Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Jam to your tunes with the Gold's Gym PowerSpin 230 R recumbent exercise bicycle. This recumbent bike offers a wide variety of training tools. And, because it's from Gold's Gym, you know it has everything you need to get a gym-quality workout at home. Plug your iPod or MP3 player into the console and play your favorite music through the built-in sound system. The encouraging beat will keep you motivated to finish your workout. This exercise bike is also equipped with the innovative Target Pacer. The indicator light lets you know when it's time to work a little harder or slow down so you get the most out of every workout. The Gold's Gym PowerSpin 230 R rounds out with an adjustable seat, a workout fan, dual-grip heart rate monitor and an easy-to read display. It has the perfect balance of comfort and results. Model #GGEX61707
Average Customer Rating:
3.551 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation67%33 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Love it!

01/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband put this bike together with absolutely no problem.
It's a great value, and works well. The fan is just enough to cool you down without being annoying. Love that I can plug my iPhone into it. The workouts are great, and I love being able to adjust the resistance. It's also nice to just do laps.
It is a bit difficult to tighten the seat. I guess I don't have enough strength, because it slips when I tighten it. My husband doesn't have that problem, so he is the official seat adjuster!
We did take the straps off of the pedals. For us, they just got in the way. Nice to have the option to have them or not.
The only thing that I thought was odd was that it didn't come with a power cord (hence the 4 star "meets expectations" rating). Maybe it's the norm, and I had an unrealistic expectation. Haven't had an issue with the battery compartment. It actually turned out to be much nicer to not plug it in. Being battery-powered allows us more freedom as to where the bike is located.
I absolutely recommend this bike to others. I'm actually very surprised at the 3-star rating at 59% recommendation. As the title says, we love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Not recommended!

02/07/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was in the market for a new exercise bike being that my old one broke. I chose this one for the value and because it had the fan and ipod connectibility on it. The bike was uncomfortable. I never could get the seat adjusted properly, it always seemed like I was so far away. The seat slides out of the base to adjust length and it slips so if you're resistance is high, you end up sliding the seat further back as you're working out.
Also, the console is battery operated and mine went through 4 D batteries every 3-4 uses. You have the option, once purchased, to purchase an additional power cord to save on batteries but imagine the amount of elecricity that it would use if it's eating batteries that often.
The fan barely blows and honestly if someone walked by the bike, I got more of a breeze from that than I did the fan. Even on high, it barely created any air flow.
I wasn't happy with this bike. I tried to make peace with it for two weeks but had to return it. It just wasn't worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

The best bike I have ever owned

11/29/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bike for a couple months now - I love it!!! No stress on my ankles for the first time in years, I am able to work out every day. Definitely need 2 people to assemble, but not that difficult to put together either. The pre programed workouts are great, just trying to find an adapter for it as I can see this going through batteries quite quickly - great value, and a good solid bike - I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Ok machine

12/07/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the bike, but it is not made all that well. From the time that I bought it, I have had problems with the seat slipping. No matter how much I tighten it, the seat does slip, and needs readjusting. The battery cover in the back is also cheaply made. My bike is not even a year old, and the battery cover broke. I am not having any luck finding a replacement cover, so now I have to put tape over the back to hold the batteries in place so I can use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Above Expectations

11/19/2010
By ,
Foley Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first used this product while in Physical Therapy for a back problem. I really liked it and decided to buy one for my 81 year old Mother to use. She can actually use this bike and does!! What any easy way to excerise. We assembled it ourselves with the easy to follow instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

For real?

01/29/2011
By ,
Hubbardston, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item and got it delivered site to store. It came in quick. It took me a few hours to put it together mostly because you need two people to put it together and I was alone. After finally getting it together, I sit on it only to realize that my knees hit the console when riding it! I am 5'5''. Now, I have to lug this thing back to my local walmart and start all over again. Which isn't an easy thing for me to do. I do see how where the battery compartment is could be a problem, but overall seems sturdy and nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Great value for the price

12/28/2010
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived at my home only 3 days after I placed my order. It took an hour for 2 people to assemble it. It was not terribly heavy so we were able to take the box downstairs easily enough. The heart rate feature is great and works fine. The bike works exactly as expected. The reason I give it only 4 stars is that we cannot get the battery cover to stay without duct tape. It is not enough to return and reorder and reassemble the whole bike but it is inconvenient and dissapointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Gold Gym Power Spin

11/15/2010
By ,
Chesapeake Bch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is wonderful Had for Two years and not sorry love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Should have been better

