Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Allen Sports Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

The Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted Bike Carrier is the ideal choice for taking your bikes on road trips. It is easy to assemble and you can carry up to two bikes easily. Your bikes are held in place with the help of the tie-down cradle system. This hitch mount bike rack can be tilted when you have to lift it across the gateway. This Allen bike rack comes with black powder-coated finish that protects it from all kinds of weather. With foldable carry arms, this 2-bike carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" receiver hitches can be stored easily as it does not occupy much space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%113 out of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Stock model does not fit Draw-tite receiver hitch

05/07/2012
By ,
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bike rack to be used with a 1.25 inch Draw-Tite Receiver hitch on my 2009 Honda Fit. The bottom post that inserts into the receiver is too long for the side bolt-on holes to match up. It appears my only option will be to cut about 1 cm off the end of the rack post to make it short enough to fit which is a real hassle. Further, by cutting off that 1 cm I am removing the screw hole by which the adapter for 2" receiver hitches is attached. The rack will be ruined for any future use in a 2" receiver hitch. This is definitely poor engineering on someones part--although the quality of the rack otherwise is excellent.
If it fits your system, I WOULD recommend this rack but it is clearly a problem if your receiver hitch is like mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dayton, Ohio
Fits perfectly on my Draw-tite
Posted 04/25/2014
Dunno if Allen changed the design, but (unlike complaints posted here about this rack not fittiing on Draw-tite receivers) this hitch fits perfectly into my Hidden Hitch receiver (exact same hitch as Draw-tite) on my 2010 Honda Fit without any sort of modification. There are two anti-wiggle bolts included with the bike rack--one for 2 inch receivers and one for 1 1/4 inch receivers. Instructions clearly state which anti-wiggle bolt to use with which size receiver hitch. My Allen bike rack bolts onto my 1 1/4 inch receiver and is perfectly solid.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Great product! Convenient and easy to use!

04/17/2012
By ,
Northern, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Allen 522RR, hitch mount (two) bike carrier: This is a great bike carrier with a very reasonable price. It held our bikes for over 2000 miles during a recent vacation. There was a learning curve with figuring out how to mount the bikes onto this carrier and I learned by the trial and error method. The instructions that came with the carrier give good detail on assembling the carrier but do not give good instructions for mounting and attaching bicycles to it. I went to the Allen website and watched the videos there but they did not show how to mount bicycles. Both bicycles had to be mounted with the wheels up and with the bottom, crossways frame tube resting on the carrier arms. One bike has a very large, tall frame that measures 34" from the ground to the top tube. The wheels are large too. This bike had to be mounted closest to the vehicle or it may have dragged the ground under certain terrain conditions. The other bike is a shorter framed bike with large frame tubes. The frame tube it had to be mounted by barely fits between the carrier arms, but it does fit. The instructions do say to strap the wheels so they won't turn and to strap the bikes together, I am guessing that is so the bikes don't swing into each other while on the carrier. I used bungee cords of various sizes to accomplish this. In order to lock the bikes and the carrier to the vehicle, I purchased a long cable and a padlock. The cable, I think is 12' long and barely reaches around the bikes and to the part of the trailer hitch where it can be securely locked. I would suggest that measurements be taken in advance of purchasing any locking devices to make sure everything is long enough. The padlock I bought has a wide space, I think two inches when locked, that both cable ends fit into and there is still room for the lock to go through the hitch piece where I am fastening it. I haven't used all of the features of this Allen hitch carrier yet. The carrier will fold down so it's easier to remove or mount the bicycles but I (so far) have just lifted the bicycles on and off of the carrier. I like that the Carrier is from a U.S. company too. The instructions could be better but I figured out the bike mounting. Overall, this is a great product. It's designed well, built well, and is simple and functional with a reasonable price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Works well. Easy to install.

