Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.759 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation68%73 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Idk what to think

02/07/2011
By ,
Altamonte springs, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased our tv last year and sat night the picture came on and then blinked out and now we can't get any picture. I am very upset. I don't know what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV for an awesome price

11/26/2010
By ,
Winston Salem, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a the 32inch Sanyo for our bedroom last year and was very please so we upgraded our living room to this 42' we are very pleased and very happy with the quality,sound and picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

I've been pleased

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ended up with this tv when another we bought for ship-to-site was not delivered on time, and we were in a time crunch visiting our vacation home. The Walmart manager gave us this at the same price as the 37" Vizio we wanted. We have only hade it a few days, but set-up, picture and sound quality have been very good. It was only after we bought it did I read the reviews and it made me leary.
This is our 3rd Sanyo, and the first 2 have been very good tvs for 2+ years each. This one has been a great experience thus far. We only visit the home every 2-3 months, and it will not be watched 24/7 like at our home, but it seems like a good product. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Constantly impressed

12/16/2010
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 26" behemouth tube TV. I thought it was now the right time to buy. I had a $600 budget and a 42" LCD I've been lusting for was considerably below that price. Unfortunately I had to buy HDMI cables so it was back up to the 600 dollar mark.
What I can't get over is that for this price I got a TV that blew me over as far as the picture quality went. I've gone back to the store a couple times now, and compared to the LG and the Vizio, the Sanyo screen was much more pleasing. Maybe it was the color settings that the TVs were set at by default, but the sharpness and the clarity and contrast was all there and what I was looking for.
It's a 60hz LCD, so you get the picture jitter time and again and I was expecting that. But you're still getting a darn good TV for the price.
If this TV lasts for 2 years or more, I got way more than my money's worth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Very Good Set for the Money

12/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice HDTV for the price. It is easy to calibrate, and looks extremely good, even with standard definition material over S-Video. HDMI and component inputs are even better.
Out of the box, the regular settings are too vivid, as is the case with most HDTVs. The preset "Mild" setting is a lot more accurate, although the colors appear to be washed out. When calibrated visually with a calibration DVD, or with a colorimeter, the set really looks nice. The only complaint I have is that dark scenes tend to look very blue. I didn't listen to the built-in speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Tv

06/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my TV. I had been searching both online and in stores to get a tv for around $500-600. This tv was in my budget and 42 inches. Im able to hook up my computer and watch movies. The only issue I have is that I cant plug up my Wii unless I unplug my tv cables. Besides that I love it! Oh yeah... it looks good on Blu Ray as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
06/25/2010
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love my this tv, its not to big and its not to small...fits just right
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Bang for my Buck

03/28/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is one of my best value buys. The picture is spectacular. Easy to setup. I recommend it to all my senior friends and relatives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Terrific television

10/12/2010
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv has a beautiful picture with HDTV, and not bad on regular tv. I hooked up a home entertainment system to it and it's like being at the movies with cheaper popcorn. I definitely would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first h.d. t.v.Even after upgradeing my cable service the picture on my 9 year old vacuum tube t.v. is better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Absolutely wonderful

06/22/2011
By ,
Northeast Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I've only owned this for a couple of weeks, so far it's operating beautifully. Installation was a cinch with easy to follow onscreen instructions. Picture is great even though I am using the standard receiver instead of the HD receiver from my satellite provider. My only mild complaint is that the volume drops significantly when viewing DVD's--I have to crank the volume and then remember to turn it back down when I cut the DVD off. Other than that one tiny thing though, I'm am entirely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

excellent bang for your buck

11/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product about 3 years ago and its still going strong. It is easy to set up. great picture, I am not an electronic gooroo, but I think I have selected an excellent product. Many hookups in the back allow you to do many things. I have been doing some research on tv's because my son wants a big screen for christmas and I think I may buy him this same tv. I would recommend this product to anyone. Thanks Sanyo for a great product. looking forward to purchasing another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42'' LCD SANYO TV

03/31/2011
By ,
Baltimore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to Walmart Website I got a 42'' Sanyo LCD TV to replace my 26'' baby Sanyo TV that will retire from the living room to my son's room. This TV is in superb size because I could transport it in my 96 Honda Accord. I just had to remove it from the original box, then the empty box was twisted and inserted in the car without damaging the box.This TV is bright and easy to mount. My wife mounted it out of excitement ,and when I checked how well she did, it was just perfectly done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

New TV

07/04/2010
By ,
Dumas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Consumer Reports and found this TV rating a recommended and Best Buy. I went to the Walmart website and searched the closest Walmart for this TV model. I ended up ordering it online and found out that it was lower than what Consumer reports stated because it was on sale when I ordered it! Easy to set up. Very happy with the overall experiece and product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A high quality television

09/18/2010
By ,
Keaau, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first hi-def tv that I ever owned and I am very impressed with it. The detail in the picture is amazing! Like whenyou watch a ballgame, you can see the individual blades of grass on the field and the colors are so vivid. I am extremley happy and completley satisfied with this product and the price is right too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
08/04/2010
By ,
western PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant value and product. I love this TV and would recommend to everyone looking for a model in mits class
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV all around

11/26/2011
By ,
central florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a smaller Sanyo in our Master bath, it has been great. Bought this one for our Florida room, super TV in all ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

We Love This Tv.

08/09/2010
By ,
Madison, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent buy for us. Although everything we have purchased from Walmart has met our expectations. I love the on-line buying and delivery straight to the door. This Tv was brought right in to our room by the delivery driver and within 10 minutes, it was unloaded and working as if it had been there for years. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Very Easy to Hook Up, Very Satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Excellent TV

08/22/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned Sanyo TVs for over 17 years and not once have I been disappointed. We chose this TV because it has a matte finish on the frame rather than a shiny one like most are being made now, thus less distraction. The TV has served us well and we couldn't be happier. The HD comes through crisp and clear and the captioning works great. We have had others ask us what kind of TV it is because they, too, like the picture quality the TV offers. Movies, games for Wii and sports all come through at top quality. Some family and friends have mentioned our picture is so clear they feel as though they're attending a real sporting event when we host get togethers. The only small downfall is the sound quality sometimes. But, we hooked ours up to our surround speakers and it delivers some powerful sound when we watch movies.
Our other Sanyo, 22", is now on the blink after 15 years. We were discussing purchasing another TV and what brand was mentioned? Sanyo. If you purchase this TV, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

great tv

08/26/2010
By ,
mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered a 55" proscan 240hz lcd from walmart, when it was going to take a month to get hear i went to the store and bought this to hold me over and was very happy with it. sound is better than the 55" i got and picture is very good very bright price was great and even being a 60hz i have had no ghosting in ps3 or wii games at all clash of the titans on blue ray looked great .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 98 total reviews