Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Slime Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Slime Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

The Slime Heavy-duty Tire Inflator with built-in gauge and light-direct drive design inflates a standard car tire quickly in three minutes. The inflator operates with a powerful 12-volt, 150 PSI compressor. It has a 16-foot hose length with a quick release coupler that facilitates ease of use. This portable tire inflator with built-in gauge and light-direct drive design is a must-have device for any driver who pursues long trips. The direct drive motor Slime portable 12-volt tire inflator works quietly with no vibrations and has ball and raft inflation adapters for various inflation needs. When used at night, the bright LED light from this portable tire inflator gives you enough visibility and the accurate, easy-to-read gauge indicates the inflating level. After you're done with inflating, you can store the Slime Heavy-duty Tire Inflator with gauge in the canvas storage bag for later use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation60%24 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Seems better to me than some of the reviews I read

08/02/2014
By ,
Deming, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the pump, some reviewer said it was trash, mine however seem very well built, I use it in my Jeep, the hose easy stews on the valve stem, turn it on and get with it. Some say the 12v plug is junk mine is in great shape, of coarse I wouldn't want to run over expect it to work. This pump is good quality and I believe it work for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Portable great for traveling.

09/24/2014
By ,
Fort Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of them one on each car I own. I also have an car lighter cable extension, that easily fits in the bag that the inflator is stored, to give me more range so that I can use it to inflate my bicycle tires or an air mattress while camping. The fact that the air hose screws into the stem makes it easier to inflate both car and bicycle tires as one does not have to keep one hand on the stem all the time.
The air pressure gauge is great to make sure that tires are inflated properly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

It's NOT Heavy Duty.

09/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it was basically the only thing on Walmart's shelf for saying it inflates 4x4, RV,SUV, and Truck tires. It's states on the out side of the box, "Inflates a standard car tire in 3 minutes (P195/65 R15 to 35 PSI). That's great but I'm needing it for my truck tire. How does that inflate? For me, 20 minutes. Not really heavy duty enough. Will be returning and trying something else. Being stuck with a flat always happens when you really don't have time to spare, so this product is not the one to have when the time comes. Low rating because it's advisement is misleading.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Not so heavy duty

12/24/2010
By ,
Australia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Item operates just as the instructions indicate. Kit includes everything needed. The carry pouch keeps all the items together.
Ad says it will inflate a tire in 3 min. To my experience, that would be a very small tire. It took about 6 minutes just to increase one of my 4WD tires from 30 to 45 lbs/sq inch.
It is called a 'heavy duty' device, but the directions say it must be rested and allowed to cool after just ten minutes of use. I bought this with the hopes of using it to re-inflate my tires after deflating them for driving through soft sand. The speed of this machine will make that a long, slow process.
All that said, this should work good for that one off emergency use. It also comes with nozzles and needles for sports equipment which will come in handy when handing out new soccer balls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Hose and 12 Volt plug in are bad

06/09/2014
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I only used this two times. It worked OK the first time. The second time we were miles from home with a low tire. the 12 volt plug in came apart and I could not find all the parts so could not run the compressor. I heard air leaking and found the coiled hose at the quick connector broken and letting air out of the low tire so quickly unscrewed the fitting at the valve stem. I tried three times to reconnect the hose at the quick connector and it split again all three times. The hose seems to break down with time. The design of the 12 volt plug in is very poor and comes apart easy. We have had this for less than two years so can't take it back to Walmart. What good is a kit like this if it will not work when you need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

12v air pump that works

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd 12v air pump I've owned and this one is the best of the three. It's reasonably quiet and vibration free and puts out a good volume of air. The pressure gauge is readable when it's running (not vibrating wildly) and fairly accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Junk

10/31/2010
By ,
Methuen, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
less than a year of infrequent use blew the fuse in my wife's 4Runner which wasn't that big of a deal but today the on off switch broke. Cheap switch, hopefully I can get this fixed or get a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Post Falls, Idaho
Agree to a point.
Posted 11/03/2013
I agree that the switch is a little cheap, but there is a larger reason the unit failed.
From what I found, If you don't RUN your vehicle while running the compressor it will overheat the plastic on the socket, and blow your lighter fuse.
When your system voltage is low, the amp rating increases.
As it increases, it gets hotter and hotter causing damage to the plastic and also increasing resistance (making the amp load increase to beyond the usual 15 amp rating) effectively popping your fuse.
When I first had this happen, I replaced the fuse, but discovered the contact where the fuse was inline with the main button (the center piece, or Positive +) had melted enough to break contact with the fuse.
Rendering my Unit dead.
So.. for future reference.. a unit like this has good performance, but its a power hog and needs to be well fed beyond just battery power through a cigarette lighter.
All in all, it works fantastic if you don't overheat it with the recommendation I've mentioned here.
I've now used mine several times, and it works great.
:)
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

If it worked as well as it looks...

