Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Brother Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

The Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine is a wonderful machine for both experienced sewers and those who are just learning to sew. This lightweight sewing machine serves all basic sewing and mending needs. You can sew straight, satin, and zigzag stitches with the help of this machine. This zigzag stitch sewing machine comes with 14 built-in stitches that have 35 stitch functions. A built-in free arm is also available for sewing cuffs or sleeves. The quick-change presser feet give you the benefit of changing the feet easily. It also has a 4-step auto buttonholer to create perfect button holes every time. The auto bobbin winder in this lightweight sewing machine automatically winds threads onto the bobbin.
Average Customer Rating:
3.674 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation70%32 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Great Starter Sewing Machine!

12/03/2012
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing this sewing machine, and i couldn't agree more with everyone. It's a great sewing machine for someone just starting out.. it does everything you need it to do. It comes with a very helpful and easy to follow dvd on how to use it properly and how to use all the different parts and features.
Over all and excellent product for the price.. you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Great product and DVD!

04/07/2011
By ,
Dallas GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great, I am new to the world of sewing and this product and the DVD are amazing.
I purchased curtains in Walmarts clearance section and decided to make one into a shower curtain, I tried using grommets for the holes and it would not work right, so I put in the DVD and was happy to see instructions for button holes!
My whole life I was told by all family members who are excellent seamstress that button holes were hard, but not with this machine!
Great product!
I am attaching two pic one of the shower curtain the other of pillow I made from valances!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Great starter machine!

08/03/2010
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I own an old Janome/New Home machine but wanted to get something new to learn on. You can't beat the price of this machine and has all the things you need to have when learning how to sew for the first time. The plates are cute as well.
I love the fact that you don't need to change the foot when you want to zigzag and the button hole maker is a breeze. It has all the features that you need and when you upgrade you will know all those features because you have them here. The operation manual is a little hard to read but the enclosed DVD makes everything a breeze! I was threaded and sewing in less than a half hour.
My only caveat is that this machine is LOUD. My old machine is no where near as loud as this but because of the value and ease of use as well as the great customer support Brother offers I will let that go.
Overall even with the noise (!) this is a great value and great for new sewers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Thrilled with this Machine

12/02/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned my machine for about a year now and must say I love it! It does everything I need it to do. I had not touched a sewing machine since I was little girl and so I needed a machine that would be user friendly. The DVD that comes with it helped alot. If you are a visual learner, it's a definite plus. I highly recommend this machine for anyone who wants to learn to sew. I will be buying one for my 9 y/o to learn on.
I have purchased several different feet for this machine: ruffler foot, walking foot, rolled hem foot, 1/4" edge guide foot, stitch in the ditch foot and an embroidery foot. The machine has a low-shank, so just make sure to buy feet for a low-shank machine and you'll be fine. I purchased my additional feet from JC penney, Joann Fabric and sewingmachinesplus.com.
I use my machine alot... at least a couple times a week and I must say it honestly does everything I need it to do and then some!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Fantastic gift for the young as well as anyone

10/09/2013
By ,
Pasadena Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Granddaughter had a wonderful Birthday turning 12. She loves arts and crafts and sewing and making anything possible. She learned simple things on my Sewing machine so I decided it would be a great gift for her. She loves using it and has learned how to run the machine by herself. It is a wonderful machine and also comes with a CD to show you things to make it run properly. I would say anyone looking for a great Christmas gift also this machine would be perfect for anyone starting out or just wanting a machine to do little things far better then the ones that have a lot of depth to learning how to use them. I intend to get the next step up for myself of the Brother Sewing machine. I have always used only Singer but now I see Brother has a fine machine also.
I learned to sew on my Grandmothers Singer the one in the cabinet with the foot plate you pushed on not the electric ones. Times have changed but the enjoyment of sewing still reaches out to young ones even in this day and age......not always just electronic items like Ipods to PC's to texting it is wonderful to find our children still enjoy learning all sorts of things including projects using your hands making things I know it sure made my heart happy knowing my Granddaughter is enjoying the gift I thought would be the best .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

awesome for beginners

10/28/2010
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first sewing machine. The dvd is amazing. The instruction manual, very easy to use. I learned the basics in two hours. I have a lot to learn still but I have managed to recycle my own clothes into different new items and adjust pieces to fit better. By far it is the best hobby-related purchase I’ve ever made and highly recommend it. It is a starter sewing machine so I’m sure that as I learn more, I will probably upgrade to another Brother machine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

DO NOT BUY!

