Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

The Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light is a must have equipment for every car owner. It has the capability to inflate a standard car tire in 8 minutes with little effort. A powerful 12-volt, 300 PSI compressor and an accurate gauge make this inflator an efficient and excellent machine. The gauge is easy to read to help you in determining the amount of air inside the car tire. This car tire inflator easily plugs into the 12 volt accessory outlet to operate. A bright LED light is very helpful for night use. This Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light includes ball and raft inflation adapters that make your work easy and convenient. Easy to use, this lightweight portable tire inflator is a great addition to your car s accessories. Also, it is ideal to take with you when you are traveling far.
Average Customer Rating:
3.637 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
50
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation73%122 out of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
50
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Not a Bad Inflator

09/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this inflator on a 2004 buick century and it works fine. The built in light is is great. Only drawback is it's little loud but overall its great.
Note: The recommended tire pressure is not on side of tire. On newer vehicles its usually on the b-piller on driver side, trunk lid, behind the fuel filler door, or in your owners manual.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Corpus Christi
tire info.
Posted 11/09/2013
Correct tire pressure for a particular vehicle has never been on a tire; it is located on the driver's side door jam. The tire pressure on the side wall of a tire is simply the max pressure that tire is rated to safely handle.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Broke in 2yrs. but they replaced it

10/04/2011
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is just your basic little compressor in an oversized plastic frame. Don't be in a hurry when you use it. Mine broke after two years of very modest use and I called the Slime folks. A very nice lady made an exception to their warranty and offered me a free replacement - the warranty is 12 months.
This compressor is fine to add a few pounds to a regular tire or do bike tires. I would not want to try to inflate an tire from 0 psi with it. NOTE: the directions call for using it with the ACCESSORY port, not a cigarette lighter port, because with the higher power draw you might burn out the lighter fuse. You also need to let it cool for 25 minutes after you use it for 10 min. That just isn't realistic, but it is the manufacturer's requirement. The unit itself has a fuse, so if yours stops working, check that - it is probably inside the plug you plug in.
The next time I need to buy a compressor, I'll go up a level and spend a little more for something more durable and a bit faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

great product for the price.

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a 60 gallon compressor that will fill a tire in seconds, but it works great if used properly. I had a tire on a jeep liberty that had only 20psi of air in it. I filled it to 35 pounds of psi in about 5 minutes. The compressor sealed good to the valve stem so I just went and sat down and let the little machine do its things. I will recommend this to my friends and family.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Works Like A Charm!

12/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fist off, Buy this! Now I will tell you why -
For less than $20 you can't go wrong. I was a bit skeptical since it was so inexpensive but thought it was worth a try, so glad I did!
I have one tire that has a slow leak and add air about every 4 or so months and it was time again. This has a pressure gauge built in and when I first attached the pump it showed 25psi (should be 35psi), I took the pump off again and used my tire gauge and yes it showed 25psi also so I know the pump was correct.
The stem attachment has a toggle lock down so once you attach it to the stem it holds tight. First use on that tire and it took about 5 to 6 minutes to reach the 35psi.
The unit is small but don't let that throw you off when you first see it may strike you as too small for the job but like they say "good things come in small packages!"
I also had to fill a passenger side that I never really notice, gave the pump a 5 or so minute break and once again no problems filling to the correct psi.The pump never got hot or overheated.
This unit does not have a plug on it, you can only plug it into a "cigarette lighter" type outlet in your auto so make sure your car has one.
This unit is small, compact and a real work horse. i would suggest everyone keep one in their auto for an unexpected emergency. Pay once for this unit and never pay for air again at a station!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great Tire Inflator

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been researching tire inflators all last week and was a little skeptical about buying the slime inflator after reading the reviews, but I found it for $15 in store so I decided to go for it. First, its really small and very convenient to keep in the car. Second, the inflator does a great job filling up my tires on my 350z (but keep in mind I'm only adding a 2-3psi here and there). If you plan on filling up multiple deflated tires, then I would recommend buying a much bigger unit, this unit is really meant for 1 tire (meaning filling up a deflated tire in 10 minutes, waiting another 10 minutes or more for the unit to cool down, then on to the next). Overall, its very useful for small tasks, so set realistic expectations when buying this inflator. Also, buy it in the store and you'll save a few dollars vs the online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

You get what you pay for

12/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for a low tire prob issue I was having until I had to purchase a new tire for my car. I only needed to use this for less than 10 min a day for only a week. It died on me the day before my tire appointment luckily. I would not recommend this product unless you plan on using it only once a year or more. Not very good quality. I should have spent a little more money and bought a better quality air pump.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Ya Get what ya pay for

