Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Slime Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Slime Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

The Slime Comp06 Pro Power Heavy-duty Tire Inflator with built-in gauge and light-direct drive design inflates a standard car tire quickly in three minutes. The inflator operates with a powerful 12-volt, 150 PSI compressor. It has a 16-foot hose length with a quick release coupler that facilitates ease of use. This is a must-have device for any driver who pursues long trips. The direct drive motor Slime portable 12-volt tire inflator works quietly with no vibrations and has ball and raft inflation adapters for various inflation needs. When used at night, the bright LED light from this portable tire inflator gives you enough visibility and the accurate, easy-to-read gauge indicates the inflating level. After you're done with inflating, you can store the car tire inflator with gauge in the canvas storage bag for later use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.536 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation61%17 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Not so heavy duty

12/24/2010
By ,
Australia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Item operates just as the instructions indicate. Kit includes everything needed. The carry pouch keeps all the items together.
Ad says it will inflate a tire in 3 min. To my experience, that would be a very small tire. It took about 6 minutes just to increase one of my 4WD tires from 30 to 45 lbs/sq inch.
It is called a 'heavy duty' device, but the directions say it must be rested and allowed to cool after just ten minutes of use. I bought this with the hopes of using it to re-inflate my tires after deflating them for driving through soft sand. The speed of this machine will make that a long, slow process.
All that said, this should work good for that one off emergency use. It also comes with nozzles and needles for sports equipment which will come in handy when handing out new soccer balls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

12v air pump that works

09/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd 12v air pump I've owned and this one is the best of the three. It's reasonably quiet and vibration free and puts out a good volume of air. The pressure gauge is readable when it's running (not vibrating wildly) and fairly accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Junk

10/31/2010
By ,
Methuen, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
less than a year of infrequent use blew the fuse in my wife's 4Runner which wasn't that big of a deal but today the on off switch broke. Cheap switch, hopefully I can get this fixed or get a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Post Falls, Idaho
Agree to a point.
Posted 11/03/2013
I agree that the switch is a little cheap, but there is a larger reason the unit failed.
From what I found, If you don't RUN your vehicle while running the compressor it will overheat the plastic on the socket, and blow your lighter fuse.
When your system voltage is low, the amp rating increases.
As it increases, it gets hotter and hotter causing damage to the plastic and also increasing resistance (making the amp load increase to beyond the usual 15 amp rating) effectively popping your fuse.
When I first had this happen, I replaced the fuse, but discovered the contact where the fuse was inline with the main button (the center piece, or Positive +) had melted enough to break contact with the fuse.
Rendering my Unit dead.
So.. for future reference.. a unit like this has good performance, but its a power hog and needs to be well fed beyond just battery power through a cigarette lighter.
All in all, it works fantastic if you don't overheat it with the recommendation I've mentioned here.
I've now used mine several times, and it works great.
:)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

If it worked as well as it looks...

09/25/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After little over a year, this product fails to inflate anything other than bicycle tires. It struggles to get above 35 psi on standard vehicle tires. The design of this product says "I'm heavy duty" but it is far from that. Guess I can find a use for the nice canvas case. I wasted my money here and now have to find another portable air compressor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bay Area CA
Just an FYI
Posted 07/17/2011
Most of the time the problem with this inflator is the green air hose. Slime is GREAT about working with the customer to give replacement parts within the manufacturer warranty (1 year I think for this product). I know you said yours failed just after a year, and it might have been the 12 volt plug. Regardless of the time lapse, I'd shoot them an email (or tweet/Facebook) to see if there's a way to fix the problem. From personal experience, they take care of their customers.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

WORKED WELL WHEN NEW BUT LASTED LESS THAN 6 MONTHS

10/15/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was excited when I first used this compressor, thought that I finally found a 12 volt compressor that didn't take all day to air a tire. The only problem is, it quite working in less than 6 months, and I really didn't use it all that much.
Will never purchase anything else from Slime
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

2 years of use - use daily - no problems...

06/22/2012
By ,
West Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My compressor might be the exception, rather than the rule, but I have had absolutely no problems with this compressor. I have a tire that loses about 15 lbs of pressure overnight (especially if it is cold outside).
On my car this is a daily routine right now (until I can save up enough money to replace a couple of the tires). It will take about 5 minutes or so to fill up my deflated 17 inch truck tires (when about 15 lbs low) and about 3 minutes or so on my 15 inch car tires (when about 15 lbs low).
It is reasonably quick, for the price and for the size. The combination of the electrical cord and the hose is quite long...I have filled up my camper tires while the camper was attached to my extended cab full size pickup...it only just reached the tires but it was long enough to do the job.
I keep expecting it to fail at any time as I know that it is not intended for daily use but it has never failed me and it has not lost any power at all. I have had it for about 2 years and used it intermittently most of the time...I have used it daily for about the past 3 months.
I am very, very careful with the compressor and do not handle it roughly at all because I do feel that it might be a bit on the fragile side...if you handle it carefully, it should work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Work's Great and Reliable

