Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Skil Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Skil Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

The Skil 9295-01 Angle Grinder is the perfect tool for helping with home projects. This handheld grinder works beautifully for sharpening lawn mower blades, removing rust from metal surfaces, and other such work. Adequate power is not the only requirement for controlling any tool; in fact, convenience and comfort to the person using it is also very important. This 4.5-inch grinder has a strong 6 amp motor that provides adequate power force to take care of your requirements. For user comfort, Skil upgraded the device by adding a smaller barrel grip for convenience. Its tool-less guard adjustment features offers easy operation. The electric angle grinder features heavy-duty metal gear housing for longevity and a side-assist handle with wrench storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%31 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

The on/off & lock switch is awkward.

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this Angle Grinder for a month it feels good and secure when I use it. But the trigger on/off & lock switch is awkward at first but you will get use to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Skil 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

02/06/2011
By ,
kingston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought to do odd jobs around the house.
met all my needs, powerful 6A motor. did the jobs with ease. the tool does all the work.
came with grinding disc, and all the accessories needed to get the job done.
fine tool for BIG jobs for a small price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

doing the job for which I purchased it for!

06/29/2014
By ,
Oswego, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Key to change disks is in handle, very nice. feels good and secure in my hands. trigger to start is a little awkward but getting use too. good grinder for what I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

awsome grinder

08/09/2011
By ,
new brighton pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this to replace the b&d i got first this grinder is way better then the bd it got more ferrter and is more powerful skil is one of top tool brand craftsman and skil r my top tools brands im a handyman so i need good tools i put my word on craftsman and skil
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

good value

05/18/2014
By ,
Robert, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and does a great job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

very good product

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what I wanted it do
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Reliable and durable

06/16/2014
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've used one at work for about a year. It's held up so well we got a second one just like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Good price, very happy.

12/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how the wrench fits into the handle, no more losing the wrench, excellent idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

A great grinder at agreat price.

04/11/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome, powerful grinder at a good price. That's all I can say really. A grinder is a tool that is going to be beat up, abused and disposed of. There is no reason to spend $200 on a Dewalt when you can buy 5 of these for the same cost and get a new one each time. Heck, this may even last as long as a Dewalt. Remember, Skil is a Bosch product, whom I have huge respect for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Great Tool...........Until the Switch Failed!

12/11/2013
By ,
Northern California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Until the switch failed today, I was very happy with the value and power of this grinder. As another reviewer noted, the switch is a little hard to use, but as long as it worked, this has been a good addition to my larger and heavier angle grinder that I have used (and abused) for 30 years (Craftsman).
I don't really have many hours of usage on this tool, but today it started losing power, required a "bump" to get it to start and then, the switch finally didn't work at all. It's out of warranty, so I thought I had nothing to lose by trying to get to the switch to see if I could repair it. Unlike my Craftsman grinder, this tool is not made for any kind of repair by the owner. The brushes are like new (from very little total usage) but are not assessible from the outside, making future replacement (as suggested in the owner's manual) very difficult. Basically the entire motor assembly slides, fully assembled, down the barrel. Getting that assembly out of the barrel is not obvious and requires a lot of force and the proper tools.
I'm probably going to scrap this tool and find something better, even if it costs a significant amount more.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Follow-up to Switch Failure Comment
Posted 01/20/2014
Since there was no warranty for this grinder after time had passed (but NOT much usage), I figured I had nothing to lose by opening the tool to find what really went wrong if I could.
From the outside it appeared that the switch was the cause of the problem, but once inside it was clear that one of the leads connected to the brush holder had vibrated loose, become very hot and finally just melted in half. This tool always vibrated a lot and the VERY tiny pair of push-on type of connectors for the brush holders were just not designed for this severe vibration, so it was no surprise that this part failed.
BTW, the brushes themselves were in GREAT shape, still near their original length and the commutator was barely worn at all. The replacement grinder I bought has several features that are better, has a 3-year warranty and (of course) costs more.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder
01/08/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a do-it-yourselfer this tool will come in handy. I have had for only a couple of days but have already used more than once. It cuts with ease and is not too heavy. Would recommend to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Great grinder for the do it yourself type person.

06/13/2012
By ,
Shamokin, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to cut the hub off of a cast iron soil stack. It worked very satisfactorly. Plenty of power to get the job done and the price was resonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Skil Angle Grinder

04/14/2013
By ,
Bremerton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairly light weight, runs exceptionally well, easy to use, and easy to change disc's. Easy to grip while applying pressure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

DURABLE, DURABLE, DURABLE & NEVER DIES!!!

04/26/2013
By ,
LEBANON, NJ 08833
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DURABLE, DURABLE, DURABLE & NEVER DIES!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Holds up in commercial use!!

09/25/2013
By ,
Lakeside, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run a small fab shop and have used just about every brand of angle grinder out there. I beat this Skill angle grinder as hard as I can week after week and it still keeps going strong. Plenty of power for abrasive cut off wheels, sanding discs or wire wheel. Knocked off my work bench a dozen times or more. The cord for it is junk though, I repair my cord on a monthly basis. It will crack and short out every month, never fails! But like I said, I use this thing in a pretty abusive environment and it does great! I would recommend replacing the cord with a good industrial cord and you'll be set. I am extremely pleased with this tools performance and plan to buy 2 or 3 more of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Great camera for a beginner

12/27/2013
By ,
calexico 92231
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great camera for a beginner
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder

Good little grinder for price

05/11/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grinder to remove rust on my truck. It has plenty of power. It is priced good. It comes with a grinder wheel and is ready to go right out of the box. I am sure I will use this grinder for many other projects and do not doubt that it will work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5