Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Hoover Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Loaded with the latest technologies, the UH70400 Hoover Windtunnel Air Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum offers the perfect solution for all your cleaning needs. The true multi-stage cyclonic technology and No Loss of Suction technology used in this Hoover lightweight vacuum cleaner provides strong suction power to remove even the smallest particles for excellent cleaning. It features WindTunnel technology that removes dust from carpets efficiently. The HEPA filter removes 99.7 percent of dust, pollen, and dirt helping you provide a healthy atmosphere for your family. This WindTunnel air vacuum cleaner includes a crevice tool, extension wand, upholstery tool, and a stair hose for complete wall-to-wall cleaning. The brushroll control feature on this HEPA filtration vacuum cleaner allows you to move from carpeted to bare floors with ease. This upright vacuum cleaner has a deep recline handle that lets you lay it flat down for efficient cleaning under furniture.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(583 Reviews) 571
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
165
3 stars
36
2 stars
46
1 star
86
Customer Recommendation76%426 out of 560reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
165
3 stars
36
2 stars
46
1 star
86
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Light weight, easy to use, great suction

12/20/2012
By ,
West Point, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PLUS-Weighs 12 pounds so it's easy to handle and use on stairs.
PLUS-The brush stops rotating whenever the handle is in upright position.
PLUS-You can turn off the brush if you are vacuuming vinyl floors.
PLUS-The handle is adjustable to various heights, which is great if you are tall.
PLUS-The handle comes out completely and can be quickly snapped to the main hose for those hard to reach high places.
PLUS-If you need more hose length, there is another hose that's anchored to the side of the vacuum that can be quickly clipped to the first hose.
PLUS-The flat crevice tool fits inside the small brush attachment so they take up less space on the vacuum. Pop them apart and quickly snap onto the main hose when needed.
PLUS-The dirt cup is easy to detach and empty.
PLUS-The HEPA filter can be removed, cleaned, and reused.
PLUS-The suction is so good that the dirt cup filled up with gray powder the first few times I used it. My carpet looked clean, but this vacuum pulled out deep down dirt.
?MINUS?-It doesn't have a carpet height adjustment, but I've gone from carpet to vinyl without any trouble and my daughter has shag carpet and this vacuum handles that without any trouble.
I first tried this vacuum at my mother-in-law's home and really like the way it handled so I bought one for me. Then I let my daughter borrow it and she bought one for herself. Even her 4 yr old can handle it. I let my daughter-in-law try it and now she has one. I even bought a second one so I could have one upstairs and downstairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

strong suction vacuum

11/14/2012
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this vacuum after my Dyson stopped working and am very pleased. I didn't want to pay the extra money again for a Dyson vaccum that only lasted three years. The Hoover Air is great quality for the money. The ease of pulling it straight out of the box and basically plugging it in was a huge plus for me. The suction is so strong that I don't feel like I have compromised in buying the Hoover vs. the Dyson. It tilts down so that I can easily vaccum under beds and tables and has attachements that I can use for upholstery, corners, etc. The extension cord is also very long so I am able to vacuum multiple rooms and hallway without unplugging and changing locations. I didn't give it a higher rating because I cannot reach the hose completely up the two sets of stairs that I have, like I could with my last vaccum and the hose connections when changing out the attachments take multiple steps instead of the ease of my last vaccum. Overall I am happy with the Hoover and would recommend this alternative to anyone on a budget.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Wow!

02/17/2012
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were happy with our Hoover T Series Windtunnel but decided to try the next generation. The cyclonic power of this vaccum is superb. It is quiet, extremely light weight and the telescopic feature is great. This isn't just a vaccum, it's a multi function cleaning machine. We have a mix of plush and berber carpet, laminate and linoleum flooring. The one touch button to turn off the brush for hard surfaces is easy to use and works great. It doesn't push dust around like nearly every vaccum on a hard surface. The crevice tool is ideal to clean baseboards, fans, cobwebs and easily fits behind furniture by extending the telescopic tool. We are amazed at the amount of small particles this picks up. It even sucked up small styrofoam pieces off carpet and baby powder out of a bathroom shelf. If you are looking for a cost effective equivalent to the Dyson's technology, this is it. My kids even stopped complaining when asked to do their vaccuming chore! That alone made this product worth it. We also have four dogs. They are no match for this vaccum! No fine hair anywhere.
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Lightweight, quiet, great on hard surface flooring

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently purchased this vacuum. The major advantages are 1- it's light, 2 - it's VERY quiet, 3 - it has an adjustable length handle, 4 - the rollerbrush can be turned off, 5 - it has a washable filter, 6 - it has an easy to empty dirt receptacle, 7 - the suction is powerful (at least up until this point), 8 - it has a long cord (30 ft). The attachments are very basic and take some time to assemble so I wouldn't purchase this if you tend to vacuum a lot with the attachments. I also wouldn't purchase this if you have high-pile carpets as the height is not adjustable and it would be very difficult to push on a high-pile carpet. I purchased this vacuum predominantly for hardwood flooring (and a few area carpets) and it's great - the wheels are a soft rubber (ie. they won't damage your floors), it has a rubber bumper, and the roller brush can be turned off. I have never used a Dyson, but after using this vacuum I wouldn't dream of spending an additional 2 to 3 hundred dollars. Compared to the $80 Eureka that I purchased three years ago (also 12 lbs), this vacuum is a dream!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Pleasantly surprised!!

