Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

This Sanyo Plasma HDTV features the latest technology for the digital age. The digital tuner is Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. Sporting a high gloss black finish, it will virtually disappear when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs. You will enjoy this full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, with plenty of options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater like sound. The Sanyo Plasma HDTV also has an additional PC/Mac input, which allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A new for 2010 USB input allows photo viewer display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo Plasma HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional wall mount kit (not included). Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full adv
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation81%74 out of 91reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Fabulous Entry-Level Plasma with HIGH quality

02/07/2011
By ,
Maumelle, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed by this plasma television. I returned a MUCH more expensive LCD set after being disgusted with the quality, and opted to try this instead - and save quite a bit of money in the process. I was quite surprised. The picture is nothing short of crystal clear, the color is beautiful. I am so happy that I bought this flat panel TV - and, on top of all that, my Playstation 3 is just amazing on this brilliant 50" screen! The sound can be a bit tinny, but since I have a home theater surround sound system, that was of no concern. Just hook up the simple sound outputs on the back of the set to the input on the home theater receiver, and whatever I decide to show through the TV, be it Television, DVR, Blu Ray, DVD, or PS3 - all come through automatically. If you are looking for an AMAZING value and a great product, look no further! It comes as no surprise now why I had to hunt through all the Walmarts to FINALLY find ONE in stock - they are apparently in high demand. If you happen across one, SNATCH IT UP - IT WILL NOT BE THERE LONG! And there you have it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

glare

03/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This TV is not good in bright rooms or by windows there is a very high glare its almost mirror like. We also had some issues where it turns off and then back on again by itself. We are returning.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 23 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Best bang for your buck

06/01/2010
By ,
manville, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this tv in dec 2009 still holding up great! excellent quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 24 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Disappointed

07/25/2010
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched this product before purchasing. Have owned Sanyo tv's in past and still have a 20 inch sanyo tv that works great and is almost 15yrs old. This plasma though is another story, it worked great for a year then the picture went half screen. I called the company and used their repair guy, which cost me 125.00, and he said nothing wrong it. We got it back after 2 wks and it went out again. I have called the company repeadly and they still have not called me back. This is obviously a defective product. When it worked, it was a great tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 25 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

stopped working

01/23/2011
By ,
Merced CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
great deal, $565.00 for a 50" plasma After only a week the tv stopped reading the hdmi inputs . I reset per manufacter recommendations.DID not work. I am very familiar with electronics.The TV stopped reading,I connected via component cables the tv read those,?? not going to give another chance for this thing to stop working. You get what you pay for. I bought this to replace the LG plasma that was stolen in a break in,,LOOKS like I got to spend the $ to get real quality.This lemon is goin back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 26 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740
10/26/2010
By ,
Hood River, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 50" Vizio tv lost sound. We took it to the repair shop to find out it would cost $850.00 to repair the component that went out. It could be more if one of the other 2 components went out at the same time. We saw the Sanyo and it was less to purchase than repairing our other TV. I am very pleased with the picture quality of our Sanyo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 27 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

A very good deal

08/10/2010
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this product via site to store it was delivered quickly and they even helped me get it in my car. It has great sound and picture, when flipping through channels it takes a sec to load the picture but I suspect most Plasma's do that. Loved it so much I bought my grandparents one for thier home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 28 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Randomly shuts off!

07/12/2010
By ,
Rincon, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have only had this TV for about 3 weeks and it will just randomly shut off while we are watching it. It takes forever to get it to come back on. Yesterday it stayed off for 2 hours before I could get it to come back on. I am in the process of sending trying to send it back. Other than this defect it is a awesome TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 29 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Great TV for the price!

06/18/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this TV in August 2009.
For the price it can't be beat. The plasma tv's seem to have a little more glare on the screen than the LCD or LED tv's. This Plasma TV seems to have more vibrant colors than an LCD TV.
The only way to get a better, brighter and more colorful picture quality than this Plasma would be to purchase an LED with a 120hz refresh rate but it will cost double the price of this television.
So if you are wanting to spend less than $800 dollars on a very nice TV, you will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 30 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

BLOWS

09/26/2010
By ,
illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought the tv cause it was a cheap 50" tv that says 600hz which trust me is nothen like the 120hz on lcd's ya its the smooth motion tech built in to lcd's that make everything look smooth not the actual hz amount.
But anyway i thought i would be able to tweak brightness settings to get the tv brighter but there is nothen u can tweak contrast is set to max allready on every profile and turning up brightness looks horrible.
It is just way to dark to enjoy trust me when i say spend $100 or more on a lcd 120hz over this cheap tv.
I returned this for the 47" vizio 120hz tv and it is awesome!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Not recommended

03/16/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive had this TV for less then 4 months, The sound started making horrible static noises everytime someone talks on TV, the tv picture fluctuates and when watching blu ray movies this tv isnt capable of that you can see every single pixel and it starts looking blurry, Ive made a mistake buying this, no wonder its a cheap price
But hey, you get what you pay for right?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Best Black Friday Purchase Ever!

11/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this TV Black Friday 2009...We have had it a year and had no problems. Our friends can't believe the clarity on this 720p compared to there 1080p and no weird jogging/pixelation when watching sports events.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

so so

11/27/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for... the sound is horrible.. very low and the speakers were already blown out way before we put it to use..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 34 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Sanyo Plasma

09/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great tv for the price! Beautiful picture and a 50' screen is SO NICE!! Sanyo is a very reliable brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 35 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Great TV

07/03/2010
By ,
Lenoir
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a Great TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740
07/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love this tv, the hd picture is amazing. remember the glare, it is a plasma so if there is lighting in the back you will see it. overall for the price its amazing the sound has a little background noise when turned down very low but hardly noticable. it has plenty of hdmi hookups as well as video and audio. my biggest complaint is if you have hd running to your tv and are watching a station that is not in hd you can have problems seeing scores for sporting events. we do watch tv every night for a few hours and have had it for about six months, for the most part we are very pleased. We did purchase the 5 year extended warrenty which is more for the plasmas then the lcds, but was well worth the feeling. highly recommended tv for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Not worth the money

01/31/2011
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV for a Christmas present to my family 3 years ago. Paid twice as much as they are asking for it now. After just 3 years it shut off and would not turn on. Took in to get repaired and they said it was a bad powerboard and that they did not even sell the parts for it anymore. Very disappointed in product! Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

Great TV but has glare

08/12/2010
By ,
Pine Mountain Club, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this tv in great condition; right to my front door.
After the simple hook up and the installation of my hd receiver from my satellite company, it has a beautiful picture!
Everything works fine; easy to understand and operate. My only complaint: I cannot turn on any lights in front of the tv due to the glare. It does not perform like a regular hdtv; no glare proof glass.
All in all, I love the performance and the color is one of the best I have seen. I would recommend this to anyone who likes a television with great color and is not used too often.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 39 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740

07/23/2010
By ,
Independence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best TV I have ever owned, great price great picture
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for SANYO 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, DP50740
06/12/2010
By ,
md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got this tv thoughtit wasthe bst untl iwent to turn it on after only 2 years of havig the tv nothing the tv just stoppd it would not come on the tv repair people said she tells everyone it is like buyinga deposeable tv would not recommend to anyone was such a letdown
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-3points
21-40 of 79 total reviews