Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Slumber 1 Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Slumber 1 Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Nothing beats the luxury and deep comfortable sleep you get from the Slumber 1 8-inch Mattress-in-a-Box. Coil springs in this bed mattress provide better motion separation even as you toss and turn, making for a better night's sleep.
Average Customer Rating:
4.498 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(3868 Reviews) 3369
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,561
4 stars
977
3 stars
141
2 stars
74
1 star
115
Customer Recommendation94%3,629 out of 3,861reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
356 Questions | 1,776 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,561
4 stars
977
3 stars
141
2 stars
74
1 star
115
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Stop hesitating and click the "BUY" button.

11/17/2013
By ,
Rio Rancho, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was building a wall bed (or, murphy bed) and was trying to do it on the cheap. I still wanted a good mattress without spending hundreds or thousands of dollars. I read reviews of this and other mattresses under $300 for weeks before finally pulling the trigger and ordering this mattress in full size. I only regret that I didn't order it sooner.
When I opened it and let it fill out to its full size, I immediately laid on it and was surprised how firm it actually was. While not as firm as my son's traditional twin mattress, it was solid but also the individual coils really seem to cradle my body. I did not detect any strange chemical odor as many reviewers have stated, but found the mattress to be fresh and pleasant if anything.
I've slept on it three nights and it is easily the most comfortable mattress I've ever owned, including my $3000 pillow top king (don't know the brand). When my kids need new beds, I will definitely order one of these for them.
If, like me, you are unsure of the quality of a mattress that is compressed, sealed, rolled and stuffed into a box--stop worrying. It is very high quality and you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From BetterZZZ11/22/2013
We are happy you find the mattress to fit your needs for usage and price. Glad you find it not disappointing anymore regarding compressed mattresses. Thank you for your review!Zinus
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Queen Mattress In A Box

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the mattress a full week before removing it from the box. It was really heavy and needed two people to get it up the stairs and on the bed frame. It started to grow before the ties were fully cut. When the mattress was spread out, it looked like something from outer space. All you couls see were the springs. Then it started to expand. Within 10 minutes, it had expanded to full size. with the padding on the outside and the coils on the inside. It was beautiful. My house guest slept on it and says that it is wonderfully comfortable. The cost is supurb for a queen mattress and I would recommend it to anyone looking for quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Good value.

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my guest room. A little softer than I would want for every day but comfortable for occasional use - don't want guests staying too long. Amazing packaging for shipment. Arrived compressed and rolled in a box that does not look like a mattress so it is easy to handle and does not get damaged. When opened, it recovered shape in less than one hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Is not quite what I expected after reading reviews

03/21/2014
By ,
Georgetown, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I try to read reviews myself before I purchase an item. After reading the reviews on this product it seemed like a great value. It looks awesome just like a real mattress. The only thing is that it is like an air mattress. When one person is on it and another sits on it, it fold in on itself, and when you get on or off it or sit on it it "sinks" where you are sitting. It's only comfy when your lying down and when you move it moves with you. I really wish I had spent the extra $60 and gotten the beauty rest mattress that Walmart has for $199. My daughter seems to like it but all her sheets and blankets fall off it daily and has become a hassle to make it again everyday. My advise is spend the extra $ and get a real mattress. I wish I had.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Great

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Super comfy!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Matress is amazing! It's soft, comfortable, easy to set up and afforable what more can you ask for!? It
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Great for the price!

