Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

LCD TV

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV arrived in good condition at the store and actually fit easily into the back of my prius. Appreciated that the base was already attached. Good picture...blacks not super black but acceptable. With some tweaking it appears to outperform the toshiba 40 in that it replaces (that one was stolen).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Idk what to think

02/07/2011
By ,
Altamonte springs, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased our tv last year and sat night the picture came on and then blinked out and now we can't get any picture. I am very upset. I don't know what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

I've been pleased

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ended up with this tv when another we bought for ship-to-site was not delivered on time, and we were in a time crunch visiting our vacation home. The Walmart manager gave us this at the same price as the 37" Vizio we wanted. We have only hade it a few days, but set-up, picture and sound quality have been very good. It was only after we bought it did I read the reviews and it made me leary.
This is our 3rd Sanyo, and the first 2 have been very good tvs for 2+ years each. This one has been a great experience thus far. We only visit the home every 2-3 months, and it will not be watched 24/7 like at our home, but it seems like a good product. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Very Good Set for the Money

12/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice HDTV for the price. It is easy to calibrate, and looks extremely good, even with standard definition material over S-Video. HDMI and component inputs are even better.
Out of the box, the regular settings are too vivid, as is the case with most HDTVs. The preset "Mild" setting is a lot more accurate, although the colors appear to be washed out. When calibrated visually with a calibration DVD, or with a colorimeter, the set really looks nice. The only complaint I have is that dark scenes tend to look very blue. I didn't listen to the built-in speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Wish it would just stay on

09/21/2010
By ,
STL, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off let me say that I have nothing bad to say about the picture quality or sound of this TV. The picture is clear and viewable from almost any angle, setup is very simple, and the sound is good enough for a small/mid sized room.
My only gripe with this tv is that it wont stay on!!!
If I pause whatever it is that I'm watching(blu-ray on PS3 or TV via DISH Network DVR) the TV will power cycle after about 15 seconds or so. I've called tech support and he suggested not using the HDMI and switch to component cables. ok so that worked for all about 10 mins(until we got off the phone). I'm returning this TV this weekend.....Again if I wasn't having this issue I'd be a happy camper but I cant recommend this product at the moment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Buy for the Buck!

04/02/2011
By ,
Euless, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this TV on-line when I was moving into my new apartment, and I was blessed by the fact that is was delivered site-to-store in no time, and when if arrived, I was more than excited about the value I got for the price! This TV gas many great features that makes it a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Excellent value

11/28/2010
By ,
N. Atl, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best value TV we own. The picture is not as good as the higher Hzs, but then again, you get what you pay for. In this case, the TV is WELL worth what you pay. The picture is really great and for this size it's a really great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good purchase

09/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briefly, my 15 year old set went out. Big disappointment. 60 inch Hitachi rear projector still looking good and a match for any new set: CRT & 1000 lines of resolution.
Until...
Since I'm know I'm going to be shopping for the real replacement for this set for a while, I decide to replace my computer monitor with something big enough to enjoy, but not expensive.
Read many reviews on this site and online on maybe 12 sets.
Had decided on the ProScan 42 inch, but not available.
Consumer Reviews gave this set a very good buy rating.
I watched this set for a week with it setting on my desk and too close and looking at about the lower third of the screen. Looked good but could see artifacts and top of screen dim.
Fixed that two weeks ago and have not made any adjustments in the menu: there is one and it's easy to access.
Unfortunately I'm having to use the VGA input. I have a five year old computer and it has no HDMI output.
I also do not have a Bluray player.
That said, it produces a very accurate picture: excelent color, brightness and even with standard DVDs, crisp detail.
In addition to movies, I watched, for instance, Married With Children. This is not in HD or 480i.
It was a little soft, but only a little.
The only thing I see is an occasional blur when people are talking, and a little during a quick hand movement.
Otherwise no bluring in any other kind of fast action.
Open the window blinds and turn on the light, the brightness is still very, very good.
Did not check sound: have stereo hooked up to computer.
The best of the best have problems. If you have worries, buy the extended warranty.
For this small amount of money, I'm impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Terrific television

10/12/2010
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv has a beautiful picture with HDTV, and not bad on regular tv. I hooked up a home entertainment system to it and it's like being at the movies with cheaper popcorn. I definitely would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
06/25/2010
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love my this tv, its not to big and its not to small...fits just right
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great tv and easy purchase

