Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Crosman Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

The Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump Air Rifle features a Williams fiber optic rear and front sights, hardwood stock, and an integrated air pressure gauge. With a maximum velocity of 900 feet per second, this air rifle delivers incredible performance consistently. The high pressure hand pump that is inclusive of the . 22 caliber carbine gun kit is not only user-friendly but also shows clearly if you’ve attained the utmost operating pressure or not. In order to reach 2000 psi by filling its reservoir all you have to do is to pump it only with 80 strokes. The PCP has a built-in pressure gauge and quick-disconnect fittings making it fast and easy to fill.
Average Customer Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%33 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

great pellet gun

08/22/2010
By ,
Ypsilanti mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
using a centerpoint 4X16X40 bought at wal for $64 bucks, most places this scope is $109.00 great scope but needs the rings changed from weaver type to 11 mil grove type which I had on hand. shoots 840 fps with air arms Falcon ccuracy plus 13.43 gr pellets the best can be bought at Pyramydair.com also the rings are 9.99 and these are great rings, come in med and high, the high will allow clearance for the front of the scope Leapers Accushot 1" Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail , tried many pellets and but these shot perfect Air Arms Falcon .22 Cal, 5.52mm, 13.43 Grains, Dome, 500ct, also at pyair
The pump was fairly easy, ran it down to 900 PSI and got 35 shots, took 75 to 80 pumps to bring it back to 2000 PSI , I am tall and old (69) and out of shape, it wasn't that bad, take your time and use slow strokes and it takes 5 minutes to pump up, don't feel a lot of resisantance while pumping like a bike pump has, pump weighs more than the gun.
I have 4 other pellet guns, this is by far the most accurate and made in NY USA, I am really impressed with this pellet gun, trigger pull could be smoother and lighter for target but it shoots the center out so what can I say, must not be that bad.
I was leary of a pump but I don't think I am going to invest in a scuba tank, take 5 or less minutes of not hard pumping and shoot 35 shots, good enough for me
Going to try posting to phots of the groups at 16 yards off a rest
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Benjamin Discovery combo 22 cal.

03/29/2011
By ,
Springfield, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had read many reviews and done my home work, this product was just as expected. Very accurate and powerful. Added Scope, modified trigger and made power adjuster. If you are looking for an entry to PCP air rifles this is IT, and walmart.com has by far the lowest price anywhere on the rifle/pump combo. Site to Store was quick and painless .Highly recommend both. Target is 5 shots at 25yd. before installing power adjuster. Velocities are stock rifle...cls
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump
03/20/2012
By ,
greenwood,ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent air rifle,70 bucks cheaper than other sites..mine is a tack driver out to 50(1/4")yards.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Simply Amazing!

01/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rifle and pump combination for $299 had to be the best deal I've ever seen. The Benjamin Discovery PCP air rifle is acknowledged as one of the best entry level rifles out there. To combine it with a pump that goes for about $139 to $175 was extraordinary. First, I cleaned the barrel with an organic citrus solvent as I do with ALL my new air guns. Next, I charged it up, left it over night, and checked to make sure it held pressure. It did. Then I took it outside to fire. Boy, was it loud! I put a TKO muzzle brake on it and that quieted it down to about the noise level of my .22 Benjamin Titan GP and my .177 Gamo Whisper break barrel rifles. Now I can shoot it in my cellar. When I tested some different pellets at 10 yards using a CenterPoint 4-16X40mm AO scope (Wal*Mart -$70), I shot a five round group of Beeman (H&N) 18.21 gn Cro-Magnum pellets that made a hole of 0.25" in diameter. That's 0.03" larger than the pellets I was shooting. I used a chest freezer as a bench with a sand bag under the fore stock. The accuracy is astounding!
If Walmart.com offers this package again, grab it. You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Great value

