Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SOG SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

SOG SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

The SOG 18" SOGFari Machete is an incredibly useful edged tool. Use this SOG machete to clear brush, blaze trails, chop wood, make shelters, harvest crops, prepare meals, hunt and protect. Careful attention has been given to the SOG 18" to make sure that the weight is right and the handles are comfortable for extended use. It is made of high carbon steel and contains a Kraton handle. The black powder-coated finish gives it a clean, sleek look. The 18" SOG SOGFari Machete has a real working saw on the back of the blades with teeth that cut deep. Extended out of the back of the handle is a spiked tang that is designed for pounding and scraping. There are even holes in the handle to mount lanyards. It comes with a nylon sheath and weighs in at 15.7 oz. The SOGfari machete is the go-to tool for survival, exploration and adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%15 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Machete

07/10/2010
By ,
Louisville, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was a little thinner, and lighter than I would have liked. Over all fine machete for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

NOT HEAVY ENOUGH

08/23/2014
By ,
COOSA,GA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NOT AS SHARP AS I EXPECTED. IT IS ALSO TOO LIGHT AND THE BLADE IS DULL AND NICKED FROM ABOUT 2 MINUTES OF CUTTING VERY SMALL SAPLINGS. NOT HARDEND STEEL AS ADVERTISED.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Excellent Light Blade

05/24/2012
By ,
Rustburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this and the Gerber Jr. to make my own comparisons. The blade on this was very sharp out o fthe package, and after trimming back half a maple sappling's smaller branches (2" diameter or less), I found it did an excellent job and kept that fine edge. The saw is why I didn't give this 5 stars and am not totally happy with my expectations of this. The Gerber Jr. saw put this to shame. Dispite this blade have an extra few inches of saw teeth, the Gerber Jr. cut a 3" to 4" branch in half the time. I almost felt like this saw wasn't cutting hardly at all to be honest. All in all, this is still an excellent machete. The fit in my hand with the rubberized grip was perfect. I do wish that SIG would have included a lanyad strap like the Gerber instead of just a hole in the ihlt for one. Also, I wish that the sheath had either a velco leg strap or some other way to tie it to your leg or pack at the bottom. That's a lot of sheath flapping around when it's on your belt. Still, a very fine item for the price, good value indeed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Not for heavy cutting or chopping!

11/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machete for clearing mountain bike trails from time to time. For very light brush and palmettos, it works just fine. Just don't try to use it for chopping any branches of any significant size. On the first attempt the blade bent and after a couple minutes of use, part of the blade actually broke off! I couldn't believe it and returned it the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

nice knife.

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice knife for the $.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Best value

05/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Nachete came with a great edge that was sharp right out of the pK and has great balence as well. Love the reverce side with the saw the only thing I wish it had was a longer handle. But over all I love it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Great yard tool!

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reminds me of "breaking brush" in the jungles of Vietnam..... makes short wotk of the palm fronds and other yard vegetation. BE CAREFUL; THIS IS NOT A TOY!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Solid slicer!

11/08/2013
By ,
Lutherville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The machete is nice and long, which I like, and has a nice, thick blade. I think it will be suitable for slicing through heavy vines or saplings. I also bought the Whetstone 25 Colossal Heavy Duty machete and the Gerber (Fiskars) Gator Machete, both of which are lighter than the SOGfari Machete 18. All were comparably priced. If I were to be restricted to one of the three, I'd choose the SOGfari, which has the thickest blade and sturdiest construction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Read this! I know what I'm talking about =)

