Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Uniden Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Uniden Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

The Uniden UDW20055 Wireless Video Surveillance System is perfect for small businesses or homes needing outdoor coverage. The bundle includes two night-vision cameras and one 7" color LCD monitor. It uses secure digital FHSS technology for interference free transmissions. It has two portable weatherproof cameras that can be set up both indoors and outdoors. You can easily set up this wireless outdoor security system. This home surveillance system can be expanded to four cameras if required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.114 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation50%17 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Baby monitor

05/12/2011
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product really is not intended for the person who wants to use this to protect their home.
The surveillance system software is very unpredictable for recording; my system had stopped recording at times . I could not replay recorded video on my computers video players. You can only record just one camera with a scheduled recording but you can record any one camera manually. You can only monitor one camera at a time and there is no audio while recording or monitoring. The motion detector feature is not reliable to set alarm off every time, the alarm would sometimes go off when people walked by. The picture is good but not great far away, it is hard to make out facial features and tag numbers. The zoom feature is not a truly a zoom but a blow up and the picture gets fuzzy. There are no plans to upgrade the software thru Uniden.
The 7-in color receiver has the option to monitor one or all four or cycle thru all cameras one at a time. With the receiver you do have audio and a good picture as long it is not too far away, but does not have a recording feature. The zoom is not a truly a zoom but a blow up and the picture gets fuzzy.
So it is a great as a monitoring system but who has time to set in front of a screen all day and night?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 2 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Works well as a baseline no-frills camera set.

06/13/2011
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does great as an entry level security or monitoring camera set. The display is much larger than others on the market at comparable cost and is very clear. The camera image is clear enough, but don't expect clarity at distances offered by more expensive units.
The pan and zoom features controlled by the remote are digital, the cameras themselves do not move or refocus. The added pixelation that goes with the larger image size barely makes the zoom worth while for seeing details, but has use.
Perfect for seeing who is at the door, but don't expect too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

WONDERFUL!!!!

11/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This surveillance system is great so far. set it up yesterday. one camera I put in the front of my house which you can see well over 200 feet and the other camera in the back of my house which you can see over 500 feet this is in the day time. now at night you can see but its better if you have some kind of lighting or filtered lighting in your yard then you can see the picture on the monitor clear as day but you can only see 60 to 100 feet or as far as your light shines. but if you have it at the front of your door no problem you'll be fine to see who is at the door before you open it at night. It comes with everything you need all the plugs are included. it comes with the software for your computer XP or Vista I haven't used it yet.
The cameras have sound ,That you can control the volume on/ off/high/low through the monitor and thats great if someone pulls up to your house and blows the car horn you will here it or if you hear a noise you can look at the monitor to if you see anything. and if you or someone pulls the plug on the camera the last image will freeze on your monitor thats really good someone knocks out your camera you know who or what did it. The picture is in color during the day and at night with some kind of Filtered lighting or black and white with no filtered lighting. Wonderful little surveillance system not only can you see you can hear no matter where you put it inside/outside your home or business. I still have to see what happens on a rainy/stormy day it does take batteries if powers goes out. I put the cameras 100 feet from the monitor. HSN.COM has the same product for $289.95 plus $11.95 for S&H not including taxes so I checked Walmart.com which has the Best price for me. I used site to store got it within 3 or 4 day, and There is a 3 month return policy which is nice. Thanks Walmart Great product,Just what I've been looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+161points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, Arizona
don't get this confused
Posted 08/22/2011
I thought this was a better deal than on HSN but HSN gives you the NANNY CAM also so they give you 3 cameras not 2 like this one. You also can only record on one camera at a time. Not sure if going to keep this.... and it's NOT wireless the cameras NEED to be plugged in.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Only records one camera at a time.

05/07/2012
By ,
Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The pros: Easy set up (I do mean EASY). The cameras had pretty decent clarity in both daylight and at night.
The negatives: You can only record from one camera at a time. (Deal breaker for me). In PC mode (to record) if you have a motion detection set up on camera 2, and you happen to be monitoring camera 1, camera 2 will not record as it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+12points
Review 5 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

not a good system

12/22/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the cameras seem to work ok, but the small monitor displays the best. But to record the camers you need a VCR that records for a long time. Now the PC software that comes with it only allows to record one camera per time slot and to view any other cameras you have to manueal switch them. Over all this is a very poor security system in the way it works, but if you just want to watch your kids by the pool it would be good for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+46points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
uniden security system.udw155
Posted 07/06/2012
Just got mine up and running,was hoping to catch a crook tonight.i dont think that will happen with this system.only 1 camera records at a time.that just makes no sense to me.i hope the crook is infront of the right camera
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Won't work a Mac.

