Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

The Sanyo 46" 1080p LCD HDTV features the latest technology for the digital age. This Digital Clear QAM tuner is capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. Sporting a high gloss black finish, it will virtually disappear when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs You will enjoy a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, with plenty of options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. The Sanyo 46" 1080p LCD HDTV also has a PC/Mac input, which allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo 46" 1080p LCD HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional wall mount kit (not included). Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo 46" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
2.805 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation46%19 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Do Not Buy

07/04/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just picked this up today and will be returning it tomorrow. My biggest issue is the picture quality is awful. There so much noise in the picture that HD programming might as well be analog. On top of that, the one I bought has a dead pixel in the top center of the screen (see image below). I wasn't expecting this tv to be phenomenal at this price point, but it's not even bearable.
Also, there is no input menu. In order to switch from one input to the next. You have keep clicking the input button on the remote to manually flip through the 10 or so different inputs.
Altogether this tv is not worth the money. For a little less you can get a decent 42" set, which is what I will be doing tomorrow when I return this piece of junk.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840
06/21/2010
By ,
Hattiesburg MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this TV for a week but so far it is a great TV for what you pay. I paid $648. What a deal for a 46 inch LCD TV. This is our fourth Sanyo TV in the past 17 years. I have always had good luck with Sanyo TV's and have 2 that are in childrens rooms (you don't get more abuse than that) and they still work. I think the sound is just fine. I wonder what some people expect with small built in TV speakers. If you are looking for surround sound quality then buy a surround sound system. Don't dog the TV.
Here is something that may pertain to one of the other reviews I read on this TV about the sound. I ran into the first night I was setting up this TV. Unlike my other two HD TV's, when using this one with the Cable box you can control the volume seperately from the TV and the Cable box. For example, the cable remote and the TV remote BOTH control the TV volume on my Toshiba (there is no cable box volume that pops up). On this TV I found that the TV remote controls the TV volume and the cable remote controls volume from the cable box. If I turn up the TV volume over 35 and then I turn up the cable volume over half way the TV sound will start to cut out like a cell phone with a bad signal. The TV will not be too loud since I have the cable box volume low but it appears that the AUDYSSEY Dynamic Volume feature of the TV is kicking in to balance the sound, thus, causing the sound from the TV to cut in and out. since the TV THINKS the volume is very loud even though it isn't.
I hope that make sense. I have had no other other sound issues once I figured all that out. Now I only use the cable remote for the sound and I just leave the TV volume at one setting.
I will update this review if I have any problems but so far it's a great TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 3 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Poor sound/ Poor company support

05/25/2010
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this 46 inch sanyo lcd 14 months ago, the sound has always been poor. The sound will break up like a cell phone connection and you have to change the channel back and forth to get it back to a solid stream.... The company did nothing but have you reset settings which did not work. The after 14 months a capicitor went bad on a board which is contained within the sealed panel- half the screen would go black intermittingly. Service techs cant get to the board beacuse its within the panel section and repl;acing the panel is more expensive then a new TV. Sanyos customer service response is the warrant expired 60 days ago. Will never buy another Sanyo product. This from a customer who has Sanyo TV's, camera's, other products.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 4 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Don't buy it!

07/21/2010
By ,
Melbourne, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this TV from Walmart approx 2 yrs ago..Soon after the 1 yr Warranty expired (How convenient) a black smear started to appear on the screen...It would periodicly appear about 1 hour after being turned on..Then it would go away after leaving it on all day..Eventually it never went away and the picture was still there, but the black "smear" was always present..Sanyo said they could reccommend a local TV Repair shop to take it to...That was about all they had to say about it...It could be a "Lemon" , but who knows how many more are lurking out there.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Good value and product

07/17/2010
By ,
Jackson, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the reviews I was skeptical about purchasing. I had been eyeballing the floor model in the store for a couple of months now. It always looked good and the angle of viewing seemed great compared to the Vizio products. Had it a little over a week and am impressed so far with it. We did get the 2 yr extended warranty just in case. But overall, this TV looks great, the picture is great, and the sound quality was way better than expected. We do have it hooked up to surround, but it sounds just fine on it's own if you do not have surround.
The ONLY complaint, if you want to call it that, has been voiced here already. If you want to switch inputs you have to run "all the way around the dial" so to speak to get to an input that was listed before yours in the TV. Having to push the input button repeatedly to get to the one you want is aggravating, but for this price, and the quality of this TV so far, it is a small inconvenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

UPSET SHOPPER

06/03/2010
By ,
va beach, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tv at the end of January 2010 for 800 dollars thinking it was a great deal... It seemed great until the last day of May and it blew out.. The Picture cut out and the tv started making a buzz noise and now it is completely dead.. What trash.. My husband called Sanyo and really had it out with them so they are refunding the tv and warranty and everything else.. We are going to get another brand tv this weekend.. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER SANYO AGAIN....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

SETUP A SNAP

06/02/2010
By ,
cALIFORNIA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd sanyo. great price.good picture.
sound better than expected. set up a snapVERY LIGHT AND STYLISH
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Waste of money

06/29/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tv in July 2008. Soon after our 1 year warranty expired, we began to get parts of the screen blacked out intermittently. Over the last 6 months, it has become progressively worse. Now it happens every day, usually for about 30 minutes after turning on the television. According to other customer postings online, it appears that it's a defect in this Sanyo model. We had a tv repair guy come out to diagnose the problem. The part the is going out is no longer available and, even if it was, it would cost more than we paid for the television. So, beware of Sanyo LCD televisions. It's very frustrating to pay this much for a television and only get 1 1/2 years use out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Very dissapointed

11/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture was blurry from the start. After about a year I hung it on the wall within a few months the picture started getting spots at the top of the screen. Talked to Sanyo and guess what they only cover it for a year. So spend your 600+ for this after a year and it goes bad. You could always pay someone a few hundred dollars to come and fix it...Take a chance?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 10 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Don't buy it

01/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tv last year at christmas, around thanksgiving this year, the tv started making a static sound when we turned it on, then the picture went completely out, luckily we purchased the warranty, we had to wait a couple of days before the tv repair shop came to look at the tv, they couldn't fix it at our home, so they took it back to the shop, two weeks later we learned that the repair shop could not repair the tv because they couldn't get the part that they needed, but to be fair with the warranty company they offered to replace the tv or send us a check for the total cost of the televison, so two months later we have a brand new vizio tv
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 11 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

A member of two others at home.

