Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Brother Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

This Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine SE 400 can be connected to a computer, allowing you to enjoy future machine updates and easily import and digitize embroidery designs directly from your computer. The embroidery machine comes with seventy built-in embroidery designs and 5 monogramming fonts. Ninety-eight stitch functions in this Brother SE-400 machine let you blend your creativity with technology. This quickset sewing machine includes drop-in bobbin and an automated needle threader. Get the most out of this computerized sewing machine using the on-screen reference guide in sixteen languages. It even features an LCD panel. The Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine SE 400 is designed to give your projects a customized, high-end look, and at the same time, is priced to fit your budget.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(366 Reviews) 307
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
290
4 stars
58
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation96%349 out of 365reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
296 Questions | 863 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
290
4 stars
58
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Awesome Machine

02/10/2012
By ,
Laurel MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st off I did a ton of research, and I just found that this machine was getting the best reviews of any out there. I had not used a sewing machine much but my daughter is having twins so I was willing to do my best to learn. The instructions in the box are not the best. I went to a local sewing store for advice on stablizer, thread, and needles. I also bought a bigger hoop, not that the maching will do bigger that 4X4 just because its easier to hoop and you don't have to rehoop to add a design to your project. Once I figured everything out I have been going non-stop ever since it was purchased. You can not beat this machine. I downloaded a free digitizing program off the internet (Stitch Era) bought the designs I wanted and went to town. My work looks as good as the professional Embroidery store. You have to do your home work to get the best results, buy good thread, stablizer and needles. This is the way to go, no dought!!!! Love my Brother!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Help please :)
Posted 08/23/2014
What size hoop did you end up with? ALso could you share which stabilizer thread and needles you found great?
Thanks a million!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Great machine, great price

07/28/2010
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a novice sewer and I had been using an old machine before upgrading to this. What a difference!! All of the sewing functions are easy... automatic threader, easy bobbin winding and placement, etc. On top of a great little sewing machine, you get an embroidery machine, too! The two towel photos I uploaded were created with designs included in the machine. I also purchased the accessory that allows you to download any .pes design onto your computer and then place it on a card that inserts into the machine. There are limitless possibilities and lots of free designs available online. I have had a few issues with embroidery jamming, but I've figured out that you really must use the correct type of needle, a new needle, and the correct stabilizer for every fabric. I highly recommend this machine for any beginner to advanced sewer, as well as beginner machine embrioderers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
.PES Accessory
Posted 05/25/2011
What was the accessory called? I've searched and searched with no luck...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

From a new sewer, THIS IS AMAZING!

02/03/2011
By ,
Morehead City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this for about a month. I am brand new to sewing, I did have some basic training in high school 12 years ago. This machine is sooooooooooo simple to get started with. I watched the instructional DVD first and an hour later I was in business. Before this machine I had bought a Singer Futura CE 200 and WOW I hated it! Bobbin kept popping out and I cried! I sold it and thought I would try again since this machine had great reviews and my experience has been night and day. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I can already tell I am outgrowing the 4x4 hoop that comes with it for the embroidery. Transfering graphics from online to the machine is SIMPLE! You can find several free websites to get them. This is an awesome starter!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
ONESIE
Posted 05/25/2011
I can't seem to embroider anything on my baby's clothes! They're too small to wrap around the loop. How did you manage?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

I LOVE this machine

12/31/2011
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a new machine when my 25-year-old Singer finally died. I was only familiar with the Singer brand and was a little leery about trying something new. My aunt had recently done a ton of research on new machines and she recommended this model. I am SO glad I listened to her and bought it. It has so many upgrades and features that I had never even heard of before, self threading, automatic thread cutting, drop in, self threading bobbin and a wonderful and easy to understand on-screen function panel. I have been going crazy with this little gem. In my house, if it isn't tied down, I've embroidered on it! Have only had time to do a few actual sewing projects, but it has performed flawlessly. I can not say enough about the value for the price. This is a fabulous deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Super Sewing

05/05/2011
By ,
Macon, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Brother Sewing and Embroidery Machine. It is super easy to use. I love that it threads the needle automatically. and has a screen that shows you step by step how to use many of the features. I haven't used the embroidery yet. Look forward to learning. I am including a picture of an Adult Bib that I made as my first project on this machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Love it! Great for beginners like me.

