Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Speakers! Wonderful Remote great Value

06/12/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a pleasant surprise. This floor unit cost me only $366 plus tax. So I took a chance. A small nick here and there, otherwise it looked good to me.
I really wasn't expecting much as I only wanted it for a monitor for my wireless keyboard 12 feet away. The first thing I noticed was it's beauty then I heard the sound and was simply amazed; 95 percent of all lcd's have terrible sound quality when you spend under $700. But not this baby, I was hard pressed to believe it has only 2 ten watt speakers that produced this exceptional sound quailty!
Since I don't have Dish or Cable I did not care about the 60Hz, however another nice surprise was that it's 1080, cool for later if they ever have anything on TV worth spending $40 a month on, till then it's HULU, DVD's, online stuff etc. for me.
The remote has a light whenever you press any button I like that too. If you get HD service it's really all the same anyway isn't it, , Blue-ray too, those devices produce for themselves and any ($500+) LCD will be very very close to each other regardless of price. Buy this one and you'll save heartache and you'll have this big monster monitor too. Not for those who need super crisp deep colors and/or football fast action. Perfect for those who want a tv that works with good performance and easy to use remote. On Screen easy user friendly menu.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 2 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Exceeded expectations

06/15/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought the 19" Sanyo LCD TV for my wife's workout area. I was pleased with the quality and price so I looked at the 42" 1080p for the livingroom to replace the old 25" traditional tube. I was reassured to see it's a Consumer Reports best buy. Upgraded to DirecTV's HD-DVR and had the new set for the installer to put it all together. The picture is great and so is the sound. We are not using a separate audio system at this time. Note on picture quality with this 1080p set: HD channels are crystal clear and "pop" like you won't believe (yes, you really can read the name of the putter on that golf club); non-blu-ray DVDs are pretty darn good but not HD quality although the depth of color is great compared to regular TV (for example District 9 is much clearer and PBS series The War is awesome on it); regular TV programming that's non-HD is OK but you'll know immediately it's not HD because of lack of sharpness. We're extremely pleased with this purchase for quality and price. Note: the accompanying photos were taken with a cell phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv
Posted 09/22/2011
I'm curious as to how your tv is doing now? I bought this tv back when it cost $800. I have had it for 2 years and it has all of a sudden turned to a black screen and it will cost me more to fix it than it is really worth. I would recommend getting a very large warranty as I am not the only one that has had this problem. Check out the reviews at this link. http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv-reviews/sanyo-dp46849-review/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV for a Great Price

06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has no glare on the screen even with lights on and a great picture. I spent 8 months looking for the best & biggest TV I could get under $600, and this is definitely it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+64points
Review 4 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

remote didn't work

06/15/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just bought this today in Canada, I know I'm on the US site but I think the products must be the exact same. My remote refused to connect at all to this tv, even went out and bought new batteries. which also you should know this tv did NOT come with batteries for the remote. It takes 2 AAA's . Which is pretty useless as everything is programmed by the remote. On the side of the tv is ON/OFF volume and 2 buttons that (I guess)control the channels and also the inputs on the tv. but could NOT get these buttons to change any channels.?? It came right out of the box on a stand which was nice but note NO batteries for the remote so If you choose this model pick some up. I'm returning this because of the remote. I can't see how the menu can be adjusted from the tv so the remote is necessity!!! If you lose this remote your out of luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-19points
Review 5 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
06/25/2010
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love my this tv, its not to big and its not to small...fits just right
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Tv

06/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my TV. I had been searching both online and in stores to get a tv for around $500-600. This tv was in my budget and 42 inches. Im able to hook up my computer and watch movies. The only issue I have is that I cant plug up my Wii unless I unplug my tv cables. Besides that I love it! Oh yeah... it looks good on Blu Ray as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Disappointed

06/30/2010
By ,
Poconos, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture is horribly blurry and ANY movement onscreen results in imaging like an overly compressed JPEG (graphic format).
Also, non-hd programming is absolutely awful!!! Pay the extra bucks and get a Vizio!!! I'm returning this TV immediately!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV!

