Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Very Good Set for the Money

12/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice HDTV for the price. It is easy to calibrate, and looks extremely good, even with standard definition material over S-Video. HDMI and component inputs are even better.
Out of the box, the regular settings are too vivid, as is the case with most HDTVs. The preset "Mild" setting is a lot more accurate, although the colors appear to be washed out. When calibrated visually with a calibration DVD, or with a colorimeter, the set really looks nice. The only complaint I have is that dark scenes tend to look very blue. I didn't listen to the built-in speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

I've been pleased

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ended up with this tv when another we bought for ship-to-site was not delivered on time, and we were in a time crunch visiting our vacation home. The Walmart manager gave us this at the same price as the 37" Vizio we wanted. We have only hade it a few days, but set-up, picture and sound quality have been very good. It was only after we bought it did I read the reviews and it made me leary.
This is our 3rd Sanyo, and the first 2 have been very good tvs for 2+ years each. This one has been a great experience thus far. We only visit the home every 2-3 months, and it will not be watched 24/7 like at our home, but it seems like a good product. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Constantly impressed

12/16/2010
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 26" behemouth tube TV. I thought it was now the right time to buy. I had a $600 budget and a 42" LCD I've been lusting for was considerably below that price. Unfortunately I had to buy HDMI cables so it was back up to the 600 dollar mark.
What I can't get over is that for this price I got a TV that blew me over as far as the picture quality went. I've gone back to the store a couple times now, and compared to the LG and the Vizio, the Sanyo screen was much more pleasing. Maybe it was the color settings that the TVs were set at by default, but the sharpness and the clarity and contrast was all there and what I was looking for.
It's a 60hz LCD, so you get the picture jitter time and again and I was expecting that. But you're still getting a darn good TV for the price.
If this TV lasts for 2 years or more, I got way more than my money's worth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV (HSN Edition)

12/31/2010
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup and connection to all my existing HDMI and S-video devices and easy access to all connections.
One complaint. After I scanned for HD-Channels, I then went to the channel memory to remove unwanted channels. Only one channel does not allow you to remove it! HSN! I did not know Sanyo had a special deal with HSN. Not a problem, but whenever I turn on TV, the channel that comes up first is HSN !!! It does not remember the last channel it was set on when the set is turned off. It is pretty annoying, because it is not a digital channel, but the old low power analog channel (#67). Sound and picture are fine and the initial setup program takes about 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Buy for the Buck!

04/02/2011
By ,
Euless, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this TV on-line when I was moving into my new apartment, and I was blessed by the fact that is was delivered site-to-store in no time, and when if arrived, I was more than excited about the value I got for the price! This TV gas many great features that makes it a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good Buy

04/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a 37" Sanyo for ~2 years, and love it. This 42" appears to have an even better picture and sound. I can't imagine how you could beat this deal. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

09/24/2010
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my 42" Sanyo for almost 2 years now and have never had an issue with it. I've owned two older tube modle Sanyos that I also never had a problem with. Mine doesn't have the PC hook up but that was fine, don't need that big of a screen. Mine is also EngeryStar compliant which I really like. The colour and quality of the picture is perfect, even on the old ones and they still work great too. Will be upgrading one of them soon probably with a 26" for the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awsome tv

09/24/2010
By ,
Fall River,Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recomended awsome price
i was impressed at the picture so clear easy to hook up dvd,suround sound,wii. i'm gonna buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV AND great computer monitor

09/24/2010
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture quality. Very easy to use. I'm also using it as a computer monitor. My new computer has HDMI output for single-cable audio and video connection to the Savyo. The picture quality as a computer monitor is stunning. Great TV, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

excellent bang for your buck

11/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product about 3 years ago and its still going strong. It is easy to set up. great picture, I am not an electronic gooroo, but I think I have selected an excellent product. Many hookups in the back allow you to do many things. I have been doing some research on tv's because my son wants a big screen for christmas and I think I may buy him this same tv. I would recommend this product to anyone. Thanks Sanyo for a great product. looking forward to purchasing another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Forget all that don't get you have to adjust it!