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review might seem long, but maybe it will help some decision makers...
I have been eyeballing this product on Walmarts website for some time. Wasn't sure if I wanted it or not because some reviews were poor, but most were great. Decided last week to go ahead and go for it since it was on rollback. I bought the full size one along with a spa sensation bed frame and they arrived at the store four days before due. Picked them up today and went to work on getting them together. What I loved about the mattress packaging was that it was almost flat, rolled up tight in plastic. This gave me relief with the whole bed bug epidemic going around. So once I opened the box and slid it out, the instructions say to roll it on flat surface, cut plastic off and then it will expand. That didn't happen in my case. As soon as I took it out of the box and cut the tape to unroll it, it started expanding right away so I just hurried and threw it down on the frame (It does warn you that this could happen). There was no problem with this and it actually expanded full size within a few minutes. There was an odor after removing plastic fully (which is also a warning from being packed tight) and I let it air for an hour, then the smell was gone. Just now I made the bed and I'm leaving it sit for about three hours before I sleep in it. They recommend waiting 12-24 hours, but according to most reviews, typically people waited about four hours so I'll take the risk. Other then that, it's a great product and it looks excellent! Will update in a few months to let you know how the bed lasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

MATTRESS IS GREAT

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not for someone that wants a very firm mattress. But I wanted a slightly softer one and this one is perfect. I couldn't believe it came in such a small box. My kids and Husband were also amazed. Great product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Great mattress for an awesome price

10/18/2014
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe the quality you can get with a rolled up mattress in a box! The fact that home delivery was only $5 made this an easy way to set up a guest room in just a few days. So glad I bought this mattress!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Surprise-In-A-Box!

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mattress far surpassed my expectations. Originally, I wanted a cheap mattress I could haul back and forth to school and not have to worry much about damage because I would not be keeping it very long. However, I have had this mattress for over a year now and I think it is probably the best i've ever had. It is firm, which is what I prefer, and it doesn't make any noise or feel cheap. The box was heavy, but I was able to load it into the trunk of my Sentra by myself. Once I got the mattress set up, it did not seem like it was the full height it should have been, but it reached full height within a day or so. I have been very satisfied with this mattress and sleep well on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Very Comfortable!!!

05/07/2011
By ,
Royalton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 16 year old and I will admit I was a bit apprehensive about buying a mattress online. When we went to pick it up at the store, they brought out a box the size of a childs toy box and I was very unsure. We got it home and opened it up to find they compressed and vacuum sealed it, folded it in half and rolled it up. I thought for sure this was gonna be bad. I was wrong. We opened it up and put it on the bed and it is more comfortable then the pillow-top matress on my bed(and I paid more than twice the cost of this one). My daughter loves it and we are very pleased. We are planning on buying another for our younger child!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

really good mattress!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent mattress with good price! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Roll up wizard bed

10/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We liked how the bed mattress unrolled and within hours was a thick fluffy mattress. It could be firmer but for the price, it works for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

I love this mattress!

05/01/2011
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a twin size for my guest room. I already had the frame $59 from Walmart, no box spring needed. I had it shipped to my local Walmart (ship to store) for free shipping. The total for the mattress was $200. It came in a box 40" x 17" x 17" and weighed about 45 lbs. It was easy to move it from the cart to the car trunk, no lifting, just some maneuvering, and I had to bungie cord the trunk shut.
I dropped (nothing can break!) the box out of the trunk unto the ground and used a dolly to bring it into the house.
The reason I am telling you all of this is because I had questions whether I could pick it up at the store or pay for shipping to my house. Everything was EASY!!
Once I got it in the house, I removed the box (do not use a box cutter or you will ruin the mattress) by undoing the box seam down the side. Dragged the rolled up mattress to the bedroom and lifted it onto the bed frame, cut the tape holding the rolled up mattress, unfolded it, and used scissors to cut the plastic and you could hear WHOOOSSH when the air rushed in.
Within about 2 mins it was filled out and during the next 24 hours it REALLY filled out.
It is so comfortable! I have a Serta independent springs mattress that was around $700 and this one has the same "feel."
I would recommend it for anyone who needs a mattress. I use mine as a daybed in my 2nd bedroom/office/guest room. The mattress with tax came to about $200, which is a whole lot less than buying a Serta!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1,003points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Denton, Texas
Its comfy, but it has a few draw-backs
Posted 07/09/2013
My Dad got me this for college in my apartment. It's good, it was really great when I first got it because I didn't have to carry it up the stairs because I live on the second level. The mattress popped right out of the box and basically unfolded itself. I slept like a baby for most of the year. However, it does have its draw-backs. The mattress eventually sinks in, and if your mattress is on the floor, you feel like you hit in the floor as the months go by. It's still comfy to sleep on, but it does wear. Also, I am going to have a hard time getting this thing down the stairs. As it does unfold itself, its heavy and it does not fold itself back if you ever need to move it by yourself. So, you might have some problems unless you know some strong men that can wiggle it down the stairs.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Very helpful review. I will purchase this mattress
Posted 10/21/2012
Thank you for posting the dimensions. I was so concerned that this would not fit in my car.
0points
Customer Avatar
38115
full mattress
Posted 08/29/2012
When will you get the full mattress back in stock? I need 2
-1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 95 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