09/25/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After little over a year, this product fails to inflate anything other than bicycle tires. It struggles to get above 35 psi on standard vehicle tires. The design of this product says "I'm heavy duty" but it is far from that. Guess I can find a use for the nice canvas case. I wasted my money here and now have to find another portable air compressor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bay Area CA
Just an FYI
Posted 07/17/2011
Most of the time the problem with this inflator is the green air hose. Slime is GREAT about working with the customer to give replacement parts within the manufacturer warranty (1 year I think for this product). I know you said yours failed just after a year, and it might have been the 12 volt plug. Regardless of the time lapse, I'd shoot them an email (or tweet/Facebook) to see if there's a way to fix the problem. From personal experience, they take care of their customers.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

WORKED WELL WHEN NEW BUT LASTED LESS THAN 6 MONTHS

10/15/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was excited when I first used this compressor, thought that I finally found a 12 volt compressor that didn't take all day to air a tire. The only problem is, it quite working in less than 6 months, and I really didn't use it all that much.
Will never purchase anything else from Slime
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Poorly built... :(

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it to inflate a car tire with low pressure, it ran for 2-3 mins and it overheated and never worked again. Checked fuse it was good. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Good looks is where it ends.

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit cannot inflate my RV tires over 80 pounds. It will shut itself off and if you try to jog it into going higher, it will blow the black hose off the compressor every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

2 years of use - use daily - no problems...

06/22/2012
By ,
West Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My compressor might be the exception, rather than the rule, but I have had absolutely no problems with this compressor. I have a tire that loses about 15 lbs of pressure overnight (especially if it is cold outside).
On my car this is a daily routine right now (until I can save up enough money to replace a couple of the tires). It will take about 5 minutes or so to fill up my deflated 17 inch truck tires (when about 15 lbs low) and about 3 minutes or so on my 15 inch car tires (when about 15 lbs low).
It is reasonably quick, for the price and for the size. The combination of the electrical cord and the hose is quite long...I have filled up my camper tires while the camper was attached to my extended cab full size pickup...it only just reached the tires but it was long enough to do the job.
I keep expecting it to fail at any time as I know that it is not intended for daily use but it has never failed me and it has not lost any power at all. I have had it for about 2 years and used it intermittently most of the time...I have used it daily for about the past 3 months.
I am very, very careful with the compressor and do not handle it roughly at all because I do feel that it might be a bit on the fragile side...if you handle it carefully, it should work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Work's Great and Reliable

02/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pump about a year ago. Have used it about 6 times. Around my 3rd time, I started having trouble with it. I would flip the switch and nothing would happen (Wouldn't power ON#. I tried it in multiple vehicles DC adapter's... all failed. Called Slime support who simply sent me another pump. Well when I tried to use the replacement pump, it also didn't work.
Happen's to be, this pump blew out the fuses in every vehicle I tried it in. My point is, if your vehicle has a secondary DC adapter #as did all the vehicles I tried it in did#, use that adapter, not the primary one you would use if your a smoker. Always use the secondary DC port #if you have one) and don't have your vehicle on when using this product, and very thing should be ok.
Took some troubleshooting, but if your having trouble with using this product, it's probably just because it's a powerful little pump that your not using the right way. Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Grate tool

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grate product highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

blew my car fuse in less than one second

10/25/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City,UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
looked like a good idea. a 12 V air inflator with a high psi rating. it worked for less than one second before it blew the fuse in my car. At the end of the instruction, in the problem solving section, it mentions that a 15 amp fuse is the minimum. Nowhere was this on the box. Going to bring it back to the store. It's in good condition still.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Not as heavy duty as it looks or as it is claimed.

04/26/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's just another wimpy air pump. It is NOT heavy duty at all. Heats up very fast that you can't even inflate one tire properly on a hot day and once it heats a hair more than what is considered "normal" it starts making weird noises and it starts loosing umph for good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Slime Heavy Duty Air Pump / Tire Inflator -

06/19/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 4-Cars in the family. At any given time, a tire may need air. This product works very well and inflates a completely flat tire in less than 4-minutes. The A/C Cord is long and the Coiled Air tube will reach any point around the car. The built-in light came in handy one night. The unit is quieter than I thought it would be. Handy storage bag & Inflation accessories are a plus.
I highly recommend this product. It is heavy-duty enough for a multi-car family. Great Quality !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

good tire inflator

05/13/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the product for about nine months and have found it to be a good inflator. I like the fact that it screws on to the tire valve. However, the coil air hose is made of plastic and it split, which made the inflator useless because there's no way to get around using the coil air hose. But customer service was very good and said they would send me a hose immediately. It arrived in about two days at no cost to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

GREAT INFLATOR FOR ITS SIZE!

06/19/2014
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously had a different brand inflator of similar size. The Slime outperforms my prior inflator by a country mile. Speed and accuracy are right on! I will probably buy a second one for our other car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Handy - good value

08/17/2011
By ,
Ralston, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have raised the pressure in auto tires and it works quickly. Need to put in a little extra air because it has a screw on valve attachment and some air is lost is taking it off. Cord and air hose are a good length.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next