Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.759 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation68%73 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Constantly impressed

12/16/2010
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 26" behemouth tube TV. I thought it was now the right time to buy. I had a $600 budget and a 42" LCD I've been lusting for was considerably below that price. Unfortunately I had to buy HDMI cables so it was back up to the 600 dollar mark.
What I can't get over is that for this price I got a TV that blew me over as far as the picture quality went. I've gone back to the store a couple times now, and compared to the LG and the Vizio, the Sanyo screen was much more pleasing. Maybe it was the color settings that the TVs were set at by default, but the sharpness and the clarity and contrast was all there and what I was looking for.
It's a 60hz LCD, so you get the picture jitter time and again and I was expecting that. But you're still getting a darn good TV for the price.
If this TV lasts for 2 years or more, I got way more than my money's worth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Idk what to think

02/07/2011
By ,
Altamonte springs, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased our tv last year and sat night the picture came on and then blinked out and now we can't get any picture. I am very upset. I don't know what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good Buy

04/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a 37" Sanyo for ~2 years, and love it. This 42" appears to have an even better picture and sound. I can't imagine how you could beat this deal. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV at a good price

11/15/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great TV. I've had it about 6 months now and I love it. Not the very best but very good sound. Takes forever to change channels. The USB port is a waste, it just shows pictures and you can not arrange the order there shown in. Has all the other connections including VGA for your laptop or computer, and it has a seperate sound jack when your useing the VGA, remember your computer has seperate speakers. I use it mostly with my computer using the HDMI cable and I have my monitor hooked up to the VGA plug on my computer, so I can use them both at the same time. Works really great. I paid just under $600 with tax and all and I think it was a excellent deal. I recamend this TV with a note on the long blackout times when your changing channel.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

I've been pleased

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ended up with this tv when another we bought for ship-to-site was not delivered on time, and we were in a time crunch visiting our vacation home. The Walmart manager gave us this at the same price as the 37" Vizio we wanted. We have only hade it a few days, but set-up, picture and sound quality have been very good. It was only after we bought it did I read the reviews and it made me leary.
This is our 3rd Sanyo, and the first 2 have been very good tvs for 2+ years each. This one has been a great experience thus far. We only visit the home every 2-3 months, and it will not be watched 24/7 like at our home, but it seems like a good product. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
03/04/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price , great TV . I own 2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42 inch plasma

09/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because it was a good value.When i got it home the screen was in 1000 or more pieces.I returned to my walmart in Fitzgerald Georgia The people were very concerned and helped me replace and load my T.V. I REALLY APPRECIATE THE WAY I WAS TREATED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Excellent value

11/28/2010
By ,
N. Atl, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best value TV we own. The picture is not as good as the higher Hzs, but then again, you get what you pay for. In this case, the TV is WELL worth what you pay. The picture is really great and for this size it's a really great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A great buy

02/14/2011
By ,
El Paso TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being tired of dumping money into fixing an old Mitsubishi big screen (old projection style, bulky) I decided to get a new set. This one was on sale at local store for $498. What a value. Ease of set up, just plug in, hook to cable and let it scan input channels for a few minutes. Then it is ready. Great picture, decent sound quality for the internal speakers.
The only down side is my DVD player had an "S-video" cable hooked up to the old set. This Sanyo DOES NOT have an "s-video" plug.
Rather than go with the HDMI cable, i merely got a 6 foot RCA connector type (the old style basic - yellow plugs) and hooked that to DVD player and the TV. Put in a DVD, looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awesome value

09/19/2010
By ,
up michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this today after reading lots of reviews and looking for weeks at my options. I couldn't be happier witht this tv. I saw a woman exchanging her 42 inch vizio as i was going to purchase this unit....hers was buzzing....
I'm not very computor/hd/techno savvy and i was able to open set up and hook up my dvd all in under and hour. Beautiful picture great sound and easy to use. All for 528 not even on sale! I highly recomend this unit- I don't play games or hook anything other than a dvd player to it -so I can't speak to those functions.
If you're looking for a beautiful pic and great sound for under 600 this is it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Choice

