Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

The Sony DVP-FX950 9" Portable DVD Player provides a convenient way to entertain you or your children while you travel, whether you are in the car or on an airplane. Its has a nine-inch widescreen display that provides sharp, crisp images in high resolution, and the swivel screen can be adjusted for a comfortable viewing angle. With a 7.5-hour battery life, the Sony Portable DVD player can be viewed for extended periods without recharging. A top-loading door makes DVDs easy to insert, and the screen can be flipped down to protect the display between uses. Besides movies, this swivel screen DVD player can also play music CDs and JPEG images for a slideshow. Media can even be loaded and displayed via the USB 2.0 port. Touch-screen keys make the player easy to use and navigate. Headphones can be plugged in for private listening, and two headphone ports allow two users to listen to the movie at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation95%203 out of 214reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 252 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony 9" portable DVD player

07/06/2010
By ,
Orchard Park, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately this DVD player only worked for about 15 minutes... It makes a lot of noise and will not read a DVD... I will be returning this unit to the store today and I'm not sure if I will try another one or go for a much less expensive model.. I will typically spend a little more if I feel there is a better quality product but this player did not live up to expectations...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Dead after one hour

09/21/2010
By ,
Florence SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great looking package with good features . It died before finishing one movie . Have another on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

BEWARE! This product is DEFECTIVE!

01/17/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product the day after Christmas, 12-26-2010.
Everything started just fine to begin with. I thought the noisy mechanisms at start-up and turn-off were a bit bothersome, maybe hinting at shoddy construction.
My hunch was correct! After about 3 DVD's this Sony Portable DVD player, model DVP-FX950 just STOPPED working!
Unbelievable! It's brand new. I had not even owned it for a month, either.
Also, I took very good care of it as well. I did not drop it, or touch the lens, or hit it at all.
I always put it back in to its white sleeve covering, when not in use.
Be VERY CAREFUL! This product is defective.
Think about it! I only played 3 DVD's and then it stopped working! It read an error message, saying "Cannot read disk". So then I tried 3 more DVD's; same thing. My disks are not scratched either as I used these same DVD's in my other larger, permanent, at-home, DVD player, in which these same DVD's worked fine in. These are not blu-ray disks either. Just regular DVD's.
I'm very disappointed with this product, and I do *NOT* recommend anyone to buy this product.
Sony.....Your crown is SLIPPING!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

dissappointed in Sony DVP-FX950

04/29/2011
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, one for each vehicle. Both started showing problems where the power cord connects to the unit, both quickly becoming positional, sometimes requiring repositioning several times to get power to unit (which can be a pain when 2 year old crying for movie and it keeps stopping due to power loss). After 3 1/2 months one of these has stopped working completely. Also, did not realize that remote does not have power off button. Must use manual power slide on unit or unplug unit to turn it off. I usually gravitate towards SONY products for quality, but they really missed the ball with this unit.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950
07/09/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i do not like the layout of the product.
i would prefer the volume controls and the other controls where the vol control is to be somewhere else for ease
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Good batery Bad product

06/25/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this player for about 1 1/2 years. On the first rip the screen kept going black and it does not work while pluged in. I had to have it sent in and the plug for the screen keeps coming loose. (it's just a platic connector after all) And finally it dies completly after only a year and a half. I fix electronics for a living and after the warranty expired it died again. I went digging inside and found it is very cheaply made and will fail quickly.
Great scrren and battery though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Wish it Last longer than 1 1/2 year

01/02/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the product, great sound, battery last long, and play some burned DVD. Great for my 7 years old for long car trip. This is my second Sony. My first one only last 1 1/2 year and the DVD stop playing/reading the DVD. Call Sony customer service and the closest "Sony" Place is Far, Far away and would cost more than the price of a New Sony player. Hopefully, this second one would last longer than my first.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player

03/29/2011
By ,
Pahrump, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought the Sony Portable DVD Player in 11/2009, paid quite a bit of money for it, and it no longer plays DVDs, broke the other day, 16 months later. The best we ever got from the battery was maximum 3 hours, never 6 as advertised. We are very disappointed because we always thought that Sony was top of the line in consumer electronics, such as this. We are looking for another portable DVD player, but not Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Very good buy!