06/30/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this TV for a few weeks now and continue to be amazed at how great it is! The picture is excellent and the sound is superb! I have heard of people experiencing issues with sound quality on LCD TVs but I can tell you, that's not a problem with this tv. Very clear and robust sound quality. The price of this tv and reviews are what pushed me to make the purchase, the first-hand experience with the top quality of this TV is what has made me a firm believer! I made a great purchase! Money well spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

New TV

07/04/2010
By ,
Dumas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Consumer Reports and found this TV rating a recommended and Best Buy. I went to the Walmart website and searched the closest Walmart for this TV model. I ended up ordering it online and found out that it was lower than what Consumer reports stated because it was on sale when I ordered it! Easy to set up. Very happy with the overall experiece and product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

You get what you pay for...CHEAP

07/16/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this TV about a week ago after looking up different TVs and reviews for over a month. I finally decided to go for this one because from reading the reviews the only bad thing I read was 1 remote not working and a few about sound. My remote worked, and I thought the sound quality was the only good thing about this TV.
Picture quality is TERRIBLE!! The TV has no brightness settings or anything. The only options are vivid, standard, and mild. The problem I ran into was when watching anything with a night scene or dim setting. It was like watching a black screen. No matter what "picture" setting I put it on it was still completely black.
I did have a small problem with the sound, but it wasn't that big a deal for me. Whenever I would go from channel to channel or switch from dvd to TV it would have a buzzing sound. It would fade away once the show continued on so it wasn't too big of a deal for me.
All I can say, you get what you pay for. It's at such a cheap price for a reason....NO brightness, NO audio settings, and POOR picture quality. I also had a problem with mine randomly cutting off on me in the middle of watching shows. If you want a TV for just a PC monitor then maybe this would be a good buy. I wasn't even too pleased with the picture/brightness when I had it hooked up to my PC.
Decision is yours to make...I bought a 46' LG from Best Buy for only a little bit more and I am extremely happy with that. This terrible TV got returned to the store after owning it for only a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Review 11 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Boiling Springs, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost went with the ProScan b/c of the cost but I wanted to stick with a brand I was familiar with and the Sanyo is the one I chose. It was listed as a consumer best buy and I couldn't find this flat screen for the same price anywhere. Great value!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Not worth the money

07/21/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this T.V 3 years ago at a much higher price the t.v just went out on 07/20/10 we are no longer covered under warranty and it will cost about the same to buy a new tv than to have this one repaired. Give me the old bubble tv b/c the new ones are a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 13 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42 inch Sanyo

07/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this TV less than 2 years ago... picture went out today.. I have a Sanyo 32 inch I bought 12 years ago that is still working.. Thought I could trust this product, but guess not. This TV was used in a normal capacity, not overused or abused.. From what i have read about repairs on this.. it will be just as cheap to buy a new one (approx $400.00) for repairs.. Guess we will buy a new one...but not a Sanyo !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

LCD TV

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV arrived in good condition at the store and actually fit easily into the back of my prius. Appreciated that the base was already attached. Good picture...blacks not super black but acceptable. With some tweaking it appears to outperform the toshiba 40 in that it replaces (that one was stolen).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Got What I Paid For

08/01/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture is very dark. I thought it was the specific DVD but all my programs are very dark. I lighted the picture with the manual setting on the remote, now it's very grey. This method removed the sharpness.
I got what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 16 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/04/2010
By ,
western PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant value and product. I love this TV and would recommend to everyone looking for a model in mits class
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Sound goes out!

08/05/2010
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this TV for just a few days and the sound on this tv frequently goes out then comes back. The sound will be real "jagged" so that you cannot understand what is said. Or sometimes it will go out all together. If I change the channel and return to what I was watching...it will return to normal. But it gets frustrating to have to do this several times, say, during a two hour show. I contacted my cable company and they did what they could and determined that it indeed is the TV. I am returning the TV as I only had it less than over a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

We Love This Tv.

08/09/2010
By ,
Madison, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent buy for us. Although everything we have purchased from Walmart has met our expectations. I love the on-line buying and delivery straight to the door. This Tv was brought right in to our room by the delivery driver and within 10 minutes, it was unloaded and working as if it had been there for years. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Very Easy to Hook Up, Very Satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 19 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

HELPFUL

08/12/2010
By ,
East St.Louis,Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research when buying this tv. I went to alot of different stores and no one is going to beat this price period. Technology is always changing so there are always gonig to be something better that comes out that you think is better. For the price the picture quality etc. this tv rocks. I have charter digital cable with the dvr and the set up was easy & the picture quality is great!!!!! BRING ON THE NFL BABY !!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Value!!

08/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had mine 1 year now. No problems. Overly impressed from day one. SuperTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next