Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Play your movies and music in car with this portable DVD player! The Philips PD7012 features two 7" TFT LCD display screens — enjoy your DVD movies, music and photos on the road. This portable DVD player installs and mounts easily for in-car enjoyment.
Average Customer Rating:
2.744 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation43%53 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

AMAZING Invention!

03/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We travel A LOT during the summer with our 2 kids and this is the best invention ever! Thank you Philips. We have tried other brands and we really love Philips. It works perfect every time and really helps us make good time on the road. I think every parent should have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Review 2 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Great for trips

09/08/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this just after Thanksgiving 2009. From day one it has been great for short and long trips. From the moment it came on in our van, my son became a new person. This highly active and energetic 2 year old became calm and focused as he watched the like of Thomas the Train, Little Einsteins, and others.
It's a very simple unit and doesn't required any setup. We love it and have been looking for another for our other vehicle.
Pros: Convenient. easy to use, has survived Florida summer heat in the vehicle the entire time.
Cons: Does not return to place upon re-entering vehicle (this is a bit aggravating after brief runs from vehicle), No input option for main unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 3 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Up grade is best!

04/24/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this product and was pleased with the price, even paid extra to make sure it arrived before our trip. When we got it one of the screans looked great the other was broken. With no time to return and get one back before our trip, I went to walmart and returned it. The only ones they had in stock were the 9". for more money. I was not happy about the price but for our two long trips this idem is a necessity. (1 3 year old and 2 2 year olds!)
The Up grade is AWESOME!!!! Def worth the money! The screan is huge compaired to the7". Who knew 2 inches were so big?!
Also the option of playing 2 dvd's at a time is nice and both can come into the hotel and play 2 different movies with a wall outlet!. The 7 " is probably good, but in our case the up grade package is our best value for our money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
Thank you!
Posted 06/09/2011
Thank you! I just bought this product from my local Wal-Mart store and returned it once I realized I can't play 2 different movies at the same time. I have 2 kids and need to be able to do that for our road trip this summer. I just bought the 9" player after reading your review! I can't wait to try it out! You were very helpful!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Great Design

02/11/2011
By ,
Dayton OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned another Walmart-purchased DVD player that was not so wonderfully designed and didn't work as well. These clip securely on the seats and movies can be changed easily. I paid $20 more for this model than the last one but is worth EVERY penny. I have had no frustrations with this one at all and wish I had purchased this one first!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 5 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

A piece of junk

07/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This dvd player arrived and when I got it all hooked up and ready to go, it wouldn't turn on. No lights came on nothing. So I plugged it into the wall outlet and still nothing. Piece of junk and waste of money. I have bought 3 different dual dvd players and they were 2 different brands from Wal-Mart and the 1st one worked for a couple of months then just stopped working, the 2nd one only 1 screen worked when I got it, and this one didn't even turn on. I'm going to try RCA next and hopefully that will work. Very disappointed in this product. Keep your receipt if you buy one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 6 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

NOT DOUBLE PLAYER

06/09/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just bought this from my local Wal-Mart store. To my surprise, it does NOT allow you to play 2 different movies at the same time. You can only play 1 movie on the two screens. I couldn't find that information anywhere on this website, nor does it say this on the box in the store. So, I just returned it and bought the Philips 9" 2 pack double dvd player. It was a little bit more money, but I need to be able to play 2 different movies. I have 2 kids and we road trip during the summers.
But, it DOES look like a very nice dvd player and I'm looking forward to being able to use it this summer. I will review the 9" ones once we get a chance to use them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 7 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Good deal

12/28/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was very helpful when traveling cross-country with my kids. We would turn them on when they were getting fuzzy in the car. They are great!!! We like them. So far we haven't had any trouble with them. The sound is great. Everything works amazing. The only thing this product is missing is a remote. My wife had to turn around from the passenger seat every time a button needed to be pushed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 8 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

01/03/2011
By ,
lakewood, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this product and I appreciate the way the players strap on to the headrest. The last DVD player we bought had a horrible way of strapping to the headrest. Great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 9 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Baby Saver

08/30/2010
By ,
Wilmington Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took a trip to Flordia from Delaware, and this kept my daughter quiet about 17 hours out of 18 driving time. Excellent Quality too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 10 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Overall good portable DVD

07/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first portable DVD player I have purchased and I was pleased with it. I did a ton of research and looked at Amazon, Frys Electronics, Radio Shack, Target and Best Buy. This one I felt was the best bang for the buck. It did just what it said it would. No problems hooking it up, and both screens worked well. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Perfect!

