Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Slime Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

The Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light is a must have equipment for every car owner. It has the capability to inflate a standard car tire in 8 minutes with little effort. A powerful 12-volt, 300 PSI compressor and an accurate gauge make this inflator an efficient and excellent machine. The gauge is easy to read to help you in determining the amount of air inside the car tire. This car tire inflator easily plugs into the 12 volt accessory outlet to operate. A bright LED light is very helpful for night use. This Slime Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light includes ball and raft inflation adapters that make your work easy and convenient. Easy to use, this lightweight portable tire inflator is a great addition to your car s accessories. Also, it is ideal to take with you when you are traveling far.
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation74%105 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 153 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Not a Bad Inflator

09/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this inflator on a 2004 buick century and it works fine. The built in light is is great. Only drawback is it's little loud but overall its great.
Note: The recommended tire pressure is not on side of tire. On newer vehicles its usually on the b-piller on driver side, trunk lid, behind the fuel filler door, or in your owners manual.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Corpus Christi
tire info.
Posted 11/09/2013
Correct tire pressure for a particular vehicle has never been on a tire; it is located on the driver's side door jam. The tire pressure on the side wall of a tire is simply the max pressure that tire is rated to safely handle.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Broke in 2yrs. but they replaced it

10/04/2011
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is just your basic little compressor in an oversized plastic frame. Don't be in a hurry when you use it. Mine broke after two years of very modest use and I called the Slime folks. A very nice lady made an exception to their warranty and offered me a free replacement - the warranty is 12 months.
This compressor is fine to add a few pounds to a regular tire or do bike tires. I would not want to try to inflate an tire from 0 psi with it. NOTE: the directions call for using it with the ACCESSORY port, not a cigarette lighter port, because with the higher power draw you might burn out the lighter fuse. You also need to let it cool for 25 minutes after you use it for 10 min. That just isn't realistic, but it is the manufacturer's requirement. The unit itself has a fuse, so if yours stops working, check that - it is probably inside the plug you plug in.
The next time I need to buy a compressor, I'll go up a level and spend a little more for something more durable and a bit faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great Tire Inflator

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been researching tire inflators all last week and was a little skeptical about buying the slime inflator after reading the reviews, but I found it for $15 in store so I decided to go for it. First, its really small and very convenient to keep in the car. Second, the inflator does a great job filling up my tires on my 350z (but keep in mind I'm only adding a 2-3psi here and there). If you plan on filling up multiple deflated tires, then I would recommend buying a much bigger unit, this unit is really meant for 1 tire (meaning filling up a deflated tire in 10 minutes, waiting another 10 minutes or more for the unit to cool down, then on to the next). Overall, its very useful for small tasks, so set realistic expectations when buying this inflator. Also, buy it in the store and you'll save a few dollars vs the online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Ya Get what ya pay for

02/25/2011
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The pump pumps, the light works and the pressure gauge functions , but overall the unit has many drawbacks and is not recommended.
The "plug into the lighter" plug is very cheaply made and will need very careful handling if it is to last more than a few uses. The contacts on my unit are very loose.
The outlet hose which you connect to the tire is way too short, although it is as advertised, two feet long. Two feet isn't much when the valve to the flat tire is at the top of the wheel.
The connector itself is hard to manipulate but not much different from others of its type.
It takes way more than eight minutes to inflate a deflated auto tire. In fact it took four minutes to inflate a bicycle tire from 45 pounds to 70 pounds.
Overall, it works, but Ya get what ya pay for.
Not recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

First Class Product

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little device to add pressure to your tires or fill up a flat. The price is right and it is a great item to leave in your trunk for emergencies. Obviously it is not going to replace an air compressor that you would use in your garage for filling multiple tires everyday. Other reviews are complaining about overheating but they are mistaken if they think they will get a full time air compressor at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light
05/31/2011
By ,
Northern Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fort the price, this thing is a great buy. I bought this to keep in my trunk for emergency flat tires and to air up bicycle tires and air mattresses. I understand that this is not a full size air compressor, and will not air up multiple tires one after the other without overheating. I have used it to inflate a P185/60R15 tire from completely flat to 35 psi in about 6-7 minutes. Overall, it's a great value and I would recommend it for emergencies or light use. It would be nice to have a longer air hose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Inexpensive Tire Inflater

