Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

This SANYO 26" LCD HDTV features the latest technology for the digital age. The Digital Clear QAM tuner is capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. Sporting a high gloss black finish, it will virtually disappear when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs You'll enjoy a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs, with plenty of options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater like sound. The Sanyo LCD HDTV also has an additional PC/Mac input, which allows alternative use as a computer monitor. A USB input allows photo viewer display of JPEG photos. The detachable pedestal base stand allows the Sanyo LCD HDTV to be wall mounted with an optional wall mount kit (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
4.055 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation78%128 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

A nice TV

10/01/2010
By ,
nursing home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Sanyo product, and my last unfortunately.
I am in a nursing home and this TV is great for me with my netbook hooked up to it via HDMI cable the streaming Netflix looks great.I also use the HDMI 2 for an upscailing DVD player.
One thing not in the specs is that the speakers
are designed to reflect sound off the surface behind the TV. This is great with the right type of surface behind the TV, mine however has nothing directly behind it.I am using wireless headphones with the left and right RCA outputs another nice feature if you have a home theater receiver
A nice TV for a low cost HI-DEF setup or for a compact home theater setup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 82 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

A good product

01/08/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV responded well once I got the correct cable box and connectors.
No problems so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 83 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great TV

01/29/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV for a little over a year and I love it. I live in a small home, so the sound and picture quality are perfect. The best feature is, is that the buttons are on the side as opposed to on the front of the TV (I have a small child who loves pushing buttons.) You can also hook up your usb cord to display picutes from your camera, but I have not attempted that yet. I would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640
01/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really like the tv. Convincing the husband to turn off the computer so the kids can watch cartoons is just about impossible
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Very good tv, here's why! :)

11/26/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for an old tv that finally broke down. I use it in the bedroom.
It was VERY simple to set up. It came out of the box very easily, and the tv itself is very light. I am 75lbs, and me saying it is very light says something! Initial setup is extremely simple, it gives you directions the second you first turn on the television! It didn't take any time at all.
It has 8 different screen views. You can choose the scene. Picture. Sound. It has a timer, captions, V-chip, internal DTV, you just need an antenna. I even played some CoD on it! Worked out quite nicely. And you can hook up your computer!
I am still trying to get used to the remote, but I'm not used to this brand. Anyone buying Sanyo for the first time, don't worry you're not the only one if you can't find a button the first shot.
I would definitely recommend this tv to anyone. It's a wonderful thing to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington, In
Looks Good!
Posted 06/30/2011
I looked alot on line and reviewed the comments made about the TV's. For the price and replacing a Sanyo older model 27". I really like the color, tone, sharpness (reading credits and small print clearly is a joy). Setup was easy and could go back and reset all components that needed tweeking. I have old cable wiring and will need to call cable company to get new and HD setup. I am so far happy with this tv and the sleek thin style fits well in my small tv room. would recommend it for small closeup areas.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 86 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640
12/01/2011
By ,
Copperas Cove, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV as a birthday present for my husband and when he opened the box, I was looking at a 3 year old excited to see Santa. We hooked the TV up to our Blue Ray player that walmart had on Black Friday and I could not believe the difference. I thought we were the last people on earth that have not upgraded our TV's, and now I want a 60 Inch for my livingroom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

best directivity

07/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was hard to find tv's with a wide viewing angle, but this tv did the job. It was perfect. We got two of them for our RV. The directivity on the tv is wonderful. You can watch the tv at just about any angle or any part of the room. The color and brightness are great as well. This was a great deal and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 88 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

A SANYO DIE HARD

10/30/2010
By ,
SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY LAST THREE TV HAS BEEN SANYO. I READ ALL OTHER REVIEWS AND PURCHASED MY FIRST LCD TV A SANYO.
ITS EVERTHING I EXPECTED, CLEAR PICTURE, GOOD SOUND , LIGHTWEIGHT, PRICE, SO FAR SO GOOD!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 89 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Newer Sanyo Model

05/31/2010
By ,
Hudson, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have shopped and shopped for a nice HDTV. I finally found one I am pleased with. I was a Vizio owner but when I broke my 32 inch one I had to get a new HDTV. I tried a couple and ended up returning them. I finally chose this one. I went to the Sanyo website after reading all the great reviews for the Sanyo DP26649. The only difference between that one and this model is that this one has a contrast ratio of 3000 to 1 and the DP26649 is 2,500 to 1. So based on all the reviews this is a great tv and from what I have seen since I have had it, it is a great inexpensive HDTV!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+124points
Review 90 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640
07/23/2010
By ,
nashville tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was so pleased with the TV and the prompt delivery of same. I love the features on it that lets me use it to fall asleep at night. Thank you for the great service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 91 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Best priced 26" HDTV

07/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not find another HDTV at a better price for the same size. I've had it for a week and the picture quality is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 92 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Awesome HDTV

06/25/2010
By ,
clifton park,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sanyo is really cool. Looks and feels like high quality. Nice features and remote. Also a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great product for the price