02/08/2011
By ,
Ft Hood, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for "normal" People. Those that arent picky, high standard, gamers. Other than that, great. Never had a problem. Only wierd thing, it takes 5 second delay after you push the power to turn on. Who needs to watch tv in urgency anyways? I can wait 5 seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great surprise for hubby

08/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a surprise for my husband, and I love this tv. I had never owned a LCD HDTV before and was really worried about buying one (I know very little about them) but this T.v is so nice looks super sleek, and exspensive but was a great bargain! Sound is good, and picture quality is good cannot wait to see what HD looks like when we get the install done. Great buy! Go for it! Football is gonna be awesome this year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

great for the price

09/03/2010
By ,
Port Orchard , WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tv picture is great.. the sound is better then most tv it size.easy too set up.. also light weight at 40 lbs it great to move around..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Good choice

12/21/2010
By ,
Two Rivers, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this set only a few weeks but it has already "blown the doors off" the 32 inch set it replaced. Very easy to set up, lots of great features like ports for everything. The sound isn't as good as it should be, but I run the whole thing through a home theater system so sound is not an issue with me. Since I bought this set from their website, WalMart was true to their word as for the delievery date. Great value, lots of bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Boiling Springs, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost went with the ProScan b/c of the cost but I wanted to stick with a brand I was familiar with and the Sanyo is the one I chose. It was listed as a consumer best buy and I couldn't find this flat screen for the same price anywhere. Great value!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

HELPFUL

08/12/2010
By ,
East St.Louis,Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research when buying this tv. I went to alot of different stores and no one is going to beat this price period. Technology is always changing so there are always gonig to be something better that comes out that you think is better. For the price the picture quality etc. this tv rocks. I have charter digital cable with the dvr and the set up was easy & the picture quality is great!!!!! BRING ON THE NFL BABY !!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

08/18/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! Great picture. Fantastic price. Free shipping, too. Much lighter than previous models so I can move it all be myself! This model is apparently the replacement for the 42" model that Consumer Reports rated a "Best Buy."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

sanyo 46" is the best TV I have ever owned.

12/20/2010
By ,
Odenville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the Sanyo products. I own two TV's and both are the greatest quality TV's I have ever owned. I had a question about the remote and called the 800 number and they answered in Forrest City, Arkansas. They were very helpful, and a pleasure to talk with. I am going to buy a 42" for Christmas and you can bet it will be a Sanyo. This is a great TV at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Speakers! Wonderful Remote great Value

06/12/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a pleasant surprise. This floor unit cost me only $366 plus tax. So I took a chance. A small nick here and there, otherwise it looked good to me.
I really wasn't expecting much as I only wanted it for a monitor for my wireless keyboard 12 feet away. The first thing I noticed was it's beauty then I heard the sound and was simply amazed; 95 percent of all lcd's have terrible sound quality when you spend under $700. But not this baby, I was hard pressed to believe it has only 2 ten watt speakers that produced this exceptional sound quailty!
Since I don't have Dish or Cable I did not care about the 60Hz, however another nice surprise was that it's 1080, cool for later if they ever have anything on TV worth spending $40 a month on, till then it's HULU, DVD's, online stuff etc. for me.
The remote has a light whenever you press any button I like that too. If you get HD service it's really all the same anyway isn't it, , Blue-ray too, those devices produce for themselves and any ($500+) LCD will be very very close to each other regardless of price. Buy this one and you'll save heartache and you'll have this big monster monitor too. Not for those who need super crisp deep colors and/or football fast action. Perfect for those who want a tv that works with good performance and easy to use remote. On Screen easy user friendly menu.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/04/2010
By ,
western PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant value and product. I love this TV and would recommend to everyone looking for a model in mits class
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 98 total reviews