09/05/2010
By ,
Orange MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Order was easy on Walmart.com, and we had the tv delivered to our local Walmart. They sent us a text to say the item was in, and they even loaded it into the truck for us. We love the tv and it was easy to hook up. I would highly recommend Walmart.com and also the Sanyo tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Exceeded expectations

06/15/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought the 19" Sanyo LCD TV for my wife's workout area. I was pleased with the quality and price so I looked at the 42" 1080p for the livingroom to replace the old 25" traditional tube. I was reassured to see it's a Consumer Reports best buy. Upgraded to DirecTV's HD-DVR and had the new set for the installer to put it all together. The picture is great and so is the sound. We are not using a separate audio system at this time. Note on picture quality with this 1080p set: HD channels are crystal clear and "pop" like you won't believe (yes, you really can read the name of the putter on that golf club); non-blu-ray DVDs are pretty darn good but not HD quality although the depth of color is great compared to regular TV (for example District 9 is much clearer and PBS series The War is awesome on it); regular TV programming that's non-HD is OK but you'll know immediately it's not HD because of lack of sharpness. We're extremely pleased with this purchase for quality and price. Note: the accompanying photos were taken with a cell phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv
Posted 09/22/2011
I'm curious as to how your tv is doing now? I bought this tv back when it cost $800. I have had it for 2 years and it has all of a sudden turned to a black screen and it will cost me more to fix it than it is really worth. I would recommend getting a very large warranty as I am not the only one that has had this problem. Check out the reviews at this link. http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv-reviews/sanyo-dp46849-review/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great surprise for hubby

08/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a surprise for my husband, and I love this tv. I had never owned a LCD HDTV before and was really worried about buying one (I know very little about them) but this T.v is so nice looks super sleek, and exspensive but was a great bargain! Sound is good, and picture quality is good cannot wait to see what HD looks like when we get the install done. Great buy! Go for it! Football is gonna be awesome this year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

09/24/2010
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my 42" Sanyo for almost 2 years now and have never had an issue with it. I've owned two older tube modle Sanyos that I also never had a problem with. Mine doesn't have the PC hook up but that was fine, don't need that big of a screen. Mine is also EngeryStar compliant which I really like. The colour and quality of the picture is perfect, even on the old ones and they still work great too. Will be upgrading one of them soon probably with a 26" for the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awsome tv

09/24/2010
By ,
Fall River,Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recomended awsome price
i was impressed at the picture so clear easy to hook up dvd,suround sound,wii. i'm gonna buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV AND great computer monitor

09/24/2010
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture quality. Very easy to use. I'm also using it as a computer monitor. My new computer has HDMI output for single-cable audio and video connection to the Savyo. The picture quality as a computer monitor is stunning. Great TV, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

New TV

07/04/2010
By ,
Dumas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Consumer Reports and found this TV rating a recommended and Best Buy. I went to the Walmart website and searched the closest Walmart for this TV model. I ended up ordering it online and found out that it was lower than what Consumer reports stated because it was on sale when I ordered it! Easy to set up. Very happy with the overall experiece and product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Price and a good quality

03/08/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product last Feb 9, 2011 online purchased and it came within 3days. I was so excited to pick-up my 1st big 42 inch screen T.V. It was awesome. I love the style, sound, the connection in the back where very easy. I don't even need another helper to assist me. I just did it on my own. The picture wasn't so much bright but I guess If I want more of pcture more crystal clear. I guess I need the hdmi connector but I'll get that later!. Overall, I'm happy with T.V that I have purchase and definetely, you won't be disappointed with Sanyo. Less price for the price that you can afford and rely on....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV for a Great Price

06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has no glare on the screen even with lights on and a great picture. I spent 8 months looking for the best & biggest TV I could get under $600, and this is definitely it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+64points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Tv

06/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my TV. I had been searching both online and in stores to get a tv for around $500-600. This tv was in my budget and 42 inches. Im able to hook up my computer and watch movies. The only issue I have is that I cant plug up my Wii unless I unplug my tv cables. Besides that I love it! Oh yeah... it looks good on Blu Ray as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
41-60 of 99 total reviews