Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Very Good Set for the Money

12/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice HDTV for the price. It is easy to calibrate, and looks extremely good, even with standard definition material over S-Video. HDMI and component inputs are even better.
Out of the box, the regular settings are too vivid, as is the case with most HDTVs. The preset "Mild" setting is a lot more accurate, although the colors appear to be washed out. When calibrated visually with a calibration DVD, or with a colorimeter, the set really looks nice. The only complaint I have is that dark scenes tend to look very blue. I didn't listen to the built-in speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Idk what to think

02/07/2011
By ,
Altamonte springs, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased our tv last year and sat night the picture came on and then blinked out and now we can't get any picture. I am very upset. I don't know what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

LCD TV

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV arrived in good condition at the store and actually fit easily into the back of my prius. Appreciated that the base was already attached. Good picture...blacks not super black but acceptable. With some tweaking it appears to outperform the toshiba 40 in that it replaces (that one was stolen).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Buy for the Buck!

04/02/2011
By ,
Euless, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this TV on-line when I was moving into my new apartment, and I was blessed by the fact that is was delivered site-to-store in no time, and when if arrived, I was more than excited about the value I got for the price! This TV gas many great features that makes it a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV (HSN Edition)

12/31/2010
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup and connection to all my existing HDMI and S-video devices and easy access to all connections.
One complaint. After I scanned for HD-Channels, I then went to the channel memory to remove unwanted channels. Only one channel does not allow you to remove it! HSN! I did not know Sanyo had a special deal with HSN. Not a problem, but whenever I turn on TV, the channel that comes up first is HSN !!! It does not remember the last channel it was set on when the set is turned off. It is pretty annoying, because it is not a digital channel, but the old low power analog channel (#67). Sound and picture are fine and the initial setup program takes about 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good Buy

04/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a 37" Sanyo for ~2 years, and love it. This 42" appears to have an even better picture and sound. I can't imagine how you could beat this deal. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/04/2010
By ,
western PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant value and product. I love this TV and would recommend to everyone looking for a model in mits class
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

great tv

08/26/2010
By ,
mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered a 55" proscan 240hz lcd from walmart, when it was going to take a month to get hear i went to the store and bought this to hold me over and was very happy with it. sound is better than the 55" i got and picture is very good very bright price was great and even being a 60hz i have had no ghosting in ps3 or wii games at all clash of the titans on blue ray looked great .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A great buy

02/14/2011
By ,
El Paso TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being tired of dumping money into fixing an old Mitsubishi big screen (old projection style, bulky) I decided to get a new set. This one was on sale at local store for $498. What a value. Ease of set up, just plug in, hook to cable and let it scan input channels for a few minutes. Then it is ready. Great picture, decent sound quality for the internal speakers.
The only down side is my DVD player had an "S-video" cable hooked up to the old set. This Sanyo DOES NOT have an "s-video" plug.
Rather than go with the HDMI cable, i merely got a 6 foot RCA connector type (the old style basic - yellow plugs) and hooked that to DVD player and the TV. Put in a DVD, looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Absolutely wonderful

06/22/2011
By ,
Northeast Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I've only owned this for a couple of weeks, so far it's operating beautifully. Installation was a cinch with easy to follow onscreen instructions. Picture is great even though I am using the standard receiver instead of the HD receiver from my satellite provider. My only mild complaint is that the volume drops significantly when viewing DVD's--I have to crank the volume and then remember to turn it back down when I cut the DVD off. Other than that one tiny thing though, I'm am entirely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up, great picture, love the sound feature that keeps it from sounding so loud during commercials
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV all around

11/26/2011
By ,
central florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a smaller Sanyo in our Master bath, it has been great. Bought this one for our Florida room, super TV in all ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A high quality television

09/18/2010
By ,
Keaau, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first hi-def tv that I ever owned and I am very impressed with it. The detail in the picture is amazing! Like whenyou watch a ballgame, you can see the individual blades of grass on the field and the colors are so vivid. I am extremley happy and completley satisfied with this product and the price is right too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

We Love This Tv.

