Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Uniden Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Uniden Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

The Uniden BC355C Mobile Scanner radio is specially designed to be used at a fixed location such as an office or in a vehicle. The Uniden mobile scanner comes with AC adapters for home use and a DC power cable for vehicular use. The scanner features Close Call RF capture technology which helps you capture signals from nearby transmitters. Its preprogrammed service search helps you easily capture active frequencies. The backlit display feature of the 800 MHz base mobile scanner helps you read the display in dim or low light conditions. It can monitor 300 channels at a time and has a scanning speed of 100 channels per second. The Uniden Bearcat scanner has higher frequency coverage of bands belonging to the police, ambulance, fire, amateur radio jockeys, public utilities and weather announcements. It can scan frequencies at a speed of 100 channels per sec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.72 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation69%34 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

a good work tool

09/20/2010
By ,
fairmont nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i work with public saftey in ems and rescue and i have to say that this scanner met my needs in more ways than it needed too, it was very easy to program it has wonderful reception for ex i am in another state than my work, it is a 20 min drive to work and the hospital that we transport to is about an hour from where i live and i am picking up signal from everything out there whether it be city police or fire/ems which is wonderful basically i can hear everything in the county that i work in from the state that i live in which is right on the county line of where i work. so i would recomend this scanner to anyone it is easy to use, easy to operate, a very good price considering it is a base scanner, and mobile that can be hardwired to car or used by 12 v cig lighter, 300 combined programable channels with already pre programed channels like weather etc. hey i couldnt ask for more and for the price its wonderful trust me buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you cant go wrong. i have yet to have anything negative to say about this scanner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 2 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

A very helpful product

10/06/2010
By ,
Ivey, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good Scanner it picks up things a long ways off, when you first turn it on and set the band you want to scan. the scanner might stop on a Frequency that is just static if you lock that one out the scanner will go look for other things to pick up. I am Going to buy another one for my Son, or I might just keep it and put it in my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 3 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

An Awesome Scanner!!!

10/09/2010
By ,
Minnesota River Valley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This scanner is AWESOME! Great reception and superb band coverage! As far as plugging it in and turning it on...it does require some time to become familiar with the controls and settings. Programming individual frequencies can be tricky, but a "Programming for Dummies" step-by-step is available directly from the manufacturer via email at no cost to you.
This is really a GREAT scanner that definitely has exceeded my expectations!
This is also the best price you will find! Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 4 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

a good deal

07/18/2010
By ,
Acme, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The uniden scanner I purchased was a good deal ... it picks up the fire emergency bands great and I could even use an old computer speaker plugged in the back for a better volume. On a scale of 1-10 I rate it 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 5 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Great receiver, other points somewhat lacking

06/28/2011
By ,
CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've been using programable acanners for over 25 years now and this one caught me off guard. Even after reading the specs, instructions and reviews it never dawned on me until I received it that this scanner can't be programmed in the traditional sense. There isn't any numeric keypad, so freq's can't be entered directly. It comes with pre-programmed, heavily-utilized freq's that will most likely include anything you want to listen to. Once you find an active freq, you save it.
Now, here's the snag. How do you enter rarely used freq's from your local source? By that I mean, how do you enter your smaller sized, local PD's detective or car-to-car freq if it's rarely used? Here's how: first you have to KNOW the freq, then have the scanner do a search in that band. When you get close to the freq, HOLD the search and move it up one increment at a time until you get to the exact freq, then save it. That's the only way unless the freq just happens to be active at some point.
The audio is slightly disappointing, in both maximum level and tonal quality. It's not bad, I just expected a bit more. Weak and tinny, even through a nice external speaker. I am still trying to figure a suitable way to use it in my car so it can be heard above the road noise.
The receiver part of it is great. Excellent sensitivity even with the included telescoping antenna. It's too bad the other issues detract from the overall impact of this scanner. But considering the amount of bang for the buck, it's a great value for indoor listening in average noise environments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 6 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Best scanner for the money

01/22/2012
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many reviews state this is a difficult scanner to program, but if you take the time to follow steps below, it is not that difficult. I programmed private to 74 channels and still have room for 26 more.
To program, know your desired frequencies then do as follows.
~ Press band to desired frequency range. Then press hold and unit will stop at a random freq. #
~ Use the UP or DOWN buttons to manually step to desired freq. (ex. 453.4750)
~Then press PROGRAM button
~Then press PRIVATE button
~Then press PROGRAM button
Then just repeat the sequence above for each desired individual frequency.
I first bought the BC 72XLT and couldn't hardly receive the weather. The BC355c not only picked up one but two different area weather stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Great scanner for anyone!

