Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Storkcraft Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Storkcraft Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

The Storkcraft Caribou Twin over Twin Bunk Bed brings a touch of natural beauty to your child's bedroom. This bunk bed combines all of the space-saving features you're looking for in one great package. The bunk bed matches with other Storkcraft chests and case pieces (sold separately) to create a bedroom that suits your style exactly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
47
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation91%158 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 106 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
47
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Nice Bunk Bed!

04/22/2012
By ,
Cedar City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really happy with this bunk bed. It was fairly easy to put together, but defiantly took some time. I am very happy with the quality and design. I also really like the finish on the wood. Grate price for a good bunk bed. I would defiantly recommend it for younger children. My kids that are using it are 5 and 3.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Excellent!

09/18/2010
By ,
Shreveport, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reluctantly, I finally convinced my husband to buy this set of bunk beds from Wal Mart.com. He read all of the negative reviews and left the ball in my court. I was SO HAPPY when the beds arrived in perfect condition, outstanding quality, and.. as some have suggested otherwise, the directions WERE with the beds and easy to follow. These beds are stout. My 6 year old is thrilled! My husband is thrilled- all of which makes me a hero for a day!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Challenging setup, but solid bed!

01/14/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setup took two hours by myself, which was pain. I definitely recommend having a friend help! I set it up as separate beds, and my boys love it! Solid wood, low to the floor (definitely meant for smaller kids). Get an allen drill bit and a cordless drill, or set up will take hours by hand. This is solid, quality furniture that I see my boys using for the next few years. Hated the setup, but love the end product. I highly recommend!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Well made bunkbeds!

06/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased these bunkbeds after loads of research. We thought these were the best looking bunkbeds for the price. We were not disappointed. The Stork Craft brand gave us assurance that they would be good quality. They are very sturdy! They have so many slats under each mattress that everything seems so secure. Our kids are 3 and 2 so we appreciated that they were not as tall as some and were not bothered that the spacing between the beds was not as big as other sets. Overall, we are very pleased!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Excellent value

05/07/2010
By ,
Poulsbo, Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this bunk bed to replace a twin over full that was too large. The shipment arrived days ahead of expected shipping date. All the parts were present and easily labeled. My husband and I assembled it in about 2 1/2 hrs....we made one mistake which required backing up a couple steps. I think it was more our mistake, though the directions might have highlighted the importance of which long beams should be in front to allow attachment of the ladder. So watch that section! The girls love it. The wood is a little soft and will likely need touch up occasionally to maintain the finish. It will only support 165#...we assume that means when it is in the bunk position. For the money, it is a lovely bunk bed and there are book shelves at Walmart that coordinate very nicely. We would definitely buy from Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Too Cheap

01/06/2013
By ,
Cape Coral,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for both my toddlers, it is a cute bed but it is too cheap. I have had this for 1 year and I am already looking to buy new beds AGAIN. The weigh max is 165 LBS ( I am 110 lbs) and every time I sit on my children's bed it feels as they are going to break.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Beautiful Bunkbeds

06/07/2010
By ,
Sumter, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice and sturdy. However, Storkcraft told me the ladder did not attach to the railings, but it does. I wanted to use the beds separately, one with railings like a toddler bed. My husband had to improvise a little with one of the supports, but it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Great Quality

06/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bunk beds were delivered to our local store sooner than the expected date. They are excellent quality and easy to assemble...my husband and I did it together . Great furniture addition for our foster kids.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso
01/12/2013
By ,
San Ramon, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sturdy bed, easy to assembly. Looks great, kids love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Great Bunk Bed

12/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bunk bed hit our price/performance point perfectly. Assembly wasn't too long but it does take a while. We went shopping in a furniture store and found beds of this same quality for much much more.
Here are two suggestions I have for anyone who purchases this bed. First, use a drill for all the screws. Second, take the allen wrench provided and cut off the bent part. Then stick the rest of it into your drill for faster screwing in of all those screws. I would suggest using a drill that can be adjusted for the amount of pressure you can put on your screws, because if you just use a drill with enough force you could damage your bed! Last, but ABSOLUTELY not least, note that the long wooden planks that actually hold up the matrices are not all the same. Some have screws for the ladder to screw into, others don't. We didn't read the directions carefully and had to drill our own holes. Not a big deal for us, but a pain anyways.
Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Looks great and fits nicely in our small kids room

01/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice dark brown goes with grayish blue wall of our boys' room. Six inch mattress works better than eight inch one (we have both) because it creates more space for the bottom sleeper and safer for the top sleeper. The instruction was simple- just pictures and it's easy enough to follow; however, because it does not tell us much we accidentally put the bottom rail that has holes to attach the ladder to top bed (and vice versa). We did not realize one of four had two additional holes until we put all together so we undid rails and switched them. I am writing this review so I can let others know so nobody else will make the same mistake :-) It took us several hours total since we have two young kids to take care of but overall it was not difficult at all. It would be nice if some parts were already put together but not so handy husband and wife teamed up and completed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Amazing!