02/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pump about a year ago. Have used it about 6 times. Around my 3rd time, I started having trouble with it. I would flip the switch and nothing would happen (Wouldn't power ON#. I tried it in multiple vehicles DC adapter's... all failed. Called Slime support who simply sent me another pump. Well when I tried to use the replacement pump, it also didn't work.
Happen's to be, this pump blew out the fuses in every vehicle I tried it in. My point is, if your vehicle has a secondary DC adapter #as did all the vehicles I tried it in did#, use that adapter, not the primary one you would use if your a smoker. Always use the secondary DC port #if you have one) and don't have your vehicle on when using this product, and very thing should be ok.
Took some troubleshooting, but if your having trouble with using this product, it's probably just because it's a powerful little pump that your not using the right way. Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Jut got it

01/07/2014
By ,
Randleman n.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it used once. Air pump worked very well.worth the $$$$paid especially when if you have to get air at a gas station which cost me a $1.00 for 1 tire and it didn't even fill the tire
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

blew my car fuse in less than one second

10/25/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City,UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
looked like a good idea. a 12 V air inflator with a high psi rating. it worked for less than one second before it blew the fuse in my car. At the end of the instruction, in the problem solving section, it mentions that a 15 amp fuse is the minimum. Nowhere was this on the box. Going to bring it back to the store. It's in good condition still.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Not as heavy duty as it looks or as it is claimed.

04/26/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's just another wimpy air pump. It is NOT heavy duty at all. Heats up very fast that you can't even inflate one tire properly on a hot day and once it heats a hair more than what is considered "normal" it starts making weird noises and it starts loosing umph for good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

good tire inflator

05/13/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the product for about nine months and have found it to be a good inflator. I like the fact that it screws on to the tire valve. However, the coil air hose is made of plastic and it split, which made the inflator useless because there's no way to get around using the coil air hose. But customer service was very good and said they would send me a hose immediately. It arrived in about two days at no cost to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Handy - good value

08/17/2011
By ,
Ralston, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have raised the pressure in auto tires and it works quickly. Need to put in a little extra air because it has a screw on valve attachment and some air is lost is taking it off. Cord and air hose are a good length.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

A good air compressor

10/09/2013
By ,
Franklin, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for several years and it continues to do the job. Slime has an outstanding customer service dept. They have sent me 2 items that got broken due to my neglect and they were sent free of charge.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Handy little tool

08/24/2013
By ,
Hamilton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design
08/12/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Green hose broke on first use and the led light didn't work.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Failed after 3 uses

04/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Slime 12 Volt Inflator failed after being used only 3 times. I had to return it to Wal-Mart for a refund. By contrast, I have a Campbell Hausfeld inflator that I have been using regularly for over 10 years and it works as well today as it did when I bought it. Don't waste your money on a Slime inflator.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Blows fuses, hose split.

08/22/2012
By ,
Saline, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My experience is that this small compressor will inflate tires, but that one shouldn't buy it unless one is very handy at replacing fuses. Also, now I have to call customer service for a new hose because you can't buy them off the shelf. It has blown the fuse in two of my cars (a Chevy Venture and a Chrysler Sebring), now, and the hose split on maybe the 25th or 30th use. I would not recommend it and I would not buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Good small heavy duty air compressor

12/09/2010
By ,
Sonora, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this to top up my motorhome's tires before traveling, after sitting idle several months. Maybe five minutes per tire for around 5 pounds on a large diesel motorhome tire at 95 pounds. The screw on air chuck allows putting it on and doing something else while it pumps away. My RV is stored indoors and the place has few lights. So the handy LED flashlight helps also.
I once had to inflate an RV tire from flat, took about half and hour. Didn't realize the pump needed a cool off time and overheated it. Damaged the pressure gauge. But a email to the company and they sent a replacement air gauge for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design

Saved the Day!

02/09/2011
By ,
Redding, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I spent the whole day packing up our suburban for our weekend trip to the lake and just as we were about to leave, I realized both back tires were EXTREMELY low! So I pulled out this tire inflator and it filled up both tires in under ten minutes and we were set for the weekend! Thankyou Slime! This product saved the day!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Slime-Heavy Duty Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light-Direct Drive Design
10/13/2012
By ,
lake havasu city,az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look no further, you will love it. The best for size and performance on the market. Yes I have owned a few. I have three or four other inflators beside this one, right now.(car,trailers,truck, boat trailer and quads. This is by far the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next