Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Hefty Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

The Hefty Step-On13 Gallon Trash Can gives you a hands-off approach to waste management. With a convenient step-on foot pedal, you no longer have to use your hands to raise the lid. The foot pedal is easier for the kids to use too. This outdoor trash can holds up to 13 gallons of waste. It secures the trash bag well in place. It has a broad base and does not topple over. This is easily cleanable and can fit into any corner of the room. Made of durable plastic, it is designed to last for a long time. Available in a thick black color, this trash can blends with the dcor of any room. This Hefty wastebasket gives convenience and efficiency to any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.266 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation86%133 out of 154reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Meets all expectations & then some

04/06/2011
By ,
Newport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's apt at college with 4 guys using it...and it has held up! Looked at much more expensive cans and decided on this one, since price was an issue with the others. I only wish it were a matte finish, as it does show scratches since it's shiny and the top and sides do show signs of wear...so that is my only complaint. Otherwise, it's a great trash can!! I expect it will last like my previous hefty can that we bought like 17 years back and we are still using for a recycle bin because it no longer matches our decor in the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Well Worth The Price...

07/20/2013
By ,
Mobile, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a black-&-white kitchen, so after many years living with a slate blue kitchen garbage can, I decided it was time for a change. I started my Internet shopping by going to another big named retailer. I was shocked at their prices! $40 for a plastic kitchen garbage can!? Even one of there reviewers who bought one of those $40 cans admitted that was to much to pay for plastic. So, I headed over to the Wal*Mart site. Found this great Hefty black can with a rollback price of only $15. Great deal! For the first time, I did the "ship-to-store" process. My new can ended-up at my local Wal*Mart in just a few days. It was easy to pick-up while doing my weekly grocery shopping. I'll be using ship-to-store again... My new Hefty can is indeed a Hefty. It is very well made. Hey, my old slate blue one was a Hefty, it's over 20 years old. I cleaned it up and it looks almost new. Will be giving it to my sister who has slate blue things in her kitchen. Thanks Wal*Mart for carrying a great product at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great value must need for any kitchen cook

07/26/2012
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I simply got tired of having to re-wash my hands each time I needed to throw something away in t the trash. In order to elevate the problem I needed a hands-free waste bin. This one is perfect. It is made of durable plastic. And works well with the 13 gallon kitchen sized trash bags. I only have a couple of "draw backs" but they are minor and would not stop me from purchasing this item again.
1) Black is the only color Walmart offered. I would have prefered a lighter color. But Black was th only offering.
2) It grips the trash bags fine. However if it gets heavy from food items the bag will begin to slip.
3) It was shipped alone in a very large box with only brown paper as a buffer. The package was delivered by Fedex. But the packing did not hold up to the travel. The box was crushed on one side and the brown paper packing material was not strong enough to keep it from tearing up. The can was okay but did have some scuff marks. Not enough to make me return it but I'm not pleased that a brand new item has damages on it either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black
10/22/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prompt delivery,great price.. I always wanted a step on trash can,but the ones in Walmart store were too expensive. Was surprised to find this at this rate online and had a lot of doubts before I ordered,but the minute I opened the package,I loved it! Lid was a snap fix and works smooth! The shiny black color is what impresses me the most! Gives it a cool appearance rather than the Matt finished ones !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great trashcan for a great price

10/23/2010
By ,
Washington D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, I found a step-on trash can that did not cost an arm and a leg. Why spend $90 or more for a trash can? Buy this one. My last plastic trash can lasted me 15 years, and I expect it will be no different for this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Very durable1

04/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very compact....durable...I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Attractive and usefull

03/26/2014
By ,
Dawsonville Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has an attractive design,I like the black. I do not like how easily the bag slips down into the can.It was shipped in a box much to big ,poor packaging and the top was very messed up in the finish.This was the fault of the packer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Good product

05/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a step-on kitchen trash can and this fit the bill. 13-gal trash bags fit snugly over the top of the can and the lid has a lip that discourages odor. The step-on feature opens the wide top completely. I am somewhat concerned about durability since the plastic palls that hinge the lid are quite short but so-far so-good. The shiny finish quickly becomes dulled in use but that's not a big issue. It still looks very nice. The price was right as well.
Delivery was delayed twice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Works great!

12/10/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trashcan fully met my expectations in quality and as to how it works. Be sure to follow and read the instructions on the bottom of the lid as to how to snap the lid in place. It works! I am very pleased with this purchase and haven't been able to find it anywhere except through Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great Step-on Trash Can

03/20/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can is just what I needed. One wouldn't believe how long I have been looking for a trash can this size and color after getting rid of my stainless steal trash can. It serves the purpose and you can wash it out to keep from having odor, unlike the stainless steal. The price is also a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Nice Garbage Can with good price!!

12/08/2010
By ,
Kearny, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this garbage can. I order this, because i want closed top. It is pretty good price. I would recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Very good garbage can

01/11/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good trash can for general or kitchen use! I like that it has a cover so it blocks some of the food smells from the trash. Also the step opening function is excellent so you need no hands to open the top. It is adequately large for pretty much anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

I'm very surprised!

01/10/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of those metal tall and skinny garbage cans and it was getting a bit rough looking (dented and the lid hinges were very dirty) and the step-open feature was broken - so I was looking to replace it with the same kind of metal can. Then I read the reviews on this one and I'm so very glad I got it. You can't beat the price and the step-open feature on this garbage can is solid and works every time. Also, another great feature is that the garbage bag fits snugly and doesn't fall down when you put garbage in the can and it's bigger in design then my old one, so it holds more garbage. Overall, this is an excellent garbage can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great trash can

02/27/2014
By ,
Port Orange, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can is perfect for my kitchen. I worried a bit after reading other reviews but ordered it anyway and I'm glad I did. It arrived sooner than projected and was in great shape, no scratches or damage. Several other reviews indicated that the labels were hard to peel off, but they must have fixed that issue as the labels came off easily and left no residue. Over all a really nice looking trash can.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black
04/08/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love not having to touch the dirty trash can lid while I'm cooking- I don't have to wash my hands as frequently and my dog can't open it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great pail for the price!

03/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pail for the price! Ordered another one for my son's new apartment
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Trash can from Walmart

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The trash can is excellent. Walmart's shipping is terrible. I bought and paid for this on February 10, 2014. It finally arrived at the store on February 26, 2014. I received this email to rate the item 4 days BEFORE I received the item.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Nice Garbage Can

02/24/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love being able to throw trash away hands free! The black matches well with my kitchen!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Not the best

09/24/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The wastecan is a good size, holds a 13 gallon trash bag insert, is a good height when working in the kitchen. However, the opening mechanism isn't very sturdy, has popped off at least every other day since I've been using it! The price is good, but not sure it's worth the investment because I'm not sure the can is going to last very long. I've only been using it for about 10 days, and I'm just not impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty Step-On 13-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great addition to my mother's kitchen

02/07/2014
By ,
Mid, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the way the lid can be taken off to clean it and easily snapped back on. I like the way the lid flips up with the step on feature. The size and shape are super. I liked it so well in white, I bought one for my mother in black for her kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next