02/20/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS SEWING MACHINE!!! I receive this sewing machine as a gift for Christmas. After I moved out from home, I needed a machine of my own instead of using my mom’s machine. I had previously seen this machine and was aware that it was a “cheap” sewing machine (cheap in price). Well I started using it and almost immediately ran into problems. The thread in the bobbin comes loose and out of place after only sewing slow and straight for about 3 inches. I had to stop every few inches just to put the thread back into its place because if I didn’t all the thread would accumulate and be extremely loose and loopy at the back of the fabric (I don’t know if there is a technical sewing term for this). My mom’s old machine NEVER did this despite the fact that it was about 15 years older. So save your time, frustration and money and opt to buy a machine that might be a little bit more expensive but at least it won’t give you problems like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

great beginner's machine!

05/12/2011
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine for my daughter. I didn't want to bother with those "toy" machines that only break or don't do a good job. So I found this one for the price that fit our budget. Was a little apprehensive about getting a front-loading bobbin, but it hasn't given us a bit of trouble! She's loving learning to sew on her own machine, and she'll then graduate up to my fancier machine later!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Not a fan.

10/19/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After owning several brother machines and some more expensive machines (Husqvarna), I must say that you get what you pay for. Yes, the machine is cute with its interchangeable plates. Yes it does have the stitches that it boasts about. However, the bobbin case is a nightmare! I am a very experienced seamstress, so I know how to load a bobbin and this doggone thing keeps tangling up. My main thread snaps constantly and is apparently getting wrapped up in something on the inside. I will be returning this machine and purchasing a more reliable model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Confused by review???
Posted 05/31/2013
Why would an "experienced seamstress" buy this type of machine? The reviews posted before this one were written by novices; and, all 6 seemed very pleased with their purchase. I was ready to add it to my cart until I read this review; however, now I am hesitant based on your comments, hence the title of my review. Hopefully, you will read this and advise, based on your experience, whether this machine will be adequate for a beginner. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Terrible product

05/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a fairly experience sewer on a budget. I bought this a while back and have had nothing but problems. The thread snaps, sometimes stitches fine but is black with grease from somewhere in the bobbin case, and I couldn't ever get the tension right. The top side would look fine, but looking on the underside, the thread is in a bunch of loops. Like I said, I have some experience with sewing machines and this is the worst one I have ever used. I bought it to make baby clothes while I was pregnant and ended up with it just sitting on the shelf for the last year. Total waste.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

DO NOT FALL FOR THE CUTENESS OF THIS MACHINE!!!!

06/05/2011
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this machine to begin sewing clothes and whatever else i could imagine. i watched the dvd, which was very helpful with learning but when i began sewing the thread became tangled. I re-thread the machine (correctly) and began sewing... not even five minutes later did it become tangled again. I am thinking in my head... is this what people who sew have to deal with? A straight line of stitching that measured about a foot long took me 20 minutes... i honestly had to keep re-threading over and over. I ask my mother (who is an experienced craft and sewer) she said i have threaded correctly and that a quality machine will not do this. so.... all in all... do not buy this machine if you are seriously trying to sew... it is just terrible.. the bobbin case is the BIGGEST problem, not to mention how loud it truly is. is bangs and clanks soo loud my fiance was wondering what i was doing LOL. but now i am stuck with a junk machine and trying to find the reciept so that i can take it back. thank God my fiance bought me a new singer with a computerized screen. BTW. i wouldnt even buy this for a teen or a pre-teen to learn on. how frustrating it was trying to learn on this thing and thinking that i was doing it wrong. (i am 22 years old) :):)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Good machine!

