Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

The Sony DVP-FX950 9" Portable DVD Player provides a convenient way to entertain you or your children while you travel, whether you are in the car or on an airplane. Its has a nine-inch widescreen display that provides sharp, crisp images in high resolution, and the swivel screen can be adjusted for a comfortable viewing angle. With a 7.5-hour battery life, the Sony Portable DVD player can be viewed for extended periods without recharging. A top-loading door makes DVDs easy to insert, and the screen can be flipped down to protect the display between uses. Besides movies, this swivel screen DVD player can also play music CDs and JPEG images for a slideshow. Media can even be loaded and displayed via the USB 2.0 port. Touch-screen keys make the player easy to use and navigate. Headphones can be plugged in for private listening, and two headphone ports allow two users to listen to the movie at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation95%203 out of 214reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony 9" portable DVD player

07/06/2010
By ,
Orchard Park, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately this DVD player only worked for about 15 minutes... It makes a lot of noise and will not read a DVD... I will be returning this unit to the store today and I'm not sure if I will try another one or go for a much less expensive model.. I will typically spend a little more if I feel there is a better quality product but this player did not live up to expectations...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Review 2 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Dead after one hour

09/21/2010
By ,
Florence SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great looking package with good features . It died before finishing one movie . Have another on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 3 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

BEWARE! This product is DEFECTIVE!

01/17/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product the day after Christmas, 12-26-2010.
Everything started just fine to begin with. I thought the noisy mechanisms at start-up and turn-off were a bit bothersome, maybe hinting at shoddy construction.
My hunch was correct! After about 3 DVD's this Sony Portable DVD player, model DVP-FX950 just STOPPED working!
Unbelievable! It's brand new. I had not even owned it for a month, either.
Also, I took very good care of it as well. I did not drop it, or touch the lens, or hit it at all.
I always put it back in to its white sleeve covering, when not in use.
Be VERY CAREFUL! This product is defective.
Think about it! I only played 3 DVD's and then it stopped working! It read an error message, saying "Cannot read disk". So then I tried 3 more DVD's; same thing. My disks are not scratched either as I used these same DVD's in my other larger, permanent, at-home, DVD player, in which these same DVD's worked fine in. These are not blu-ray disks either. Just regular DVD's.
I'm very disappointed with this product, and I do *NOT* recommend anyone to buy this product.
Sony.....Your crown is SLIPPING!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Review 4 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950
07/09/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i do not like the layout of the product.
i would prefer the volume controls and the other controls where the vol control is to be somewhere else for ease
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

dissappointed in Sony DVP-FX950

04/29/2011
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, one for each vehicle. Both started showing problems where the power cord connects to the unit, both quickly becoming positional, sometimes requiring repositioning several times to get power to unit (which can be a pain when 2 year old crying for movie and it keeps stopping due to power loss). After 3 1/2 months one of these has stopped working completely. Also, did not realize that remote does not have power off button. Must use manual power slide on unit or unplug unit to turn it off. I usually gravitate towards SONY products for quality, but they really missed the ball with this unit.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Good batery Bad product

06/25/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this player for about 1 1/2 years. On the first rip the screen kept going black and it does not work while pluged in. I had to have it sent in and the plug for the screen keeps coming loose. (it's just a platic connector after all) And finally it dies completly after only a year and a half. I fix electronics for a living and after the warranty expired it died again. I went digging inside and found it is very cheaply made and will fail quickly.
Great scrren and battery though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 7 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Wish it Last longer than 1 1/2 year

01/02/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the product, great sound, battery last long, and play some burned DVD. Great for my 7 years old for long car trip. This is my second Sony. My first one only last 1 1/2 year and the DVD stop playing/reading the DVD. Call Sony customer service and the closest "Sony" Place is Far, Far away and would cost more than the price of a New Sony player. Hopefully, this second one would last longer than my first.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 8 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player

03/29/2011
By ,
Pahrump, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought the Sony Portable DVD Player in 11/2009, paid quite a bit of money for it, and it no longer plays DVDs, broke the other day, 16 months later. The best we ever got from the battery was maximum 3 hours, never 6 as advertised. We are very disappointed because we always thought that Sony was top of the line in consumer electronics, such as this. We are looking for another portable DVD player, but not Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

great, but ours has broken...

