Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV at a good price

11/15/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great TV. I've had it about 6 months now and I love it. Not the very best but very good sound. Takes forever to change channels. The USB port is a waste, it just shows pictures and you can not arrange the order there shown in. Has all the other connections including VGA for your laptop or computer, and it has a seperate sound jack when your useing the VGA, remember your computer has seperate speakers. I use it mostly with my computer using the HDMI cable and I have my monitor hooked up to the VGA plug on my computer, so I can use them both at the same time. Works really great. I paid just under $600 with tax and all and I think it was a excellent deal. I recamend this TV with a note on the long blackout times when your changing channel.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Very nice TV for the price!

10/28/2010
By ,
Small town
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the TV originally because of the low price...but also I kept in mind you get what you pay for. I thought the TV would be very heavy but it'snot I don't know exactly how much it weighs but I'm guessing it's only about 40-50 lbs. I picked it up out of the box with no problem. (Plasmas are very heavy i'm told) I set it up turned it on and so far I am very satisfied I've only had the TV for about 2 weeks but so far it's great. The picture isn't crystal clear but that may be because I don't have HD and also i the area I live in the signal I get isn't completely digital. It's a very small town and he wiring isn't upgraded here. So i can't imagine how good it would be with someone who has HD and complete digital wiring it would be fantastic! :) BUT overall the picture is great, sound is great, features are great. I am very satisfied with the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good Buy

04/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a 37" Sanyo for ~2 years, and love it. This 42" appears to have an even better picture and sound. I can't imagine how you could beat this deal. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV (HSN Edition)

12/31/2010
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup and connection to all my existing HDMI and S-video devices and easy access to all connections.
One complaint. After I scanned for HD-Channels, I then went to the channel memory to remove unwanted channels. Only one channel does not allow you to remove it! HSN! I did not know Sanyo had a special deal with HSN. Not a problem, but whenever I turn on TV, the channel that comes up first is HSN !!! It does not remember the last channel it was set on when the set is turned off. It is pretty annoying, because it is not a digital channel, but the old low power analog channel (#67). Sound and picture are fine and the initial setup program takes about 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Constantly impressed

12/16/2010
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 26" behemouth tube TV. I thought it was now the right time to buy. I had a $600 budget and a 42" LCD I've been lusting for was considerably below that price. Unfortunately I had to buy HDMI cables so it was back up to the 600 dollar mark.
What I can't get over is that for this price I got a TV that blew me over as far as the picture quality went. I've gone back to the store a couple times now, and compared to the LG and the Vizio, the Sanyo screen was much more pleasing. Maybe it was the color settings that the TVs were set at by default, but the sharpness and the clarity and contrast was all there and what I was looking for.
It's a 60hz LCD, so you get the picture jitter time and again and I was expecting that. But you're still getting a darn good TV for the price.
If this TV lasts for 2 years or more, I got way more than my money's worth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

LCD TV

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV arrived in good condition at the store and actually fit easily into the back of my prius. Appreciated that the base was already attached. Good picture...blacks not super black but acceptable. With some tweaking it appears to outperform the toshiba 40 in that it replaces (that one was stolen).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good choice

12/21/2010
By ,
Two Rivers, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this set only a few weeks but it has already "blown the doors off" the 32 inch set it replaced. Very easy to set up, lots of great features like ports for everything. The sound isn't as good as it should be, but I run the whole thing through a home theater system so sound is not an issue with me. Since I bought this set from their website, WalMart was true to their word as for the delievery date. Great value, lots of bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

We Love This Tv.

08/09/2010
By ,
Madison, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent buy for us. Although everything we have purchased from Walmart has met our expectations. I love the on-line buying and delivery straight to the door. This Tv was brought right in to our room by the delivery driver and within 10 minutes, it was unloaded and working as if it had been there for years. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Very Easy to Hook Up, Very Satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awesome value

09/19/2010
By ,
up michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this today after reading lots of reviews and looking for weeks at my options. I couldn't be happier witht this tv. I saw a woman exchanging her 42 inch vizio as i was going to purchase this unit....hers was buzzing....
I'm not very computor/hd/techno savvy and i was able to open set up and hook up my dvd all in under and hour. Beautiful picture great sound and easy to use. All for 528 not even on sale! I highly recomend this unit- I don't play games or hook anything other than a dvd player to it -so I can't speak to those functions.
If you're looking for a beautiful pic and great sound for under 600 this is it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A high quality television

