Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Hefty Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

The Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can is one of the most convenient trash disposal solutions available. It's just the right size for high-volume areas, like the kitchen, garage or office workroom. The Hefty step on trash can also works well in places like a side yard, where you sometimes need a trash can and don't want to empty it frequently. The solid black color gives it that out-of-the-way look, even if you store it out in the open. Hefty's step-on lid means that you don't have to use a hand to raise the trash can's lid. The pedal is easy to use for both kids and grown-ups. The black trash can has a broad base so it doesn't topple and a ring to secure the trash bag. The 13-gallon size is not too big and not too small; trash bags are available separately. Hefty is a name that's synonymous with quality and durability, and this black trash can exceeds those expectations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.211 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation85%141 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Meets all expectations & then some

04/06/2011
By ,
Newport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's apt at college with 4 guys using it...and it has held up! Looked at much more expensive cans and decided on this one, since price was an issue with the others. I only wish it were a matte finish, as it does show scratches since it's shiny and the top and sides do show signs of wear...so that is my only complaint. Otherwise, it's a great trash can!! I expect it will last like my previous hefty can that we bought like 17 years back and we are still using for a recycle bin because it no longer matches our decor in the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Well Worth The Price...

07/20/2013
By ,
Mobile, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a black-&-white kitchen, so after many years living with a slate blue kitchen garbage can, I decided it was time for a change. I started my Internet shopping by going to another big named retailer. I was shocked at their prices! $40 for a plastic kitchen garbage can!? Even one of there reviewers who bought one of those $40 cans admitted that was to much to pay for plastic. So, I headed over to the Wal*Mart site. Found this great Hefty black can with a rollback price of only $15. Great deal! For the first time, I did the "ship-to-store" process. My new can ended-up at my local Wal*Mart in just a few days. It was easy to pick-up while doing my weekly grocery shopping. I'll be using ship-to-store again... My new Hefty can is indeed a Hefty. It is very well made. Hey, my old slate blue one was a Hefty, it's over 20 years old. I cleaned it up and it looks almost new. Will be giving it to my sister who has slate blue things in her kitchen. Thanks Wal*Mart for carrying a great product at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great value must need for any kitchen cook

07/26/2012
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I simply got tired of having to re-wash my hands each time I needed to throw something away in t the trash. In order to elevate the problem I needed a hands-free waste bin. This one is perfect. It is made of durable plastic. And works well with the 13 gallon kitchen sized trash bags. I only have a couple of "draw backs" but they are minor and would not stop me from purchasing this item again.
1) Black is the only color Walmart offered. I would have prefered a lighter color. But Black was th only offering.
2) It grips the trash bags fine. However if it gets heavy from food items the bag will begin to slip.
3) It was shipped alone in a very large box with only brown paper as a buffer. The package was delivered by Fedex. But the packing did not hold up to the travel. The box was crushed on one side and the brown paper packing material was not strong enough to keep it from tearing up. The can was okay but did have some scuff marks. Not enough to make me return it but I'm not pleased that a brand new item has damages on it either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great trashcan for a great price

10/23/2010
By ,
Washington D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, I found a step-on trash can that did not cost an arm and a leg. Why spend $90 or more for a trash can? Buy this one. My last plastic trash can lasted me 15 years, and I expect it will be no different for this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

it's great!

11/02/2014
By ,
Queens,N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's actually a little bigger than the regular garbage can. Step is great for hands free disposable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Good product

05/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a step-on kitchen trash can and this fit the bill. 13-gal trash bags fit snugly over the top of the can and the lid has a lip that discourages odor. The step-on feature opens the wide top completely. I am somewhat concerned about durability since the plastic palls that hinge the lid are quite short but so-far so-good. The shiny finish quickly becomes dulled in use but that's not a big issue. It still looks very nice. The price was right as well.
Delivery was delayed twice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Nice Garbage Can with good price!!

12/08/2010
By ,
Kearny, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this garbage can. I order this, because i want closed top. It is pretty good price. I would recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Very good garbage can

01/11/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good trash can for general or kitchen use! I like that it has a cover so it blocks some of the food smells from the trash. Also the step opening function is excellent so you need no hands to open the top. It is adequately large for pretty much anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Perfect product with great price

10/18/2014
By ,
Laurel, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this for a few months now and I must say it was money well spent. The size is perfect for my kitchen and everything works well. I purchased it using the site to store and it came in good condition. After reading some of the reviews I almost didn't order it but I highly recommend it as it seems to do its job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black
04/08/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love not having to touch the dirty trash can lid while I'm cooking- I don't have to wash my hands as frequently and my dog can't open it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black
10/22/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prompt delivery,great price.. I always wanted a step on trash can,but the ones in Walmart store were too expensive. Was surprised to find this at this rate online and had a lot of doubts before I ordered,but the minute I opened the package,I loved it! Lid was a snap fix and works smooth! The shiny black color is what impresses me the most! Gives it a cool appearance rather than the Matt finished ones !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

It's a trash can

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems short, but it's a trash can!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great trash can for folks with pets!

10/04/2014
By ,
Goshen, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lid on this can stays down and pets can't open with their nose. Foot pedal operation makes it nice for use during cooking and etc.-You don't have to touch the lid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

step on kitchen garbage can

09/30/2014
By ,
Chicago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well, I thought it would work better, but, I looked at so many, this is the best I found.
It opens and closes fine but the bag does stick out around the sides and sometimes gets stuck on the part that closes.
It matches my kitchen so for now, it will work. The price was right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black
04/18/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for a 13 gallon step-on trash can. The prices were out of sight, and besides I really don't need a stainless steel trash can. After reading the reviews I ordered this to be delivered for a small fee. It was delivered really fast. It arrived well packed and in perfect condition. The lid is packed separately and took about 15 seconds to snap into place. Thirteen gallon trash bags fit this container. I've had it for several weeks and am very pleased. While black would not have been my color of choice, it looks fine. Yes it is shiny and shows dust, just give it a swipe now and then. I would recommend it and would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Not the best

09/24/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The wastecan is a good size, holds a 13 gallon trash bag insert, is a good height when working in the kitchen. However, the opening mechanism isn't very sturdy, has popped off at least every other day since I've been using it! The price is good, but not sure it's worth the investment because I'm not sure the can is going to last very long. I've only been using it for about 10 days, and I'm just not impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Works great!

12/10/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trashcan fully met my expectations in quality and as to how it works. Be sure to follow and read the instructions on the bottom of the lid as to how to snap the lid in place. It works! I am very pleased with this purchase and haven't been able to find it anywhere except through Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Not that great of a garbage can

03/31/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The lid on this garbage can doesn't really stay on that well. When you have to pop it back into place, you feel if you aren't careful you will break off the knobs in the back that keep it attached and that makes the foot peddle work. I think the design is flimsy, and I don't think the lid will be working for too long because I think those little knobs that hold it on will eventually be worthless.
I expected more quality from this company.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Do not buy this

09/29/2012
By ,
Wichita falls, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I picked the cans up and unpacked them I realized that they are polished plastic and were covered in bizarre scratches. They are too obvious. They are very easy to scratch the surface and the scratches really make the cans appear dirty and old. Ugh. I sent them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Sleek, stylish trash receptacle

08/21/2014
By ,
Rural Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash receptacle will look nice in my new craft room. It's size, color and material will make it ideal for our purposes - The construction is of thin molded plastic which makes me wonder about the durability but it could be more resilient than harder molded plastic. I'm anxious to see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next