Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

The Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light is a must have equipment for every car owner. It has the capability to inflate a standard car tire in 8 minutes with little effort. A powerful 12-volt, 300 PSI compressor and an accurate gauge make this inflator an efficient and excellent machine. The gauge is easy to read to help you in determining the amount of air inside the car tire. This car tire inflator easily plugs into the 12 volt accessory outlet to operate. A bright LED light is very helpful for night use. This Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light includes ball and raft inflation adapters that make your work easy and convenient. Easy to use, this lightweight portable tire inflator is a great addition to your car s accessories. Also, it is ideal to take with you when you are traveling far.
Average Customer Rating:
3.669 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
48
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation73%113 out of 154reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 158 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
48
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Not a Bad Inflator

09/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this inflator on a 2004 buick century and it works fine. The built in light is is great. Only drawback is it's little loud but overall its great.
Note: The recommended tire pressure is not on side of tire. On newer vehicles its usually on the b-piller on driver side, trunk lid, behind the fuel filler door, or in your owners manual.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Corpus Christi
tire info.
Posted 11/09/2013
Correct tire pressure for a particular vehicle has never been on a tire; it is located on the driver's side door jam. The tire pressure on the side wall of a tire is simply the max pressure that tire is rated to safely handle.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Broke in 2yrs. but they replaced it

10/04/2011
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is just your basic little compressor in an oversized plastic frame. Don't be in a hurry when you use it. Mine broke after two years of very modest use and I called the Slime folks. A very nice lady made an exception to their warranty and offered me a free replacement - the warranty is 12 months.
This compressor is fine to add a few pounds to a regular tire or do bike tires. I would not want to try to inflate an tire from 0 psi with it. NOTE: the directions call for using it with the ACCESSORY port, not a cigarette lighter port, because with the higher power draw you might burn out the lighter fuse. You also need to let it cool for 25 minutes after you use it for 10 min. That just isn't realistic, but it is the manufacturer's requirement. The unit itself has a fuse, so if yours stops working, check that - it is probably inside the plug you plug in.
The next time I need to buy a compressor, I'll go up a level and spend a little more for something more durable and a bit faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Still going after 5 years

09/21/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watched someone blow there's up and ruin there lighter ignition by having his car running while using this product , so " never ever turn or have your car running " while this is connected to any part of your vehicle ..
Learning by his mistakes , mine has worked and lasted well over 5 years now ... I always let it cool down about half way through and mine still works till this day ... it has been a life saver in emergencies with the slow leak I have .. and a neighbor using it to fill her low tire too ..
My only tips are to let it cool down about half way through filling up your tire , never have your car running and keep in a dry safe place ..
Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

D..O.A.

09/03/2014
By ,
Riesel, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What happened the very first time I took it out of the box & tried testing it to make sure it will work when needed? Absolutely NOTHING.
Well, the LED light works. So I guess that's something. But if I wanted a LIGHT, I could BUY a LED light that's 2 times brighter for the same price (which I have). I needed an air compressor.
And all I got was... click.. click.. click...
I seriously doubt the fuse blew out the very first attempt & I don't have any extra laying around, and even if I did, why should I replace a fuse when the fuse that came with it should've worked to begin with?? IF that was the problem. Maybe I simply got a lemon. I don't know. I'll never know. As I won't be buying this brand again. Waste of time, gasoline (2 round trips from my middle-of-nowhere home to nearest wal mart) When I SHOULD be sleeping as I have a big day ahead of me... which requires I have a working inflator .. so.. i'll down an energy drink to keep these heavy eyes open and back to wal mart I go.. for a second time in one night. Here's hoping my next compressor actually works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Keep it handy in your car trunk

10/15/2014
By ,
New rsy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
People are very critical of these inexpensive little units, but when you come out of the grocery store or wedding reception to a flat tire you'll be glad you have one. I actually bought six. One for each car, one to hold on to as a spare, and two to give to my son at Christmas. I had a similar one a few years ago that broke right away; those are the breaks I guess. I didn't even bother to take it back, because at $16 it not worth the effort. Yet I had another cheapie unit years ago that I used a couple times a week on a slow leak and it just burned out after a few years. Grab a couple of these and keep them handy, you don't need the expensive ones, so what if it takes 8 minutes to inflate your tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great Tire Inflator

