Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

The Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light is a must have equipment for every car owner. It has the capability to inflate a standard car tire in 8 minutes with little effort. A powerful 12-volt, 300 PSI compressor and an accurate gauge make this inflator an efficient and excellent machine. The gauge is easy to read to help you in determining the amount of air inside the car tire. This car tire inflator easily plugs into the 12 volt accessory outlet to operate. A bright LED light is very helpful for night use. This Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light includes ball and raft inflation adapters that make your work easy and convenient. Easy to use, this lightweight portable tire inflator is a great addition to your car s accessories. Also, it is ideal to take with you when you are traveling far.
Average Customer Rating:
3.613 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(181 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation72%130 out of 181reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Not a Bad Inflator

09/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this inflator on a 2004 buick century and it works fine. The built in light is is great. Only drawback is it's little loud but overall its great.
Note: The recommended tire pressure is not on side of tire. On newer vehicles its usually on the b-piller on driver side, trunk lid, behind the fuel filler door, or in your owners manual.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Corpus Christi
tire info.
Posted 11/09/2013
Correct tire pressure for a particular vehicle has never been on a tire; it is located on the driver's side door jam. The tire pressure on the side wall of a tire is simply the max pressure that tire is rated to safely handle.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Broke in 2yrs. but they replaced it

10/04/2011
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is just your basic little compressor in an oversized plastic frame. Don't be in a hurry when you use it. Mine broke after two years of very modest use and I called the Slime folks. A very nice lady made an exception to their warranty and offered me a free replacement - the warranty is 12 months.
This compressor is fine to add a few pounds to a regular tire or do bike tires. I would not want to try to inflate an tire from 0 psi with it. NOTE: the directions call for using it with the ACCESSORY port, not a cigarette lighter port, because with the higher power draw you might burn out the lighter fuse. You also need to let it cool for 25 minutes after you use it for 10 min. That just isn't realistic, but it is the manufacturer's requirement. The unit itself has a fuse, so if yours stops working, check that - it is probably inside the plug you plug in.
The next time I need to buy a compressor, I'll go up a level and spend a little more for something more durable and a bit faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great Tire Inflator

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been researching tire inflators all last week and was a little skeptical about buying the slime inflator after reading the reviews, but I found it for $15 in store so I decided to go for it. First, its really small and very convenient to keep in the car. Second, the inflator does a great job filling up my tires on my 350z (but keep in mind I'm only adding a 2-3psi here and there). If you plan on filling up multiple deflated tires, then I would recommend buying a much bigger unit, this unit is really meant for 1 tire (meaning filling up a deflated tire in 10 minutes, waiting another 10 minutes or more for the unit to cool down, then on to the next). Overall, its very useful for small tasks, so set realistic expectations when buying this inflator. Also, buy it in the store and you'll save a few dollars vs the online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Ya Get what ya pay for

02/25/2011
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The pump pumps, the light works and the pressure gauge functions , but overall the unit has many drawbacks and is not recommended.
The "plug into the lighter" plug is very cheaply made and will need very careful handling if it is to last more than a few uses. The contacts on my unit are very loose.
The outlet hose which you connect to the tire is way too short, although it is as advertised, two feet long. Two feet isn't much when the valve to the flat tire is at the top of the wheel.
The connector itself is hard to manipulate but not much different from others of its type.
It takes way more than eight minutes to inflate a deflated auto tire. In fact it took four minutes to inflate a bicycle tire from 45 pounds to 70 pounds.
Overall, it works, but Ya get what ya pay for.
Not recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light
05/31/2011
By ,
Northern Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fort the price, this thing is a great buy. I bought this to keep in my trunk for emergency flat tires and to air up bicycle tires and air mattresses. I understand that this is not a full size air compressor, and will not air up multiple tires one after the other without overheating. I have used it to inflate a P185/60R15 tire from completely flat to 35 psi in about 6-7 minutes. Overall, it's a great value and I would recommend it for emergencies or light use. It would be nice to have a longer air hose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

So far so good

07/07/2010
By ,
Dawsonville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product at our local Walmart to inflate my riding mower tires. We found the product for $15.00 and thought that it seems to be a good deal considering manual bicycle pumps were around $10.00. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical but so far this has come in very handy. I have used it on my riding mower tires, my daughter's bicycle tires and for a blow up float at the beach. It has worked perfectly every time. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

First Class Product

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little device to add pressure to your tires or fill up a flat. The price is right and it is a great item to leave in your trunk for emergencies. Obviously it is not going to replace an air compressor that you would use in your garage for filling multiple tires everyday. Other reviews are complaining about overheating but they are mistaken if they think they will get a full time air compressor at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

great product for the price.

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a 60 gallon compressor that will fill a tire in seconds, but it works great if used properly. I had a tire on a jeep liberty that had only 20psi of air in it. I filled it to 35 pounds of psi in about 5 minutes. The compressor sealed good to the valve stem so I just went and sat down and let the little machine do its things. I will recommend this to my friends and family.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

cheap & YMMV

05/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a cheap compressor for my bicycle, so I bought one for about $19 (incl tax). When I tested it. it was DEAD - won't pump air, the gauge never moved and was noisy as a jack hammer. It even leaked the air from my tire (maybe there is a leak in the tube near the compressor). When I saw this performance that I truely appreciate the great quality of my Viair 70P compressor (its so quiet that my car engine is louder). Many people who wrote comments here have success with this Slime product, so I am assuming that I got a bad product. I am going to get another one and see if that works. If not, I'll get a bit more expensive compressor.
Will I recommend this product? Yes, if you are budget-conscience and your needs for a compressor are minimal. You might want to try it out at a gas station first, in case you'll also have a similar experience as mine. It depends on your luck whether it works or not. This Slime compressor deflated my tire completely when I was testing it. If I didn't have my Viair compressor, I might have to have the car towed to a gas station to fill air.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Same problem