WOW, I love it!!!

09/06/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved out of state into an apartment my daughter and myself and after sleeping on an uncomfortable couch for two weeks I was thrilled to receive my bed in a box even though I knew I would be sleeping on the floor for awhile until I could afford the frame too. Let me tell you, I was skeptical at first until I unrolled it and it formed into a full mattress. I was thrilled. I have been sleeping on the floor for two weeks and it's been extremely comfortable. I still can't wait to get the frame but it's so thick and comfortable that I'm okay for now and sleep comfortably. I will be ordering another one and a frame for my adult daughter as well. We had everything when we moved but beds and refused to buy used because of bed bugs and this was the best value and comfort even if we have to buy it a piece at a time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Great for College Students

09/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a college student who just moved into my first off campus home. I am only planning to live in this place 2 years before I head to law school. So, I was looking for something that was affordable yet comfortable. This mattress came relatively quick (about 4 days after ordering it). Once the queen sized mattress came, it was a little difficult to get up the stairs of my house alone. I recommend having a friend or roommate help you. Once I took the mattress out of the box and plastic, it rose almost immediately. I was able to sleep on it that same night (after letting it sit out for about 4 hours). I've had the mattress for about two weeks now and I haven't had any problems at all. Great buy. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Worst back pain ever

12/29/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a mattress for more than 2 years and it gave me a back pain for last 6 months. I've decided to replace it and looked for a firm full mattress. This mattress seemed to be a very good one considering the huge amount of good reviews.
The delivery was really fast, 3 days earlier than expected. However, like others said, the UPS left it at the front door w/o ringing my bell. I opened the box and let the mattress expands for 48 hours. It looks really nice and firm but, I had the worst back pain on the very first use. I inspected the mattress the day after and found that some of the springs inside the mattress (2 or 3) seemed to be much less stiff. To verify the hypothesis, I slept on the stiff side of the mattress on the next night. It worked and I had my first pain-free sleep after 6 months. I tried the other side and it woke me up in the middle of the night from the pain.
Now, basically I have a twin mattress that works fine attached to a wrapped twin mattress that gives you a painful night. I'm not sure that it is only my chance to receive a bad product or there is a problem with the QC in Slumber 1. I'm not using it anymore and prefer an air mattress. I'm planning to return it, as soon as I got a chance (It's huge and I don't know how to put it back inside the box for return).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Mattress/box spring in 1

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical at first because the mattress came in a box which I guess I did not realize before purchasing it. But once I opened it and read the instructions, I was at ease. It's a very comfortable bed, I love it so far. I gave it four stars instead of five because it's very flimsy so the bed keeps sinking in between the gaps in my bed frame. So although it is a box spring and mattress in one, I still had to order an addition box spring in hope that the mattress will stay level that way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

Great for price

08/17/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It only expanded to 7 inches but it's very comfortable. The smell doesn't bother me but if you're sensitive to smells it might be a problem. It can handle my weight just fine (250 lbs.).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Slumber 1 - 8'' Mattress-In-a-Box, Multiple Sizes

nice mattress

10/15/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good mattress for the price. Delivery was quick and the package was very small while the mattress was compressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 3,370 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  169 Next