12/31/2011
By ,
Lubbock, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this machine for a few weeks. I am a complete newby when it comes to embroidery machines. I only bought it to do the monogramming on the baby blankets I've been making because I was sick of having a friend do it for me. It took me about an hour to get started going. With some practice, I am getting pretty good. The size of the font is the only limitation- if I want to have it be very big, then it either has to be a short name, or I have to get more comfortable with breaking it up- which can be done with practice. I've about got it figured out, I think. between the quick start guide and the instruction manual, it's got all the info you need. I have not used it for sewing, but the features are fantastic and I have read nothing but good reviews on the sewing feature. Overall, 5 stars. Great product for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joplin, Mo.
A question.
Posted 01/05/2014
What does the term "98 stitch functions" have in connection with the term " 67 built in stitches"? I understand there are 67 built in stitches in the machine but the term "functions" is confusing to me. I have done a bunch of research and have read only good things about this machine and am definitely going to replace my 20yr. old Kenmore with this machine. I am 71 yrs.old and I will let the girls in the family fight over it when I'm gone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Great for embroidery beginners

06/16/2011
By ,
Waterford, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted with my Brother SE 400! If you follow instructions, adjust settings for thread,needle and project- it works wonderfully! Effortless thread changes during a multi-color embrodiery, the threading system is simple, and needle threader works every time! I've stitched on tee-shirts, a quilt and samples on flour sacks for kitchen towels. I have also downloaded free embrodiery designs from internet and made them. Very satisfied with this machine. Wish it had a larger area for embroidery-especially for words. Get creative and buy proper quality threads for perfect results!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Excellent Machine!!

02/17/2011
By ,
Rome, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to replace my old and tired Kenmore machine and saw this one online. I was a little skeptical about it at first...a sewing AND embroidery machine for the price of a good quality sewing machine alone? I thought it may be cheap or that the stitch quality wouldn't be good...but Brother DEFINITELY delivers on this one! While the body itself is plastic it doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all. The stitch quality is outstanding especially considering the low price tag on this machine.
I was intimidated when setting it up because of all the controls and touchscreen, but it was a breeze to get up and running. I think it took about 10 minutes to start my first stitches, which would have been less if I didn't read through the setup part of the manual first (which I highly recommend doing!). The manual is very easy to read and understand. I didn't find it lacking at all.
Choosing a stitch is easy. The machine tells you what foot to use for each stitch so there is no confusion. Switching from sewing to embroidery is a cinch. Simply shut off the machine, change the presser foot, and attach the embroidery head which snaps easily into place. Importing embroidery images from the computer is literally drag-and-drop. No software required at all!
I also purchased the sidecutter foot from Amazon (walmart didn't have it) for 30$ for this machine, which basically makes it a serger as well, less the multiple threads. I have found seams made with this foot to be extremely strong and durable.
Overall, this is the best machine for the value that I have found to date. I absolutely LOVE it and I wouldn't trade it for any of the higher priced machines out there!!
I've attached a couple pictures. Keep in mind my camera isn't the greatest.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PEARLAND
QUESTION BEFORE I BUY ONE!! :)
Posted 03/06/2013
DOES IT AUTOMATICALLY SWITCH BETWEEN COLORS LIKE IN YOUR PICTURE?? AND IF I WANTED TO MONOGRAM OR EMBROIDER A SENTENCE WOULD I HAVE TO GO LETTER BY LETTER OF CAN I TYPE THE SENTENCE ONTO THE TOUCH SCREEN AND JUST LET IT DO ITS JOB?? THANKS :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