11/22/2010
By ,
Ansonia, CT.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit and my other Sanyo's total up as a: 46 inch, 42 inch and a 19 inch. All over the year mark, they are at least 18 mo.
All have great sound and pictures. The value here is great quality. Hope I can find a 60 plus inch for my next buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

DONT BUY!

01/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV thinking it was a GOOD Tv WRONG! after my warranty ran out a blue line appeard on the left side of my screen. Im 6 weeks out of warranty. It wil cost you $95.bucks just to have the service people look at it! And Sanyo wont help in ANY repairs or cost! even being 6 weeks out of warranty! It seems like this happens as soon as the 1 yr warranty is up do the research before you buy it, Im not the only one this has happend to. I'm by no means telling you to buy the Extended Warranty why buy it? This TV should last longer then 1yr. I dont have children so no ones beatin on it or banging on it or throwin things at it. it just simply sits in its cornner. You dont see the line till your about 3 feet away from the TV,But who watches a 46" TV from 3 ft away?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

poor

06/14/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it lasted 1year and three monthsand the screen went out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Samsung Quality At A Sanyo Price

12/05/2010
By ,
St. Louis Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Returned a Panasonic 42" Plasma and a 46" Samsung LCD before being satisfied with this 46" Sanyo LCD that I found in a metro St. Louis Wal-Mart store for $599. I had been looking all day for a 46" TV that would satisfy my picture needs and budget. After seeing this Sanyo's picture quality next to all the other TVs, I purchased this model with no regrets. Picture quality is acceptable with hook-up to my AT&T U-Verse composite cables, and HDMI cable for DVD. Sound is OK, nothing special, and overall, I am saying, you would not go wrong to have this set in your man cave to watch sports or movies. HD picture quality is awesome, while SD picture quality is OK. With ths model, you really can see the difference between source material broadcast. With 60Hz , I do not see any issues with sports blur. I believe 120Hz would be better, but I cannot discern any difference.
If your budget allows for a more expensive, Samsung, Sony, Sharp, Toshiba, LG, Vizio, or Panasonic, to name a few, go for it....for me though, pocketing the savings and having an outstanding picture for a lot less money with this Sanyo DP46840 model has this consumer satisfied and with no buyers remorse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Very nice TV

06/22/2010
By ,
Heber Springs Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looked a long time and checked prices as well, bought the 42" first saw the 46" would fit better returned 42" and have been very pleased. Don't know what the deal is with the sound mine is wonderful! Picture is what was expected, a little grainy (I don't have HD) but very acceptable and on the HD channels and with movies.... unbelivable! Only had it for a week or so and will buy the extened service plan, just in case. Sill an excellent buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Dont Buy!!!!!!

06/02/2010
By ,
Mckinney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unless you enjoy buying TV's every two years, dont buy this one! The picture fades to black after the warranty expires. Sanyo service is like calling the President. I read the reviews too late and learned a $900 lesson. Im warning you....google this model and see for yourself....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

2 seperate tvs broken within a week

01/16/2011
By ,
Chantilly, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply put do not waste your time on this TV I purchased one and brought it home mounted it on the wall. Within a few days the audio just started cutting out here and there for no reason. I returned it and got the same model thinking maybe I got one of the few defective ones. Within a few days of my SECOND brand new TV started having the same problems. On top of that I starting seeing vertical black lines occasionally. I will be returning this one also. I will never purchase anything from SANYO again and suggest you do not waste your time either. I will be purchasing the Samsung even though there is a $200 difference. The price will be worth a TV that doesn't break within the first few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

DO NOT BUY SANYO

12/05/2010
By ,
Baltimore MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't believe they are still selling this brand. go figure that as soon as the warrenty is out the screen starts going bazerk. We have had this computer 2 years and now have to buy a new one. a major inconvenience for a TV that is supposed to last 60,000 hours. Its ridiculous! It started happening out of the clear blue sky. not gradually. Plan and simple - I will never buy a Sanyo again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 19 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

don't buy this tv

11/27/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv at walmart in 2008/2009 for $1098 and never got a clear picture. I was told by the cable company to pay for a box to enhance the picture and after 1 year the picture got worse until it would show colored stripes up and down the tv. Took it to a tv repair shop and the owner of the shop has had it for 1 month and said the logic board needs replaced and is waiting for the company to respond so I can get an estimate. He said it may cost the same as what I paid for the tv. I told him to let me know since I will just buy another tv ( not a sanyo)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Sanyo 46" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 60Hz, DP46840

Waste!!!

12/10/2010
By ,
Beaumont, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this about 5 months ago at walmart as a birthday gift for my mom. I was excited about it since it's a 1080p and was thinking they could finally use their bluray player.
5 months after it just would not turn on. I called Sanyo and they told me to bring it to a repair center within 24 hours. 6 o'clock in the morning the next day someone from sanyo calls me and tells me not to bring it to the repair man and instead wait for 10 business days and they would replace it. so 2 weeks without TV for my parents. waste of time, effort and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next