07/13/2014
By ,
San Juan Capistrano
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this several times now. It is noisy but that is the only criticism I have. It does not deliver high volume but there is plenty of pressure. It is more than adequate for the occasion inflation of tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

A Real Life Saver for a Quick Flat Tire Fix

04/10/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a gadget that really works and is a God send. I keep this in the trunk of my car and have used it about six or seven times so far. It has saved me in remote areas on several occasions. The auto tire inflator is really easy to use and this is from a woman's standpoint.
If my tire looks low or near flat...it only takes several minutes (5-10) to get it inflated. As long as your car's cigarette lighter outlet is working, you have nothing to worry about. I also like that this model has a built in flashlight just in case you are out at night in a dark area...it will let you se what you are doing. I highly recommend this product to anyone who drives/owns a vehicle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Great Product

04/07/2014
By ,
Eagle Pass, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item a year ago and it has saved me from getting flat tires countless of times. I have also had complete flat tires in the morning and the inflator will inflate the tire as advertised. I love this product because it inflates the tires so I can drive to the tire shop preventing me from wasting so much time exchanging the flat one for the spare tire. I recommend this product. Look no further, buy it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Good

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could think about adding clip on to hook up to batteries. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

The product was not as advertised

07/06/2014
By ,
Bay Area CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product description on the web was a 300 psi tire inflator. The product I got was only 100 psi which does not meet my need of 125 to 130 psi to inflate my bicycle tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

So far so good

07/07/2010
By ,
Dawsonville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product at our local Walmart to inflate my riding mower tires. We found the product for $15.00 and thought that it seems to be a good deal considering manual bicycle pumps were around $10.00. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical but so far this has come in very handy. I have used it on my riding mower tires, my daughter's bicycle tires and for a blow up float at the beach. It has worked perfectly every time. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Highly Impressed with my new Slime Tire Inflator

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't recall the former brand name WalMart carried but Slime is an A+ improvement to the former. The compressor is quick & efficient making me very satisfied regarding my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Excellent tire inflator

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value and meet expectations...very easy to use...very recommendable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Awesome Product ;)

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing. It saved me when I was out camping and my car tire went flat and thanks to this product my tire was full of air and we were ready to go. It also blows up those large floatys for the kids that takes us moms and dads at b least 45 minutes to taking turns hehe yeah it's great. I recommend this for everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Piece of Junk Not Worth the Cost

06/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the pump to fill up pool inner tubes for a lazy day of rafting.
Pump worked for about 4 minutes then burnt out and the pump barely put any air in the tube.
If i had this to fill up a car tire I'd be pretty upset as it'd take who knows how long to work.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

died quickly

06/21/2014
By ,
Logan, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The light went out after about a dozen uses, and the pump went out after about a year of occasional use. While it worked, it worked okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Two units have stopped working

10/12/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of these units - one for each car. One had an issue with the power connector - one of the silver wires lost it's shape and causes a poor connection. Another failed after two uses. It won't work at all (not the light or the pump). Price seemed good, but quality poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Perfect for Small sedans, Motorcycles or Bicycles!

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Relatively quiet compressor compared to others on the market, more powerful compressor than expected! I can fill an extremely low tire from low teens PSI to 36 PSI in LESS than 2 minutes. Most important feature for me is the tight, secure connection the fill hose makes with the valve stem. Of all the experiences I have had with this type of connector, this is the ONLY one I have ever used on a large tire successfully.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Slime - Portable 12 Volt Tire Inflator with Built-in Gauge and Light

Get what you pay

03/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this twice and the com pressure went out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next