01/13/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vac a few months ago with high expectations. I wanted something quiet, lightweight, powerful on all my floor types, and a vacuum that could lay flat to get under my furniture. This vacuum meets all my expectations! It works wonderfully on carpeting, as well as bare floors (it has a brushroll shutoff that keeps the vacuum from "scattering" the dirt everywhere on bare floors. The vacuum is not bulky at all (like most new bagless vacuums..), so it can easily get around and under furniture. It also has a fab hose and extension hose that lets the vacuum easily clean a full flight of stairs! The combo-tool could be better, and the bin has to be emptied often (don't let it get above the "max" line, or the pre-motor filter will get dirty really fast), but overall this a very fun, lightweight, quiet, versatile vacuum that I would recommend to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

My 2 Cents

03/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Vacuum Cleaner... I won't go into all the details, there isn't any need to... From the reviews I have read already, mine won't be any different... HOWEVER, I only found one little problem... The little 2 wheels underneath the vacuum cleaner may squeak after using it for some time... Don't return it or call Hoover for replacements... Get some WD-40 and squirt a very small amount on each side... This will take care of the problem...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Working Great 5 Years After Purchase

03/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read many of the poor reviews on here, and I have to say I'm surprised. I bought mine back in 2010 from Best Buy. Since then,I have lost many of the attachments because my kids liked to play with them. Other than that, I love this vacuum cleaner. It's still got great suction to this day. I clean the roller about once a year and clean the filter about twice a year. The dust bin does get full pretty quickly, and you lose a lot of suction power if you don't dump it out regularly. If you have dogs that shed pretty good during the summer this isn't the vacuum for you. I had a dog and it just couldn't pick as much hair up as I would have liked.
I have used this vacuum for regular house cleaning, cleaning up small drywall pieces/dust, cleaning up insulation, and one time I accidently vacuumed up an area soaked with water. Though, I stopped immediately once I realized it, and still have had no problems with it. One time I did think that the motor in the roller went out, but figured out that one of the kids pressed the button that turns off the roller. I still don't understand why that button was ever put on there. A replacement motor for the roller is/was about 65$ (in the year 2015).
Anyway, I will definitely consider buying another one when mine eventually dies.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Super GLUED components

04/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All of the components are super glued together!! So now my whole vacuum has fallen apart! Going to try to re super glue it together but they need to have a better system. Boo!!
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA04/24/2015
Hi HeathFeath,
Your Air should stay together and not fall apart like that. We want to help, please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! -- John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Great lightweight product

11/07/2010
By ,
Lorain, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hoover vacuum meets all the criteria of what a vacuum should do. The suction is powerful, I use it on my hard wood floors, it picks up everything!! I also use it on my linoleum as well, again it works awesome. It is very lightweight, easy to use and quiet. I love this machine!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Just Amazing!

01/09/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated between the Dyson dc24 and the Hoover WindTunnel Air and boy I'm so glad I went with this one! For half the price of the Dyson this Hoover is a steal and it works as advertised! It's light, it sucks like a champ and it looks great! What else can you ask for? Three thumbs up to Hoover for this beauty!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Do not hesitate

05/29/2012
By ,
Landing, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For many years I have been Oreck's biggest proponent! I never thought that any vacuum would be able to be as good as an Oreck especially one so much less in price and a bagless (known to be inferior) to boot! Getting frustrated with how much hair my dogs are leaving behind this season and seeing the hoover infomercial so much I gfigured one night to give it a try, I was fully planning on returning it anywqy after I proved it didnt work. Boy was I surprised when I saw just how wonderful and powerful this vacuum is!! I had just vacuumed the day before with my Oreck and the cup on the Hoover was filled after just vacuuming the bedroom!! I cannot get over just how well this cleans carpets and how easy it really is to empty the container. One word of caution, becareful when using the attachment hose. One problem when a vacuum is designed to be as lightweight as this one is is that many parts are very thin and fragile. When cleaning the sofa, the hose disconnected and was not reparable. I returned it but am not turned off from buying this same vacuum again, which is the reason I am on this site right now...I will not stop singing the praises of this vacuum and hope that Hoover never stops making it and improving on it. This machine does the same, if not better, job as vacuums costing 400-600 dollars. The reasons for bagged vacuums are allergies as well as power, hoover has found a way just like shark and dyson to make this vacuum moe hypoallergenic than a bagged version and even more pwoerful. I never write reviews for products but for this one I had to and have written one on every site I found this vacuum advertised. If you are on the fence do not hesitate...this is an awespome vacuum that brought a kind of joy to cleaning as it is as easy to use as the commercial portrays and is as light as an Oreck which has been Oreck's claim to fame for so long...just be careful with the attachement hose...I do believe the way it is connected is a design flaw and hope that future productions of this vacuum take that to mind...Thanks Hoover, I cannot belive you have converted me and have me singing the praises for of all things a vacuum. Now if your air purifiers are anywhere as good as the Oreck ones you mayhave COMPLETELY converted me!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

