Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

This SANYO 26" LCD HDTV features the latest technology for the digital age. The Digital Clear QAM tuner is capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. Sporting a high gloss black finish, it will virtually disappear when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs You'll enjoy a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, with plenty of options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater like sound. The Sanyo LCD HDTV also has an additional PC/Mac input, which allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows photo viewer display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo LCD HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional wall mount kit (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
4.055 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation78%128 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

No complaints

01/31/2012
By ,
Falmouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV for over a month now. Great quality!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 82 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Very good tv, here's why! :)

11/26/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for an old tv that finally broke down. I use it in the bedroom.
It was VERY simple to set up. It came out of the box very easily, and the tv itself is very light. I am 75lbs, and me saying it is very light says something! Initial setup is extremely simple, it gives you directions the second you first turn on the television! It didn't take any time at all.
It has 8 different screen views. You can choose the scene. Picture. Sound. It has a timer, captions, V-chip, internal DTV, you just need an antenna. I even played some CoD on it! Worked out quite nicely. And you can hook up your computer!
I am still trying to get used to the remote, but I'm not used to this brand. Anyone buying Sanyo for the first time, don't worry you're not the only one if you can't find a button the first shot.
I would definitely recommend this tv to anyone. It's a wonderful thing to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington, In
Looks Good!
Posted 06/30/2011
I looked alot on line and reviewed the comments made about the TV's. For the price and replacing a Sanyo older model 27". I really like the color, tone, sharpness (reading credits and small print clearly is a joy). Setup was easy and could go back and reset all components that needed tweeking. I have old cable wiring and will need to call cable company to get new and HD setup. I am so far happy with this tv and the sleek thin style fits well in my small tv room. would recommend it for small closeup areas.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 83 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

this tv is great

12/06/2011
By ,
glasgow ky,
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tv for my man .he is a gamer lol the picture is so real looking . this is the best tv for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

$$ Sanyo 26 $$

12/26/2010
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had my new TV for over 3 weeks now and have had no problems. Picked it up at my local Wal-Mart store ( Fallon, Nevada) Great picture, sound and price. Very easy to set up, Worked great off the antenna on the roof, then hooked it up to my D-TV satellite box and dish and now have hundreds of channels to view. I did get the extra warranty coverage for only $20 and added an extra 2 years on the 1 year warranty. Very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 85 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640
07/06/2010
By ,
75147
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this mainly for Watching news in
family room in morning, WII, & DVD
recorder. Very pleased with picture
quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640
03/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this due to the price, great price for the size, Lowest price around. When it comes to brand names I am a Toshiba owner I have never found anything that can do better then Toshiba. So I was really worried of the quality of this tv. When i got it home it was so easy to set up and get programed to my local channels. The Picture is Great, bright and clear. The sound is great. For what I paid for this tv I really got a good deal. Hopefully this tv will last me 14 yrs like my current one that is still working and in use. I would recommend this to anyone. You can not go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great Value

02/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this TV for a month and am completely satisfied. Easy set up, good picture and sound quality. I had been looking at more expensive models and ran into this on sale at Walmart. It is an excellent TV for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 88 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640
08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Believe it or not, this is my first flat screen. I love it. If Walmart still had layaway, I would switch out every TV in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 89 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great T.V.

12/28/2010
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first flat screen, and i couldn't be happier with it. The picture quality is amazing, the sound is great and it's the perfect size for my bedroom! It is also very easy to get setup with cable, dvd player, ect. I would highly recomend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 90 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great TV with a picture as good as High Definition

09/08/2011
By ,
Gibbsboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have DirecTV and considering upgrading to High Definition service costing additional $10.00 per month. I selected this Sayno based on Consumer Reports ratings for HD and Standard Definition. The picture I get is excellent. So good, that I do not need HD service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 91 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great tv, just what I expected

12/07/2011
By ,
Stony Creek, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so not good at setting up electronics, but this was easy peasy! It is a Christmas present to myself because I expect to use it as a conduit for my extra computer and for streaming online programming and Netflix without having to buy one of the boxes that all have seperate things they will stream. In no time at all it was up and working like a charm. Went through and adjusted everything we needed to adjust in about 15 mins. Simple to do. Sound is not spectacular but apparently you are able to hook up extra speakers which will enhance it for music. It is my main television... got rid of the behometh RCA and it amazes me as to how much more room I have! Apparently some folks have had some problems but so far mine is just what I wanted and what a great price for a Sanyo item! Buy one!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great product

07/07/2010
By ,
New Bedford,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 32" plasma HDTV's and this Sanyo 26" LCD has a great picture that matches them. The color tones are better than expected and the sound is good for me as I wear hearing aids. I use it for watching TV programs and also have it hooked up to my laptop. It makes a nice screen that allows me to sit back in a comfortable chair while I brows my laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 93 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great TV For Mounting High

07/08/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat the price for such a good picture. I mounted the TV at about 7 ft at the picture is still perfect when viewing at it from a lower angle. Highly recommend this TV if your looking for a decent picture at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 94 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Completely Satisfied