06/02/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Short and sweet summary for people who don't want to read a paragraph:
BOTTOM LINE (conveniently at the top =) ) -- best machete under $50. I know why the military uses it.
Great machete, just don't use it wrong. You have to know what you're doing if you want to keep this thing in good shape. Keep in mind that its not fair to compare this to $75+ machetes -- WARNING: this is not novice-proof. If you chop like a maniac and whack the side of the blade it will warp. Not break, warp. Chop right (and use the saw on HUGE logs that truly deserve an axe or chainsaw - I consider 2.5-3" max for this machete, it shouldn't take more than 5-6 strokes to get thru a tree - to save your edge. THAT'S WHY THERE'S A SAW ON THE SPINE!) and it will last forever and hold an edge well. GET IT
More details for the person who likes to research like me:
The value is unbelievable. Holds an edge unbelievably and is strong! I do yard-work (have for months) and can chop through 2 inch trees in one stroke. Unbelievable to me. I honestly ABUSED this machete. I used it like a hatchet like I said not to and it didn't get hurt aside from a (when I say minor I mean only me, a VERY picky person when it comes to chips and warps in my blades, would notice) minor ding in edge that is only aesthetic and has yet to affect performance. I suggest a combination of sawing and chopping for best results with least strain on blade. You do have to know what you're doing in order not to hurt it (which, not to toot my own horn, I do). Chopping at an angle helps a lot in getting through saplings with one stroke for a number of reasons. USE THE SAW BLADE! I can't stress this enough! There's a reason the designers at SOG put them there: they make life easier for you and your machete! If its a huge law, saw it! It doesn't feel like it but trust me its faster than chopping if you do it smart and it saves your edge and strains the blade much less. DONT WORRY ABOUT YOUR BLADE SNAPPING. I don't know what these guys did to their machetes in other reviews but unless they TRIED they couldn't abuse these enough to snap em. Maybe SOG started heat treating them since the reviews? I abused this for a while and it has performed WAY beyond expectations. The kraton grip makes a world of a difference. The gerber's rubber is like oil in comparison. I love this machete and you will too. This review is going to be controversial but I don't know what else to tell you - I have owned this machete for months and it has survived impressive abuse without sharpening and is still just as good performance-wise as when it came out of the box. Sure, if you drive over it in an F-350 it probably won't look good, but are you really going to treat it that badly? If so you're going to need a lot more than a machete. I've owned plenty of knives and this definitely stands out beyond the others. Good luck finding a better one in the budget or even out of it. What else could you honestly do to Improve this thing? Is high carbon, heat treated, sharp, kraton handled, razor-backed...etc. I can't think of a way to improve it can you? I guess to sum it up: it's never let me down. Should do the same for you. Also Walmart will take it back easily so no risk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

I bought 3 of these

12/26/2012
By ,
Irmo, Sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these, two of them for gifts. I went out in the front yard today to trip some small limbs and bushes in the front yard of which are mostly small pines. Easy soft wood. It worked great clearing limbs and vines until it completely snapped in half. Right in the middle of the blade it just broke. I have since now read reviews on other sites and have found this is a common problem with this blade.
I can not in clear conscience recommend this. This was its first use. I have used Machete's for years and have never seen one do this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

Absolutly EXTRAVAGENT!!!!!!!!!!:)

08/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect machete....how could i ask for more?a blade on one side and a saw on the other,18",and a sheath!?!?!And amazingly its all for $19.98 AMAZING!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

cutting brush

02/18/2014
By ,
Rockford, Illinios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really sharp
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

but the cheap 6.99 one at your local walmart

07/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have sog knifes there great. This machete machete should not say sog it is worthless had it on a last camping trip cut great for the first 2 chops in the fieldwith high grass went to cut up the path at a vine that was the diameter of a dime and the blade totally eat the subpar blade
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"
08/27/2012
By ,
parker,az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
once again SOG has put out a high quality product that us regular guys can appreciate and afford, couple this with an association with Walmart and you have a home run. Good job SOG and Walmart. As for you hunters out there, I took this machete up on the Mogollon Rim above Payson,Az. for a whitetail hunt and we were rained on every night, this machete was left outside and no sign of rust or damage of any kind. It also maintained its cutting edge and proved to be a exellent addition to my hunting gear. Great machete, Great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"

SOG Machete

11/15/2010
By ,
oceanside, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent item, great price and ideal for camping outdoors activity. I would highly recommend anything from SOG. They have great quality materials.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"
07/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall a good machette. The handle is very comfortable and it comes sharp. More than capable of doing your camp/outdoor shores. Would recomend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SOG SOGFari Machete, 18"
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5