09/18/2010
By ,
Keaau, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first hi-def tv that I ever owned and I am very impressed with it. The detail in the picture is amazing! Like whenyou watch a ballgame, you can see the individual blades of grass on the field and the colors are so vivid. I am extremley happy and completley satisfied with this product and the price is right too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42 inch plasma

09/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because it was a good value.When i got it home the screen was in 1000 or more pieces.I returned to my walmart in Fitzgerald Georgia The people were very concerned and helped me replace and load my T.V. I REALLY APPRECIATE THE WAY I WAS TREATED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
03/04/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price , great TV . I own 2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Bang for my Buck

03/28/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is one of my best value buys. The picture is spectacular. Easy to setup. I recommend it to all my senior friends and relatives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

HELPFUL

08/12/2010
By ,
East St.Louis,Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research when buying this tv. I went to alot of different stores and no one is going to beat this price period. Technology is always changing so there are always gonig to be something better that comes out that you think is better. For the price the picture quality etc. this tv rocks. I have charter digital cable with the dvr and the set up was easy & the picture quality is great!!!!! BRING ON THE NFL BABY !!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Exceeded expectations

06/15/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought the 19" Sanyo LCD TV for my wife's workout area. I was pleased with the quality and price so I looked at the 42" 1080p for the livingroom to replace the old 25" traditional tube. I was reassured to see it's a Consumer Reports best buy. Upgraded to DirecTV's HD-DVR and had the new set for the installer to put it all together. The picture is great and so is the sound. We are not using a separate audio system at this time. Note on picture quality with this 1080p set: HD channels are crystal clear and "pop" like you won't believe (yes, you really can read the name of the putter on that golf club); non-blu-ray DVDs are pretty darn good but not HD quality although the depth of color is great compared to regular TV (for example District 9 is much clearer and PBS series The War is awesome on it); regular TV programming that's non-HD is OK but you'll know immediately it's not HD because of lack of sharpness. We're extremely pleased with this purchase for quality and price. Note: the accompanying photos were taken with a cell phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv
Posted 09/22/2011
I'm curious as to how your tv is doing now? I bought this tv back when it cost $800. I have had it for 2 years and it has all of a sudden turned to a black screen and it will cost me more to fix it than it is really worth. I would recommend getting a very large warranty as I am not the only one that has had this problem. Check out the reviews at this link. http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv-reviews/sanyo-dp46849-review/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

New TV

07/04/2010
By ,
Dumas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Consumer Reports and found this TV rating a recommended and Best Buy. I went to the Walmart website and searched the closest Walmart for this TV model. I ended up ordering it online and found out that it was lower than what Consumer reports stated because it was on sale when I ordered it! Easy to set up. Very happy with the overall experiece and product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Value!!

08/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had mine 1 year now. No problems. Overly impressed from day one. SuperTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Buy

11/20/2010
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually worked at WalMart when I purchased this product. I researched tv's for some time before making my decision and for the money I feel that this was certainly the best purchase, at least at the time. I bought it back in June of 2009 and seeing how there were no holiday sales or "Yearly Event" specials it was a good purchase for $628 after being reduced from around $678.
I use it almost everyday and sometimes it's on almost all day as I usually fall asleep with it on every night. So far I've had no issues with it. I have friends with Sony's and Samsung's and I also have a 47" Vizio in the living room. These are the 3 best brands in my opinion and in that order. This tv functions just as good as any of them though.
I use it mostly with comcast HD cable but I also use Blu-Ray and Xbox with it as well and occasionally connect my laptop to use it as a large monitor. Speakers aren't that great but I haven't seen any tv with excellent speakers. They are good for an HD tv though but I certainly suggest surround sound or a sound bar and sub woofer if placed in living room, especially if you have a vaulted ceiling. I have it in my bedroom now and the speakers work fine there.
Great product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Absolutely wonderful

06/22/2011
By ,
Northeast Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I've only owned this for a couple of weeks, so far it's operating beautifully. Installation was a cinch with easy to follow onscreen instructions. Picture is great even though I am using the standard receiver instead of the HD receiver from my satellite provider. My only mild complaint is that the volume drops significantly when viewing DVD's--I have to crank the volume and then remember to turn it back down when I cut the DVD off. Other than that one tiny thing though, I'm am entirely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

09/24/2010
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my 42" Sanyo for almost 2 years now and have never had an issue with it. I've owned two older tube modle Sanyos that I also never had a problem with. Mine doesn't have the PC hook up but that was fine, don't need that big of a screen. Mine is also EngeryStar compliant which I really like. The colour and quality of the picture is perfect, even on the old ones and they still work great too. Will be upgrading one of them soon probably with a 26" for the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
41-60 of 99 total reviews