Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

This Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV DP42840 features the latest technology for the digital age. This HDTV with ATSC tuner generates audio and video signals that enable you to watch HDTV programs. You can enjoy HDMI, component audio/video, composite audio/video and RF inputs, with options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows you to connect the television to a home entertainment system. The Sanyo HDTV also has a PC/Mac input for use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows for the display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional kit (not included). Note: You must have a source for receiving HD programming in order to take full advantage of this Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%73 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great Value!!

08/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had mine 1 year now. No problems. Overly impressed from day one. SuperTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 42 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840
03/04/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price , great TV . I own 2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 43 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Returning

03/07/2011
By ,
WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this TV in a local Walmart, I paid 60.00 more in store than online. When we hooked the TV up the picture is very grainy and with our cable box that provides the majority of our channels it was worse. I called the service number and the man was quite rude and kept telling me to unhook the cable box and go directly to the tv for a clear picture, this did not work either. Even if it would have what would be the point in having a big tv if you could not watch what you want. I went ahead and spent 100.00 more and got the LG. The only good thing is that it does have good sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV at a good price

11/15/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great TV. I've had it about 6 months now and I love it. Not the very best but very good sound. Takes forever to change channels. The USB port is a waste, it just shows pictures and you can not arrange the order there shown in. Has all the other connections including VGA for your laptop or computer, and it has a seperate sound jack when your useing the VGA, remember your computer has seperate speakers. I use it mostly with my computer using the HDMI cable and I have my monitor hooked up to the VGA plug on my computer, so I can use them both at the same time. Works really great. I paid just under $600 with tax and all and I think it was a excellent deal. I recamend this TV with a note on the long blackout times when your changing channel.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

You get what you pay for...CHEAP

07/16/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this TV about a week ago after looking up different TVs and reviews for over a month. I finally decided to go for this one because from reading the reviews the only bad thing I read was 1 remote not working and a few about sound. My remote worked, and I thought the sound quality was the only good thing about this TV.
Picture quality is TERRIBLE!! The TV has no brightness settings or anything. The only options are vivid, standard, and mild. The problem I ran into was when watching anything with a night scene or dim setting. It was like watching a black screen. No matter what "picture" setting I put it on it was still completely black.
I did have a small problem with the sound, but it wasn't that big a deal for me. Whenever I would go from channel to channel or switch from dvd to TV it would have a buzzing sound. It would fade away once the show continued on so it wasn't too big of a deal for me.
All I can say, you get what you pay for. It's at such a cheap price for a reason....NO brightness, NO audio settings, and POOR picture quality. I also had a problem with mine randomly cutting off on me in the middle of watching shows. If you want a TV for just a PC monitor then maybe this would be a good buy. I wasn't even too pleased with the picture/brightness when I had it hooked up to my PC.
Decision is yours to make...I bought a 46' LG from Best Buy for only a little bit more and I am extremely happy with that. This terrible TV got returned to the store after owning it for only a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Review 46 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

42 inch Sanyo

07/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this TV less than 2 years ago... picture went out today.. I have a Sanyo 32 inch I bought 12 years ago that is still working.. Thought I could trust this product, but guess not. This TV was used in a normal capacity, not overused or abused.. From what i have read about repairs on this.. it will be just as cheap to buy a new one (approx $400.00) for repairs.. Guess we will buy a new one...but not a Sanyo !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

A great buy

02/14/2011
By ,
El Paso TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being tired of dumping money into fixing an old Mitsubishi big screen (old projection style, bulky) I decided to get a new set. This one was on sale at local store for $498. What a value. Ease of set up, just plug in, hook to cable and let it scan input channels for a few minutes. Then it is ready. Great picture, decent sound quality for the internal speakers.
The only down side is my DVD player had an "S-video" cable hooked up to the old set. This Sanyo DOES NOT have an "s-video" plug.
Rather than go with the HDMI cable, i merely got a 6 foot RCA connector type (the old style basic - yellow plugs) and hooked that to DVD player and the TV. Put in a DVD, looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great... till the warranty expired.

12/29/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought one for Christmas in 2007. We bought the extra warranty that was good for 2 years after the manufacture warranty expired for a total of 3 years. 3 years and 1 month after buying this product 2 of the boards went out to the cost of appox. $550 to have the repair shop fix it. We called Sanyo to see if we could order the parts and they were rude on the phone, (they were caring on a conversation with someone else in the office and were not really interested in my business) and since we were not a repair shop they would not sell us the parts needed. I would buy a diffrent brand that has a company that make better quality product and has better customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Nice TV (HSN Edition)

12/31/2010
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup and connection to all my existing HDMI and S-video devices and easy access to all connections.
One complaint. After I scanned for HD-Channels, I then went to the channel memory to remove unwanted channels. Only one channel does not allow you to remove it! HSN! I did not know Sanyo had a special deal with HSN. Not a problem, but whenever I turn on TV, the channel that comes up first is HSN !!! It does not remember the last channel it was set on when the set is turned off. It is pretty annoying, because it is not a digital channel, but the old low power analog channel (#67). Sound and picture are fine and the initial setup program takes about 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