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been researching tire inflators all last week and was a little skeptical about buying the slime inflator after reading the reviews, but I found it for $15 in store so I decided to go for it. First, its really small and very convenient to keep in the car. Second, the inflator does a great job filling up my tires on my 350z (but keep in mind I'm only adding a 2-3psi here and there). If you plan on filling up multiple deflated tires, then I would recommend buying a much bigger unit, this unit is really meant for 1 tire (meaning filling up a deflated tire in 10 minutes, waiting another 10 minutes or more for the unit to cool down, then on to the next). Overall, its very useful for small tasks, so set realistic expectations when buying this inflator. Also, buy it in the store and you'll save a few dollars vs the online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

good basic product

10/17/2014
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this compressor is very good for inflating a flat tire. and maintaining the correct pressure in a tire. I do like to check my tire pressure at least 1 X per mo. this will help the tires to last longer, and it will keep the tires at the top performance possible for a given tire. I like that it plugs into my 12 V auto accessory outlet. it has a long enough cord for me to reach all my tires when I plug it in to the 12 V out let on my car Dash.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Ya Get what ya pay for

02/25/2011
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The pump pumps, the light works and the pressure gauge functions , but overall the unit has many drawbacks and is not recommended.
The "plug into the lighter" plug is very cheaply made and will need very careful handling if it is to last more than a few uses. The contacts on my unit are very loose.
The outlet hose which you connect to the tire is way too short, although it is as advertised, two feet long. Two feet isn't much when the valve to the flat tire is at the top of the wheel.
The connector itself is hard to manipulate but not much different from others of its type.
It takes way more than eight minutes to inflate a deflated auto tire. In fact it took four minutes to inflate a bicycle tire from 45 pounds to 70 pounds.
Overall, it works, but Ya get what ya pay for.
Not recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

First Class Product

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little device to add pressure to your tires or fill up a flat. The price is right and it is a great item to leave in your trunk for emergencies. Obviously it is not going to replace an air compressor that you would use in your garage for filling multiple tires everyday. Other reviews are complaining about overheating but they are mistaken if they think they will get a full time air compressor at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

overall a good product.

10/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suggestion for next model make it also adaptable so that 120 volt connection could be used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light
05/31/2011
By ,
Northern Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fort the price, this thing is a great buy. I bought this to keep in my trunk for emergency flat tires and to air up bicycle tires and air mattresses. I understand that this is not a full size air compressor, and will not air up multiple tires one after the other without overheating. I have used it to inflate a P185/60R15 tire from completely flat to 35 psi in about 6-7 minutes. Overall, it's a great value and I would recommend it for emergencies or light use. It would be nice to have a longer air hose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Worthless

09/09/2014
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this tire inflator and right out of the box it did NOT work. The light did not turn on and the compressor did not turn on. It is NOT worth any amount you pay for it! Even if it were given out free!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Broke after a few uses...

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these for two cars. One broke after a few uses - compressor issues. I sent two emails to the company, (slime.com), about the model, info etc, and they never responded. They don't need my business I guess or probably anyone elses.....
Will have to see if I can get a new one from Walmart or contact my credit card company for their warantee guarantee....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

needed it

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 day after I got it, my all 4 of my tire needed air..it was very easy to use. And simple to understand
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

So far so good

07/07/2010
By ,
Dawsonville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product at our local Walmart to inflate my riding mower tires. We found the product for $15.00 and thought that it seems to be a good deal considering manual bicycle pumps were around $10.00. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical but so far this has come in very handy. I have used it on my riding mower tires, my daughter's bicycle tires and for a blow up float at the beach. It has worked perfectly every time. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Took It Back Immediately

08/19/2014
By ,
Tommball, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overheated at Cigarette plug. Melted plastic within 2 minutes.
Pressure gauge off by 12#
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Works Great

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pump is identical to my old pump which worked very well until it died. Naturally, I
chose an identical replacement. Very Satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great Product

04/07/2014
By ,
Eagle Pass, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item a year ago and it has saved me from getting flat tires countless of times. I have also had complete flat tires in the morning and the inflator will inflate the tire as advertised. I love this product because it inflates the tires so I can drive to the tire shop preventing me from wasting so much time exchanging the flat one for the spare tire. I recommend this product. Look no further, buy it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

A Real Life Saver for a Quick Flat Tire Fix

04/10/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a gadget that really works and is a God send. I keep this in the trunk of my car and have used it about six or seven times so far. It has saved me in remote areas on several occasions. The auto tire inflator is really easy to use and this is from a woman's standpoint.
If my tire looks low or near flat...it only takes several minutes (5-10) to get it inflated. As long as your car's cigarette lighter outlet is working, you have nothing to worry about. I also like that this model has a built in flashlight just in case you are out at night in a dark area...it will let you se what you are doing. I highly recommend this product to anyone who drives/owns a vehicle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Works great!

09/03/2014
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well, however there was no cover for the cord compartment. The company sent me a bag to keep everything together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next