09/23/2010
By ,
Sweet Home Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Returned the product. Good quality of the display picture. The software would not work on a Mac.
Which is what I have. The product description should have stated that it would not work on a Mac, which it did not. So I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coweta,OK
great
Posted 08/24/2011
Just what we were looking for! Great picture during the day. Now just looking for more cameras to have 4 sites covered.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Motion Detection recording Limited to one camera

07/08/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The remote monitor can show any one of four cameras (system only comes with two cameras) or can show up to four cameras (in quad view).
However, the Windows PC - Motion Detection recording software can only be set for one of the four cameras and in one hour time blocks. For example: If you set camera #1 to detect and record motion between 3:00 am and 6:00 am. You can not set another camera, say camera #2, to detect and record motion between 3:00 am and 6:00 am. In summary, the system is effectively a one camera security system when it comes to recording and motion.
In the dark, the cameras will see insects flying near the lens and will cause the monitoring software to see motion and trigger a recording event, even when set to mid-level sensitivity. Unless, I have a faulty camera, the night IR images are too poor a quality to identify a person that is more than 15 feet away.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Excellent

07/07/2012
By ,
Near Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had researched, searched and read reviews from multiple places on this system. I was leary.
While in Walmart one day it was on sale so I decided to buy it. Hooked up a camera on my front and back porch. Paired them per directions. Eazy peazy. Very, Very, Very satisfied with it. I have no experience whatsoever with camera's etc. They are under roof but not completely out of the way of rain. I was hit with the 80 mph wind and rain recently. The camera's did get rained on, some. After the storm was over, gently dried them off, no problem.
I Even put the quad screen on a small television. I added two more camera's since purchasing this system, it will take a total of 4. The fourth camera I had a problem pairing it. So I called Customer service expecting a bad experience because of various reviews in some places. I couldn't have been happier with the customer service. He was knowledgeable, curteous and I was only on hold less than 3 minutes waiting for him to answer, and he spoke English.
Now, I can see when the UPS man is in the drive way, or someone walking up to my door...The night vision works very well too.
I also have a 'sound annunciator' system, motion detected so when someone walks through the yard or someone is in the drive way etc, I have an audible alert, then just check the monitor to see who it is or what is happening.
I use this Uniden system mostly for viewing during the daytime. And a separate record all the time system for security to record everything.
I have the Swann recording camera system with DVR as well, I use it to record all the time. I am very pleased with it as well. Personally, the picture and distance view is better on this Uniden than it is on the recording system.
I use this Uniden set for watching not recording. The monitor is portable and lasts about 4 hours til needing recharged. It's usually just left on the adapter on charge, where I am at most of the day, or while moving around doing chores etc.
I have wireless phones, cordless phones several freezers, microwave, internet etc. I have NOT experienced interference. I did purchase a new router that handles different bands. I don't know if that's why I don't have a problem or not. I'm just happy I don't have a problem. Occasionally, the screen will flicker etc. for a mini second. Must be normal.
I accidentally knocked one of the camera's over when first getting ready to hook them up. It lost it's color viewing. I gently tapped it,GENTLY, til it came back. I don't know how that works, but you can 'knock' them into night mode if not treated gently. It's not had a problem one, since. I couldnt' be happier with this system.
I've had it about a month now. It's been rained on several times, and going through this heat wave we are in, without a problem. # it is under roof#
Color is beautiful and the night vision is great as well. My camera's are about 25 feet from the monitor, mostly watching my doors and entrance/exits but see's far enough out that I can see traffic coming and going. I can see all the way down the end of my street.
It seemed for me, the best view is by placing the camera's about waist to shoulder height. Not up high. I experience 'white out' from sun bouncing off the grass when the camera is up high. but at waist or shoulder height, no white out. Fortunately for 3 of the camera's I could position them at those heights. One camera that is up high does have white out during the time of day when the sun is shining out in the grass. The camera is in the shade, the porch is roofed, but the yard will 'white out' on that one camera, but the porch #shaded# does not white out. The other 3 camera's are between waist or shoulder height and do not have that problem....Can't explain how that works. But hope it helps you.
Resetting and re pairing #not as in fixing, but as in pairing the camera to the monitor# is sooo easy, Only have had to do it once for one camera after we had lost electric. We have lost electric several times and didn't need to do the re pairing. Once I had to for one camera though.
You can view in quad mode #for 4 camera's# or single view or scan through the different camera's. You can zoom and pan the view as well.
I love this system.
I can't speak to it's long term durability yet. But so far it has exceeded my expectations. I think it's excellent.
I do not work for and am not affiliated in anyway with the company or walmart. Just a happy customer of this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

