Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

The Sanyo 42" plasma HDTV features 720p 600Hz performance for the digital age. The digital tuner is Digital Clear QAM, capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. Sporting a high gloss black finish, it will virtually disappear when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs With a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, you have options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output connects the Sanyo 42" plasma HDTV to a home entertainment system. A USB input allows display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo Plasma HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional wall mount kit (not included). Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo 42" plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation84%87 out of 103reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Cheaply made

01/22/2011
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews you read are from folks that have owned the product for a short period of time. I have had the Sanyo for 38 months when the Main Signal Board went out. It cost over $400.00 to repair the set. I learned how cheaply the product is made and it is designed to work for a short period of time and then be thrown away. There were some other issues that I can not comment on here but it is surfice to say that I will never buy a Sanyo again. It may look good out of the box but real value is in how long a product will last. For this TV model and brand, there is little to no value. Don't waste your money like I did and look for a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 22 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Great buy!!!!!!!!!!!

01/01/2012
By ,
Rock Falls,Ill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a set for my mother as a gift.I went to Wal-mart and was looking at all the lcd's,led's and plasmas they had.I was about 20 ft away from the models and there it was.it was clear which tv's i wanted to take a closer look at.The 50" Sanyo plasma and 42"Sanyo plasma,which both stood out from the rest of what they had.So, there i was with my face in this large screen.It said $398.00,#i thought to myself,it's under $500.00 my limit# it's 720p,and its 600hrz.Which means no lag for sports,or playing games.they go from 60hrz to 600hrz,so i like this and its the best.Needless to say where i was next with a cart and the tv.So, i went to my mothers and set it up for her.It was easy and took about 10 to 15 mins,and was worth the time to do it.the colors looked very good for a set under $500.00.Seeing i spent $424.00 on this one,and it's worth the money.Everything is easy to set up and the picture looks nice,u cant go wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Sanyo 42 inch Plasma dp42740

12/04/2010
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a great deal of time at Walmarts TV wall trying to make a decision. When I say a great deal of time I mean 10 hours or more over a few weeks. There were so many choices and so much variation on prices for the same size tv. My concern was that I didn't have a lot to spend and that if I didn't spend a lot I would be very disappointed with the tv. I didn't want something too small so I would adjust where I stood in the store to observe the sets that were turned on.
I focused in on the 42" Sanyo plasma because of the price. A store associate actually was a tremendous help in telling me about why the picture looked so odd on the plasma (a major greenish tint) compared to the lcd or led. I had thought that you would have to deal with the tint if you wanted a large screen tv for that price. He explained the difference was because of the lighting in the store.
Reluctant to spend that much money, I went ahead and bit the bullet and have not been unhappy at all. The tv is great for our living room which is about 12 to 15 feet viewing radius. The picture quality is perfect. My kid will be getting the xbox for Christmas and I understand the plasma tv is great for xbox. I was concerned about power usage but I have found those fears to be unwarranted.
As far as the cost goes, around 450 bucks, I paid a lot more than that for a 27" crt console I got at Montgomery Wards (those of you over 50 know what store that was) back in the mid 80's.
If you want a big screen for an affordable price you won't go wrong with this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 24 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Great TV for the Money

08/17/2011
By ,
Marshall, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this tv for almost 2 years and the picture quality and sound are just as good as the day I bought it. I have never had a problem with images getting burned into the screen and I use it for dish, movies, and gaming. This tv is used everyday for long periods of time and is still working great. The only downside is that in order to play video games I have to unplug my dvd player because there is only one av hookup. I plan on buying another tv for my bedroom soon and I will definitely be buying this tv again. Plasma tvs are far better than a led-lcd because you dont lose picture quality it viewing up close or from an angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 25 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Great Product, Audio is NOT an issue