05/18/2010
By ,
Milwaukie Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has worked great for a while, however it now doesn't turn off when the switch is slided.
First we had a problem with the charging port not staying tight when we switched to direct current, as when we tried charging the unit.
AS for durability otherwise, my daughter has used this everyday for 2 months. It is carried around from car to house numerous times a day. The picture is great. Easy to operate. EAsy to charge. Problem we had is we bought red colored. No longer available. We have to send our unit to Sony and pay shipping for replacement. Walmart.com was out of stock of all colors until recently. They have black now I see.....
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

babysitter tool

06/21/2010
By ,
Lomita, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
since we bought this portable dvd player it's been in use by my five year old son. He can watch a couple of movies before we need to recharge battery. It's great for those long road trips, bought a car mount so it sits between the seats, car makes it bounce but the movie does not skip. Getting ready for a couple of camping trips, can't wait to use it... would recommend it to anyone, plus comes with two earphones outlets so he can share with sister..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

DVP-FX950

06/25/2010
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought the 8" version back just after the new year but returned it since our $80 Audiovox DVD player was just about as good (except for the slick swivel screen and better color on the Sony).
The Audiovox went on the fritz to I got this one to replace it.
I think the 950's screen is not quite as good as the 8" Sony. The 8" screen seemed to be a litttle brighter and had a wider viewing angle.
But the sony is a slick product. there is none other in this price range with as long a battery life. most others only last 2 hours. This one could get you across the continental US on one charge.
The remote is clunky, but we hardly use it; usually we are sitting close enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

just about perfect

07/02/2010
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plays an excellent array of formats. The only thing missing is a case at this price. The thing that would push this over the top would be to able to play video's off of connected usb drive
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Reasonably good

07/04/2010
By ,
Fresno CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is a bit costly. But nothing you will find better than sony when it comes to DVD player..
USB port is not for movies that is the only drawback I guess. Rest audio quality is better than other I experienced.
Best part is Battery which is long lasting and will not let you down.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950
07/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 15 month old son after returning a Phillips DVD player that wouldn't hold a charge for very long. This one definitely stays charged a lot longer. We love this player, but wish it came with a car mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Good Product

08/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just took this product to Hawaii from California and the battery life held up well!! I've had 3 other devices and this one last a long time. Not sure of the total life but I watched 2 movies and still had 1 of 3 bars left on that 5 hour flight. Loved the swivel screen. Only wished a carrying case would be included to protect the product in my bag. Also the remote control is the size of a house TV remote, larger then my other portable players. Kind of big for traveling so I didn't pack it. Function controls on the bottom of the screen is ideal. Easy to see. Overall, this is the best portable DVD player I've ever used. I've had 3 other players and have gone through many additional battery which is why I choose to purchase this Sony, long battery without buying a add-on battery that doesn't always last as they should. I've been burned a few times with external batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 16 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player

09/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets expections. Good picture and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

very good product

09/10/2010
By ,
phoenix AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Qulity biger than qrice
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Not bad!

11/08/2010
By ,
Poconos, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My sister and I bought this for our 84 year old mom. She doesn't have access to a computer, and everyone shares photos electronically now, so she's been frustrated because she can no longer see them. This product has a USB port, so we can show her our photos now! We haven't tried the DVD player yet so I hope we're just as happy with that feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Easy to use.

11/14/2010
By ,
Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this portable DVD player it is easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Very good buy!

11/15/2010
By ,
Milltown, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall great, my one criticism are the touch controls too sensitive and not good in the dark. Regular buttons would have been perfect. I had the previous model with a 1/2" smaller screen and it works fantastic, this one is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next