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
See title
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

should have used velcro

10/28/2010
By ,
Lakeland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The belts are a real pain. I mount mine in the front hitch. Double sided velcro would have been much better.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/03/2011
The ballistic material belts are strong and durable and the system for looping them securely inside the buckles is time-tested and reliable. Double sided Velcro is great for some things but not for a bike sitting atop a rack zipping along the road subjected to turbulence, road vibrations, etc.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Great bike rake

08/03/2012
By ,
Sedona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price! I did shop around ; )
Well Engineered! Easy to install 5 Minutes Max!
Bike mounts in a couple minutes
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Nice rack for short trips

04/06/2012
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rack was easy to put together -- note that you will need two 9/16" and two 3/4" wrenches or an adjustable wrench. (I recommend a ratchet with a 3/4" socket for the bolt that attaches the rack to the trailer hitch.) There was no wobble once the bolts were tightened and it was very easy to load and unload the bikes. During a 40-mile trip at speeds up to 65mph, both bikes were held securely, even on bumpy roads.
Caveats: (1) The instruction manual calls for the bikes to be secured with a 70" strap which is not included and which is not currently available from the manufacturer or from the seller indicated on the manufacturer's website. (2) Although Allen does sell a locking bolt to secure the rack to the hitch, the bolt is somewhat pricey (2/3 the cost of the rack) and doesn't really secure the rack as there are two other bolts that thieves could remove. (3) Owners of mountain bikes should note that the manufacturer advises that the rack is not to be used off road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches
07/09/2013
By ,
Lincoln, Ne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike rack to replace a model purchased from another store that did not work for me. I had read plenty of positive remarks about the Allen Sports 522RR bike rack and felt this was the rack to buy. I was greatly disappointed to find this bike rack would not work with my Draw-Tight 1 1/4 inch receiver hitch. When the bike rack is slid into the receiver hitch the holes the locking bolt is suppose to go through do not line up. There is a stop inside the receiver. The distance from the stop to the locking bolt hole center is 1 3/4 inches. The distance from the edge of the bike rack to the locking bolt hole center is 2 inches. There is a 1/4 inch difference that prevents the locking bolt from going through the holes. Note that I am not giving this bike rack a bad review. Because of the holes being off, I didn't get the chance to know how well this bike rack would work. If you have a Draw-Tight 1 1/4 inch hitch, this bike rack may not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Champagne taste bike rack for beer budget riders

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I visited my local bike shop and they didn't have a single bike rack there for under $250. I asked if there was such a thing as a cheap bike rack and they said there wasn't really. After shopping around on Craigslist and REI and discount websites for a few weeks, I was starting to believe they were right.
Then I found this one on Walmart's site on sale for $62. I jumped right on it and shipped site-to-store. My husband installed it quickly, in less than an hour. It doesn't wobble at all and we've already used it around town in a highly trafficked area and on interstates 4 times. It's a little tough to seat my Elektra Townie in the slots properly - the rack did scratch up the finish a bit, but we managed to fix it by placing electrical tape and bubble wrap over a few spots. My son's bike fits perfectly and didn't have those issues.
I would have no reservations about driving our bikes cross country with this rack.
Good luck with your purchase - I hope this helped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Nice Rack

06/08/2010
By ,
clarkson, ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack is great for the money. The only thing I don't like is you need to tie a rag or something on the rack where the first bike is mounted because it will rub against the bike frame. If you spend quite a bit of money on your bike like I did, then you will have to wrap the bar a little. It's worse on womens bikes, so I mount mine first and put the wife's on the outside. If you have a 2" receiver it is a little aggravating with the threaded bolt they give you, so I'm gonna modify mine and make my lock pin fit it. Other than that I am real happy with it. I drive a tacoma and when I lay the rack down, I can easily open my tailgate. Definitely a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Great way to carry bicycles

04/30/2012
By ,
New Hope, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I just recently purchased two Schwinn Pointe Beach Crusier bicycles and needed something to haul them around on. We were on Walmart website and saw this bike carrier and said it was the perfect fit for what we wanted. As it turned out we were correct. The ease of putting it together and it slips right into my 2" trailer hitch with ease. Putting the bikes onto the carrier to take them anywhere is easy also. When carrying the bikes, other then seeing them in the rear view mirror, you would not know they are even there. There is no rattling or noise from the carrier. The only thing I would prefer they change would be the plastic clips for the tie downs. The second time I was securing the bikes to the carrier, I broke one of the clips. So you have to be careful to not over do it when strapping the bikes in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Pretty good rack