04/10/2011
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV has a great picture and a decent price, what more can you ask for? So its not 1080p, well neither is your cable TV (even the HD), or DVD. If you want to watch Blu Ray, or have satellite you may want something different. But for cable, or DVD, or streaming for that matter this is more than adequate.
As far as the sound goes. For those that complained about the sound, try adjusting the settings! Its very flexible, it does come set very flat, with no bass, but its an easy adjustment. Push a few buttons on the remote, took all of 30 seconds to figure it out or spend 5 minutes reading the short but informative manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Great value for a budget TV

12/01/2011
By ,
Panama City, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up a 50" version of a Sanyo last Christmas (2010). I liked it so much we got a 2nd one. This year we needed one for a bedroom and picked up this 42" based on how well the 50's worked. It's as good as the 50"s. It may not have all the bells and whistles but it is a solid HDTV for a very good price! Both the 50's are running strong today as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Panama City, FL.
Update to my review from 12-1-2011
Posted 01/01/2012
I used this TV a few days and then put it up to give to my 88 yr old mother for her bedroom as a Christmas present. It worked fine from xmas until it died 6 days later on 12-30-2011! It acted like it was powering on (green light, click) but then after 5 seconds it went back off. Went thru this for 1/2 an hour. Finally gave up and took the thing back to Wally World and picked up a 42" Hisense LCD TV to try for the same price. Wally had another 42" sanyo but I didn't want to try another one since the one went kaput after 6 days. I would not recommend this TV but it seems Wally World won't let you edit your review! STAY AWAY!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

best tv we have ever brought

12/31/2010
By ,
tomball,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great picture sound could be better abd for under $500 you can't beat it I was a little worried after seeing the one in the store it had a very dark picture I went to check another store and noticed a big diffrence I would highly reccomend this tv to someone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 28 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Great Budget HDTV!

08/13/2010
By ,
Gainesville,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Sanyo Plasma is great! I now thoroughly enjoy watching TV in my house. I had a LCD, BUT it was blurred during quick motion, during sports or action scenes in a movie, also with LCD's the picture is not perfect when watching TV at an angle. I now enjoy it all.
Pros: Almost everything!
Cons: It literately takes 14 or 15 seconds to come on from standby. The audio is not great out of the speakers, so I have it hooked up to my stereo amplifier. Also, the TV resets itself, very rare, doesn't really bother me much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 29 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

EXCELLENT PLASMA

07/14/2010
By ,
BELLWOOD ,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV IS GREAT I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY.
THE SOUND, AND THE PICTURE QUALITY IS GREAT.
ONLY THING WITH THE SOUND, YOU CAN HERE A HUMM, WHEN THE VOLUME IS LOW. BUT WHO WATCHES TV WITH A LOW VOLUME, THE HUMM IS AROUN AT THE LOW 3 LEVEL. HAVE A GREAT DAY, BUY THIS TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 30 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Setup and Operation

07/22/2011
By ,
Senoia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wal-mart associate warned of laying it face down, would have to wait 24 hours to set up. Transported it home upright, tied down in pickup truck. Problem was that the manual said the set had to be face down to attach the base. Manual did not mention about not powering up for 24 hours; called customer service (in the US) and they said yes that was true. Set unit with each end on a furniture dollie leaving a gap in the middle to attach base. You cannot rotate with the input button through individual channels. Once the input button comes to a channel number you must then use the channel button to view other channels. Programming off the air digital signals, the manual is not clear on how to scan for channels and then add additional channels when you rotate your antenna. Each time you auto search for channels it wipes out previous searches. If the set has not found a channel you cannot point the antenna in the proper direction and punch the channel in. It will say not available, but if you search with the antenna in the proper direction, it will program it in. Menu has digital add-on for adding new channels. Very vague.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 31 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

A Great TV & A Great Buy!

