for such a large unit that is to be expected. My brother installed it for me, and like what was stated in the reviews I had read before I purchased it, you have to improvise the window kit a little to fit but not much of a problem. Also, one reviewer said they were waiting for an electrician to come and put in a new line for it. I'm not sure what they were talking about as it doesn't require a dedicated line. I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

It works as advertised

11/29/2010
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are using it to cool a room with several computers in it and it does the job well. Since the room didn't have a window, we cut a hole in the floor and exhausted the hot air into the crawl space. You can adjust the angle which the air blows and also change the speed if you don't have it set on automatic mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

looks good-better have enough juice.

05/13/2011
By ,
Ashland,Wi.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this thing for 3 weeks now,hav'ent been able to use it.I am still waiting for electrician to install a 15 amp -220 volt receptacle and fuse so i can have enough power to operate.They don't tell you on the description or specifications that this is a 15 amp-220 volt unit. Idid'nt notice till I got the box home. Unit looks purty nice sittin' there though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT
Agree with arjayattherock
Posted 07/17/2012
I too was surprised at the comment that this unit needs a 220 volt outlet. The specs at the manufacturers site state that this unit is 115 volt 60 Hz. So plugging this unit into a 220 outlet would definately mess this unit up in a hurry (like arjay said... if you could... the plug wouldn't even fit). I have a similar unit and it does take up some juice from the circuit that this is on but if you don't do something like have too many things on the same circuit or try to run a hairdryer or something else that pulls a lot of current this unit will run on a 15 amp breaker circuit. If you plan on having other things on the same circuit or have problems with the circuit breaker popping on you, get an electrician to install a 20 breaker on the circuit you are using.
0points
Customer Avatar
Plymouth, MA
Not a 220 volt product
Posted 06/16/2011
catfishlynd has been misinformed. I checked manufacturer's specs on line because I was surprised at this report. Frigidaire says it is a 115V 60Hz product. This is standard US household electric supply. You do not need 240 volts. Even if you could get the plug to fit with some kind of jury rig, 240 Volts would fry this machine. Frigidaire specs say it uses 1380 watts, which means it pulls 12 amps. That does not leave much leeway on a 15-amp circuit, esp. if shared with other outlets &/or appliances. Suggest dedicated 20-amp circuit, 115 Volt.
+8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

vent

06/24/2010
By ,
Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product works great. Only 1 small problem,,the company went cheap,cheap,cheap on the vent ends.Other than that the portable air conditioner works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Good product. Just one issue

04/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works very well. The only issue I have with it might be because I didn't read the directions. It has an AC option and also a fan option. When I set it to AC, the AC turns on like it should and blows very cold air out. However, five minutes later the fan comes on with not so cold air for three minutes and after that the AC comes back on for another five minutes. This seems to cycle over and over. There is never continuous AC air coming out. We have another unit but different brand in the bedroom and this is not the case. It does have continuous AC. The unit does seem to cool the room but I can't help think that it would cool the room in half the time if it didnt do this cycle.
Wayne
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control
08/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We use this in a living room that is 18x20. It works perfectly. It is so much better than hefting one into the window. We even bought a smaller one for our bedroom. Well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

It works as promised.

06/20/2012
By ,
Gillette, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Temperture was as high as 96 f outside and while 76 f inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Great air conditioner!

08/13/2012
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit for my small one-bedroom apartment, and by adding a fan between the two rooms to blow the cold air from one into the other, my whole apartment is nice and cool, even on the hot 100-degree days with lots of humidity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control
06/24/2012
By ,
houston tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice and quite for a room unit. only problem was length of wait for delivery. my previous unit was delivered within 48 hours,, (fedex)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Good product

06/25/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product.
Installation of the hose in the window frame is somewhat more complicated than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Had it about a week now, and it is working fine

12/21/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using it on a back porch for a week now, and it is working fine. The fan is noisy, probably too much for a bedroom, but cools very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Great value

07/27/2012
By ,
NE PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit does exactly what we expected it to do per the specifications. It is only slightly noisier than I anticipated. However, since we only use it when it is very hot it is well worth the money and is excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Very happy with this unit.

06/13/2013
By ,
PVPHA, Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not too loud. Cools 25x25 room very well. Easy installion and a good window adapter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Try it, you'll like it!

07/01/2012
By ,
Springfield, VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After fighting with the exhaust hose and window slider kit.......it works perfect. It cools my kitchen, dining and living room with the help of a stand fan. It is a bit noiser than a window air conditioner but you get use to it. I love the timer on it, I can arrive home to a cool house. It plugs into a normal 3 prong outlet, because it is a 15 amp, 115 volt unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Not Happy

07/17/2012
By ,
Portland,Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit was broken when I got it. Make sure unit works before you install window mounts. However, I had no problem returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control

Seems solid

08/04/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
frigidaire needs to review its operational guide,it does not discuss the drain hole at bottom of unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Frigidaire FRA123PT1 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner w/Remote Control
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5