08/21/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This by far exceeded both mine and my husbands expectations. With mostly positive reviews we felt pretty good about the decision on these bunks. We also figured with the overall low cost, if it were scratched or dented or somehow inferior, we wouldn't be surprised and would still keep it because of the overall color/style. When we got it and assembled it, it looks awesome in the kids room, both my four year old and his younger two year old sister (still sleeps in crib, but plays on bottom bunk) love it! They can both climb up and down the ladder safely and the top railings give plenty of protection from tipping off. One note that for extra strength I would highly recommend gluing the pieces together when assembling. This thing is like a rock! I am actually climbing up on it frequently to clean toys/sheets etc. and it hardly moves! We love this bunk bed set and am so pleased with it, easy to assemble too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

What a great value!

08/18/2011
By ,
gloucester, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched bunk beds for months before settling for this one. Mostly based on all the good reviews. I was pleasantly surprised when I finally got them and set them up. It took me and my husband about 2-3 hours and you definitely need a power tool to speed up the process. The wood is rich looking and solid. Very supportive and not flimsy feeling at all. They are short, which is good to know if you want a taller bunk bed but I actually needed a shorter bunk bed to fit under my slanting ceiling and not interfere with a fan on the ceiling. It was a perfect fit. Not a lot of space between the bottom and top bunk, but enough for a kid. When he's older he won't want bunks anyway. They are really good looking and definitely look like a quality set and much more expensive than they are. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for quality and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Love this bunkbed

12/14/2010
By ,
Evanston Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I had to cancel an $800.00 online order from another store because we saw this bunk bed in Walmart and thought it looked great. It was fairly easy to put together, but I would caution you to open and organize all the little screws and items in the bag because some of them look alike, but are different in length, using the wrong one will cost you time too correct. Please also pay close attention to the little details of the wood pieces or you might end up with the ladder on the wrong side of the bed. Instructions could have been better, but overall great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso
10/26/2012
By ,
Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for our 2 year old twins. When they came the color was prettier then it looked in the picture. The style is definitly some thing they can stay in through their collage years. The set up was easy and fast it didn't take us long at all to get the beds set up. We have them as two seperate twin beds right now. The only thing is not everything was labled however it was easy to figure out. If you plan to do the seperate beds just make sure you do a tall head board to a short foot board for each bed. If your putting them as buck beds right away then do both of the taller head/foot boards on the bottom buck; the directions don't specify that there is a difference when doing two seperate beds or buck beds.
We ended up doing the mattresses from Sams Club the are Serta and for buck beds they fit well and the boys sleep much better through the night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Better than I expected

05/03/2010
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is made with pure quality. 100% wood under $260 is almost unheard of. This bunk bed is extremely sturdy. The only downfall is that there isn't an abundance of room between the beds. My children are 4 and 6 and fit just fine. By the time they get too big, they will want their own room. Then we just use them as 2 separate beds. Issue solved. :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Height between beds
Posted 09/24/2013
Hi. Do you know what the height is between the bottom bunk and the bottom of the top bunk? Thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Great beds, however...