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty good rack for the price. Easy to put together and it's sturdy. The only negative is the bolt on mount that makes it troublesome to put on and take off.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

good value for 2 bike carrier

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not used it on a long trip yet but did take it for a short ride with 2 bikes on it and it seemed to work very good. Very little movement of the rack and bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Bike Hitch Delivers Function and Value

08/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike hitch works flawlessly - easy to assemble - easy to attach or remove from car hitch. Solid construction and quality parts. Easily swings out of way when I need to lift the tail on our SUV.
Why pay a LOT more for name brands of competing products on the market when this product provides the same acceptable levels of quality and functionality at less than 1/2 the price?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Excellent Bike Rack

03/09/2011
By ,
Vista, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had it one day, but this bike rack appears sturdy and very well made. It is super easy to assemble and install/uninstall. Accommodates our two clunky beach cruiser bikes pretty well. Great value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Great quality - needs mod for Jeep

06/18/2011
By ,
redding, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As others said, sturdy, good paint and tie-down saddles for the bike, really solid on car when tightened down. This fits fine on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The tilt allows hatch to open.
However, not quite as good for my 2002 Wrangler. I have the larger, factory 15" wheels with 30x9.5 tires. When I fold down the bike rack, the bottom of the rear mounted spare tire won't clear the lower vertical part of the bike rack. And even it did, the rack doesn't tilt all the way down, so the side-swinging tailgate door wouldn't clear the rack. I'm going to have to grind the bottom end of the rack so it will fold all the way down. Then I'm either going to cut the top end of the hitch insert part so the tire clears it, or look for a drop-down receiver adapter to lower it an inch. I think this wouldn't be a clearance issue with the standard Jeep tire, but mine don't work.
The good news is that the rack assembly is JUST long enough to clear how far the spare tire sticks out from the tailgate. Actually presses against the tire enough to make the rack more solid.
I tried one of the bike racks from Harbor Freight first, but the construction quality was terrible. Crooked welds and very wobbly. This Allen 522RR is solid, even the 1 1/4" to 2" receiver adapter. Great value. Definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Easy to use

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to load/unload bike and great feature is the ability to swing it down while the bike is loaded for access to trunk/camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

You get what you pay for.

04/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the money it's not a bad bike carrier at all. It is sturdy but unfortunately wobbles a lot. The no wobble bolt does nothing special to prevent wobble in the receiver. I can't even figure out why they call it a no wobble bolt. I put at least some of the blame on my receiver hitch. I have a Draw-tite hitch and as someone else mentioned there is a stop inside the receiver that makes it incompatible with this carrier. So to solve that I sawed off 1/4 inch from the end so it would slide in far enough. However it just doesn't fit the space inside the receiver tightly enough to prevent wobble. So I fashioned a piece of aluminum flashing (which can be purchased from a home improvement store) so as to wrap around the square tubing that fits inside the receiver and voila! it fits super snug now.
So those are the two main problems I have with this product and I put at least some of the blame on the Lock-tite hitch. But even with those problems solved it still wobbles a great deal because the vertical square tube just has a lot of play in it. For what I spent on it it's within reasonable limits. If you have a lock-tite receiver I don't recommend this carrier unless you're prepared to make some modifications.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Great

06/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great simple Bike carrier. Why spend more for a name brand bike rack when this one does the job. Make sure you buy the 70 inch straps to go with it. Wal Mart does not sell them but Allens Website will steer you in the right direction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Fantastic!

08/17/2014
By ,
Newark,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after looking at several different Hitch mounted carriers. Some were as much as $300. I decided to take a chance and order this product. My wife and I couldn't be any happier. We use it everyday and it performs as well as my neighbors and he paid $249 for his! He is jealous and wanted to take his back but the bicycle shop wouldn't take it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports 522RR Deluxe Hitch Mounted 2-Bike Carrier for 1 1/4" and 2" Receiver Hitches

Good solid inexpensive bike carrier but...

08/13/2014
By ,
Wa, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good solid bike carrier but I have several recommendations. The upright post needs some rubber padding (like pipe insulation) to keep bikes from making metal to metal contact. The 2" receiver hitch fits perfectly and tight but the hole and anti-wobble bolt should be changed to a 1/2" dia. so I could use my existing receiver locking bolt. I have not figured out a good way to hang BMX type bikes on the carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next