Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV (HSN Edition)

12/31/2010
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup and connection to all my existing HDMI and S-video devices and easy access to all connections.
One complaint. After I scanned for HD-Channels, I then went to the channel memory to remove unwanted channels. Only one channel does not allow you to remove it! HSN! I did not know Sanyo had a special deal with HSN. Not a problem, but whenever I turn on TV, the channel that comes up first is HSN !!! It does not remember the last channel it was set on when the set is turned off. It is pretty annoying, because it is not a digital channel, but the old low power analog channel (#67). Sound and picture are fine and the initial setup program takes about 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Idk what to think

02/07/2011
By ,
Altamonte springs, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased our tv last year and sat night the picture came on and then blinked out and now we can't get any picture. I am very upset. I don't know what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV for an awesome price

11/26/2010
By ,
Winston Salem, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a the 32inch Sanyo for our bedroom last year and was very please so we upgraded our living room to this 42' we are very pleased and very happy with the quality,sound and picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

I've been pleased

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ended up with this tv when another we bought for ship-to-site was not delivered on time, and we were in a time crunch visiting our vacation home. The Walmart manager gave us this at the same price as the 37" Vizio we wanted. We have only hade it a few days, but set-up, picture and sound quality have been very good. It was only after we bought it did I read the reviews and it made me leary.
This is our 3rd Sanyo, and the first 2 have been very good tvs for 2+ years each. This one has been a great experience thus far. We only visit the home every 2-3 months, and it will not be watched 24/7 like at our home, but it seems like a good product. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV at a good price

11/15/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great TV. I've had it about 6 months now and I love it. Not the very best but very good sound. Takes forever to change channels. The USB port is a waste, it just shows pictures and you can not arrange the order there shown in. Has all the other connections including VGA for your laptop or computer, and it has a seperate sound jack when your useing the VGA, remember your computer has seperate speakers. I use it mostly with my computer using the HDMI cable and I have my monitor hooked up to the VGA plug on my computer, so I can use them both at the same time. Works really great. I paid just under $600 with tax and all and I think it was a excellent deal. I recamend this TV with a note on the long blackout times when your changing channel.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Buy for the Buck!

04/02/2011
By ,
Euless, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this TV on-line when I was moving into my new apartment, and I was blessed by the fact that is was delivered site-to-store in no time, and when if arrived, I was more than excited about the value I got for the price! This TV gas many great features that makes it a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Excellent value

11/28/2010
By ,
N. Atl, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best value TV we own. The picture is not as good as the higher Hzs, but then again, you get what you pay for. In this case, the TV is WELL worth what you pay. The picture is really great and for this size it's a really great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great surprise for hubby

08/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a surprise for my husband, and I love this tv. I had never owned a LCD HDTV before and was really worried about buying one (I know very little about them) but this T.v is so nice looks super sleek, and exspensive but was a great bargain! Sound is good, and picture quality is good cannot wait to see what HD looks like when we get the install done. Great buy! Go for it! Football is gonna be awesome this year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

08/18/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! Great picture. Fantastic price. Free shipping, too. Much lighter than previous models so I can move it all be myself! This model is apparently the replacement for the 42" model that Consumer Reports rated a "Best Buy."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/22/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tv, have had it for over 6months...no problems..we are very happy with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Boiling Springs, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost went with the ProScan b/c of the cost but I wanted to stick with a brand I was familiar with and the Sanyo is the one I chose. It was listed as a consumer best buy and I couldn't find this flat screen for the same price anywhere. Great value!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV!

06/30/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this TV for a few weeks now and continue to be amazed at how great it is! The picture is excellent and the sound is superb! I have heard of people experiencing issues with sound quality on LCD TVs but I can tell you, that's not a problem with this tv. Very clear and robust sound quality. The price of this tv and reviews are what pushed me to make the purchase, the first-hand experience with the top quality of this TV is what has made me a firm believer! I made a great purchase! Money well spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV for $380 after researching TV's and stalking Walmart.com. It was orginally $400, but I checked back the next day and bam it was $380, can't beat it! The TV arrived exactly one week later, and I have loved it ever since I took it out the box. It fits perfectly in my living room, the picture and sound quality is great. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42 inch plasma

09/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because it was a good value.When i got it home the screen was in 1000 or more pieces.I returned to my walmart in Fitzgerald Georgia The people were very concerned and helped me replace and load my T.V. I REALLY APPRECIATE THE WAY I WAS TREATED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

11/30/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this tv for over 3 years and we have never had any problems with it. Great picture, sound (we do have surround, who doesn't these days). Great for playing video games, dvds, blue ray etc... People say on here they've had problems with this brand but look at all the others, every brand will have someone saying something bad about it. We have had the black smudges on the screen but it's from kids putting fingers on it. Just get some monster tv cleaner takes it right off.
Getting ready to purchase this tv tonight for our bedroom. GREAT GREAT TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A high quality television

09/18/2010
By ,
Keaau, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first hi-def tv that I ever owned and I am very impressed with it. The detail in the picture is amazing! Like whenyou watch a ballgame, you can see the individual blades of grass on the field and the colors are so vivid. I am extremley happy and completley satisfied with this product and the price is right too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

09/24/2010
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my 42" Sanyo for almost 2 years now and have never had an issue with it. I've owned two older tube modle Sanyos that I also never had a problem with. Mine doesn't have the PC hook up but that was fine, don't need that big of a screen. Mine is also EngeryStar compliant which I really like. The colour and quality of the picture is perfect, even on the old ones and they still work great too. Will be upgrading one of them soon probably with a 26" for the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awsome tv

09/24/2010
By ,
Fall River,Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recomended awsome price
i was impressed at the picture so clear easy to hook up dvd,suround sound,wii. i'm gonna buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV AND great computer monitor

09/24/2010
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture quality. Very easy to use. I'm also using it as a computer monitor. My new computer has HDMI output for single-cable audio and video connection to the Savyo. The picture quality as a computer monitor is stunning. Great TV, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awesome value

09/19/2010
By ,
up michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this today after reading lots of reviews and looking for weeks at my options. I couldn't be happier witht this tv. I saw a woman exchanging her 42 inch vizio as i was going to purchase this unit....hers was buzzing....
I'm not very computor/hd/techno savvy and i was able to open set up and hook up my dvd all in under and hour. Beautiful picture great sound and easy to use. All for 528 not even on sale! I highly recomend this unit- I don't play games or hook anything other than a dvd player to it -so I can't speak to those functions.
If you're looking for a beautiful pic and great sound for under 600 this is it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 99 total reviews