01/11/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd TV of this brand I have purchased. I have a larger size for my living room and a 26" for the bedroom. I bought this latest 26" for my elderly brother for Christmas since he was using an old TV and "box" converter. Picture is good. The sound could be improved, but overall it is a great value. I don't use it but he does every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 94 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great Picture quality and solidly built

10/28/2010
By ,
Midwest U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a new smaller sized TV for a spare room. We just bought a new 42" LG for the living room, so wanted to get a good smaller TV but stay under $300. Well, this Sanyo surprised even me, a near TV perfectionist.
The Sanyo DP26640 when compared to other 26" sets in the $300 or more range, has all the flexibility you need for getting a really sharp, clear, picture with natural colors. After just a little time spent in adjusting, the picture quality surpassed most 26" TVs on display. I am an avid video techy and this TV rivals larger TVs with ISF adjustments. While it's level of adjustment is moderate, I haven't seen a better picture on a 26" LCD TV and some cost upwards of $400.
To get the best picture baseline settings in the "Picture" menu would be:
FIRST ! Do this.
Go into the picture menu, scroll down to the "Detailed Setting, find "White Balance". Then set :
R (red) ~65%
G(green) ~52%
B(blue) ~40 to 45%
Note: Adjustment "sliders" aren't numbered so the settings are approximate.
The idea is to get a slightly "warm" tint to whites in the picture. Mainly reduce the blue and increase red slightly to accomplish this.
NEXT: Go into the "Setup" mode and select "Level 3" in the "Energy Saver" setting.
Then make the following settings:
Manual mode
Color ~33%
Tint ~55%
Contrast ~80%
Brightness ~ 45%
Sharpness ~53%
Dynamic Contrast On (off for softer picture)
You can vary these settings a bit depending on your room lighting, but keep Energy Saving at Level 3. The idea is to go for nice , natural colors, brightness, and contrast. Not over saturated "cartoonish" colors. . . unless that's what you like? :-) With these settings you will get great black levels and color for a TV of this size and price range.
I am comparing this to my LG that cost almost 3 times as much and ,friends, the picture is very, very close. I wasn't a Sanyo fan, but this TV also has a great selection of inputs,more than other TVs in this price range. It is solid, and comes packed in a very thick solid box. The build quality looks and feels superb. The cons are: remote is a bit small, lot of button pushing to get to a settings you want to adjust, no individual settings for each input (but DVD/Blu-ray still looks great) on HDMI or component inputs.
A plus on the remote is that you can quickly swtich form ,say, the last TV channel to a DVD input by using the "recall button".
So all in all, this little Sanyo TV has more than enough to even satisfy a techy like me. Even PC inputs and the necessary settings for that, along with legacy inputs for video gaming and DVD/Blu-ray players if desired.
So far reliability is good and my brother has a 32" Sanyo LCD he uses for 8 to 10 hours a day for the past 5 years. Any product line has some quality fall out, but based on the number of TVs Sanyo makes and sells, it seems as good as the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+188points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Helpful
Posted 12/06/2011
Thank you so much for the settings. It will be very helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 95 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Nice TV

11/23/2010
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent sound for the size TV. Very good HD picture. The picture on SD signal is just so-so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 96 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Great tv

07/30/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is perfect for my bedroom, just the right size.
I am very pleased with it. It has a great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 97 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

price was right

06/01/2010
By ,
Jamestown,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this TV lastnight and found it to be better then first thought. For a 720p it looks like a 1080. picture can be vewed from any angle real nice and clear,sharp.Thought I had been geven wrong TV had to look on the web to make sure. Now if it last will be very happy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 98 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Sanyo 26" LCD 720 HDTV

07/29/2010
By ,
DORAVILLE GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT IS MORE THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE,I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE A GREAT BUY FOR THE COST
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 99 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Awsome

09/07/2010
By ,
Galax, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got mine because my old TV blew up in january ive had this one since then I love it it works like the first day i got it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 100 for SANYO 26" LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV,DP26640

Awesome Tv!

09/07/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After months and months of search for a new tv, I was deciding between this TV and a Vizio for my room. I originally wanted 32 inches, but they were alot more expensive plus it wouldn't fit in my TV area, and I already have a 40" in my living room. The 26" vizio didnt have as many outputs as this tv, plus it was more expensive. This TV had a better contrast ratio aswell. So I ended up buying this tv. I mainly use if for gaming so I hooked it up with hdmi to my PS3 and the picture was stunning; crystal clear. It also had good sound too, especially when I hooked it up to my surround sound. I had an older Sanyo tv from 1997 and its lasted a long time so i knew that Sanyo was a good brand. So i decided to upgrade with this TV. It does not disappoint. For the price its a steal and Its build quality is good too. It doesnt look cheap or flimsy. I would recommend this TV to anyone. Thats why this tv got straight 5 stars. Awesome TV again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
81-100 of 144 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7 8 Next