very poor system for the money

08/15/2012
By ,
Ocilla, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the camera software is a very poor program for the camera to start recording on motion detect you have to set each camera up by the hour if you set camera 1 up to start recording motion at 6:00 am that is the only camera on the system that can record motion in that hour after 7:00 am you can set up another camera on the system to record any motion for an hour. each camera does not detect motion and record it on its on unless you set it up for that certain time
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Very pleased

11/25/2011
By ,
S.W. Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of the box and up and running in about 30 minutes. We use it to keep an eye on our kids in the basement playroom. Software was real easy to install and is very user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Excellent Product

05/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep an eye on our lambing ewes. The barn is about 300 feet from the house. I did not want to use my PC so I just tried to hook up the system hardware. It fired up and worked perfectly. Not a glitch at all. Camera quality is very nice and works really well at night too. Picture on the little dedicated screen is excellent. Signal is strong in 300 feet with minor obstructions. Add one or two more obstructions and the signal goes in and out. All in all unbelievable good performance, especially at this price point. (and if you don't care to record why pay for a dvr?)
Plan to buy another set.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Great security camera, good value

09/22/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this today and installed in less than an hour. Video is clear and audio is a plus. Software installed without problem. Alarms when motion detection is activated and has option of alarm plus record. Overall, very satisfied with the purchase plus price was marked down to $189.00 in our local Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

don't buy this product

12/22/2011
By ,
Manchester NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought 2 uniden systems. Both crash constantly. Cant allocate the dib handle is the error we get. I am running 6 gigs of ram and this junk won't stop crashing.. Buyer Beware. Software stinks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Camera Quit Working after 8 Weeks

12/19/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent a good deal of time getting the cameras mounted and the system operating. Video quality was OK, but motion sensors on the cameras did not work properly, and have an annoying siren. Night vision is not effective except at very close range. One camera quit working after about 8 weeks.
Called Uniden and they told me to ship the defective camera to them at my expense and they would repair it and ship it back to me. -Long wait time for Uniden customer service.
Fortunately I retained the packaging and receipt. Walmart accepted the return for a store gift card.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

A very good product

01/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love all the functions of the camera system..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 16 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

Camera

09/03/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product, but I just wish when I unplug camera ( screen )I could walk around with it . Other camera I had I could walk around with it before battery died. Have to leave it plugged in to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras

You can do better

11/20/2012
By ,
Booneville, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I picked up this system after catching someone stealing gas out of my car. I picked this unit due to the fact that it would be a quick setup since I wouldn't have to run wires through the walls and attic with it being wireless.
First off, the pros.
The wireless is great! I have a camera on each side of the house and both show full signal on the monitor.
The cameras aren't the best resolution but they aren't too bad. The cameras themselves seem to be well built and should last a while.
The sound usually works ridiculously good picking up light rain and leaves blowing.
__________________
Now for the cons.
Like I said above, the camera resolution could be better. To be able to see a clear face, your subject needs to be within 10 feet or so of the camera. It's about the same at most businesses so that's not much of a con.
You can only record one camera at a time and the system must be hooked to a computer at the time. It doesn't make much sense to me that you can't record both cameras at once. Also, you can only set one camera to detect motion at a time and the screen has to be hooked to a computer to set off the alarm. It seems like the monitor would have it's own alarm built in.
No sound is picked up when recording.
Monitor is buggy and I just don't think it's going to last much longer. I often get weird lines and colors through the screen and screeching sounds through the speakers.
_____________________
Overall, I just think you could do better by getting a unit with DVR and doing some drilling. Sure it will take longer to install, but you will be happier in the end.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras
08/25/2012
By ,
younstown oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a verry verry good system
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Uniden Wireless Security Surveillance System with 2 Outdoor Cameras
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5