I've been pleased

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ended up with this tv when another we bought for ship-to-site was not delivered on time, and we were in a time crunch visiting our vacation home. The Walmart manager gave us this at the same price as the 37" Vizio we wanted. We have only hade it a few days, but set-up, picture and sound quality have been very good. It was only after we bought it did I read the reviews and it made me leary.
This is our 3rd Sanyo, and the first 2 have been very good tvs for 2+ years each. This one has been a great experience thus far. We only visit the home every 2-3 months, and it will not be watched 24/7 like at our home, but it seems like a good product. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 51 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

LCD TV

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV arrived in good condition at the store and actually fit easily into the back of my prius. Appreciated that the base was already attached. Good picture...blacks not super black but acceptable. With some tweaking it appears to outperform the toshiba 40 in that it replaces (that one was stolen).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 52 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Don't Waste Your Money

12/27/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have owned sanyo tvs in the past with good luck, so i thought this would also be a good tv. Its not. after setup it gave a nice picture from the antenna. I tried using my bluray play on hdmi and the screen kept flashing black. i pluged my bluray into a different tv and it worked fine. so i tried the component outputs. that work for a little while then that wouldn't display at all. the sound was garbled at low volume and the tv's menu was hard to navigate and slow. i returned it and bought an equivalent vizio which was faster easier and works and looks a lot better. Buy a vizio or Sony or LG. Its worth the extra fifty bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 53 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

awesome value

09/19/2010
By ,
up michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this today after reading lots of reviews and looking for weeks at my options. I couldn't be happier witht this tv. I saw a woman exchanging her 42 inch vizio as i was going to purchase this unit....hers was buzzing....
I'm not very computor/hd/techno savvy and i was able to open set up and hook up my dvd all in under and hour. Beautiful picture great sound and easy to use. All for 528 not even on sale! I highly recomend this unit- I don't play games or hook anything other than a dvd player to it -so I can't speak to those functions.
If you're looking for a beautiful pic and great sound for under 600 this is it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Do NOT buy Sanyo

02/10/2011
By ,
houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sanyo will not help you if anything goes wrong with your TV, They have bad Customer Service!, Buy any other brand!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 55 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Very Good Set for the Money

12/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice HDTV for the price. It is easy to calibrate, and looks extremely good, even with standard definition material over S-Video. HDMI and component inputs are even better.
Out of the box, the regular settings are too vivid, as is the case with most HDTVs. The preset "Mild" setting is a lot more accurate, although the colors appear to be washed out. When calibrated visually with a calibration DVD, or with a colorimeter, the set really looks nice. The only complaint I have is that dark scenes tend to look very blue. I didn't listen to the built-in speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 56 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV

11/30/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this tv for over 3 years and we have never had any problems with it. Great picture, sound (we do have surround, who doesn't these days). Great for playing video games, dvds, blue ray etc... People say on here they've had problems with this brand but look at all the others, every brand will have someone saying something bad about it. We have had the black smudges on the screen but it's from kids putting fingers on it. Just get some monster tv cleaner takes it right off.
Getting ready to purchase this tv tonight for our bedroom. GREAT GREAT TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Not worth the money

07/21/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this T.V 3 years ago at a much higher price the t.v just went out on 07/20/10 we are no longer covered under warranty and it will cost about the same to buy a new tv than to have this one repaired. Give me the old bubble tv b/c the new ones are a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 58 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Absolutely wonderful

06/22/2011
By ,
Northeast Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I've only owned this for a couple of weeks, so far it's operating beautifully. Installation was a cinch with easy to follow onscreen instructions. Picture is great even though I am using the standard receiver instead of the HD receiver from my satellite provider. My only mild complaint is that the volume drops significantly when viewing DVD's--I have to crank the volume and then remember to turn it back down when I cut the DVD off. Other than that one tiny thing though, I'm am entirely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Great TV!

06/30/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this TV for a few weeks now and continue to be amazed at how great it is! The picture is excellent and the sound is superb! I have heard of people experiencing issues with sound quality on LCD TVs but I can tell you, that's not a problem with this tv. Very clear and robust sound quality. The price of this tv and reviews are what pushed me to make the purchase, the first-hand experience with the top quality of this TV is what has made me a firm believer! I made a great purchase! Money well spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Sanyo 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP42840

Disappointed

06/30/2010
By ,
Poconos, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture is horribly blurry and ANY movement onscreen results in imaging like an overly compressed JPEG (graphic format).
Also, non-hd programming is absolutely awful!!! Pay the extra bucks and get a Vizio!!! I'm returning this TV immediately!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
41-60 of 99 total reviews