08/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've given this product a 5 out of 5 in every category based on my personal expectations for this particular set. For a 720p, 26" television in this price range, it is absolutely all it should be (so far).
I've had this just a few days, so I can't comment or speculate on the reliability of this product, but I've used it for several hours a night to play DVD's in standard definition, and Xbox360 games in 720p (using composite cables), and both modes were clear, crisp, and flawless, and you can view it clearly from any angle, except when you're nearly completely to the side of it- it appears a bit dimmer, but not bad at all.
No problems whatsoever with picture, sound, or set-up. It was extremely quick and easy to set up, and all it's functions are pretty self-explanatory. The manual appears to be easy to understand, though I didn't actually need to read very much of it. The whole setup process was pretty much automatic, and I haven't had to adjust picture or sound from their factory settings, though it appears there are some useful options for this in the menu.
I've seen some great sets, but this is the first HD tv I've owned. I just wanted this for the bedroom, and it's serving it's purpose very well. I have no issues so far with this set. It's exceeded my expectations. Especially the sound. After reading some of the other reviews, I thought the sound quality may not be so great, but it's actually very good. I'd even say it's great for something in this price range and size.
I haven't had a chance to use the HDMI connection because I only have the composite HD connectors for my Xbox360, but like I said, it looked great, so if HDMI is a step up, I assume it will only look even better using that connection. I also haven't used the PC or other ports yet, so I can't speak for those.
So, so far, so good. I have nothing bad to say about this set. Any way you look at it, it's a great tv, but especially at this price. I researched it before buying. Sony and Vizio want more money for comparable offerings, but it appears to me that you're paying more for the name, mostly. This is a pretty painless purchase. I'm really glad I bought it. Check it out for yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 95 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

A nice TV

10/01/2010
By ,
nursing home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Sanyo product, and my last unfortunately.
I am in a nursing home and this TV is great for me with my netbook hooked up to it via HDMI cable the streaming Netflix looks great.I also use the HDMI 2 for an upscailing DVD player.
One thing not in the specs is that the speakers
are designed to reflect sound off the surface behind the TV. This is great with the right type of surface behind the TV, mine however has nothing directly behind it.I am using wireless headphones with the left and right RCA outputs another nice feature if you have a home theater receiver
A nice TV for a low cost HI-DEF setup or for a compact home theater setup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 96 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great Picture quality and solidly built

10/28/2010
By ,
Midwest U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a new smaller sized TV for a spare room. We just bought a new 42" LG for the living room, so wanted to get a good smaller TV but stay under $300. Well, this Sanyo surprised even me, a near TV perfectionist.
The Sanyo DP26640 when compared to other 26" sets in the $300 or more range, has all the flexibility you need for getting a really sharp, clear, picture with natural colors. After just a little time spent in adjusting, the picture quality surpassed most 26" TVs on display. I am an avid video techy and this TV rivals larger TVs with ISF adjustments. While it's level of adjustment is moderate, I haven't seen a better picture on a 26" LCD TV and some cost upwards of $400.
To get the best picture baseline settings in the "Picture" menu would be:
FIRST ! Do this.
Go into the picture menu, scroll down to the "Detailed Setting, find "White Balance". Then set :
R (red) ~65%
G(green) ~52%
B(blue) ~40 to 45%
Note: Adjustment "sliders" aren't numbered so the settings are approximate.
The idea is to get a slightly "warm" tint to whites in the picture. Mainly reduce the blue and increase red slightly to accomplish this.
NEXT: Go into the "Setup" mode and select "Level 3" in the "Energy Saver" setting.
Then make the following settings:
Manual mode
Color ~33%
Tint ~55%
Contrast ~80%
Brightness ~ 45%
Sharpness ~53%
Dynamic Contrast On (off for softer picture)
You can vary these settings a bit depending on your room lighting, but keep Energy Saving at Level 3. The idea is to go for nice , natural colors, brightness, and contrast. Not over saturated "cartoonish" colors. . . unless that's what you like? :-) With these settings you will get great black levels and color for a TV of this size and price range.
I am comparing this to my LG that cost almost 3 times as much and ,friends, the picture is very, very close. I wasn't a Sanyo fan, but this TV also has a great selection of inputs,more than other TVs in this price range. It is solid, and comes packed in a very thick solid box. The build quality looks and feels superb. The cons are: remote is a bit small, lot of button pushing to get to a settings you want to adjust, no individual settings for each input (but DVD/Blu-ray still looks great) on HDMI or component inputs.
A plus on the remote is that you can quickly swtich form ,say, the last TV channel to a DVD input by using the "recall button".
So all in all, this little Sanyo TV has more than enough to even satisfy a techy like me. Even PC inputs and the necessary settings for that, along with legacy inputs for video gaming and DVD/Blu-ray players if desired.
So far reliability is good and my brother has a 32" Sanyo LCD he uses for 8 to 10 hours a day for the past 5 years. Any product line has some quality fall out, but based on the number of TVs Sanyo makes and sells, it seems as good as the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+188points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Helpful
Posted 12/06/2011
Thank you so much for the settings. It will be very helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 97 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

LOVE IT!!!

11/27/2010
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this tv for my bedroom and i have had this tv for 3 weeks now and its still running good picture great!! this is my second sanyo tv way to go walmart!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great TV

06/22/2010
By ,
Greensboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV to replace an old 20 inch CRT that was failing. It is hooked up to a DishNetwork receiver, but is attached via cable and standard definition TV. And it is very good. Picture, color and sound are superb. I have a larger HDTV directly connected to the Dish receiver and this TV rivals it with just standard definition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 99 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Best tv in it's price range.

02/10/2011
By ,
Decatur, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tv was easy to set up and for the price we paid for it, it has been one of the best tvs that we have ever buyed. I would highly recommend this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 100 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

SANYO 26" DP26640 Great Value

06/22/2010
By ,
Fairfax, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this TV as a present for my birthday and we have placed it in our bedroom. It is the perfect size for our armoire. Color is great, sound is fine. The remote and menu's are easy to use and navigate. We are going to connect it up to FIOS this weekend. For the money, you cannot beat this model!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
81-100 of 144 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7 8 Next