07/24/2011
By ,
Kent, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. the straps are not velcro so you don't have to worry about them coming apart in an accident. and the picture is perfect. we only have one child, but its nice to have the pair if a friend comes along. it's great for travel or being stuck in traffic. I just wish it had a remote. other than that, it's a great purchase. And Walmart had the best price! Thanks Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

dont buy unless u get an extended warranty plan

12/20/2010
By ,
st. cloud MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when we first bought the product it was the best thing ever with 4 kids and a busy lifestyle we thought it was the perfect buy. but after 3 months of using the product it stopped working first making a gurling sound and then the dvds wouldnt work. they sent us a refurbished replacement worked for another 3 months then the second screen started to go black on us we had to jiggle the wires here and there then that stopped working completly. now the first screen the most important one is starting to not work right again always displaying (no disc feature) unfortunaly the warranty plan was over and then as u say we were SOL on your own. so pleeeeze if u decide to buy this get a back up Warranty plan or u may be out of luck like we were. if u can afford to pay that much money every year and a half and like phillips customer service then this is the right one for u. i would not recommend anyone buying this for it was a headache for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37
11/19/2011
By ,
Portage, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I bought these I loved how easy they attached to the head rests and they had great picture quality but after 2-3 months the second screen broke so we just had the DVD screen but the girls wanted to fight over who's head rest it went on so we jammed it between the two seats but if it got bumped it would fall and then trying to put it back into place while driving was a pain. But I really like the phillips brand so I decided that I would buy them again but 6 months later same thing happened. But I only have 1 cigarette lighter and I bought the multi one but it just blows the fuse so I can't play both DVD player screens.
Most of my friends bought the Sylvania one's so I think this Christmas Santa will bring them new Sylvania DVD players but I've been thinking since I have a Jeep Cherokee that I might just buy the one that attaches to the roof.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Great Portable DVD Player

12/16/2010
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. This player is working out great. I am still wondering about the overall life of the product but only time will tell. Like all portable DVD players, I am having to put some wedges behind the units to get them at the correct angle for my children. That has more to do with the design of the head rests, not the DVD Player/Monitor.
Having poor experiences with portable DVD players/monitors, I remain cautious about recommending this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Second try...still a flop

11/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned the first one due to faulty speakers. Returned the second one due to faulty cables and disfunctionality. Do NOT buy this product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 16 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

never worked right

02/06/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this 3 months ago. I didn't buy the extended warranty but it does come with a 1 year from Philips. This maybe worked perfect 5 times. It helped on the 1400 mile trip. After that, it never worked right. The second screen started going in and out with the picture. I wiggled the cord and it would work. Finally, the picture just quit in it. I could get sound but it was fuzzy. I spent $120 on this piece of junk. Yeah, they are going to replace it but I highly doubt the new one will last longer. I take care of the things I buy and so do my kids. But this is just NOT WORTH THE MONEY I spent on it. I should have listened to the other reviews and bought something else. Even with the warranty, who wants to get it replaced with the exact same thing and have to do it all over again? Save yourself time and headache and do NOT get this please. (I never even used this often, less than once a week.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

2nd Screen gone out

01/04/2012
By ,
Gardendale, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
within 3 months of purchase 2nd screen went out...sent back to philips...they sent new one. Then within 6 weeks again 2nd screen went out. They want to send me yet another one or buy back from me what its worth...R u kidding me....Never Ever buy Philips again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

We can't hear the movie!

02/04/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a great price online, and the visual quality is good but we can't hear the movies. The volume is so low no one can hear the movie unless they are sitting directly in front of the player and lean in close. Even when we played it in the house. I have four kids in a minivan so this player is basically useless to us. I'm very disappointed. It was a lot of money to waste. The second screen stopped working altogether after a few months even though we kept it packed carefully in a case between trips. I'm glad I didn't buy it in the store where it cost $50 more than online. This would probably be a good player for a two kid family in a smaller vehicle.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 19 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37

Cords are wimpy and too short

05/02/2011
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheap cords, cords are not very long. A true pain to try and get enough stretch to reach the middle seat. Forget trying to reach the back seat in a suburban or van.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, PD7012/37
05/23/2011
By ,
tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked fine the first day but when trying to use it the second day it would not even turn on. returned back to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next