A Great Value for this Machine

03/18/2011
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought my SE-400 at my local Walmart yesterday. I am very pleased with the machine, and even though I am experienced with machine embroidery, I took the time to review the enclosed CD about every aspect of the machine. I have already tested some embroidery on a lightweight bridal fabric and a fleece fabric (using the appropriate stabilizers), and they came out great. When I ran out of upper thread, it was easy to re-set and get it going again. After reviewing the CD, I learned that the machine had features I didn't even know of, that are really great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Above expectations

01/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sewing machine was the best present that I ever gave to myself. It exceeds my expectations. I have already out grown the hoop size of 4 X 4 for applique and embroidery, but I knew that would happen and I purchased this with eyes open to the fact. Point is, for the money...this machine can't be beat. Not only is the embroidery and applique function so easy and so fun, the regular sewing stitches and capabilites are making me look SOOOOO good!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Great Machine

08/22/2011
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. I'm an experienced sewer, but new at embroidery. Still learning the embroidery & really wish I could blog w/someone to get ideas. I am impressed with all the features like the threader & cuter. I have monogrammed about 5 things & all have turned out. I plan to take a class to learn how to utilize all the features. Again, I want to connect with someone to learn more what the machine will do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Fantastic machine for first timers

06/04/2012
By ,
Mineola, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine 1 1/2 yrs ago when my daughter was expecting her first baby. I never stop using it! Have made book bags, baby clothes, burp cloths, baby blankets, soft books, decorated kitchen towels and my bathrobes. I made pillows with deer and bobcat designs for my grandson, and am working on a collage of fish and flies for him. I have so many projects in my head! It is easy to use, never have any problems. Recommended it to my sister who wants to start monograming. Explained the limits on the size of designs, but I really have no need for 5x7 designs. The 4x4 is large enough for what I do. My one question: Why is it an extra 4MB memory card sells for over $200 but I can buy the PED-basic system (again) and get an included memory card for under $100. Something here does not make sense. The machine itself is fantastic and I would recommend it and buy another one myself.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

LOVE this machine!!!!!!!!!

01/02/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved this machine every since the day I bought it. Three years ago my machine stopped working and I had to find a new one right away. I decided to look at the ones in Wal-Mart to see if I could find me one to get by with till I could look for a new one with all the bells and whistles I was looking for. I decided to try this one. After I started using it I decided not to look for a new one. This machine is so easy to use and has so much on it why buy one that cost so much more. Like I said before, I have had it for 3 years and have made many clothes for my cousin's daughter. I have also made crafts and quilts on it. I love to embroidery with it also. The only improvement they could make is to have different size embroidery hoops for it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Great Machine

11/27/2011
By ,
Laurel MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this machine 2 days ago. I apsolutely love it. I got online and downloaded several free .dst files that I can upload to the sewing machine and once you upload it that's it. I also downloaded a free program for momogram font. One thing I will say is you MUST follow directions. Use the needles, stabilizer and thread they recommend. If you do not you will have problems it will jam up in the middle of the project. If you purchase at Walmart keep your receipt. They are very good about taking purchases back when you have a problem, but I think if you give it a shot and get over the learning curve you will Love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Unexpected surprise!

12/14/2012
By ,
Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Directed my mom to this machine last Black Friday and so glad I did! Excellent value for a great product! She used it daily for the past year. She just upgraded so she could use 5x7 designs because this one only does 4x4 and smaller.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Awesome!

09/20/2013
By ,
Portland, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine. It worked well right out of the box. It tells you when the bobbin thread is getting low, and it lifts the presser foot and cuts the thread for you. It's insane. I connected it to my computer and copied a Superman design to the sewing machine. I then embroidered a hat with a really fun Superman emblem. I also made a couple Superman patches and have sewn them on a messenger bag. You can do so many thinks with this machine. It's light, takes up so little room. It's an affordable, fun, creative addition to my craft area.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

So far, it's great.

