Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Brother Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

This Brother SE-400 Sewing & Embroidery Machine can be connected to a computer, allowing you to enjoy future machine updates and easily import and digitize embroidery designs directly from your computer. The embroidery machine comes with seventy built-in embroidery designs and 5 monogramming fonts. Ninety-eight stitch functions in this Brother SE-400 machine let you blend your creativity with technology. This quickset sewing machine includes drop-in bobbin and an automated needle threader. Get the most out of this computerized sewing machine using the on-screen reference guide in sixteen languages. It even features an LCD panel. The SE-400 combination sewing/embroidery machine is designed to give your projects a customized, high-end look, and at the same time, is priced to fit your budget.
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(334 Reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
263
4 stars
55
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation95%318 out of 333reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
253 Questions | 780 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
263
4 stars
55
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Machine worked great...for a little while!

06/12/2012
By ,
Sparta, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased an SE-350 machine nearly 2 years ago and it did everything I wanted for the first year. Then the bobbin started balling up on the bottom. I took it to a Brother dealer for service & paid $85 for that. When I got home, the machine would no longer embroidery. I called the service people back & they assured me they had done nothing to cause damage. The problem had been an internal tension setting & that's all they worked on. I called Brother Company & was told this was my fault. So I thought I'd keep this machine for sewing & order the $699 Brother embroidery machine. 2 months after having the machine fixed, it started balling up again. I returned the new embroidery machine & purchased a Babylock which I love. If you want a machine for about a year, this is a good deal. If you want one to last longer, this isn't going to make it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lincoln, CA
LoveToRide54
Posted 08/12/2013
Did you know that Brother MAKES Babylock sewing machines? I would be interested to know what you think about your new machine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Beyond disappointed

12/17/2010
By ,
Guthrie, Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to have this machine. It's a piece of garbage! I have been sewing a long time and thought this would be awesome to personalize things. I even bought the additional hoop, because in the original description it leads you to believe you can increase the embroidery area with a larger hoop ( 4x4 is the absolute max), and I also bought the ped. I have had nothing but trouble with this machine, and it's sad that I have gone back to using my original brother sewing machine to sew, because I can't get the proper tension for normal sewing projects. I have wasted so much time at the sewing machine repair place, for them to finally tell me it's a dud and they love having them come in, because they always have to be repaired. I would recommend you saving up a little more and getting a better machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Horrible

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It came with 3 bent needles, the machine wouldn'tturn on for 10 mins. I tried everything. Skips to far. Messes up ur designs. I'm returning!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Pretty Good Product! Horrible Customer Service

03/10/2011
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok, let me start off to say that I really like my machine and use it daily to sew/embroider for my 3 children. However, when I started breaking needles, I decided to have it serviced especially since it was still within the one year complete manufacturer's warranty. When I took it in, they told me that it needed cleaning even though I clean it after every project (so that was $80). Then they found my bobbin case had a hole in it that wasn't covered under warranty (another $40)so they managed to get $120 out of me on the spot! Then, the needle bushing had gone out (was covered under warranty). They said it may be a few days to get the part in. Well over 3 weeks later, NO PART. Then when I questioned them, they completely turned it around on me and voided my warranty on my machine on the account of "I use it daily and this machine is not made to use daily" So basically what they were telling me was if you sew on your sewing machine you void your warranty. I tried to contact Brother International with no luck. I still have not received my machine back b/c they have not gotten the part for it and it has been WEEKS! This is so sad b/c I buy all my threads and backings and all supplies from that same Brother Authorized Dealer and this is what I get in return. I was told later on by someone who is much more knowledgeable of embroidery machines to expect your machine to last a year for every $500 you spend on it. So, if you buy a $2000 machine you will get about 4 good years out of it. I am a huge brother fan, I have 4 brother machines but after my service experience this one was my last. I will save my money and purchase a Janome or Bernina next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

I would not buy this again!!