01/06/2012
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PCP works much the same as older style American Benjamin/Sheridan pump rifles, without the whack whack whack. Essentially you do your pumping at a slow steady pace prior to 16 or more full power shots. This rifle was purposely set at 2,000psi to make it much more hand pump friendly than the typical 3,000 psi PCP air rifle. Over the chrony I get 16 full power shots (850fps with 14.3g Crosman premier hollow points) and you can figure about 3-4 pumps per shot. Comparable effort to a Benjamin 392 with far more power, and much more hunting friendly with out the noisy whacks between shots. About the noise, its expels air and isn't quiet compared to a spring powered rifle. Two inexpensive improvements are available, an inexpensive kit to lighten the trigger & a muzzle/crown protector that helps with the expelled air issue. Do a google on tko air rifle and the options for many air rifles are available. The size and handling are outstanding, comparable to an older Crosman 160 or more recent QB 78 import. Its a great backyard pest rifle and just fun in general.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Outstanding American made

07/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For pest or small game hunting you won't beat this price or quality . Very accurate with the right ammo to 50+ yards and greatest accuracy starts generally about 1800 psi. Little loud if you have someone close who would worry about that . I shoot 22 cal rifles a lot and this thing compares to the best of them and the pump is easy to use . It has been reviewed by full time Air Gunners and rates about a 5 of 5 from most of them . Price is right too . It is Quality American made and at 68 years old I like that . Oh yes it's made by BenjamiN not BenJamiM .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump
10/04/2013
By ,
Aberdeen,MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this gun to control the squirrel population since they had been chewing into my house. Gun is a little loud out of the box but that can be remedied with a muzzle brake. And also have to be careful of background as this gun will shoot a pellet through a squirrel even at close to 40 yards. But so far a very accurate gun with a good scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Highly Accurate Rifle. Very Powerful. Hard Impact

07/09/2012
By ,
Tampa,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for a .22 pellet rifle and read many reviews. I watched youtube videos and finally decided to buy the crossman nitro venom break barrel. While I waited for that gun I also ordered the Benjamin discovery. The benjamin discovery is a better rifle hands down. It is extremely accurate at 50yards. The limits of the gun are strained at 100yards. The pump that is included works well about 80 pumps for the first fill then abount 30-40 pumps to add additional pressure for shooting. You get about 15-20 good shots on a fill. The gun has zero recoil. When paired with a shooting post this gun will hit anything you aim at.
The scope I recommend for the Discovery is the CenterPoint Illuminated 4 16x40mm Scope. The illumination really helps the crosshairs stand out against a wooded back ground and is highly adjustable and easy to scope in.
I did decide to buy a scuba tank and fill connector for the rifle. The scuba set up I bought on ebay and the tank I bought on craigslist. The scuba set up fills the gun in 2 seconds or less vs the pump that can take 2-5 minutes. It will cost another $150 for the set up but it is worth it. I have not used the hand pump since I got the scuba tank. I will keep the pump for emergencies I am a animal trapper and can only use air rifles in city limits. This gun will take down a hog.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Very Nice For Entry Level PCP Rifle

02/19/2014
By ,
Imperial Beach, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are used to springers or even gas piston this rifle will take you to the next level. Even with hollow point rounds it easily penetrates 1/4" plywood at 25 yards. By penetrate I mean it DESTROYS IT! Report is somewhat less than a .22 rim fire but the neighbors will hear it, if that is a concern. If you plan to mount a scope (and who wouldn't) make sure to get the tall rings otherwise getting the pellet into breach under the scope is cumbersome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Great gun!

02/10/2012
By ,
Ocala,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got my Discovery a few days ago and couldn't be happier with its performance. The first thing I did when I got the gun was clean the barrel. The barrel was quite dirty but only took a few minutes to clean up. Next I mounted a cheap Bushnell 4x32 rimfire scope on the gun and got ready to shoot. I hooked the pump up to the gun and pumped it approximately 70 times (didn't count# to reach 2000 psi. I found the pump fairly easy to pump but it got a little harder to pump as it got up around the 2000 mark. Set up some targets at 25 yards and started sighting in the gun shooting off of a bench with a good shooting bag. It only took about 6 shots to be hitting the center of the target and all of the shots started grouping very well. There was no break in period as is customary with the break barrel guns. This is the most consistent shooting pellet gun I have ever seen! I have been able to consistently shoot dime size groops or smaller at 25 yards using Crosman Premier pellets, which are the only pellets I have tried in the gun. The trigger on the gun is the weakest part, being a little heavy with some creep but not as bad as many pellet gun triggers. With a better scope and a little trigger work this gun would be incredible. The gun is well balanced and fairly lite but it does make a fair amount of noise when shooting #as loud or louder than most break barrel guns). The gun has very little or no recoil when shooting. I have tried several different break barrel guns and was not happy with there accuracy, then I shot this gun and couldn't believe how much easier this gun was to master. You don't have to hold this gun in any special way for it to shoot accurately as is customary with most break barrel guns. If you want an easy to shoot , accurate and fast gun, this is the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Accurate