07/12/2010
By ,
San Diego, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first to buy this TV only because this was my first HD plasma big screen. I had no knowledge of it but I was comfortable enough with the Sanyo brand that I went ahead and did it anyway. I have had it for a couple of weeks now and I have to say that I have ZERO complaints about this TV set. It was the easiest thing ever to hookup and view right away. There is a color printout on the back of the TV to walk you through which cables to plug where and with in 10 minutes of attaching the stand - I was watching TV! It's glossy finish makes it look like a high end and more expensive TV, it has perfect sound even without a home theater hooked up to it. I have purchased 1 HDMI cable from Amazon.com for $9 for maximum picture quality and sound and it works great! Don't go out and waste your money on any HDMI cable over $20 - they are all pretty much the same!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Really great value

01/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Great value, quality picture, quality sound
Cons: Stand doesn't swivel, no backlight on remote, no sleep timer
This TV does the job. Picked it up for around $450. Although it is only a 720p plasma screen the picture quality is awesome. The sound quality is very good (in my opinion) for a flat screen in this price range. I've had the set for over a month and used it to watch New Years Eve celebrations from Boston to New York and was not disappointed. However, as with any plasma, read the instructions manual. This TV does have two features that are there to help you avoid screen burn in issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Nice TV

08/30/2010
By ,
New Orleans, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can’t beat this TV for the price. Its only purpose is gaming. I have 4 game systems hooked up and they all look great. It’s my first plasma so I guess ill see how that works out, but so far so good. No complaints at all. I had one small settings issue but the 1-800 number for Sanyo was very quick and had me up and running in a couple of minutes. I think I was on hold for 2 minutes at the most. It will never replace my 53” Phillips that I paid way to much money for but it’s still a great TV for a small to medium size room, like a game room or something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 34 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

turns itself off and on, and green screen of death

02/15/2011
By ,
seattle, wa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this TV less than a year is now driving me nuts and of course did a consumer reports review of sanyo before i bought. The TV screen goes green sometimes and you have to turn off and on again.... which isn't a short process on this TV. The TV will also randomly turn itself on and off!
The sound is bad, i read the review about that and you can hook up external speakers so there is that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Awesome TV for the price

12/08/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this TV about three months ago and have had no problems with it. The picture is awesome and very clear. Color is also very good and just the overall quality is outstanding. We were a littly leary of buying a Plasma because of problems they have had and LCD televisions tend to have better picture quality. But we took the chance and love this TV. Would reccommend it any day over an LCD TV. We did buy a 3 year extended warranty as I would buy on any TV purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Great Value

07/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom needed a TV in a hurry - she is a shut-in and her old TV went out, but she is on a fixed income. Doing some online comparisons, I found this TV, and she was delighted with the price, and impressed with the quality! She is really happy with the TV, (and she was prepared to be picky since TV is her main source of entertainment). It was also her first online purchase experience, and she was pleased with the process as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 37 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

I have made another excellent purchase!

11/20/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally brought a Sanyo 26 inch for our little sitting room a while back. The quality was, and still is, excellent. Therefore, shortly after, I began to think about my living room and REFUSED to check into another option BUT Sanyo. I kept watching the price of the 42 inch plasma until I felt that it had finally reached my price range. I went online and ordered it on my birthday, picked it up a few days later, and the cable man added the additional HD service to it the day before yesterday. The picture is absolutely amazing! When the room is fully lit, the picture adjusts itself to the lighting in the room and when it is dimly lit, it does the same. I absolutely hate writting reviews about anything. However, future potential Walmart TV shoppers need to know that their buck needs to stop right here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740
11/08/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is honestly a great buy. I have only had my TV for a month or so, but it is fantastic. It has a great picture quality and the sound is great for a TV. It is light weight so if I need to move it around I can do so. Even my cat loves watching a big screen now he chases everything he sees on the screen. This was a great by and I recommend everyone to have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740

Terrible sound quaility.

12/29/2010
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I must have gotten a lemon, because the audio sounds like it is coming from a tin can or a cheap cordless phone. Static and tinny sounding. Picture quality is great, but it really doesn't matter how good it is if you can't stand to listen to it. I will be exchanging for a different brand due to audio problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for SANYO 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP42740
07/04/2010
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the plasma itself its worth every penny,we have and olevia 37 lcd before we purchase this tv,had some problems witht the directtv hd dvr its not compatible with the plasma so i cant wath the tv with hdmi cables i have to use component cables not a big deal,the tvs is beautifull and big so overall good buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 93 total reviews