03/23/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While I like how quickly it inflates things, eventually the plug falls apart. I am on my 2nd with this manufacturer and the same problem each time. Trying to find the right fuse is a pain. Should come with an extra.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

full of air

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this because the cold weather in my area kept fluctuating the air pressure in my tires and i was tired of going to the gas station in the cold. This product works very well, just attach it and allow it to do its thing. Because my car has an internal display of my tires on my dashboard i was able to put it on and sit in my car until the lights went off on the dashboard. This product works just as well as a more pricey one i have for several years and finally had to replace. This is well worth $15.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

nearly useless product

03/28/2011
By ,
Magnolia Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The description of this product sounds greats but they fail to mention that it has a tendency to overheat, there could be a twenty plus minute wait for it to cool down between each tire to be inflated, and worst of all the power line from the cigarette lighter jack to the tire inflator unit is only ten feet long meaning it will only reach the back tires on the most shortest vehicles and forget about the longer vehicles or far side tire of a utility or boat trailer. Bottom line for me is this tire inflator is a near useless product as it will only service the shortest of vehicles and nothing else. My advice is unless your have one of the shortest of vehicles and plenty of time to wait to air up it's tires, take your vehicle to the local gas station with an air compressor for tires or find a tire inflator with a longer battery jack power cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
uh...
Posted 08/20/2011
yeah...the sticker on the bottom is VERY specific about heat and not using it for more than 10 minutes at a time and letting it cool for 25+ minutes between uses (of 10 minutes, obviously).
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Two units have stopped working

10/12/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of these units - one for each car. One had an issue with the power connector - one of the silver wires lost it's shape and causes a poor connection. Another failed after two uses. It won't work at all (not the light or the pump). Price seemed good, but quality poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Motor disconnected from compressor.

02/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for a slow leak in my truck tire to hold me over until I got new tires. It worked well for 2 weeks, than it stopped pumping air. Motor runs but it sounds like the compressor disconnected from the motor. Might have something to do with the five below temps. But it should've held up. Also the 12v connection had to be played with to operate.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Mike

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please keep your money, honestly it's a poor product, Walmart really need to take this one off the shelf immediately. Lasted only after 4 uses.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

You get what you pay for

12/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for a low tire prob issue I was having until I had to purchase a new tire for my car. I only needed to use this for less than 10 min a day for only a week. It died on me the day before my tire appointment luckily. I would not recommend this product unless you plan on using it only once a year or more. Not very good quality. I should have spent a little more money and bought a better quality air pump.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

D..O.A.

09/03/2014
By ,
Riesel, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What happened the very first time I took it out of the box & tried testing it to make sure it will work when needed? Absolutely NOTHING.
Well, the LED light works. So I guess that's something. But if I wanted a LIGHT, I could BUY a LED light that's 2 times brighter for the same price (which I have). I needed an air compressor.
And all I got was... click.. click.. click...
I seriously doubt the fuse blew out the very first attempt & I don't have any extra laying around, and even if I did, why should I replace a fuse when the fuse that came with it should've worked to begin with?? IF that was the problem. Maybe I simply got a lemon. I don't know. I'll never know. As I won't be buying this brand again. Waste of time, gasoline (2 round trips from my middle-of-nowhere home to nearest wal mart) When I SHOULD be sleeping as I have a big day ahead of me... which requires I have a working inflator .. so.. i'll down an energy drink to keep these heavy eyes open and back to wal mart I go.. for a second time in one night. Here's hoping my next compressor actually works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS

10/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked up one of these in the nearest WM store so that I could inflate a completely flat tire on my C1500 pickup in the back yard as I didn't want to damage the tire by driving it around to the garage to use my shop compressor. Well, it seemed to work fairly well for 3 or 4 minutes putting about 20 psi in the tire. Then, the motor suddenly began to run much faster as it apparently lost engagement with the actual pump inside. That was it-- motor still runs but it doesn't pump ant air. Obviously, these are not meant to take the place of a multi-horsepower shop compressor but it should at least be capable of inflating a single car or light truck tire. I would strongly recommend that you pass this one by as I don't see it lasting long enough to inflate a single tire, in most cases.
For a good tire inflator see my review of the Slime model 50063 tire repair kit
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Saved my bacon!

10/11/2011
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Driving down the road in the rain in my Honda Civic with my 2 kids in the back I was shocked to discover my R) rear tire was flat as a pancake courtesy of a large nail! (I'm talking rim on the ground here).
The slime tire inflator connected effortlessly, ran like a charm and gave me enough air to get the car to a tire repair station. I'm not sure how it would stand-up to daily use but this is the perfect device when you're in a pinch ... no more manual pumps or struggling with car jacks and super-tight tire nuts in the rain. I'm absolutely thrilled, it saved my bacon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

THIS PRODUCT IS A TIME & MONEY SAVER!!

12/06/2012
By ,
Arlington,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had woke up one morning to find one of my tires had a nail in the middle & was flat as a pancake..I first thought about changing it to my spare but I have a truck which requires me to have to do a little more than others to get it out(A lot of work)..I then thought about using some fix a flat but read how tire changers would not mess with tires with that liquid inside of it because of the dangerous chemicals causing the customer to have to replace instead of repair the tire..I purchased this for less than 17 dollars(Sales tax)..Less then 8mins I was successfully on my way to the tire place who took the nail out & I spent zero money because my tire was still good..It is very lightweight & easy to use & store..Great light to see at night what you are doing..Has all the adapters to air up anything..Makes minimal noise nothing that will cause complaints from neighbors..You will not find a better product that meets all expectations..Buy this so next time you won't be stranded or have to kill yourself getting the spare on & off..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next