11/13/2013
By ,
Covington,GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this machine back in June and it has ruined more than I can count shirts. It constantly gets stuck down into the machine. The machine does not like any thin embroidery so you have to choose thick lettering when embroidering a word. I would definitely recommend spending your money to a better machine
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

embroidery not good at all

08/27/2012
By ,
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love the sewing machine, easy to use and worked great. The embroidery was easy to change out but was horrible. I couldn't get it to do one design or letters that looked even half way decent. I returned this machine after only 3 weeks of owning it. I tried all kind of different things to try to make the emb work for me stabilizers, emb thread, tension etc but nothing helped the quality. Plus the thread broke in the middle several times no matter what settings I had it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

VERY Dissapointed

01/12/2011
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this machine the last of june closer to July. I started off with regular sewing while I read up on embroidering. I did approx 10 small pieces and the embroidery unit went out. I took to Brother service center and it was the needle supply unit This went in shop Nov 9th 2010 and after 5 put offs on part it is still sitting in shop 10 weeks now. I would not recommend this machine at all save your money and please shop around Cheaper meands less quality to mee& poor service from Brothers
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Very sturdy machine

01/11/2014
By ,
Louisiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It seemed a bit overwhelming at first if you are not good at computer usage. After carefully reading the instruction manual, things smoothed out. The machine runs very smoothly and quietly. I had to return the machine when I realized it did not sew in reverse. (only 3-5 stitches) For general sewing you definitely need to be able to sew in reverse without turning the entire garment around. Hopefully Brother can change this. Automatic thread cutting is a definite WOW.
I have since purchased the SQ9185 and am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400
10/19/2012
By ,
Murfreesboro,Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had it for a week at first did great but started messing up on embrodering and would not pick up the bobbin so i am taking it back..........
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Very disappointed

10/19/2010
By ,
Disney, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a Brother SE350 and it was constantly jamming,threads getting tangled around bobbin case.
Got rid of it to get the SE400 which replaced the SE350.
The moment I opened the box.. I should of returned this machine to walmart.
The thread breaks EVERY TIME I embroidery !! It tears holes in shirts.. I've tried new needles, changed tension,3 different brands of threads.
I've taken the top case off and nothing caught in the machine.. Nothing in the bobbin case tangled.
This machine is ONE WEEK OLD and its a piece of junk machine !!!
Maybe I got a LEMON cause other's love this little machine.
I don't want to pay $50 to take it to the shop and wait several days to get it back. Plus the 4 hrs I will be on the road totally to get to the shop.
Really frustrated the machine is one week old and has all these issues.
At my my other brother was over a month old before it started having issues.
I'm going to upgrade to a bigger machine in Feb/March and hope to have better luck, but in the meantime I NEED a machine that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Greensburg Ky
Posted 12/18/2013
I had the same problem til I started using the automatic cutter
0points
Customer Avatar
Wilmington, NC
Posted 11/05/2012
Egad, so many thread breaks. First of all, and nobody ever mentions this, never thread a Brother with the presser foot down. This will almost always cause a snag and is a difficult problem to diagnose because you always destroy the evidence looking for the problem. To make it even harder, sometimes the machine will operate almost normally even when improperly threaded. Raising the presser foot opens the thread tension apparatus to receive the thread. Always raise the foot when you thread.
Problems below the bobbin cover are most often caused by the bobbin rattling around and eventually getting itself turned up on edge just as the thread from the needle comes over the top of it. There is not a warning sensor for this so the machine just keeps running. This is the kind of snag that will suck your fabric down through the needle hole and tear it. Put your plastic bobbins in the drawer and purchase a box of good quality, professionally wound cardboard bobbins size L. They run smoother than plastic and hold way more thread than you can wind on your bobbins at home.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Worked Good at First then Not.