11/15/2010
By ,
Milltown, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall great, my one criticism are the touch controls too sensitive and not good in the dark. Regular buttons would have been perfect. I had the previous model with a 1/2" smaller screen and it works fantastic, this one is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950
07/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 15 month old son after returning a Phillips DVD player that wouldn't hold a charge for very long. This one definitely stays charged a lot longer. We love this player, but wish it came with a car mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Sony DVP-FX950

11/15/2010
By ,
Fairmont,WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad product for small kids to watch videos,
could be a little cheaper like its rivals
but overall satisfy enough to keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Not bad!

11/08/2010
By ,
Poconos, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My sister and I bought this for our 84 year old mom. She doesn't have access to a computer, and everyone shares photos electronically now, so she's been frustrated because she can no longer see them. This product has a USB port, so we can show her our photos now! We haven't tried the DVD player yet so I hope we're just as happy with that feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

babysitter tool

06/21/2010
By ,
Lomita, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
since we bought this portable dvd player it's been in use by my five year old son. He can watch a couple of movies before we need to recharge battery. It's great for those long road trips, bought a car mount so it sits between the seats, car makes it bounce but the movie does not skip. Getting ready for a couple of camping trips, can't wait to use it... would recommend it to anyone, plus comes with two earphones outlets so he can share with sister..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Nice!

11/15/2010
By ,
Waukegan, Il.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has a very nice picture and great sound! The touch screen controls along with the remote are great! Good battery life also!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Very nice product

11/22/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used it a couple of times, and it has done a good job. Very light weight and small, I can carry it around with not a problem.
Only thing is that you MUST use the remote, the buttons don't seem to work when you press them. The remote is pretty big for the player, but overall it's a pretty nice portable DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Very Good Value

01/24/2011
By ,
Morris County, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DVD drive was noisy, but noise diapeart after first week. Contacted Sony's service and got the DVD player exchanged.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Great product

12/09/2010
By ,
Lapeer, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great DVD player, really long battery life, I actually used my DVD player fully charged for almost 7 hours. Just follow instructions on getting the most out of your battery time by using ear buds and turning down back light. Would have rated it a perfect 5 except I'm not that crazy about the on player controls. The remote does work well and I think it was a good buy for the money. Would highly recommend.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

very nice for the money

12/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice little and fast machine for the money. However, They should've loaded vista 7 in a more complete version than Vista 7 starter. So be prepared to shell out 79 more dollars to upgrade to vista 7 home,plus 149 for the microsoft suite package. I one doesn't,atleast, make the upgrade,one will find that premere virus programs,such as Norton 360, will issue error messages,and the program will not allow many of the anti-virus features to run. Other than that,you'll be happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

SONY 9" DVD Player FX950

01/04/2011
By ,
Rockwall, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked around at many different stores and websites to find the best portable DVD player for the best price. I narrowed my search to this particular DVD player.
I would definitely recommend this player for many reasons:
Picture Quality -
The picture quality seemed just OK at first because I'm so used to blu-ray, but once you watch for a minute, your eyes adjust and the quality appears much, much better.
Sound -
The sound is decent. You can turn it up loudly and it doesn't distort like you would think it would.
Swivel-
AWESOME. You can turn the screen around so the base is facing away from you, or you can lay the screne flat on the base. Very handy. Very portable.
Controls-
I haven't tinkered with it too much but here's what I noticed so far - The buttons don't require a harsh push. They are touch sensitive so you don't even have to physically push any buttons down. I did read that the fast foward/rewind can be awkward but I haven't noticed anything weird.
Size-
I would definitely recommend this size or larger. I think the 7inch would be really far too small, even for a portable.
Price-
For the quality you get with this product, $99 is a great deal. I saw it online for nearly double, so I'm quite happy for what I got.
The only thing I wish is that a carrying case be included. Be confident if you buy this player!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony 9" Swivel Screen Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX950

Good Quality

01/07/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is nice unit with a big screen and good battery life. The only problem we have is that this unit does not play DVD's from other regions of the world. Since we often use it while traveling overseas, that can be a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next