10/19/2011
By ,
Foresthill,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions and DVD tutorials are very helpful. I really enjoy all the automatic features. I haven't used the embroidery option, yet, but I see no problems. Everything I have read has been excellent, and I have to agree.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

So far so good

03/21/2013
By ,
Ogdensburg Ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this machine for a week but I've played with all the main features, made several items and so far I'm quite impressed. It offers quite a selection of features for a machine in this price range. Easy to use (large, easy to read touch screen stitch selection and automatic needle threader), not huge so it's easy to move and store for those who don't have a dedicated sewing area and the embroidery attachment is pretty impressive for a small non-commercial grade unit. Again it's only been one week but I've used it daily and have no complaints about the machine. The manual has a couple of sections I had to re-read to understand fully but this machine is quite advanced technology wise so that was to be expected. Just be sure to take the time to read the manual even if you already know how to sew because of the advanced features. I read a lot of reviews on this machine prior to purchasing it and most of the negative reviews sounded like issues that arose due to owners not reading the manual first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

The Husband

10/28/2010
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being new to sewing machines, I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this for my wife. I learned a lot along the way and have used it as much as her. What we found was an incredibly easy to use machine that results in professional looking work. The embroidery aspect of the machine is simple to use and yields an excellent quality. Being able to connect via USB allows to download almost any design file out there. The limitations lie in the size of the designs that can be used. At most, the machine can handle 4" x 6.5" designs. This is big enough for 95% of the designs out there. The machine is easy to switch from embroidery to sewing, or from one foot to another. This is a great tool to work and learn with. Although we're novices, we've already produced great looking things. We haven't had the machine long enough to really attest to it's long term durability. However, it is well made and I know that this will be very durable. It's used heavily and I can tell how well this machine is made - definitely not a flimsy product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+301points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine, SE-400

Very disappointed

10/19/2010
By ,
Disney, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a Brother SE350 and it was constantly jamming,threads getting tangled around bobbin case.
Got rid of it to get the SE400 which replaced the SE350.
The moment I opened the box.. I should of returned this machine to walmart.
The thread breaks EVERY TIME I embroidery !! It tears holes in shirts.. I've tried new needles, changed tension,3 different brands of threads.
I've taken the top case off and nothing caught in the machine.. Nothing in the bobbin case tangled.
This machine is ONE WEEK OLD and its a piece of junk machine !!!
Maybe I got a LEMON cause other's love this little machine.
I don't want to pay $50 to take it to the shop and wait several days to get it back. Plus the 4 hrs I will be on the road totally to get to the shop.
Really frustrated the machine is one week old and has all these issues.
At my my other brother was over a month old before it started having issues.
I'm going to upgrade to a bigger machine in Feb/March and hope to have better luck, but in the meantime I NEED a machine that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Greensburg Ky
Posted 12/18/2013
I had the same problem til I started using the automatic cutter
0points
Customer Avatar
Wilmington, NC
Posted 11/05/2012
Egad, so many thread breaks. First of all, and nobody ever mentions this, never thread a Brother with the presser foot down. This will almost always cause a snag and is a difficult problem to diagnose because you always destroy the evidence looking for the problem. To make it even harder, sometimes the machine will operate almost normally even when improperly threaded. Raising the presser foot opens the thread tension apparatus to receive the thread. Always raise the foot when you thread.
Problems below the bobbin cover are most often caused by the bobbin rattling around and eventually getting itself turned up on edge just as the thread from the needle comes over the top of it. There is not a warning sensor for this so the machine just keeps running. This is the kind of snag that will suck your fabric down through the needle hole and tear it. Put your plastic bobbins in the drawer and purchase a box of good quality, professionally wound cardboard bobbins size L. They run smoother than plastic and hold way more thread than you can wind on your bobbins at home.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 308 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next