02/25/2011
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The pump pumps, the light works and the pressure gauge functions , but overall the unit has many drawbacks and is not recommended.
The "plug into the lighter" plug is very cheaply made and will need very careful handling if it is to last more than a few uses. The contacts on my unit are very loose.
The outlet hose which you connect to the tire is way too short, although it is as advertised, two feet long. Two feet isn't much when the valve to the flat tire is at the top of the wheel.
The connector itself is hard to manipulate but not much different from others of its type.
It takes way more than eight minutes to inflate a deflated auto tire. In fact it took four minutes to inflate a bicycle tire from 45 pounds to 70 pounds.
Overall, it works, but Ya get what ya pay for.
Not recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Very satisfied

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good buy for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Not happy

01/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The inflator blew the fuse in my car. I returned it for a refund and bought a different one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Mike

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please keep your money, honestly it's a poor product, Walmart really need to take this one off the shelf immediately. Lasted only after 4 uses.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Good product to use in a pinch

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am glad I bought this! It is convenient to have in the trunk, and it works when one of your tires has lost substantial pressure (not recommended to having to pump up 4 flat tires as it heats up and shouldn't be used for longer than 10 minutes). But the light works, the gauge is convenient and it fills up quickly. It's noisy, but that is a small price to pay. I have not had any problems with mine and I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Didn't work!

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my boyfriend. When he got a flat a few days later, and tried using it for the first time, it didn't work!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great portable tire inflator for car and bike

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a couple of inflators on ebay and was very disappointed. This inflator has all the features I wanted and then some plus Walmart's price was better than PepBoys. The features I wanted were the on/off switch and a lever to connect the device to the tire (not a screw-on). This device also has a light to help you see when it is dark, like in the garage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

First Class Product

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little device to add pressure to your tires or fill up a flat. The price is right and it is a great item to leave in your trunk for emergencies. Obviously it is not going to replace an air compressor that you would use in your garage for filling multiple tires everyday. Other reviews are complaining about overheating but they are mistaken if they think they will get a full time air compressor at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light
05/31/2011
By ,
Northern Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fort the price, this thing is a great buy. I bought this to keep in my trunk for emergency flat tires and to air up bicycle tires and air mattresses. I understand that this is not a full size air compressor, and will not air up multiple tires one after the other without overheating. I have used it to inflate a P185/60R15 tire from completely flat to 35 psi in about 6-7 minutes. Overall, it's a great value and I would recommend it for emergencies or light use. It would be nice to have a longer air hose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

So far so good

07/07/2010
By ,
Dawsonville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product at our local Walmart to inflate my riding mower tires. We found the product for $15.00 and thought that it seems to be a good deal considering manual bicycle pumps were around $10.00. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical but so far this has come in very handy. I have used it on my riding mower tires, my daughter's bicycle tires and for a blow up float at the beach. It has worked perfectly every time. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Lifesaver

01/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this little guy on a few occassions. It has, literally, been a lifesaver when my wife and I experienced a flat tire in extreme Colorado winter weather. In short order we were able to reinflate our tire and make it to the nearest tire center for a repair.
It's loud and can be unstable, even on flat surfaces, but it works!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Never be flat again!

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I travel lot, and sometimes my my tires are low..having this handy gives me peace of mind...and road safe
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

D..O.A.

09/03/2014
By ,
Riesel, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What happened the very first time I took it out of the box & tried testing it to make sure it will work when needed? Absolutely NOTHING.
Well, the LED light works. So I guess that's something. But if I wanted a LIGHT, I could BUY a LED light that's 2 times brighter for the same price (which I have). I needed an air compressor.
And all I got was... click.. click.. click...
I seriously doubt the fuse blew out the very first attempt & I don't have any extra laying around, and even if I did, why should I replace a fuse when the fuse that came with it should've worked to begin with?? IF that was the problem. Maybe I simply got a lemon. I don't know. I'll never know. As I won't be buying this brand again. Waste of time, gasoline (2 round trips from my middle-of-nowhere home to nearest wal mart) When I SHOULD be sleeping as I have a big day ahead of me... which requires I have a working inflator .. so.. i'll down an energy drink to keep these heavy eyes open and back to wal mart I go.. for a second time in one night. Here's hoping my next compressor actually works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

cheap & YMMV

05/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a cheap compressor for my bicycle, so I bought one for about $19 (incl tax). When I tested it. it was DEAD - won't pump air, the gauge never moved and was noisy as a jack hammer. It even leaked the air from my tire (maybe there is a leak in the tube near the compressor). When I saw this performance that I truely appreciate the great quality of my Viair 70P compressor (its so quiet that my car engine is louder). Many people who wrote comments here have success with this Slime product, so I am assuming that I got a bad product. I am going to get another one and see if that works. If not, I'll get a bit more expensive compressor.
Will I recommend this product? Yes, if you are budget-conscience and your needs for a compressor are minimal. You might want to try it out at a gas station first, in case you'll also have a similar experience as mine. It depends on your luck whether it works or not. This Slime compressor deflated my tire completely when I was testing it. If I didn't have my Viair compressor, I might have to have the car towed to a gas station to fill air.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next