07/14/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't let its small size fool you (the demensions listed are wrong#! This is the best scanner for the money you can find anywhere! It comes with everything you need for setup: AC adaptor, antenna, DC adaptor, hardwiring cables, a mobile mounting bracket, and even a mobile antenna. Unlike some people, I had no problem programming this scanner #there are videos on youtube) and the close call feature lets me know when there is activity nearby. In addition, the built in speaker is surprisingly loud. The signal is also impressive even with the small included antenna. I pick up transmissions from law enforcement in surrounding counties. I also get a great signal from my local police department and it is 15 miles away. I would recommend this to anyone looking to listen in on anything from local law enforcement to airplanes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Did not pick up needed frequencies

07/03/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very disappointed with the scanner as it had no way to manually program in the needed frequencies and they were not already in. It was a hassel to l/o unwanted channels. Not at all what I hoped for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

bc 355c scanner

12/15/2010
By ,
hemphill tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
im not real familar with scanners but this ones has been a major problem. this was a gift that is all but useless to me. there is no working issue with this scanner, the problem is with programing it. if you live in a rural area like i do, this may not be the scanner for you. if you only want to scan a few local channels and you already know your frequencies, there appears to be no easy way to get them programed in. i've had mine a month and still haven't figured it out, and haven't found an answer on the webb either. and uniden does answer my phone calls or e-mails either!!!!!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Scanner Programming
Posted 12/07/2011
Several people have mentioned not being able to program their scanners,if it is a cable issue there is a company (firefold.com) that sells about every type of cable in just about any configuration that you would need i.e.scanner to computer etc..I've bought several cables from them with excellent results.Just tell them what you need and you've got it,and cheap.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

No reception in the country/rural area

08/15/2012
By ,
Mapleton, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We tried this for a week+ and returned it, rather than buy a more powerful antenna. We live about 15 miles between a significant city and 3 miles from a smaller town, with city PD and FD on a major state highway in rural Minnesota. There was little/no reception, other than NOAA weather info, but this duplicated a weather radio we already had. I had researched various products and liked the price/value of this item, just felt it was not worth the extra expense of putting up a more permanent antenna than that which came with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Not worth buying.

08/13/2012
By ,
Columbus, Ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get the scanner to work right. Lots of static, low sound, also It would not find
the local police frequencies. I had already bought another Uniden scanner bct8 that did not
work, from another store. So they both were taken back. I have two radio shack scanners
and they work fine. So I would not recommend this product. But I would definitely buy
from Walmart again. They have a good return policy and most of their products are
excellent. I would suggest investing more and getting a better scanner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner
08/02/2012
By ,
Fla
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No programming required but it does not receive any digital frequencies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Branson, MO
It's an analog scanner
Posted 08/25/2012
If you want to pick up a digital signal, you need to buy a digital scanner. This is only an analog scanner and will only pick up analog signals.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Uniden Bearcat Scanner 800mz

12/01/2010
By ,
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not recommend this product, great price from Wal-Mart BUT programming this unit is NOT fun. User manual is pitiful, lots of features, that will frustrate you to no end. Worked on it for over a week... returned it yesterday. To top it off, I am a licensed Electronic technician, online computer software support. Good luck, scanning just your private bank of freq's.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Patience needed

11/08/2010
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is difficult to use- you will need to invest some time and have plenty of patience to program and use this product. However, once you find and program channels the product is great. I do wish the volume level would increase. It is okay if you stay in the same room as the scanner- if you walk into the next room you will be straining your ears to hear!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 15 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner
03/29/2012
By ,
Warsaw, Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The scanner while it works well was hard to program and impossible to program numbers with four numbers after period. Will do 153.8900 or 154.8450 will not do 153.8525.
A scanner where you program in the numbers instead of picking pre programed is much better. Also I have a scanner that is 20 plus years old that receives better than the new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 16 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner
06/06/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this scanner. The price was right and the shipping was super fast. I really like how easy it is to program. It took me no time at all to have it programmed and scanning
frequencies. I would recommend this to anybody looking for a entry-level scanner if you are just starting out with scanners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner
08/03/2011
By ,
British Columbia, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this scanner works great!!! it took a few minutes to figure out how to program in the frequencies i wanted it to scan, but once i figured that out it was a piece of cake!
i love the fact that the screen is always lit
fantastic product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Interesting

09/17/2010
By ,
Chincoteague
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this product. Have had it about 2 weeks and enjoy it very much. One problem is when I want to use my land phone, I have to turn the scanner off, as I can hear the phone on it. It shows up as B1, found. Other than that, it's great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner
01/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This scanner is impossible to program. Even had a friend, who owns another type of scanner, try to program it and he couldn't. It was nice to have the weather station, but paid too much for just that! It went back soon after Christmas!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Uniden 800MHz Base/Mobile Scanner

Cool Product

11/18/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This scanner did exactly what I expected it to do. Picked up a lot of the local channels and even some channels that were pretty far from where I'm at. I would recommend this scanner to everyone. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next