This is a Awesome Machine

08/01/2011
By ,
Saint Francis, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought in Store. I am amazed this is a awesome Vacuum Cleaner Very Lite and Very Quiet. Get's stuff out of the carpet in 1 pass get's cat hair up too.I am Amazed at how well it works. emptying the dirt is very easy. I bought the extended warranty for 2 more years for 20.00 that means it is warranty for 4 years. IT may look Small but it sure cleans like a big expensive machine does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

power packed small vacuum

08/23/2012
By ,
Salem, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suction is great, extendable extra hose is a big plus for stairway and under furniture without tipping over. Turn off the beater with just a touch of the button for hardwood floors, while using tool attachments and cleaning area rugs. Maneuvers great around furniture. With 3 dogs and 2 cats, I have plenty of hair to challenge this sweeper, which it handles well. The cord is extra long and enables me to clean the entire downstairs without having to move the plug. I can clean the living room, dining room, den, stairway, entrance, dinette area and the playroom without having to replug! I also notice this unit is not as loud as most other vacuums I have used. I can hear people talking and it does not disturb TV viewing of the children. The dirt canister is on the small size, so I empty it with every other use. The unit is lightweight and very easy to maneuver. I really think this is the best vacuum I have ever used!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Great Little Vacuum!

04/03/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this vacuum. I use it on my carpets, tiled floors and it works like a dream. The hose extends all the way up my stairs so makes cleaning so much easier! It picks up everything including the dreaded "pet hair" easily. It's light weight, sleek and compact making it easy to carry upstairs. The tools are a bit on the cheap side and really don't stay too well on the back of the vacuum but I was able to come up with my own solution for that. It also has a washable filter and empties quite conveniently. Overall this is a terrific little vacuum worth it's weight in gold, I love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Great Product

10/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product. Has all the tools needed for cleaning my carpets, area rugs and hard to get to places (blinds, curtains, behind furniture etc). Quiet, light and simple to use. Stores easily. Looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400
11/04/2010
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only owned this thing two days - love it!
Half my house is laminate flooring - I use this vacuum first, then go over it with a cloth pad type mop using 1/4 vinegar to water - laminate floor cleaned. The roller brush doesn't seem to be very low or very stiff - seems like you could just keep the roller brush on at all times on laminate or wood floors - maybe over time it might scratch it up.
This vacuum does not have a height adjust but I don't think it really needs it - works great on my carpeting.
Biggest pluses, for me, for this vacuum is that it has a really long hose attachment, is really lightweight, and small - which makes for the fastest house cleaning tool around.
I was amazed of how quick and effortless it was to clean the entire house.
Note: For a big house, over 1300 sqft, this probably isn't the right tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Excellent upright!

03/31/2011
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This upright easily compares to the Dyson and its half the price. My wife loves it, really good suction and very handy and ergonomical tools. You won't go wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

Awesome

05/20/2011
By ,
sierra vista, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well we have a dust problem in our house from 2 large dogs that find sleeping in dirt relaxing. I'm really impressed with the suction and cleaning power of this vac. While searching for them I found this has a similar cyclonic canister as the dyson. The head is small and reaches nicely under furniture. Our carpet, house and air quality fill much cleaner. And the amount of dust that has been settling has seem to slow way down. I dint give this 5 stars on features because, despite having a awesome extra length hose and a handle that turns into an extention, the 3 in 1 tool needs work, and for the price this should have came with a turbine brush.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400
03/11/2012
By ,
FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this one since it was lightweight and the cord was 30 feet long. But, like other buyers, I agree that the attachments were flimsy and did not stay on the vacuum. plus, the cord hook did not hold the cord, kept falling off during vacuuming. The suction was not that great, finally realized that it was only a 11 amp machine, so I returned it to a nearby store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover Windtunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum, UH70400

had to return it!

02/01/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately, we had to return the vacuum and won't replace it with another. It worked fine until we got to the Persian rug in our living area. My husband could barely push it and I could not push it at all. He said he had the same problem on another area rug we have. The wall-to-wall carpeting in the bedroom was not a problem. He spoke with the Hoover representative who explained there was only on level of suction. Who would have dreamed it would be impossible to use on the main rug in the house?
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next