08/17/2010
By ,
Douglas, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a first time embroidery machine buyer. I loved this machine when I first bought it. It worked so good and I was so excited to be able to put names on items. Then all at once needles started breaking one after another and the bobbin thread would tangle and bunch under the metal guard. I actually ripped holes in my towel trying to get it to turn it loose. I have read many reviews about this machine and everyone seems to be happy with it, so maybe I just had a factory defect. I have returned it and am looking into buying another machine soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Concern with Machine

11/22/2011
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was so excited to get the machine. Walmart order process was GREAT. The machine was doing beautifully until I changed out thread for the first time. The tension is messed up and I can't get it adjusted properly. You can't adjust the bobbin tension and the top tension wheel doesn't appear to do much of anything. So now the machine is sitting idle until I have time to try a few troubleshooting efforts. I'm back to my old Singer until I find a fix.
I read reviews from other purchasers who experienced the same problem. I'm not returning the machine just yet because I was able to monogram a few items and they turned out very good. I am open to all suggestions!!! Help Please.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Good machine for a beginner

03/18/2014
By ,
Blytheville,AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Screen display is a little hard to understand but it is a good beginning machine to learn on
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

embroidery machine

01/10/2011
By ,
Basehor, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a bit dissapointed in product. Not user friendly. sewing arm too close to table. Hard to feed material around the arm. feeder does not feed material through evenly. Embroidery option very complicated. Haven't mastered yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Disappointed

01/06/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a good sewing machine, but ordered this for the embroidery part so I could monogram. I have had a hard time with that part. Instructions are not clear...very hard to understand. It is hard to get the material and stabilizer tight in the hoop for embroidery and the thread on the back looks bad, as well as on the front. Maybe it's just me, but I am disappointed. I guess you get what you pay for, but I expected more than this. It sews very well, no complaints there, just not so great for monogramming. Also, took over 2 weeks to get to me!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Somewhat Disappointed

06/22/2013
By ,
KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the SE 400 based on all the 4 and 5 star reviews from various sites. It was easy to use, right out of the box. The youtube tutorial showing how to applique is misleading because you aren't told you need applique software for the applique mode to work as shown. The manual that comes with the se 400 is vague. Thankfully there are many youtube videos. It is a good little machine for limited appliquing and embroidering. The designs on the display just looks like black blobs. I had to look at the packing box to determine what the designs were.Have a picture handy when importing designs into the machine.They are unrecognizable.After 3 weeks, the embroidery unit just locked up, never to move again. I had only used it to embroider about 12 designs for a baby quilt. Walmart refunded my money or I would have given it less stars. I love embroidering now so I am going to purchase a machine that has larger embroidering area than 4x4.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400
01/10/2011
By ,
Scranton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this as a gift to my grand daughter
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

"Great Machine one drawback

12/27/2011
By ,
Mid America
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this machine for about 10 days now. it is all that the manufacturer says it is. easy to use, easy to download embroidery patterns from computer to machine... only drawback I have found so far is that the internal memory is so small. it can only save about 12 patterns to memory and if you want more you will have to delete saved patterns and install new ones... should be more installed memory in machine. should be at least one GB,. othere than that this is exactly what is described... I have made several embroidery patterns on shirts, jackets, etc that look great. you will have to purchace embroidery thread and backing material for using patterns on materials, but they will look great done on this machine...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Great machine

06/24/2013
By ,
indianapolis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine has many convenient features and is very easy to use. I love the automatic needle threading. I have bad eyesight and this feature is very helpful. I also love not having to use the foot pedal control. The ease of selecting you stitch type then being able to adjust width and length and then save it to memory is great time saver. It's a compact and lightweight machine. And the price is great. The only complaint I have is the angle of the thread spool holder. I prefer perpendicular because I like to use the cone thread and this machine holds the thread horizontally.
I was upset to see that Walmart.com lowered the price of this machine by $80 within 3 days of my purchase and there is no price protection on online purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Great value for the money.

12/20/2011
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine is a great value for the beginner. Compared to thousands of dollars for an embroidery machine, this one is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next