08/09/2010
By ,
Madison, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent buy for us. Although everything we have purchased from Walmart has met our expectations. I love the on-line buying and delivery straight to the door. This Tv was brought right in to our room by the delivery driver and within 10 minutes, it was unloaded and working as if it had been there for years. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Very Easy to Hook Up, Very Satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

sanyo 46" is the best TV I have ever owned.

12/20/2010
By ,
Odenville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the Sanyo products. I own two TV's and both are the greatest quality TV's I have ever owned. I had a question about the remote and called the 800 number and they answered in Forrest City, Arkansas. They were very helpful, and a pleasure to talk with. I am going to buy a 42" for Christmas and you can bet it will be a Sanyo. This is a great TV at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Sanyo does it again!

11/07/2010
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this tv! I have had a Sanyo before, and it was nice to see that they upgraded their remote control. The picture is incredible when watching a movie with my HD dvd player, and the sound too with my surround sound system(gotta have this for true sound). I have found that it is NOT worth paying extra for HD programming. The picture and sound are fine for regular shows, including sports, we are a football family. My local store even had it for less than the online price, which was also nice! Very satisfied and would recommend to anyone looking for a tv with everything you need!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Speakers! Wonderful Remote great Value

06/12/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a pleasant surprise. This floor unit cost me only $366 plus tax. So I took a chance. A small nick here and there, otherwise it looked good to me.
I really wasn't expecting much as I only wanted it for a monitor for my wireless keyboard 12 feet away. The first thing I noticed was it's beauty then I heard the sound and was simply amazed; 95 percent of all lcd's have terrible sound quality when you spend under $700. But not this baby, I was hard pressed to believe it has only 2 ten watt speakers that produced this exceptional sound quailty!
Since I don't have Dish or Cable I did not care about the 60Hz, however another nice surprise was that it's 1080, cool for later if they ever have anything on TV worth spending $40 a month on, till then it's HULU, DVD's, online stuff etc. for me.
The remote has a light whenever you press any button I like that too. If you get HD service it's really all the same anyway isn't it, , Blue-ray too, those devices produce for themselves and any ($500+) LCD will be very very close to each other regardless of price. Buy this one and you'll save heartache and you'll have this big monster monitor too. Not for those who need super crisp deep colors and/or football fast action. Perfect for those who want a tv that works with good performance and easy to use remote. On Screen easy user friendly menu.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Exceeded expectations

06/15/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought the 19" Sanyo LCD TV for my wife's workout area. I was pleased with the quality and price so I looked at the 42" 1080p for the livingroom to replace the old 25" traditional tube. I was reassured to see it's a Consumer Reports best buy. Upgraded to DirecTV's HD-DVR and had the new set for the installer to put it all together. The picture is great and so is the sound. We are not using a separate audio system at this time. Note on picture quality with this 1080p set: HD channels are crystal clear and "pop" like you won't believe (yes, you really can read the name of the putter on that golf club); non-blu-ray DVDs are pretty darn good but not HD quality although the depth of color is great compared to regular TV (for example District 9 is much clearer and PBS series The War is awesome on it); regular TV programming that's non-HD is OK but you'll know immediately it's not HD because of lack of sharpness. We're extremely pleased with this purchase for quality and price. Note: the accompanying photos were taken with a cell phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv
Posted 09/22/2011
I'm curious as to how your tv is doing now? I bought this tv back when it cost $800. I have had it for 2 years and it has all of a sudden turned to a black screen and it will cost me more to fix it than it is really worth. I would recommend getting a very large warranty as I am not the only one that has had this problem. Check out the reviews at this link. http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/reviews/lcd-tv-reviews/sanyo-dp46849-review/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42 inch plasma

09/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because it was a good value.When i got it home the screen was in 1000 or more pieces.I returned to my walmart in Fitzgerald Georgia The people were very concerned and helped me replace and load my T.V. I REALLY APPRECIATE THE WAY I WAS TREATED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

HELPFUL

08/12/2010
By ,
East St.Louis,Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research when buying this tv. I went to alot of different stores and no one is going to beat this price period. Technology is always changing so there are always gonig to be something better that comes out that you think is better. For the price the picture quality etc. this tv rocks. I have charter digital cable with the dvr and the set up was easy & the picture quality is great!!!!! BRING ON THE NFL BABY !!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
41-60 of 99 total reviews