01/15/2011
By ,
Defiance, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These bunk beds are very good. They are sturdy, solid, and are very nice looking.
Regarding construction:
The slats came bound together in two sets, one for each bed. All you had to do was unroll each set over the frame of the bed; the binding keeps the slats appropriately spaced until you can screw them into place on the frame. Very easy (with a drill).
The instructions are not the best. The parts themselves are not labeled, but they are in the instructions. The bed posts are labeled, but not in accordance with the instructions. At first we thought we had received one bed post wrong; it was labeled R2 but the two was scratched out, and there seemed to be a missing L2. It turned out this was on purpose and everything assembled appropriately.
Even though the instructions say to follow the directions for the configuration you wish to use, there is only one configuration option in the instructions! Like I said, not the best.
Regarding versatility:
The beds are designed primarily to be bunk beds. It has been said by the company reps that they can also be used as two separate beds. However, part of the rails for the top bunk are screwed to the frame with permanent screws. You can still take them down, but that will leave ugly open screw holes and may compromise the stability of the guard rails if you put them on again. I was disappointed about this, and feel the product is not as versatile as the company reps indicated.
There are no instructions for constructing the beds as two individual beds. The company reps indicate that to do this you switch a couple of the headboards around, so each bed has one tall headboard and one small.
Final opinion:
Aside from construction and versatility quirks, these beds are great. Our kids love them and so do we.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
caribo bunk beds
Posted 08/16/2013
t
The bunk beds came without the ladder,. came without instructions, no hardware and we got double of 1 package.We have to send everythig back.They have the same thing .Waiting game again.....I just should of went to Kmdrt. I have frames for 4 beds.....
That's it.....I'm sorry i bought thses beds
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

low price high quality

05/11/2010
By ,
louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have just purchased the beds and have set them up as twin beds instead of bunk for the time being. the espresso finish is beautiful. the quality is unreal. NO ONE would guess the low cost we paid for these beds looking at the quality and sturdiness of them. i am beyond thrilled with this purchase, and my boys love their new beds. not only were the beds cheap, but we didnt even need to purchase box springs for extra support..only mattresses which was a major plus!!!!! definite bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Partially satisfied.

11/18/2012
By ,
Folsom, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When the bed came to us, we were excited to get it set up for our kids. The instructions were simple enough to follow. When we put together the top bunk, the side board that connects the head/foot boards ( also the same member that supports the slats and mattress ) was flaking apart. Because of using a plywood material for the construction, the laminated pieces of plywood were peeling apart. My husband is a carpenter so luckily we werent required to return the bed for a replacement. my husband glued and finish nailed the plywood together so that the bed wouldnt fail and be a risk to our children.
I would suggest to the manufacturer that they do not use plywood in the pieces but rather use solid 1x4 (or whatever applicable size for the specific pieces). The structural integrity would be far superior and while it may raise the prices of the bed slightly, I would be much happier to spend a few more dollars and get a better product.
Design and color is great though. =0)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Storkcraft Caribou Bunk Bed, Espresso

Don't let the bad reviews scare you...

08/30/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is absolutely nothing wrong with this bed..If you have realistic expectations for this price range.. I was nervous about buying it because of some of the reviews but i took the chance and i'm glad i did- I bought it for my kids, 5 & 2, and its great, just what I needed... But that being said, I don't buy furniture from Walmart and expect the same quality I'd find at a furniture store... But I do have some expectations- I expect it to be safe, sturdy, look like the picture I saw when I ordered, and be worth what I paid for it- this bed met those expectations.. I am a pregnant 25 yr old female and I put this bed together by myself (unless you count the "help" from my kids), I even lifted the top bunk into place by myself because I didn't wanna wait on my husband to get home from work.. I don't recommend trying that because I scratched it in the process. It took me 3.5 hrs start to finish- I did use a drill for the slats though, it would have been too time consuming and tiring to do by hand. One review said they are too thin but they are about an inch thick and there's a bunch of them, I don't see the average sized child (not talking about teens here) breaking these easily. I also like the height of the bed, I'll be able to change the sheets easier than I expected with a bunk bed. The color of the bed is not too much different than the picture, depends on your monitor/screen I guess.. It's not as dark as what furniture stores consider espresso, but I can tell that from the picture... Also one review said pieces aren't labeled and holes were missing for screws- the pieces that aren't labeled are pieces that either can't be mistaken for another or can be swapped without causing problems (like the steps on the ladder, they're all the same) and the holes that are "missing" was done on purpose, if you pay attention and don't put anything on backwards there are small dents marking where the screws should go, like the point of the screw was pressed into the wood.. And I screwed these in by hand, there's nothing to it. You do have to pay attention to detail when following the illustrations but its simple enough, I got it all in the right place on the first try. Overall this bed is EXACTLY what I thought it would be, and I'm glad I didn't spend several hundred dollars on a "better" one just because of a few bad reviews. Oh yeah, there are no extra parts so if you have little "helpers" don't let them out of sight with any screws or bolts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thank you
Posted 11/19/2013
Thank you to Amh1361 your review was very helpful.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next