03/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first PCP airgun. My previous experience was with breakbarrels, so I was very pleasantly surprised with how accurate this gun is! I can get reasonable groups consistently at 50 yards with the right pellets.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

This gun is great

03/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is now my favorite, I have 4 break-barrel guns before I bought this one. They are all gathering dust now. The Benjamin Discovery will out shoot all of them. I am making shots I could only dream about with the break-barrel guns. I am useing JSB exact heavies 18.1gr and can group 1/2'' at 40 yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

WOW!!!

01/16/2011
By ,
Lodi, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice rifle cant ask for much more for the price, very accurate 1" groups at 35 yards no problem with crosman premier domed .22 cal. 14.3 gr. pellets, pumps up very easy, average shot count is around 15 good power shots average velocity is 840 fps. excellent weight for walking out in fields, small and easy to shoulder and im 5-11 170lbs, my son liked it so much i was going to buy another one but i dont see them here no more?? so i order the marauder from PA and it is very nice, alittle heavy but the trigger is sweet. i have lots of springers and nitros but i dont even look at them no more.
this is the way to go, have fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Great Gun

03/01/2011
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really excited to see this air rifle with the pump for only $300. Once I got this gun home I read through the paper work so I would get it pressurized correctly. I about 5 minutes I had it pumped up to 2000 psi and ready to shoot. The first couple of time out shooting at targets I really stuggeled to get a good group. I then changed my pellets to the Crossman Permier domed hollow points that came with the gun, and everything was great! It's so much fun to shoot in the backyard. I can't wait to get out and try it hunting this spring and summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED

01/13/2011
By ,
Bham,Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the past 12 months i've purchased six(6) break barrel air rifles.7th purchase was the pcp benjamin discovery .22 cal.This gun is awesome.I love my break barrels guns but i have not looked at them since receiving the pcp.Accurate out of the box at 30yds.1" group with second 5 rounds open sight shots.Can't wait until she's scoped.85 pumps from empty to 2000psi with ease @ 5'9" 155lbs.This gun is a tad loud for a pellet gun but thats the trade off for this much fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Massive fun for a great price!

03/15/2014
By ,
Des Moines, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is deadly accurate, much easier to shoot than spring piston guns, and has more heft than multi pump guns. The only serious issue is that it is loud, about 120 db according to one YouTube video, however there is a baffle available that reduces the noise enough to make it backyard/basement friendly. I have it on mine and it works perfectly. If you are interested in this gun, I'd suggest watching some of the YouTube videos about it. One thing is for sure, it has been around a long time and still remains highly popular for a very good reason. It's a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

awesome rifle

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at a dozen different sites for this rifle..walmart.com was 50 dollars cheaper for this combo..well worth the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Cited into a penny at 50 yards

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gun is a great gun for the money. Very accurate and easy to cite in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Benjamin discovery

02/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The accuracy of this gun is crazy! The only thing I would change is the loudness of the gun. If you live in a neighborhood it's probably too loud. It sounds pretty similar to a 22. If the noise isn't an issue then it's great. A company called to make a kit that will make the gun quieter for those in a neighborhood. It is $50.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Benjamin Discovery .22 Caliber PCP Powered Carbine with High Pressure Hand Pump

Light and fun

12/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice rifle for the money. I got a good one. The stock is straight grained and plain. If you have a long LOP you might have to modify it. I am going to. The rifle seems accurate enough for my hunting purpose. Loud, not backyard friendly. I have not done a shot count, however I did shoot 12 through it and ran the power down about half on the gauge. It is very easy to pump up and the pump that came with it has done a good job. I attached a scope I had from one of my .22 rifles and it seems to not be a problem. I also used high 11mm mounts. It is a little tedious to load the pellets. The great thing about this model is there are a lot of modifications you can do to it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next