01/22/2011
By ,
Sac, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all those that seem to complain about Non-name brands, I'm here to tell you I haven't bought a name brand in 15 years & have had ZERO problems. It's always a good idea to buy a warranty anyway just for the peace of mind alone. What always amazes me is people think you just plug it in & Voila', it should be perfect. Well after buying this I went through all of the different ways to adjust the sound, brightness, bass, treble etc. I got it to come out beautifully. The speakers are pretty weak but if you are buying a TV of this size, you should have a home theater setup anyway. I honestly didn't notice much difference between the 60hz (which this is) to the 120 hz. The price was @ least another $100-$200 more to get the latter. I honestly didn't notice a huge difference from the 720p (my last TV) to this 1080 watching TV too much, but I noticed watching movies & especially noticed it playing my Xbox 360. It's a really great TV for the price especially. I've had Sanyo brand products in the past & think the only thing I ever had break on me was a tape playing Walkman 20 years ago. I'm sure that was because I dropped it more than once too. If you're looking for a nice size TV, but don't want to pay a lot @ least make sure you get the 1080 over the 720 & you should have a Surround Sound System to make up for the weak speakers. However I think all the Speakers on these TV's are generally weak. I'm sure there are exceptions, but get the Home Theater System & I would bet you will think much more highly of the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

08/18/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! Great picture. Fantastic price. Free shipping, too. Much lighter than previous models so I can move it all be myself! This model is apparently the replacement for the 42" model that Consumer Reports rated a "Best Buy."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Tv

06/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my TV. I had been searching both online and in stores to get a tv for around $500-600. This tv was in my budget and 42 inches. Im able to hook up my computer and watch movies. The only issue I have is that I cant plug up my Wii unless I unplug my tv cables. Besides that I love it! Oh yeah... it looks good on Blu Ray as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV for $380 after researching TV's and stalking Walmart.com. It was orginally $400, but I checked back the next day and bam it was $380, can't beat it! The TV arrived exactly one week later, and I have loved it ever since I took it out the box. It fits perfectly in my living room, the picture and sound quality is great. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Boiling Springs, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost went with the ProScan b/c of the cost but I wanted to stick with a brand I was familiar with and the Sanyo is the one I chose. It was listed as a consumer best buy and I couldn't find this flat screen for the same price anywhere. Great value!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/22/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tv, have had it for over 6months...no problems..we are very happy with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Buy

11/20/2010
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually worked at WalMart when I purchased this product. I researched tv's for some time before making my decision and for the money I feel that this was certainly the best purchase, at least at the time. I bought it back in June of 2009 and seeing how there were no holiday sales or "Yearly Event" specials it was a good purchase for $628 after being reduced from around $678.
I use it almost everyday and sometimes it's on almost all day as I usually fall asleep with it on every night. So far I've had no issues with it. I have friends with Sony's and Samsung's and I also have a 47" Vizio in the living room. These are the 3 best brands in my opinion and in that order. This tv functions just as good as any of them though.
I use it mostly with comcast HD cable but I also use Blu-Ray and Xbox with it as well and occasionally connect my laptop to use it as a large monitor. Speakers aren't that great but I haven't seen any tv with excellent speakers. They are good for an HD tv though but I certainly suggest surround sound or a sound bar and sub woofer if placed in living room, especially if you have a vaulted ceiling. I have it in my bedroom now and the speakers work fine there.
Great product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up, great picture, love the sound feature that keeps it from sounding so loud during commercials
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Excellent TV

08/22/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned Sanyo TVs for over 17 years and not once have I been disappointed. We chose this TV because it has a matte finish on the frame rather than a shiny one like most are being made now, thus less distraction. The TV has served us well and we couldn't be happier. The HD comes through crisp and clear and the captioning works great. We have had others ask us what kind of TV it is because they, too, like the picture quality the TV offers. Movies, games for Wii and sports all come through at top quality. Some family and friends have mentioned our picture is so clear they feel as though they're attending a real sporting event when we host get togethers. The only small downfall is the sound quality sometimes. But, we hooked ours up to our surround speakers and it delivers some powerful sound when we watch movies.
Our other Sanyo, 22", is now on the blink after 15 years. We were discussing purchasing another TV and what brand was mentioned? Sanyo. If you purchase this TV, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good choice

12/21/2010
By ,
Two Rivers, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this set only a few weeks but it has already "blown the doors off" the 32 inch set it replaced. Very easy to set up, lots of great features like ports for everything. The sound isn't as good as it should be, but I run the whole thing through a home theater system so sound is not an issue with me. Since I bought this set from their website, WalMart was true to their word as for the delievery date. Great value, lots of bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
41-60 of 99 total reviews