03/01/2011
By ,
washington dc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I actually like this equipment, but I didn't recieve the pedals. It took another week or so to get them. Assembly wasn't that bad but since the pedals were the last thing to put on I had not realized they weren't there until halfway through. There was damage to the frame and only one speaker works. the entire unit was probably damage before or during shipping. I would have sent it back but discovering this stuff halfway through the assembling and after the whole thing was put together, it would have been too much trouble. although I think I should get 10% back since I decided to keep it. I works very well. Take advantage of the in-home assembly, then it you won't get stuck with a fully or in my case partially defective product. Then you won't have to go the the trouble of sending it back and putting it back in the box. It must weight about 80 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Just what we needed

01/17/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for christmas, who has a bad knee along with some heart issues. His ortho doc said that walking was to much of an impact on his knee and that a stationary bike would be better for him.
This was easy to put together, our 15 yr old daughter did it in no time.
Turns out, we all love it. She rides it every day while watching TV and listen to her Ipod. Hubby and I both like it as I have a bum knee to and it's less impact and doesn't make my knee hurt. Plus, we live in the north and can use it during extremely cold weather, snow and rain.
Just to let you know, we're not "small" people, and this bike holds up well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Bang for the buck

03/03/2011
By ,
Toms River
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable, versatile, fairly easy to assemble, and a joy to use. I've had it almost 2 months using at least every other day and so far this bike is all I expected and then some. The seat is extremely comfortable, despite the fact that I suffer from a bad back, and the display is easy to read and program. This bike is perfect for the beginner like me. My only complaint is the sound isn't great when you plug your mp3 player into it and I think one of the speakers doesn't work (if there are two) but that's what they make headphones for. I assembled it by myself (I do recommend having help like the instructions say though) in about 3 hours and lost 3 pounds doing it LOL. If you're middle aged like myself or a workout beginner who needs to comfortably drop a few pounds and don't want to blow a fortune, this is the bike for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+2points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

gotta get the pounds off

12/21/2010
By ,
fairfield , california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
price was great, no shipping charges and was at my home in no time.. early than when ordered... one part was broken, the knob to tighten slide bar, called company and was replaced on the spot , no question , was mailed to me within 1 week.. great service by golds gym equipment.... so wall mart keep the free shipping coming and great prices .. thanks... disney fan..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

THIS BIKE BEGS YOU TO USE IT

01/11/2011
By ,
Frederick, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike is sturdy and rugged. Magnetic tension method is wonderful improvement over the friction strap. Recumbant seat is very practical and comfortable. Display screen gives all necessary information. Only issue was battery door which was hard to latch fully. If not, weight of 4 D-cell batteries causes to open and fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Basic Bike

03/08/2011
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, decent product. Does the job. Back rest is VERY upright with no give. Bothers my husband's back since seat is slightly uncomfortable. Although you can adjust length of machine with knob, my short legs still occasionally bump the console if going too fast. It does NOT come with a rechargeable battery...although a phone number is provided to order one. Still need to look into that. Decent purchase for the price ($250 tax and all). My kids use it more than I do. Have only had it a couple of weeks, so maybe I will grow to like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Excellent product for the price!!

02/21/2013
By ,
St. cloud, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, I usually read reviews where the people give 1 or 2 stars. I feel that those individuals are extremely honest. I hardly ever trust those who give 4 or 5 stars because, I thought they were getting paid by the companies to give positive reviews. My outlook has slightly change. Now, I purchase this stationary bike because I'm super lazy. I detest driving--even if the gym is 5 miles from my home. Several time, I get to the gym, park my car, and just before I open the door; I back out and go home. I just want to work out and not have to deal with traffic getting back home.
I decided I have to excerise because obesity runs on boths sides of my family. I constantly struggle with my weight. The bike cost was 200 dollars and it appeared durable. I had it ship to the store and the arrival said about two weeks. It got to the store in a week. I had them put it together and took it home the next day. I've used it for about 4 days. It does exactly what they proclaim. Its quiet, sturdy, and exactly what I was looking for. Best purchase ever!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Well worth the money

12/28/2010
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You must use 2 people to assemble this bike,but well worth it. My husband and I both agree on this bike. My last one we gave away. The best quality of this bike sit back and ride style is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

poor battery location

05/06/2011
By ,
huntsville, Al.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this machine for several months now, I have gotten tired of replacing the batteries every couple of days.
I have batteries that can be recharged, a must have for this machine, unless you can get batteries for free.
To replace the batteries the machine must be laid on it's side, a real chore for older people.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Great Bike

01/02/2011
By ,
St Augustine, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased. smooth riding and all the programs I need. Delivery was prompt. Did not take long to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

LOVE this bike!

04/10/2011
By ,
In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bike for 2 years and use daily, I have had no issues with it at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Power 230 Recumbent Bike

Greatly Disappointed

01/22/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received this product and enthusiastically assembled per instructions. Put the batteries in and nothing. Changed the batteries...nothing. The company shipped us a new electronics console and still does not work. Will be returning this product to Walmart ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next