09/08/2010
By ,
Henderson, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to sew a lot when I younger but haven't done any sewing in quite a few years. My old machine was one of those heavy duty metal things that was great. This one is lightweight, ALL plastic (which I'm not used to), but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it sews great and is easy to use. The DVD is helpful, don't forget to watch it. I bought this as part of a bundle with the carrying case which is, well, very lightweight and kind of cheapish feeling but it works quite well to hold the sewing machine and a few extra things to keep them all together in one place. I kept the bottom styrofoam thing that the sewing machine came in to keep it steady in the case. I would recommend this to anyone who just needs to do some light sewing and mending.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Even for the price it's a bad buy.

09/12/2011
By ,
Lake Zurich, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I learned to sew on my mom's machine and didn't realize how spoiled this would make me. As an adult I decided to start sewing again and needed a machine. I wasn't sure if I would still enjoy it so I went with an affordable machine. Well I still love sewing but I do not like this machine at all. The tension does not set well and the thread snaps free because of this. Also the bobbin is terrible and creates loops for the thread to tangle in. When working with stretch fabrics for barbie clothes the machine eats the material. I thought it was the way I had the machine set up but my mom looked at it, tweaked a few things and came to the same conclusion...this is a terrible machine. Currently looking for a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

LOVE ITTT!!!

09/05/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's perfect!! Light weight, easy to use, perfect for beginners... and it's cute!! Love the zebra face plate... all at the perfect price, fell well below my budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Love it!

01/25/2011
By ,
frankewing,tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a machine given to me by my grandmother and while it is a great machine, it was so complicated to use! Decided I was going to get a new one and bought the brothers. So far I don't have a single bad thing to say about it! I make some clothes for my daughter and it does great! I've used it every single day so far making pillowcase dresses, little bloomers, pants etc and I LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

I wouldn't recommend for anybody who sews

01/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Where do I even start...
The thread breaks constantly.
The tension is always screwed up.
There is always a tangle somewhere.
You will be ecstatic IF you can get 10 good stitches from it. I am not bothered about how loud it is, because i'm too busy praying I can finish a stitch without complication.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

great value for beginner

11/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I made my machine's value worth the first project was a pikachu costume that was online for about $90, and I only spent at most $20 in materials. I've used heavy fleeces and sewn through posterboard material covered in fleece to achieve a firm upright tail for the costume. I did this after not touching a sewing machine in about a decade. I've only used my mom's sturdy powerhorse Singer prefessional machine. This was delightfully quiet. It's not as powerful, but it does the job. So far it came out of the box w/ the reverse broken, but i'm assuming that's why it was returned to the store/open box to begin with. All in all I'm still keeping the machine because for the $60 that I paid for it, it runs great and it's made it's worth in hemming pants and making baby blankets for my daughter. I'm not a seamstress, just a mom who wants to do a few light jobs throughout the year. Perfect match.
As far as the thread tangling up. I had a great deal of it until I googled the problem. This machine is very finicky about the threads being pulled straight to the back. I by habit always sewed with the thread to the left. That change in position of thread ends when starting has elmimated the tangling situation. I sewed light satin onto a thick berber fleece baby blanket w/o rips/tears/thread tangling using the zigzag stitch.
only downfall is the reverse not working but oh well, it's still a great machine for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

poor

06/12/2011
By ,
Lancaster,KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I feel that I wasted my money on this machine, it is very noisy and sews poorly. I have tried to
set the tension, and no matter what number you set it at, the bobbin thread is still loose. I wish I had never bought this machine. I have an old machine that came from a sewing factory, but is really heavy, I bought this one thinking I would enjoy it much more, because it is light weight and I can move to where ever I want. I'll stick to my old machine, at least it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

I'm a new sewer

03/06/2011
By ,
walworth ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this for valentines day gift...i love this machine!! i have never owned a machine before and so glad i own this one. i have sewen new curtain for livingroom and kitchen, a few dresses and pillows and i even did a hem job...i don't wanna stop sewing now!! Anyone who is new to sewing i would get this machine..the instruction in book are great. i had to sew a zipper and did dteps in book and it worked just great!! Now if i could just master patterns..i'm learning !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine

Tangled bobbin!

05/19/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I felt like I was constantly fixing the the bobbin case. Kept jamming up and get all tangled up in the bobbin case. Also you cannot adjust the speed of the machine and goes way to fast which makes it hard to sew a straight line at times. I returned today. The DVD was very good and useful tho. I think I'll just shell out the money and buy something that won't be so difficult to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next